paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / WDP Angel Air A.I.R. System / WDP Angel Air A.I.R. System / WDP Angel Air A.I.R. System

WDP Angel Air A.I.R. System Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount WDP

Buy WDP Angel Air A.I.R. System

Paintball Air Systems and Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


WDP Angel Air A.I.R. System
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 34
Average Rating: 7.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $499

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The a.i.r. is a 4500-psi electro pneumatic digital regulator. It is supposed to have the best performance, consistency and reliability in a paintball regulator. The a.i.r. uses sensors to constantly monitor the pressure in your tank while a tiny microprocessor calculates the number of shots you have left as well as the output pressure and the gas remaining in your tank. At the touch of a button the a.i.r. will allow you to easily scroll through the regulator's functions. To check on status of your tank pressure, output pressure or shots left. The a.i.r. comes complete with a dual approved D.O.T/HSE ergonomic 68cu.inch composite cylinder including the "Lok-Sok" grip enhancer for maximum control and a universal mounting bracket to fit most markers available today. It also includes a standard ASTM rupture disc; a low-pressure safety vent and a low profile fill nipple with integral nipple cover.Whatever marker you shoot the a.i.r. will give you the opportunity to experience the style, quality and performance of the universes first electro pneumatic paintball regulator.
Product Availability 
The WDP Angel Air A.I.R. System is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Unregistered User Wednesday, October 10th, 2001
 
17 out of 22 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: -Unique electronic regulator (well, not really. . . i'll explain)
-Semi-light to medium weight (not the lightest but definetly not the heaviest)
-cool looking Loc-Soc
-WDP name (dont you just love the brits?)
Weaknesses: Well, all in all, this tank operates as well (if not a little worse) than other high-end tanks in the market these days (MacDev, MaxFlow, etc.).

***DO NOT BE FOOLED***
The misleading factor in people's decision to purchase this tank is their assumption that it is an electronic regulator. It is not, the electronics inside the regulator guage pressure and counts shots left / fired etc., you also get a game-timer.
What dissappointed me about this tank is the fact that adjusting the output pressure was still mechanical. The extra $100-$150 you pay for this tank is purley for the extra bells and whistles.
Conclusion: This is a good tank, dont get me wrong, but price is a major factor in the rating that i will give this tank. If it was adjustable electronicaly, this would have been a major inovation to the paintball world, but the fact of the matter is that it's regulator is on par with other high-end regs out there.
And something also crossed my mind. If you had A.I.R. an Angel LCD and a Ricochete hopper, you would have 3 game timers and 3 shot counters, which led me to the conclusion that a high-end tank w/ the bells and whistles that come w/ a high-end gun is just unnecessary and rediculous. You could buy a MaxFlow or MacDev for less and spend the extra money on other accesories.

All in all, good tank, but the price is nowhere close to the worth.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Pooldude24 Sunday, August 11th, 2002
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months9 of 25 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Flatline 68 By Air gun designs
Marker Setup: Rt-Pro w/ flatline 68 level 10, warpfeed, and a halo loader
Strengths: Well it looks cool comes in several neat colors the LED is and eye catcher deal but mmmmm read the bad and I will tell what I do not like about this tank
Weaknesses: Well First off is the price 599.00 bucks was the lowest I could get my paintball dealer to sell it to me, second was the weight very heavy, third no turn off valve, forth I kept blowing out orings like crazy, and finally with all the fancy digital stuff it's really useless I don't need to know how many more shots I got left.
Conclusion: Well for eye appeal and just to flaunt your big bucks sure go for it but I was very unimpressed with this product for that much money to spend WDP should make a tank better I broke orings alomost every time I leaked air, the concept is great but WDP should stand by there product more (greedy) than shell out something fancy sorry WDP but thats my opinon
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
10 Comments - Add Comment

TheAngelBoy Wednesday, November 6th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Chrome AGD Flatline, Smart Parts Max-Flow regulator, My really old black 68 4500psi Angel air tank.
Marker Setup: 2k silver Angel LCD C&C, shocktech valve, Freak barrel (SS back, .698 insert, Silver teardrop front, total of 14in.), 15 degree air adapter, KAPP fury volumizer, Clear Dye grips, IR3 gated feed tube, Lady trigger, Kream Lady dropforward, Silver 45ci 4500psi Angel AIR tank with clear Lok Soks, the new nickle metal hydride battery, inverted LCD board, Dark Angel Accesories include: Pewter dark series backplate, Ball detent, breach pin, dark sight rail, and the 2 finger gripper, Dye venturi Bolt, Anti-chop Gabriel Eye, and a clear Halo-B.

I also own an E-mag, an Excalibur, an Evolution-X Cocker, F/X micro-cocker, an Eclipse Impulse and Black angel LED (with the gabriel Eye).
Strengths: This is a really sexy tank! My 45ci 4500psi tank is really light! and the colors match my gun perfectly. I have always hated doing math problems to find out what my gas efficiency was back before I used Angel Air, but now, with the help of the shot counter I can just push the button like twice and find the number of shots left. The Angel Air regulator will still function even if your battery runs out on the feild.
Weaknesses: Yes the fact that there is no LCD back light really pissed me off big time at Wayne Dollack's 24 hour games! At night when I went to look at the shot counter I couldn't read the screen! So, I went back to my tent and borrowed the light bulb from my key-chain light and soldered 2 copper wires to it, and then hooked it up to a watch battery, and stuffed it into the little space in the back of the regulator! works like a charm!
Conclusion: If your used to spendind alot of money on paintball sh1t than go ahead and buy this product. It looks great on any gun!

If your mad about the Backlight thing, than try what I did with the key-chain light bulb!

All in all its just about the best reg ever built I'll give it 9.9, or just round that off to a 10!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
10 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, January 9th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Pure Energy 68ci 3000 psi
Pure Energy 45ci 4500 psi
Marker Setup: With my Angel I use a 14 inch Freak and a 12 volt with the x-board (really makes a difference). I use a 68ci 4500 psi Angel A.I.R. with a Smart Parts drop forward. I also use a high rise and Dye Volumizer with an aftermarket bolt. The is basically a big hole through the middle to increase air efficency.
Strengths: -Gauge gives you specific reading
-Easy to adjust input pressure
-Shots left counter comes in handy
-Works best with an Angel
Weaknesses: -Heavy
-Have to shoot a lot of paint to calculate shots left
-LCD screen not backlit (can't be seen in dark, unlike LCD screen on Angel grip)
-Safety vent can leak even when input pressure is still under specified parameters
-Very difficult to install
Conclusion: This systems was desgined to work with the input pressures of the angel, and it does it very well. It's a bit heavy and the LCD screen is hard to see unless the light conditions are right. I stripped the screw that goes into the top of the gun trying to install it. A little trick is to unsrew the bottle from the regulator, put the regulator onto the drop forward or whatever you are using, and then screw the bottle back on. Learn from my mistakes. As for price, if you've got the money, it's a nice setup, but another high flow system that will do just as well is the Armaggeddon.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

acpbaseball89 Monday, June 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
aci, maxflow
Marker Setup: 2k2 wgp
sto bolt
twisted cocking rod
kapp front lpr
blue hinge trigger frame
omega ram
ricochette 2k
68 4500 angel air
Strengths: Amazing Consistancy. efficiency
Weaknesses: screen doesnt want to work
Review: I love it it looks so pimp on my cocker and the consistancy is unmatched but i do have a beaf about my screen not working which doesnt matter cause u dont need it for the tank to work if u want to lighten ur gun use a gas though
Conclusion: i love it i got it used on ebay for 235 so i think it is great for the price i got it for would never pay 500 for it tho
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Paintballer505 Wednesday, March 31st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
this is the best air system out there
Marker Setup: outkast, with eblade, gas threw grip with rubber grip(comfortable), kapps lpr, eclipse ram, eclipse qev's, new dezigns stablizer, phat hammer, shocktech 3:16 valve, shocktech supafly bolt, halo oddesy tsa lcd frontman hopper, 68/4500 angel air with rigged empire drop, 32 degrees gauges here and there, a kapps lollie pop beaver tail, and to rap it all up a dye boomstick:) or instead of the angel air and gas threw grip i use the empire on/off with a 68/4500 pure energy tank and a 2004 mac dev gladiator reg
Strengths: This is fast recharging and its a good air system
Weaknesses: It is a little heavy, and it can be complicated
Review: I dont know why people dont like this air system... ooo i know why because THEY DONT READ DIRRECTIONS!!!! everything that is done rong with these tanks that makes them break is user error. because they dont bother reading the manual. i really dont know why because if they spend 600 dollars on something they should read the dirrections. the things that are complained about are it has no on/off. here is a little tip go to the hardwear store and buy an on off valve and put it on the 90 degree elbow.(solves that problem) leaks durring air fill is because u have to unscrew the pressure screw till there is no pressure in the reg.(people dont like this but really try to do this with a verticle reg. i mean empty a regular tank put it on your gun make sure when the tank gets filled that the air will go into your reg) it will break your verticle reg if you have done that as well. the alen at the top is a little pain but that is where the hardwear store or cobra velocity adjusters come into play. the guy with the light idea is what you need to use to see at night. if you hook one up like i have on my tank and it works. as long as u follow directions it is a very easy tank to use it also has a great regulator system which is one of the best. I am sorry about this agressive review but some peoples (stupidity) im sorry but that is the word that is needed, this is why this tank is scored so low, and that angers me so that is why this is so aggressive.
Conclusion: great tank, i got mine for 250 dollars so it makes it even better. just as long as u follow all the directions u can upgrade it by includeing, a light and u can hook that up to the on button like i did if you are good with electronics, then you can make that happen. also buy an on off valve from the hardwear store and put that on the tank that solves another problem. also put an easy to twist screw ontop of it rather than an alen and that is a breeze as well. if you read the directions this is a great tank and you will have a great time with it. if you think its heavy eather you are a wimp or u need to buy a gas threw grip(always get a gas threw grip!!!)i give this a 10 because this is the best product u can buy in the air industry. Note sorry about the bad spelling i just rushed through this.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, March 31st, 2004 at 9:32 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

angel freak Saturday, November 17th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Max-flo, Armegegdon, Apocolypse, Pure Engergy(with the extra reg thing on the front).
Marker Setup: well i have allot of guns so i'll just use my brand new iron man as the example.
Dye ironman LCD, Air 68 stars and stripes tank, dye boomstick, CP pro kit, FREAK, All American, vigilante reg, Custom Products lightning cradle, Red turbo revvy,
Strengths: Its been working good for me so far. Stays consistant. Looks awesome. No gages. All digital.
Weaknesses: Nothing yet. I really hope nothing happens to it because I have four of them.
Conclusion: Its been well working and consistent for me for now. I have a 88 on my eclipse shocker and its been awesome so far. I have heard reports of leaks with it and stuff like that so I can't give it a 10. Its also been working good on my DYE Ironman LCD, My Eclipse Angel, and my Eclipse Bushy.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, May 7th, 2001
 
2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: Anyways, I wanted to express my views on my new purchase, the Angel Air... perhaps you may have experienced some of the issues that I have encountered...

Overall, the system is put together well and asthetically pleasing... Regulates air well, and the digital readout is helpful...
Weaknesses: 1) The pressure release valve on the reg releases air whenever I go over 675ish. I know that the angel operates at 600-650, but in the manual, it says its good up to 850psi... It also vents when it is just sitting there... I know that sometimes room temperature can cause air to expand and thereby cause this safety valve to go off, but is this really normal???

so, I tried this and it solved the problem, but I don't guarantee it will work on yours...

Empty the tank
unscrew the screw holding the little steel plate.
take out the red plastic thing
clean it with soap and water
dry it with a soft towel
replace all the parts
screw it on tight, but don't crank it on...

2) Second problem... I can't REALLY shut off the tank... Even with the grub screw fully out, there is still a little constant leak out the macro line fitting...
However, if I screw the grub screw back in, there is a zone right before I engage air where it leaks less than with the grub fully out...

I think there is a break in period... I spoke to Frazer at WDP about this and he said that after a few hundred shots, it should be OK... I played with it the first time last weekend, and the leak is still there... but it doesnt affect performance...
Conclusion: Regardless, I guess I am a tad disappointed with the system. For being the most expensive tank out there, I expected more quality, and less quirks...

However, I would still recommend it to people... it's a great tank...
and it can only get better...

Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Nitehawk009 Tuesday, February 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Max Flo, Screw in's
Marker Setup: Angel 4, Halo B, X-Board Revvy, Freak system/Dye Boomstick, 68ci Angel AIR
Strengths: When it works, it's very consistent
Weaknesses: It is SOOOOO unreliable.
Review: I bought this reg, thinking, that I had finally suceeded and gotten the best thing out there for air systems. I was completely wrong. When it worked, for the first week and first time out, it was right on. It was VERY consistent. Since then, it has been leaking crazily. I have sent it in to an approved angel tech twice, and have gotten it back twice still not functioning properly. I'll put a fill in it, and within a matter of hours the reg will blow up and it wont hold any pressure at all. Eric (the angel tech at AngelParts.com has been more than helpful, but his attempts have failed to make this reg work. I am terribly disappointed and will be looking in different directions for an air system, as well as a gun, since I no longer trust this company that I thought was practically bulletproof. Their reputation just went down the toilet with me. Sorry WDP, get it in gear!!!!
Conclusion: I will never look to buy anything from WDP again, particularly their AIR system. I will be getting rid of it. Anyone want a dead Angel AIR?? Real Cheap!!! I might even sell the gun if you ask nice.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, March 9th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
pure energy 3000psi 68 cu, 4500 armageddon 114 cu
Marker Setup: Warped Sportz Dark Angel v2.0 w/4500 114 cu armageddon nitro, check it tuct tite, check it 14" dragon barrel, revoution, 1 warped volumizer
Strengths: It looks cool i guess. i like the little light by the LCD screen.
Weaknesses: First off the weight is way to heavy for any gun. The price is insane as well. The velocity adjuster kept coming loose so my velocity would drop slowly throughout the day. O-rings constantly blowing and just not to much stability in it.
Conclusion: Overall this gun was ok. the looks were great but performance just wasnt there. I still use it on my bushy but wont let it near my angel.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media