paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / MACDev '05 Legion Air System / MACDev '05 Legion Air System / MACDev '05 Legion Air System

MACDev '05 Legion Air System Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount MACDev

Buy MACDev '05 Legion Air System

Paintball Air Systems and Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


MACDev '05 Legion Air System
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 22
Average Rating: 9.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $199

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The modern paintball player demands a small lightweight, high flow, consistent preset. However, the 05 LegionAir system delivers much more:
The highest flowing, most consistent preset system available
Low pressure and high pressure burst disks.
High quality macdev mini gauge
Super light-weight - all aluminium body
Stylish milling
Filtered standard inlet nipple
100% pressure and performance tested before shipping
High quality fibre wrapped bottle
Stainless steel screws
High or Low pressure versions available

The 05 LegionAir is built from high quality materials to give you high performance - time after time. The recharge rate of the 05 Legionair delivers the same pressure to your gun each shot for ultra consistency.

The 05 LegionAir preset system is designed for use with a standard bottomline adaptor.

Product Availability 
The MACDev '05 Legion Air System is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
KnowBs Wednesday, November 30th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months14 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
nitroduck 45/45 ..... thats the only thing that nearly compares to its weight
Marker Setup: 05 Cobra G7
MT Valve
Lucky 15 barrel kit
MacDev 45/45 low pressure
Halo
Strengths: WIEGHT!!!
SIZE!!!
very good recharge rate
very consistant
2 burst disks
Luxfer
Weaknesses: ........um...... luxfer can get cold to the touch when left at room temperature (JK)
Review: For beginners this tank is TINY like all MacDevs subtract a size and thatís how big the MacDev is. My friend (PBX720) has the 68/45 and itís as big as the 45/45-nitro duck (the next best in the business.) Once at my field someone walked up to me and said "I didnít know MacDev made 13 ci tanks!" and I told him "..... um... dude thereís no such thing, this is a 45 ci". He was shocked. He ran to his table and grabbed a 45/45 crossfire. "This is mine!" he yelled..... With much distaste in his voice. We weighted and measured them and my MacDev was .6 inches shorter (and if you are a front man or have a rail ASA... or know ALOT about tanks. then this is a HUGE difference) and it was 1 pound lighter then the crossfire (and again a HUGE difference).

As for the consistency and recharge rate it is the best. This tank however is crazy. It keeps up with my G7 on Demo Mode, which for non-angel owners this is where the maker cycles fully at 31 BPS but will stop if the eyes detect something, and even at the steady 31 BPS it kept up and didn't miss a beat. I owned a 45/45 nitro duck low pressure before this and I though I was bad a**. It had an excellent recharge and like nitro duck says, "it has the feather light guarantee". Now not the badmouth nitro duck because I LOVED that tank too.... but obviously the MacDev won out. But it thought that I had the best constancy and recharge money could buy....... until I owned a MacDev. This tank puts the Duck to shame. Iíve even had a chrono stay at the same fps after a second shot and then the 3rd only had a -2 fps. Now I know that my gun plays a lot to do with this part (especially since I have an autococker) but itís about 40% thanks to the tank.

The dual burst disks are a must! Itís almost like a standard for safety now a days. It just feels right saying it "Dual Burst Disks"... "Two of Them"...."Both Barrels Loaded"............ but not to get off subject they are very nice to have!

As for the rarity of them that rumor is true. I couldnít find it at ANY local shops so I had to buy one off MacDev.net, not really a problem I mean the shipping was steep but it is worth it..... But price is later on.

I see a lot of people touch on the quality of the tank. Yes the quality is great. You canít beat carbon fiber and the reg is even milled VERY nicely. Though I donít recommend it, the tank gives off this "drop me from a cliff and Iíll be OK feel" (and yes I did just speak for my tank there).

PRICE!!!! I know this can be a HUGE issue for some people but no need to worry! Capping off this wonderful tank is a nice about 220 to240 price tag (depending on where you find it) not as steep as you thought for such a nice thing huh? But yea its a bit more then the nitro duck or the PMI pure energy you were looking at, an donít deny it!, but its defiantly worth the extra 40 or so dollars. AS I HOPE IVE SHOWN BY NOW!

Well I hope this has helped you as much as it has me...... or maybe not I hope its helped you more then me because I donít get anything out of this besides its taken my mind off the fact that I have no social life and waist away on the internet all night long..... Well never the less THANKS FOR READING!
Conclusion: If you didnít get it from my review then maybe this will help. BUY IT! Itís the best investment I've ever made into paintball!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, January 20th, 2006 at 5:59 pm PST
I found this review  
12 Comments - Add Comment

Dead Fifties Thursday, December 23rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PMI 45/45
Marker Setup: 2K2 Timmy
2K4 Angel A4
Strengths: VERY light, small, Good looks.
Weaknesses: My tank cover slides around because its so small.
Review: I took my tank out tonight to test it out. I ran it on my Angel A4. The tank was great, Mac Dev is very high quality. When I took it to the chrono I was shooting 287, 291, 287, which is very consistent, this is on the stock WDP mini reg. The tank is extremely light, I think its right around 2 pounds. It is also very small, my DYE 45 ci. tank cover was sliding around on the tank because this tank is so small.
Conclusion: This is a great tank. Its only $210 and it makes me wonder if Crossfire and PMI will lose a lot of sales now that Mac Dev has a screw in tank for $210 which is $20 more than a PMI tank. This tank worked great and I am very impressed and pleased to have it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PBX720 Friday, December 16th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Crossfire 45/4500
Nitro Duck 45/4500
CrossFire 47/3000
Crossfire 68/4500
Marker Setup: Dust Silver 05 Speed
MacDev Legion Air 68/4500 LP
HALO B
Strengths: Weight
Reg
Bottle
(Not much more a tank is made up of)
Weaknesses: None at all
Review: Well, I will admit, when I first went to go get a tank, I was there with my heart SET on a ....*sigh* it really pains me...a Crossfire. Don't get me wrong, Crossy makes a fine tank but when I was at the shop I said "Before I drop 180 on this Crossy let me hold that MacDev" So I held it. Let me tell you, that Crossfire is still sitting behind the glass right now.

The first thing I noticed was the weight. IT couldn't have been more than 1.5 - 2 lbs. And don't comment on me saying that I'm retarded becasue it's more/less than that I'm not a scale. The MacDev was CONSIDERABLY lighter than the Crossy.

The next thing I noticed was the size. It was a 68/4500, yet it reminded me of KnowBS's old 45/4500 NitroDuck (you know, before the Hurricane came and now the reg is like completely orange with rust). I mean I know it is NOT a 45 ci. but nearly the same length. The tank is a little wider.

Then the reg. The reg is very very very nice. It is milled, it is short, it is high flowing. Nothing much to say but AWESOME!

As for a bottle cover, I have none right now, but I recommend the MacDev cover, because obviously they make it for THEIR tanks, I don't think MacDev makes Tank Covers for people with a Crossy Air system.

So I bought the tank. What can I say? I'm a Sucker for MacDev. But it's chrono time.

I was using WDP's stock mini reg on a 05 speed. The great thing about is it's 'Cartridge' Styling which leaves the top half of the reg/foregrip open therefore acting as a integrated volumiser. This is perhaps why WDP didn't ship them with Volly's. However this is not an 05 speed review.

I chrono'd pretty consistent. about +/- 2 sometimes 3. 250, 250, 248,252,250 etc. The field we play uses 220 FPS but we are in the midst of looking for other fields.

Then I decided to have some fun. I put my gun on demo mode, and ripped. The tank was doing pretty well, From what I could tell (cant shoot paint on Demo) It was doing 31 BPS with very little drop off.

The only bad part is the shipping. It costs $35 to ship to the U S of A. So I reccomend buying from Proshops, but these tanks are rare so just save money. Trust me this tank is worth the wait. IT took me 6 months to scrounge up the 270 especially after blowing 500 on a speed. But when I got that tank it was like an Epiphany. I felt like Crying it was so awesome.

Overall it's an awesome tank 10/10!
Conclusion: Light, short, good reg what else could you ask for? The only thing this tank isn't good for is Football...
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Matt LaClair Monday, July 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nitro duck-same thing, longer reg
Crossfire-same thing, huge guage
Empire-slow recharge rate
Marker Setup: 2006 Pewter MacDev Cyborg
CP rail
CP on/off
VP claming no-rise
PBK Saber Trigger
Strengths: Great Look
Milled reg
Small Guage
Really Light
Fast recharge
Weaknesses: None
Review: I just got this in the mail strait from paintball kingdom. I ordered the 45/45 one and it is very samll and light, it looks good, too. The reg has great milling and is light blue in color. The tank is extremely small and tight to your body. The recharge rate on this thing is incredible, and can recharge around 35+ bps on my borg. One gripe though is the fact that my 05 dye rhino cover doesn't fit it tightly. But whatever, it still fits, but can be spun around the tank. This is a major improvement from my nitroduck 90/45 by switching I saved a ton of weight, diameter, and height. So far I love my tank. To get what you paid for go for macdev, they are the most high quality manufacturer in the world.
Conclusion: The price is steep, but well worth it. Get this tank.
(i'll post a picture of it on my borg)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bulzeye Thursday, March 24th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
nitroduck presets
crossfire presset
system x preset
maxflo system
Marker Setup: Planet Eclipse EGO
reloader B or z boarded egg
legionAir 45/4500 lp
Strengths: Very high flow.
Very light
Vast recharge rate
Weaknesses: None found
Review: It was between this tank or a crossfire. this was available but only in low pressure. planet eclipse suggests the use of HP tanks as opposed to LP tanks, but I have not found to have any dropoff or shootdown issues. I've ran the ego with the full auto settings up to 21 bps and not had an issue as far as dropoff or shootdown are concerned.
Conclusion: Very well constructed reg. lighter than a crossfire since the reg is all aluminum. might even have a faster recharge rate than a crossfire. my whole setup (gun, tank, barrel, reloader b) weighed in at 6 pounds 2 ounces.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

rkey Monday, December 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
pmi steel 71ci
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 with S.S. freak barrel kit, aluminum stock, aluminum double trigger, electronic trig system(not e-bolt(don't ask what it is)), 9v. view loader rev. (everything is black)

CCM S5 ,S.S. freak barrel kit , legion air, evolution 2
Strengths: Light
Consistent
Two burst disks
Good price
Looks good with rhino cover
Quality
Weaknesses: A little harder to find
Review: A verry good tank for the moneyi like the tank but cant realy compare it to much but it is a better tank than the pmi's for less. I think it is probly the best deal i have seen and don't regret buying it. Id buy it if i could find...... .... .... .. .. ....
Conclusion: Buy it you wont regret it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

justinjfrancis Monday, May 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Crossfire LP and HP regs n tanks. Maxflow
Marker Setup: Freak Factory Impulse, New designz: rip valve/lpr jackhammer/HE ram housing/slick shot/rat hole/equalizer bolt. Eclipse pro mag blade trigger, all american barrel and powerlyte scepter barrel system 7, CP vert reg, crossfire 68 4500, halo b,

Proto Matrix 2k5: Orange Bolt, Hybrid bolt guide, top hat mod, Powerlyte barrel system

WGP 2k3 cocker: My Woodsball gun, powerlyte barrel system..nothing else, derlon bolt..
Strengths: -Weight
-Size
-Looks
-Gauge
-LP AND HP burst disks
-Filtered air nipple
-Recharge
Weaknesses: Luxfer has made lighter tanks than this.
The terrible avalability
Defects in coating???
Review: Key Strenghts

The regulator is the most you'll notice out of the legionair. It has great recharge rates meaning that if you have a good regulator set-up, you'll never have dropoff issues again. Tests have shown the macdev legionair to recharge 200 cc of air in 8 milliseconds. While, one shot from a marker is usually 80 cc. The closest competetor is crossfire at 12 ms for only 80 cc.

The size is nice, smaller than the 68 ci crossy and other 68 ci tanks

The weight reduction is nice. It compares to a dye stubby, but stil heavier. Luxfer made both tanks but the dye is lighter. (dye has a recharge of 173 ms..ew)

Weaknesses

When i got the tank I freaked out because there were some bubbles in the tank finish, but i was told by macdev techs that thats okay. They would have done a 100 tank recall if that happened.



So far
Conclusion: The best of the best, legionair is. But the tank was slightly dissapointing. But still excellent.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

butterz Wednesday, January 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Cousin's Dye Throttle
Friend's Nitro Duck
Friend's Crossfire
Marker Setup: icd promaster
macdev 05' legion air 68/4500
empire reloader b
dye lock lids
Strengths: Light
Smaller than other tanks
Awesome recharge rate
Weaknesses: None
Review: Last month i was at my cuz's house shooting his b2k4 w/pds and was using his dye throttle and liked the look of the tank but was experiencing a little dropoff but wasn't too bad. Well two weeks ago i had enough money to buy a nitro tank and was looking for a crossfire 68/4500 when i came across the macdev legion air and fell in love with it. I did my homework on it and learned it had the fastest recharge rate out there and was smaller than most tanks, so i ordered it. Got my tank last week, aired it up and screwed it in my promaster and in no time i was shooting strings of paint with no drop off. i chronoed it and i had +/- 2 fps, ultra consistant . i have been reading the earlier reviews and people are saying they can't find this tank. if you are looking for it go to sakworldpaintball.com they have 68/4500 high and low pressure in stock for $230
Conclusion: For the extra $40 this is the best tank out there(in the preset category). If you can't afford it i would recommend crossfire or nitro duck.
BUY THIS TANK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, January 18th, 2006 at 8:28 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dp rocks Friday, August 5th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
crossfire, pmi
Marker Setup: black sp ion with ricochet apache, progressive barrel, flame drop, twister feed, qev, macdev 05 legion air

spyder rodeo with ricochet ak and hammerhead barrel
Strengths: Very small, lightweight, nice milling
Weaknesses: None
Review: This tank is awesome. When i first got mine i noticed the milling on the reg. It makes the tank look really nice. Next i compared it to my brothers 68/45 crossfire to my 68/45 legion. There was a noticeable difference in weight and length. The legion weighs about 9 ounces less than the crossfire and it is also about a half an inch to 1 inch shorter than the crossfire. Over a chrono with my ion and stock reg I had around a +/- 5 which is pretty good. The reg on the tank is very well made and the recharge rate is also very very fast.
Conclusion: Overall the best tank i have ever seen or used. I got mine for $199, and it was the best money i have ever spent. I would get this tank over any tank today.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Abso1ut Sunday, February 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
PMI
Crossfire
Marker Setup: '04 blue/black fade Stock Cyborg
MatchStik 7 piece barrel kit
'04 Gladiator inline reg
MacDev ASA with on/off and bleed valve
Strengths: Durability
lightweight
size
consistency
Weaknesses: Small so some bottle covers don't fit properly
Review: I've shot my borg with the LegionAir a few times now and it is the most consistent screw in tank i've ever shot with. it comes with both an lp and hp burst disk which allows it to be much safer than any other tank on the market in it's class. it is very light weight. around the same weight as the borg itself, at 1.8 pounds, with barrel on. it is very durable and can hold in any form of paintball play. it is smaller than other tanks so some bottle covers fitted for PMI's and Crossfire's, it will be bigger on it so it will slide around a little bit. but this is the only "problem" if you want to call it that.
Conclusion: Definately Worth the money. Buy it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media