paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Ariakon ACP / Ariakon ACP / Ariakon ACP / Ariakon ACP

Ariakon ACP Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Ariakon

Buy Ariakon ACP

Paintball Pistols

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Ariakon ACP
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 16
Average Rating: 6.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $130

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
One mission...
...create a better pistol. A pistol that was more accurate, more reliable, more efficient, and more durable than anything on the market. A pistol that you can trust when one shot means the difference between victory and defeat. A pistol that sets the standard and raises the bar for what's expected in the future. The all new Ariakon Combat Pistol has arrived, and we are proud to say... Mission Accomplished.

Features

* No Slip CO2 Cap
* Variable Bore Size via Inserts
* Quick Field Stripping Pin
* Oversize Trigger Guard
* Steel Replaceable Magazine Mounts
* Detachable 10 Round Magazine
* Trouble Free Ball Detent
* Soft Rubber Hand Grips
* Ridged Non-Slip Trigger Frame
* Interchangeable Flash Suppressor
* Adjustable Velocity
* Integrated Accessory Rail
* High Flow Aluminum Bolt
* Durable Steel CO2 Puncture Pin
* Milled Aluminum Body

Specifications

* Operation: .68 Caliber Semi-Automatic
* Overall Length: 13 Inches
* Overall Height: 7¾ Inches
* Weight: 2.2lb
* Barrel Length: 8 Inches (upgradeable)
* Barrel Bore ID: 0.684-0.690 (variable)
* Power Supply: 12 Gram Co2 Cartridge
* Cycle Rate: 16BPS (max)
* Capacity: 10 Rounds Per Magazine
* Velocity: 250-320+ FPS
* Efficiency: 0.4 Grams Per Shot
* Range: 0-150+ Feet
Product Availability 
The Ariakon ACP is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
UNGER Wednesday, January 19th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
1 year36 of 45 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Zeus G1, WarSensor Zeus G2+, PGP, PT Extreme. All perform similar, though the Zeus has the best performance, quick strip, grip, and construction.
Marker Setup: DYE DM4 LE, A5 w/Lapco offset & Pro Team ASR-1 raised rail w/red dot-Egrip-Flatline-LPkit-Voodoo folding stock-Phat regulator, Cocker 2004 VF, 98 Custom-Smart Parts Progressive, Ariakon ACP Combat Pistol, WarSensor Zeus G2+
Recommended
Upgrades:
Tactical Holster, replace quickstrip cotter pin with key ring, single trigger grip, heavier velocity spring,quickcap (available?).
Strengths: Fairly accurate close-up CO2 efficency Light, No chops/mis-feeds. Nice look Good CO2seal.
Weaknesses: Cust Service Velocity Sloppy Magazine Trigger Cotter-pin. Large barrel bore Plastic grip

Review: FIrst and most importantly I would like to talk about customer service. I have had this gun for about 6 months, and I have tried the suggestions from Ariakon ro resolve a velocity issue. As you read the reviews you will see that some of the reviewers score the gun incredibly high and make offers to buy it from me, and I offered to accept...but never heard from them again...no surprise.

The ACP is not overly impressive, and it is barely ok as a backup side arm. It has very little velocity adjustment and I could only get between 245-258 fps, it is alright, I guess, for an "up-close-and-personal" game. Ariakon tried to say that optimal velocity is 250 anyway, I disagreed, and said I think as a consumer I should be able to determine the optimal volocity based on the paintballs I am using. Finally they agree that there is a problem, so they offered to send me a new spring for $15.00, plus shipping. Well, I have to deduct 5 points for poor customer service. Compared to Tippmann, DYE, WGPand [Armotech removed 12/18/05]...well...never-mind... there is no comparison.

The magazine is loose fitting and rattles both on the mounting clips and internally due to a weak ball feed spring, but it does stay on the gun. The sloppy magazine has an effect on accuracy due to rocking side to side on the mounting rail, so its best to sight down the barrel side instead of down the sight rail.

The ACP holds 10 balls in the magazine and can also hold one in the pipe. It must be cocked before you air up, so the safety is the only thing keeping it from painting your foot or whatever. Don't keep one in the pipe. The metal all around is thinner than a G1, but overall it is also a slightly lighter gun. The metal pins used for the safety and quick strip pin are chrome plated. The quick strip pin has a tiny cotter pin set-up which comes out easily and could be lost.

The worst feature on the ACP is the trigger guard, and it is a permanent part of the grip. The guard is over-sized to accommodate two fingers so you must have the middle finger inside the trigger guard just to hold the gun. Apparently it is designed for the Ariakon milsim rifle line and tourney line to also hold a double trigger.

I have found that the following manufacturer's statement is FALSE: "This design allows for fast instinctive draws and target acquisition even with gloved hands, while still reducing the possibility of an accidental discharge."

Only 50% of the grip is available to draw the ACP. Testing in the Zeus tactical holster the trigger guard is mostly covered as it should be for safety. The large trigger guard of the ACP obscures the grip so you must begin the draw with the ring and little finger then find a way to insert the middle finger into the guard.

Testing in the APP belt holster the entire trigger guard is exposed. This holster type along with the trigger design exposes the trigger for accidental discharge. With the safety in the off position and full finger or half finger gloves and, using three fingers to draw the gun, it discharged 100% of the time upon attempting "fast instinctive draws" as advertised by Ariakon.

The ACP trigger guard design is NOT a better design, it IS a major safety risk. A finger inside the guard can accidentally fire the marker. Gun-training courses teach to keep fingers out of the guard until ready to fire, but even a little common sense tells you the same. The grip design will not allow you to keep fingers out of the guard and hold the gun firmly; it puts too much pressure on the ring and little finger. It is an uncomfortable trigger set-up.

Double triggers are designed to accommodate two fingers in front of the trigger and the ACP is NOT designed to accommodate a finger below the trigger. The trigger jams against my gloved finger, to remove my middle finger from the guard to allow the trigger to snap back to reset is a two handed operation. It also scrapes against my finger without gloves, and also intermittently jams against it. This might be less of a problem for someone with a small hand but you still have to put up with the feel of the guard in between the middle and ring finger. It's uncomfortable because it is not balanced like a tourney gun where the weight rests on top of the hand.

Ariakon says the ACP is not compatible with a Zeus or Core trigger frame, but there is an Ariakon single trigger grip upgrade available for around $50.00 with shipping (hmmm, a $175.00 + shipping ACP).

I am moderately satisfied with the rapid-fire ability of this pistol. I tested with an 11 ball load and emptied the gun in about 6 seconds without a problem, but when I tried to go faster the CO2 cartridge would bleed out after the 4th shot. Repeating this test twice ended in the same result, but I was able to re-cock and almost finish a clip at a slower manual cocking rate but the fps dropped to less than 100 fps. (update 2-3-05) : this seems to be temperature dependent. At near freezing the rapid firing appeared to cause the cupseal to leak, I tested on another day and it appeared to be less of a problem when above 40 degrees F. It appears that the cupseal may freeze upon rapid fire on cold days but the cupseal is still working after being frozen twice.

When rapid fire emptied the CO2 after the 4th shot, I was only able to get 3 more shots at less than 100fps by manually cocking the gun.

I continued my testing and I turned up the velocity to maximum (247-258 on the chrono), I was NOT able to empty two clips at 1 ball per 2 seconds. Repeating the test three times I averaged 14 shots before having to manually cock and fire at greatly reduced velocity. Testing the barrel bore I found that it is very large. I tested with Marballizer, Polar Ice, Draxxus Midnight, and Zap cheapo paint, however all would rattle and roll freely throughout the both tips, and to a lesser extent the barrel. I will update with the exact measurements from a machinist soon.

(Update, 2-5-05, the barrel bore measured out at 0.700. The tips look different on the outside, but the bore of each is also 0.700. I would recommend the largest paintball you can get.

The CO2 cartridge air puncture plate on the 12 gram makes a very quick and tight seal, and there is minimal CO2 loss when airing-up. The CO2 cartridge retainer plug has a fine thread and only requires finger tightening to get a high torque, this conserves CO2 and it is easy to load the CO2 cartridge.

I'm moderately satisfied with the accuracy, it's no DM4 but, at 35-50 feet its consistency is good for close-up-and- personal stuff. On a bench with a rolled towel rest, at 35 feet the pistol placed most of its marks within a 1-foot radius.

(Update 2-10-04) on a bench with a rolled towel rest at 50 ft, 75 ft, 100 ft the average results were as follows respectively: 4/11 in a one foot radius and 11/11 in a 2 foot radius, 2/11 in a one foot radius and 8/11 in a 2 foot radius , 0/11 in a one foot radius and 5/11 in a 2 foot radius. I repeated these accuracy tests three times with similar results. Not a single ball chopped or mis-fed in about 150+ shots when shooting at 1 ball per 2 seconds (above average). I also got up to 27 shots from a 12 gram at 245-250 fps firing about 1 shot every 2 seconds (above average) (but also as low as 4 shots, read on...). Update (2-3-05), in over 250 shots, this gun has not yet chopped or mis-fed.

I have found the following manufacturer quote to be FALSE: " The Ariakon Combat Pistol is the only pistol on the market which allows you to quickly change inserts to perfectly match the paint you are using." These inserts are not available.

The gun does not come with an owner’s manual at this time. Ariakon say's it will be available at a later date both in print and on line, I'm still waiting (2-11-05)...(6-14-05)...STILL WAITING!



Conclusion: The ACP is an OK performer and a nice looking gun. Because it could use much more quality in its construction, it is average. I hope that Ariakon does not abandon the ACP now that they are marketing the Overlord. The ACP has potential to be great pistol if Ariakon works to improve it.

It is disappointing that it is advertised as more than it is, and I expected barrel inserts to be available when I purchased this gun. It would also be a much better gun if the magazine didn't rock and a player could depend on the sight rail.

It would be a great customer service if Ariakon offered a low-cost upgrade to fix the trigger problem and increase the safety margin of their customers (A REALLY BIG HINT). I don't like the chrome plated safety and quick strip pin as in my experience chrome on a gun tends to rust or become unplated over time, and they could reflect sunlight. The cotter pin will eventually be a problem, it will cause the quick strip pin to get lost...it would be smart to replace it with a small key ring type if you get this gun.

The barrel bore is very large on mine making it a .700 cal. It will be hard to find paint that large and I am thinking that this is why higher velocity cuts CO2 efficiency in half. Both tips that come with the gun are also .700 cal.

This gun did not leak air when firing at a 1 ball per 2 second rate (update 2-3-05): at a warmer temperature (approx 40 deg F.) I was able to fire 11 balls in less than 6 seconds and could get through two full clips at it's lowest velocity (when new).

The CO2 cartridge air puncture plate and the fine threading of the retainer plug is very good. This design conserves CO2 on airing-up and makes it easy to load the CO2 cartridge. The retainer is a good size piece, but it is still possible that it could be lost in a game as it is NOTattached to the frame like a CO2 loading lever (and it is not nearly as fast).

For safety and a better design, Ariakon needs change the ACP trigger guard as they did on their Overlord. If the ACP had a heavy duty tight fitting magazine, military style quick strip pin and safety, a single trigger guard, a new barrel with functional barrel inserts as the advertising stated, and a better velocity spring, it would score into the 7's or 8's, (9's & 10's, well..."Be critical. Nothing is perfect").

I hope that Ariakon does not abandon the ACP now that the Overlord has been released for $30.00 less than I paid for the ACP because, the ACP needs fixes but it has potential.

I don't like the plastic grip. Problems could occur at the thinnest part of the grip, and that is where the screws attach it to the body. It is an average backup marker because in my opinion it doesn't appear have what it needs to hold up well in a hard-played milsim scenario. Also, in my opinion, there are safety issues with the ACP trigger set-up.

I rated this gun a 6.5 early on in my testing, but due to safety concerns, manufacturing workmanship, and the false advertising claim regarding barrel inserts...I am editing down to a 5 product rating. Updating 6 months later (5-29-05) I removed 5 points for poor customer service.

This review was written following these rules: Write a review that is helpful to fellow paintballers. Be critical. Nothing is perfect. Be detailed, specific and back up your rating.

As a consumer, I applaud this forum and all those who take the time to contribute useful and relevant information. This forum WILL have an effect of future products offered to us all.

This review is NOT meant to bash a product, but it IS meant to convey legitimate consumer concerns and needs to the manufacturer, as I myself am a consumer who works hard for the money I spend on paintball. It is my hope that all manufacturers will seriously consider all carefully presented reviews, and use the constructive criticism to produce safer and better paintball equipment, and at a reasonable cost.

I say to the manufacturers, most consumers are intelligent and educated, few offer blind loyalty to a product, and they are demanding of quality and safety. Manufacturers need to respond to their consumers and offer high quality and safety at a reasonable cost to promote paintball as one of the most exciting and safest sports in the world.


Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, December 18th, 2005 at 6:41 pm PST
I found this review  
17 Comments - Add Comment

Navyator Monday, February 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year16 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Sidekick Stock class (pump) pistol
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Barrels - stock, Flatline, Ceramic, All American
Response Trigger - set to fire 2-3 round bursts
Shockteck Drop Forward
Pure Energy Regulator
Lapco Offset sight rail
Optical (4x10) and red dot sight combo

Diablo Wrath
ScenerioDream T-Board with Multifunction chip
Halo B
Sceptre barrel system
Remote
Sidekick stock class marker - no upgrades - few available
Ariakon Pistol - no upgades
Recommended
Upgrades:
The "inserts" are the two muzzle breaks supplied with the marker. These are not really inserts like my sceptre system. They do add about 2" and have an effect on accuracy. The barrel is threaded for Autococker and can take any cocker barrel.
Strengths: Accuracy, rate of fire, steady, nice feel & balance. Lighter than many semi pistols.
Weaknesses: UPDATE - NONE! Initial issue with gas efficiency. Suspectedbreak-in issue as it has improved significantly.
Review: I have been interested in a semi-auto pistol sidearm for some time. Why? I play what is commonly referred to as a "floater". Depending on the game and situation I can be found almost anywhere on the field. I have found a pistol to be an excellent augment to the A-5. Particularly as it is fairly quiet while the A-5 tends to be LOUD.

I also have a Sidekick stock marker. I will use it as a point of comparison.

Overall - I found the ACP to be well made. No issues with the magazine being loose, and I have a very early production model - if the serial number is any indication - #000008.

UPDATE - 7/15/05 - Lost the penetration pin. Called Ariakon and they sent me a new pin assembly - no cost no hassle.

Magazine - Other reviews suggest loose mag is a bona fide issue. Possibly a tolerance problem or poor quality control or just coming loose during shipment. At any rate my magazine is rock solid. The flush to the barrell design makes it less likely to break or come off if impacted. The steel mounts are also a big plus. Spare mags are now available but are rather pricey at $35.

The loading cap at the end of the magazine has a ramp that can be turned upside down to prevent balls falling into the barrel while running. Its normal position helps guide balls into the barrel. This small addition is a plus as pistol owners know that when you run with pistol holstered balls can slip past the detent.

Magazine feed spring - is very (extraordinarily) weak. I have to assume this is intentional on Ariakons' part, perhaps too strong a spring interfers with the ball feed. At any rate I have had no problem with ball feed whatsoever. Nor any problems with chopping or ball breaks. Have not had one break or misfeed/double feed yet, 1,000+ balls fired, but all are premium paint. (Mostly marbs, RPS Menace & evil). BTW, the Sidekick is strictly gravity feed, so I would not make too much about the spring strength.

Accuracy - is exceptionally accurate for a pistol - period. Freehand (military grip) groupings of 15 inches or less at 60 feet. On a par with what I can get with the stock marker though I can get similar groupings with it out to about 80 feet. Very impressive even though I am shooting small bore paintballs (Evil seems to work best but I have had good results with Marbs) I will update when I find a larger bore paintball that isn't junk.

UPDATE - Forget the larger caliber paintballs and stick with premium paint.

Caveat: I have military experience and am an expert pistol shot, but with practice I think most users would be as impressed with accuracy as I was. At typical close pistol ranges (50 feet and usually much less) even better. I was able to hit a 10" flower pot 10/10 at 30 feet.

Sight - the ACP has a dovetailed sight rail on the top of the magazine (so if if is loose & wiggly you have a problem). Very narrow. Given my use of the pistol I don't expect I'll try to mount a sight. But looking down the dovetail works for me and I found it to be right on boresight.

Trigger Guard & Grip - I have no problems with the big trigger guard. I did have to modify my holster (911) for fit but it was a minor mod. I always wear fingertip open paintball gloves (if you've ever been hit on the back of the hand you'll know why). You can avoid the heavy glove problem by using same or flip back hunter's mittens if its really cold. Although the guard is large the trigger is typical (not blade) so it's pointer finger on the trigger, index finger inside the grip against the handgrip. If you look at the picture, you can see that the grip is designed for this type of hold.

Is this a safety issue? I don't think so. As a secondary weapon I keep it on safety until I'm ready to shoot. This is typical procedure for a holstered weapon.

The grip is comfortable and solid. Fits my (relatively small) hands well.

Gas efficiency - I can get 30 plus rounds off with the sidekick pump. I don't expect a semi to be as efficient, but I'm having a hard time getting more that 15-20 rounds off one 12 gram depending on rate of fire. So I get stuck in middle of second clip out of gas or manually cocking at low velocity. On the other hand, I use the pistols for emergencies, stealth and bunker busting vs MilSim, so its rare that I would go through a full clip in a game. To be fair keep in mind the barrel is fairly large bore, 70 caliber - which may explain why my gas efficiency is only fair.

UPDATE - My gas efficiency has improved significantly to where I now get about 25 good honest shots at field maximum velocity. There is a definate break-in period. The ACP also needs to be cleaned and lubricated regularly. Take down and reassembly are easy to do and explained in the manual.

REGARDING BUNKER BUSTING & STUFF - I often don't need to fire any rounds to get a surrender (very intimidating) and have yet to gas out in a game. It has saved my butt on a couple of occasions when I would have had to expose myself to fire my main gun when I could get a shot into the enema with the pistol without revealing myself.

The ACP has enough firepower and accuracy to stop a rush on your position by 2-3 enemy, which can happen if you are out of air (never happens) or have a gun problem. It also makes you a very small target as there isn't much marker exposed. Rate of fire is comparable with military sidearms. As with all pistols quick fire will exhaust gas faster than slow fire and will also degrade accuracy.

BY THE WAY - if you are carrying a sidearm, which your opponents cannot help but notice, you will tend to avoid this type of attack. Because they know you have a backup, and with pistol can be very tight, they will think twice before advancing on your position. Also, any pistol has a WOW factor that is well worth the 2.2 pounds.

The manual is now available on the Ariakon web site.
Conclusion: A decent semi-auto pistol that is worthwhile for someone who has the money and whose style of play makes a sidearm an advantage. Accuracy out to 50 feet or so on a par with my stock marker, which is exceptional for a semi-auto pistol.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, August 4th, 2005 at 4:04 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Robotech Monday, January 31st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month10 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Zeus G1 Very similar in design and function.
Marker Setup: Both the ACP and Zeus are bone stock...come on...they're pistols.
Recommended
Upgrades:
None at this time.
Strengths: Light weight, comfortable trigger, and 20+ shots to a 12 gram
Weaknesses: Trigger isn't bad...but with big hands and gloves it can be an issue
Review: Having owned a Zeus for a while I was very interested when I received my ACP. The first thing I noticed was weight. Every Zeus owner that has picked it up said the same thing..."Man, this thing is light." I always had a problem with my Zeus in a thigh holster. With its weight, the holster tended to move around and become uncomfortable in a very short time. With the ACP, I forgot it was on my thigh most of the day. Much nicer to carry as a sidearm with that reduced weight.

The other nice thing was the amount of shots I got out of a 12 gram. With my Zeus, I got around 15-20 on a good day. With the ACP, even under fairly rapid fire I could get a consistant 20+ shots per CO2. That was nice.

The trigger is a bit funky. Overall, I find the trigger set up more comfortable than the Zeus because you get more support with the frame between the middle and ring finger giving it a more comfortable feel. However, the trigger will rub on your middle finger and this only gets worse with gloves. I may try modifying the trigger some and seeing if this doesn't aliviate the problem without requiring me to change triggers.

The magazine was a bit of a disapointment. It does not fit tight and Zeus magazines will not work. There is no quick cap option at this time as well. While the ball feed spring is a bit on the week side, I haven't had any issues yet with it not feeding so I'm not concerned about this yet. HOWEVER, the good news is that the steel mag mounts on the receiver of the marker are VERY durable and look like they will take forever to wear out. When they do, they are replaceable. Good call on this one. Also, Ariakon is talking about releasing the Rapid Release Magazine system from their new Overlord pistol for the ACP. If the system works as good as they (and the few who have Overlords in their posession already) say, then magazine changes can be done in a couple of seconds without having to look at the pistol. That would be a HUGE improvement...now if we can get something done with the 12 grams. LOL

The Barrel inserts are nice too. The one that comes attached to the marker makes it a bit quieter than a Zeus (more "porting" I'm guessing). There is a second one that comes with the marker that has a different look and a little different inner diameter for matching paint a little better. The insert only goes into the barrel about an inch but testing found it to be the best compromise of consistancy and efficiency. It was found a complete insert down the barrel reduced the number of shots per CO2.
Conclusion: Overall I love the ACP and it has replaced my Zeus as my backup marker.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

YDpaintball Monday, January 31st, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested9 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Sheridan PGP, PT Extreme, Zeus G1
Strengths: Lightweight, Accurate
Weaknesses: Awkward in basic design, poor construction, low quality parts
Review: I have only tested this marker and for that I say "Thank Goodness!" It would have been a serious waste of my hard earned money to have actually paid more for this gun than what I can get a quality Zeus G1 for.

Here is why:

Awkward in basic design: Not sure what the designers were thinking here, but the trigger guard is one of those large ones used for double triggers. The gun only has a normal, single trigger so it is a huge waste of space AND leads to the biggest problem this gun has. In order to hold this gun, you have to place two fingers inside the trigger housing. One to pull the trigger with and one to just float around in there. Now for me, when I pull the trigger, it gets stuck on my finger rendering the gun useless in combat. It I was wearing gloves this problem would be even worse. You get one pull of the trigger then...nothing. Now, this problem can be fixed buy buying the $50 dollar trigger upgrade that will give you the trigger that should have come with the gun in the first place. Well done Ariakon. Great way to bilk your customers outta more money. Poorly thought out (or was it?!?!) by the manufacturer.

Poor construction: the magazine is loose. the tension spring that pushes the paintballs towards the feed has the tension power of a wet noodle. Shoddy workmanship. Clearly not something anyone wants in a gun costing any amount of money.

Low quality parts: the pins to take this thing apart are cheap and made unnecessarily difficult by using cotter-pins instead of balldetent style quick strip pins. What were they thinking? Do they want customers to lose small little pins in the field when cleaning this gun?

I would go into the good points about this gun, but the three bad points are enough to make me recommend against this gun so strongly that I don't see the need to even go into them. Yeah, it shoots well (when it shoots) and it weighs less than the Zeus. Does that really matter? I want my gun to shoot when I pull the trigger and stay assembled. That is more important to me.
Conclusion: Don't buy this gun. Save money. Save time. Save hassle. Armotech's Zeus series is far more reliable and much better thought out with the consumer in mind.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, February 3rd, 2005 at 7:36 am PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

DanGuy Sunday, February 6th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Zeus & Delta 68
Marker Setup: stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
none
Strengths: Light, Durable, Accurate, lots of shots per CO2.
Weaknesses: Learning the magazine was a bit tricky you get the hang of it its easy.
Review: I have had this gun for almost a month and I have been shooting it pretty much every day in my back yard. I have not experianced any of the problems that the other reviewers have so all I can say is that I am very happy with the ACP. The trigger takes a little bit of getting used to because of the big trigger guard but after a few days of handling it now feels natural to me. I have yet to get less than 20 shots from a co2 and the highest I got that I counted was 31. Thats pretty good for a semi pistol. The inserts that come with seem to be for large paint but thats ok because cheap paint is usualy large and i don't have money to use expensive paint.

One thing I did notice was that the magazine was a little bit loose at first but i called Ariakon and Gus told me to pull back on the plastic plug on the back a little while I turned it to the on position and it would pop into place. He was right and since i have been doing that it has never wobbled any more.

I have never had a leak and I have left mine with a co2 in it for days and still had air in it when I came back.

I have been paracticing shooting paper cups and cans off my fence and I can now hit 9 out of 10 almost every time. I think with more practice I can get it up to 10 out of 10.

I am a pistol freak and I really like the improvements that were made over other pistols like the Zeus because i own one of those too and I am happy to see that the quality of the ACP is much higher and when i did have to call Ariakon they were eager to help me. I also had a Delta for a while but I won't even go into that nightmare.
Conclusion: If you want a really good pistol you can't go wrong with the ACP. So far I have 3 Ariakon products and I am very happy with all of them. The best part about them is that the company is so easy to reach when you need help or have a question. The only other company I have had such good service with is Tipmann but they don't have a pistol.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

tippmannhunter Saturday, January 29th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
pt extreme, delta 68
Marker Setup: Angel Speed Demon
dye ultralight
crossfire LP 68 4500
empire reloader B
Strengths: It comes with alot of extra parts.
Weaknesses: It does not come with a manual.
Review: Not bashing the taiwans, but any assembly line you will see a few mistakes on the product every now and then mine was this: I just bought the gun today 1/29/05 I made a 1Hour and 45 minute drive just to get it. I get home and gas it up the gas leaks violently out of a screw located at the bottom of the gun directly underneath the pin which punctures the carterage. I took out the screw only to find out only half of it was done with pipe dope and the other half was left with nothing so the air leaked out of the side with some teflon tape and some pipe dope i fixed it no problems.
Conclusion: Overall, it seems to be a very nice gun the grip is something to get usefull but out of all pistols I have owned every one needs something to correct a leak this one was the easiest.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ZurelDarrillian Friday, April 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None.
Marker Setup: Ariakon SIM-4 Elite with LED Trigger.
Ariakon TORO with custom paint.
Ariakon ACP with aftermarket SureShot LED Tac light with Laser sight.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Delrin Bolt, Rapid Release Magazine, Holster.
Strengths: Light and phenominally Reliable.
Weaknesses: Early manufacturing defects.
Review: The ACP suffered early on from a severe manufacturing defect that Ariakon has since corrected (hence the lack of problems with the Overlord). This is a very light weight pistol and is a excellent secondary weapon that can serve as a primary. I have never had any problems with this marker aside from the warrantied manufacturing issue. It is very accurate for it's barrel length and has good efficiency. In the winter I get 25 shots per 12 gram. Now that it is warming up I am getting closer to 30-35 shots per 12 gram. Though it is a very good marker stock, there already is an aftermarket Delrin bolt available, and Ariakon is soon going to release the ACP version of the Rapid Release Magazine. The biggest complaint I have heard about the ACP is that many don't like it's trigger and the other available triggers are $30-$60 a piece. I personally like the trigger so that is just a matter of preference that people need to be aware of. Until reading these reviews I have never heard of a complaint about any other peice of hardware on the ACP beyond the two I've mentioned and I know over 100 ACP users. So take that for what it's worth.
Conclusion: Overall, I think it is an excellent product that developed a bad rep early on because of an equipment failure that affected several hundred units. I have frequently used my ACP and it has been both reliable and consistent in how it shoots and I would recommend that anyone looking for a pistol seriously consider it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, April 15th, 2005 at 9:10 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

WarHamster Tuesday, March 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Armotech Zeus
Marker Setup: -Upgraded 2004 Ariakon SIM-4 w/ accessories
-Stock 2004 WGP Autococker Prostock
Recommended
Upgrades:
New trigger if you hate the stock one (as most do)
Strengths: Weight
Air efficiency
Shot Consistancy
Weaknesses: Clips
Reliability
Trigger Guard (love it or hate it)
Review: My Experiences:

I treated myself to one of these just before X-mas and I was lucky enough to recieve ACP# 000009. The packaging it came in was somewhat disappointing. It came in clear molded plastic. It looked like something you'd see a BE Talon packaged in at WalMart. Also, there was no Manual included (though it's available online now), which was distressing to say the least. However, I decided to try it out before I passed judgement.

Now before I even got it, I'd had every intention of immediatly replacing the double trigger (which everyone complains about) with the single trigger (pro-trigger) that I was using on my SIM-4. However, after trying out the ACP a bit, I fell in love with it's stock trigger. Perhaps it's just that I have large hands or hold the trigger differently, but I've had none of the pinching issues that I've heard about. Something about the trigger just felt right. Needless to say, I still use the stock trigger even though I have a single trigger for it.

ANYWAYS, I took it out back and tried firing it out. It was amazing! I was getting nearly 30 shots per CO2 cartridge even in subzero weather with the velocity 3/4 up. It's performance was just as good. I was consistanty placing shots exactly where I wanted them. Even speedfiring didn't dissapoint, I could empty the whole clip as fast as I could pull the trigger, granted at reduced CO2 efficiency. I was getting just over 20 shots per 12g when I was firing as fast as I could with each clip. So, pleased with my new purchase, and eagerly looking forward to the spring I put my ACP away, until I'd get a chance to use it at the field. The next time I took it out, about 1.5 months later, I had an unpleasent discovery.

I went to fire it off a bit before I we went to the field the next weekend. I wanted to make sure it was still working alright. The first 2 clips on the CO2 cartridge went fine, then the problems started. When I changed the CO2 cart, it would spew tons of CO2 from the 12g chamber as soon as the 12g was pierced. I found out LATER, that I'd lost the gasket (o-ring) that seals the CO2 piercer. However, feeling pretty comfortable with the interals of the ACP up to that point, I started messing around with the interals trying to find out what was wrong. while I was reassembling it, I accidently tried to screw one of the retention screws for the front valve on over one of the o-rings rather than into the hole on the valve where it was designed to go.

Needless to say I messed it up pretty good. I marred the surface of the valve pretty badly and destroyed the o-ring. I called Ariakon tech support up, and they asked me to look for the gasket "well I'll be darned, it's gone!" Thankfully Ariakon sent me a new CO2 piercer (with gasket, firmly attached) which helped things. However, I felt too stupid to admit that I'd messed up the valve, and instead just hoped with a new o-ring on it, and the gasket on the CO2 piercer everything would be fine. However, it wasn't, my ACP (which was getting 25~30 shots before I messed it up) was now lucky to get 15 because of my stupidity, and the now slightly deformed valve.

Not to be discouraged I used it anyways my first weekend out of the season. I never had a chance to pull it out on the field, but at the end of the day several other friends who'd also gotten pistols over the X-mas season & I decided to have some pistol matches on a speedball field. Apart from the poor number of shots I was getting per 12g (due to my messing up the valve) it performed beautifully. I simply had to change the 12g with every clip rather then every 2 clips as I should have. It was far more consistant than I would have expected for a pistol, was light & easy to carry, and was durable enough to be landed on while I slid into a muddy bunker.

That about brings us up to today: I've just sent me ACP back into Ariakon for replacement of the valve that I messed up. They were kind enough to cover the repairs under warranty, despite the fact that it was my error. While on the phone with them I also found out the cause of my original gasket issue that led to all my problems. Apparently one of the machines on their line that applied glue to the gasket was malfunctioning and only putting on a small percentage of what was necessary. The affected ACP's gasket would eventually freeze to the front of a CO2 cartridge and come right out and be thrown away without the user ever even being aware of the problem. Ariakon has since begun shipping replacement piercers to anyone who encounters this problem, and has fixed the offending machine.


I'll give an update on my ACP's status when I get it back from Ariakon.


***Update: 4/9/05***
Well, apparently I just had a bad ACP. Ariakon for the life of them could not figure out what mine kept leaking (the vavle didn't fix it). Ariakon shipped me a new ACP which I recieved earlier this week, and it's been performing very well, with absolutely no problems. Also regarding the barrel inserts, I was on the phone with an Ariakon rep. Apparently the two inserts that come with the ACP are the same size (they just give you two so you have some options on appearance). Different sized inserts are a seperate upgrade that should be coming out along with the Rapid Release Magazine System.
Conclusion: Sadly, I've heard several people who had issues with loosing their piercer gasket due to the problem I outlined in the review above. Likewise, the clips are loose and tend to wobble slightly.

However, overall it is an excellent marker. It is consistant, fast for a pistol (the pistol can keep up with me firing as fast as I can), light weight, extremely durable, and (before I messed up the gas system) excellent on CO2 efficiency.

I'd give it a 7 out of 10. Once of the RRM (rapid release magazine) system from the overlord (Ariakon's other pistol) is released for the ACP, I'll changed my score to an 8.5, because the RRM would correct the wobbly clip issue, and is an AWESOME system.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, April 9th, 2005 at 9:31 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

C_Good Tuesday, May 23rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tac-8
Marker Setup: WGP Autococker Trilogy
- Smart Part Progressive Barrel
- Physco Blastics drop forward with Smart Parts Air Guage
- Delrin bolt with Venturi Face with light with block
- Empire Reloader (sound activated) Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
None
Strengths: None
Weaknesses: - Hard to change CO2
- Bad internal air parts, gun always leaks
- Very bulky to wear
Review: This thing was a poor purchase. I bought this on a deal off the internet that had the gun and a bunch of accessories cheap. The gun though leaks horribly from the air pressure chamber. After a week of working on it and a ton of different parts I could not get it to stop leaking air. None of the local paintball stores service Ariakon products cause of their poor tech support. So now this gun sits at my house unused cause a little leak is a big deal on a gun that runs off a 12 gram CO2. Not to meantion its hard to change the C02 during play, and the thing feels HUGE on your leg when your using it as a back up gun.
Conclusion: Dont buy it, there are better .68 cal pistols on the market
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

somnambulated Sunday, April 24th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Zeus, Zeus G2.
Marker Setup: Delrin Bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel inserts, when Ariakon makes them available.
Strengths: Construction, Parts used, Good weight.
Weaknesses: The magazine plug pull ring is cheap. As with all pistol markers, accuracy.
Review: *UPDATE*
Shortly after I wrote this review, I began having serious problems with my ACP.

First, the front magazine mount broke off. Now, Ariakon says these mounts are made of hardened steel, which is true. However, the front mag mount, the mount which takes the most stress during reloading, is attached to the marker with a very tiny set screw, and a thread adaptor 'spring' was used to fit it to significantly larger threading. While I was putting a magazine on the ACP, the front mount popped off, taking the screw, and the screw threading with it.

Ariakon had me mail my ACP back, and sent me a new one when they'd received it.

This marker worked fine, until the second time I took it onto the field, when the marker began leaking air rapidly. I checked the CO2 piercer, and the seal was actually missing from the piercer assembly.

I ordered two new piercer seals from Ariakon, and installed one.

Soon after, my marker began leaking air from the barrel. I replaced every o-ring in the marker, checked every part for damage, and re-assembled the marker according to the diagram on Ariakon.com.

Same leak. I am going to have to spend more time, and more money for postage to send the marker back to Ariakon, assuming they will replace the marker at all, despite the malfunction of their "Leak-Free Valve."

I may be one of the few who have had problems with Ariakon's products, but the problems I have been having make this marker next to useless as a sidearm. If it breaks down this easily, I don't think it's even worth owning as a "backup" marker. I am changing my review grade to a '3.'

I doubt I will ever get a refund of purchase price from Ariakon, and this marker will end up sitting in a box somewhere in a closet, instead of being used out on the paintball field as a backup.

*Original Review:

Having used my friend's Zeus, and later a Zeus G2 on the field, I wanted a pistol marker for myself. Like it or not, a pistol will never be a practical primary marker. But, it can be a reliable backup, and a secondary marker for those of us who sometimes like to action-hero it on the field. I don't suggest trying this if you mind getting shot.

The ACP is well constructed, even though it is lighter than the Zeus and the Zeus G2. For the price, it is solidly built, and it's weight feels great in the hand.

*Trigger Gaurd
Several other reviews have mentioned the oversized trigger gaurd on the ACP may be a safety hazard. I'm not sure why Ariakon chose to include a second finger inside of the trigger frame when gripping the pistol. Personally, I don't find the oversized gaurd to be as cumbersome as it might seem at first glance. Through several games, I was able to draw the pistol without hesitation from it's holster.

*Carrying in a Holster
As an aside, the Armotech/Ariakon holster is a problem in itself. I do not reccomend it to any player. The holster is impossible to mount securely, uncomfortable, and flops back and forth when you run, no matter how much circulation you cut off to your leg by tightening down the straps.

I used a cordless drill holster on a nylon belt with better results. Through six games, the ACP sat securely inside the holster by the small of my back, through crawling, jumping, running and sliding. In both games I played wearing the Ariakon holster my ACP fell out into the dirt.

*Firing
At the target range, the ACP was fairly accurate at about 40 feet. Less accurate than my Tippman 98 with a stock barrel, which is to be expected. Compared to a Phantom pump marker with Micro setup... Well, there is no comparison.

The ACP grouped fairly well within a 1-foot radius, but not well enough for 1-shot kills. The ACP seems to be better suited to cover for a jammed marker at short range, or to fire at groups of players, at short range. However, with a 10-round clip, I was able to empty every shot onto a styrofoam dummy downrange with minimal difficulty. Any target smaller than that--a bottle at 40 feet--required at least 3-5 rounds to hit.

After 15 rounds, or one and 1/2 clips, accuracy drops. At a slower rate of fire, you can squeeze 20 rounds out of 1 Crossman 12 gram CO2, but just barely.

*Reloading
The magazine plug needs to be worked a bit before it becomes easy to remove. The included pull ring is cheap, and I destroyed mine halfway through the day trying to get the magazine plug out. Luckily, it's not a specialized part, and can be replaced with a standard key ring.

The magazine comes on and off with a little elbow grease. This is the one time I found the oversized trigger gaurd helpful: gripping the gun when removing and re-attaching the magazine.

*Cleaning
The ACP is easy to disassemble, clean, and oil, but only after you read the online manual. Ariakon does not include a manual with the gun. The only 'trouble spot' I found upon re-assembly is the o-ring around the hammer, which takes a little working to fit properly back into the chamber. Ariakon also manufactures this gun with sharp corners, which I suppose will wear down over time, but can be quite a surprise when you go to put an oily gun back together.

Conclusion: Over all, a well-built backup marker. Fairly accuracy, good weight, and rate of fire provide this pistol marker with great bang for the buck. I reccomend this to anyone who is looking for a solid sidearm and nothing more, without the hassle of a pump sidearm.

*Edit: Chance it, if you must. It's a great-looking marker, but in my experience, it's not worth the price.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Friday, July 29th, 2005 at 5:00 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media