paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT Spectra Flex-8 Full Headshield / JT Spectra Flex-8 Full Headshield / JT Spectra Flex-8 Full Headshield

JT Spectra Flex-8 Full Headshield Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT Spectra Flex-8 Full Headshield

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT Spectra Flex-8 Full Headshield
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 23
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The JT Spectra Flex-8 Full Coverage completes the next evolutionary step in the JT flex 8 family. This coverage addition to the flex-8 comes directly from extensive focus groups from the field owners and mid-level players. The latest evolutionary step in the JT Flex family. This all new goggle system uses the most widely used goggle and lens combination in the industry (290 Degree Spectra 2). The revolutionary exoskeleton frame is created using JT's exclusive state of the are "dual-fusion" technology, which is allows the system to be structurally efficient, while maintaining the softness, flexibility and the ventilation winning players demand.

The integrated soft ear protection and increased venting, for better communication, makes the insert-molded vents the ultimate in color and protection; their rotated placement is directly related to the maximum deflection angle. With the JT Spectra Flex-8 offering a "smaller target" to your opponent than previous spectra systems and maintaining the ability to accept the vortex ii fan and other popular JT accessories, this latest JT goggle system is destined to take its place in the JT hall of fame!
Product Availability 
The JT Spectra Flex-8 Full Headshield is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
xenracer Thursday, October 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month20 of 21 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Scotts Badass
JT Alpha
Marker Setup: Icon E w/ 14" Barrel and System X expansion chamber
VL Revy 12v
ACI coiled remote
20oz Co2
Strengths: Comfortable fit
Complete head protection
Weaknesses: Goggle foam could be a little thicker.
Review: This isn't the headshield mask they sell at walmart for $30. It is a lot more comfortable and stylish.

I was in the market for a new mask. I've used a Scott Badass for eons and it was time to retire it. Trip to LPS. Tried on the various $70 masks, proto, dye, etc. for me personally the Spectra Flex 8 Full headshield was the best fit. I also liked it was hard plastic around the entire mask. The dye and proto masks used a softer material around the jawbone/mouth areas, which for me doesn't feel as safe.

on a side note: I tried to attach my goggleflauge to this mask and it doesn't fit.
Also I have not quite yet figured out how to disassemble the mask or remove the strap/goggle from the mask for cleaning and the instuctions are very vague, they only tell you how to remove the lense.

Update
The mask saw it's first game last weekend at SCVillage. It worked very well and didn't fog up on me. The morning temperature was in the 60's and didn't reach above 75. I received several strikes to the mask durning the day and never really felt them.

Since really only play as a walkon/recball player, I really would like to figure out a way to attach the goggleflauge to disguise myself a bit better.
Conclusion: A very good choice for someone who is in the market for a new mask and wants something that offers solid protection.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, October 26th, 2005 at 2:49 pm PST
I found this review  
17 Comments - Add Comment

Asmodeus112 Monday, January 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month16 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Jt Alpha 2000, Vforce Armor, Jt Flex-7, brass eagle crap
Marker Setup: I recently changed to the Kingman Pilot ACS and am very pleased. <edit> factory defective, broke on second game
Strengths: No Fog (yet), comfort, safety
Weaknesses: Hard to remove lenses, harder to clean
Review: I personally am very happy with the results I got from this mask. My parents bought it as a christmas present so my first few times using it has been in really cold, sometimes rainy weather. There have been no incidences of bad fogging for me, and we play in snow sometimes. The worst was a slight haze around the outer edge of the lens but hey, there was snow on the ground and I had been sweating. Any mask would fog under certain circumstances. As for safety, there is nothing to compare it to. I have been called for playing on just because I took a hit to the side of the head without noticing. (I was wearing a touque underneath, damn cold weather). The only thing I think needs improvement, as with all Jt masks, is the way you have to change the lenses.
Conclusion: Personally, I think this mask is good enough for any type of player; speedball, woodsball, scenarioball, experienced or inexperienced. It makes no difference, this mask is definitely worth every penny.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, January 10th, 2006 at 8:50 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Loucust Wednesday, July 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
JT Full Head Shield (crappy $30 one)
Marker Setup: Spyder Electra '06
Eggy 2
Formerly: A-5, collapsible sniper stock, 14" tippmann sniper barrel, expansion chamber, rufus dawg bolt, rufus dawg double trigger
Strengths: Comfertable
Relatively Cheap
Full head coverage
Easily Adjustable
Thermal Googles
Nice Looking
Weaknesses: Full head coverage?(read review)
Alittle smaller than imagined?(read review)
Review: After about a year of using the $30 Wal-mart bought google, I was still very into looking for a new one, and here are my specs for it. Couldn't get the camoflauge version because they ran out when i ordered it.

-Strengths-
Very comfertable, the material used to pad around the eyes feel nice
Full Coverage, For those who don't like to take headshots in the back
Easy to Adjust, the back protector plate can be moved up or down via a slider on the top of the goggle to change the actual google position around the eyes
Thermal Googles, must have especially in winter
Realitively Cheap, bought mine for about $60 of course it's also kind of expensive, but it's all in opinion I guess :S (if that made any sense to you)
Looks nice, also comes in camoflauge

-Weaknesses-
Full Head Coverage, I changed my preference to wanting just front protection, not really a weakness but be warned when you buy your preference might change, and you can always buy padding for the top of your head
Smaller than imagined, to me it always looked bigger in pictures roughtly the size of the JT Head Shield, nope much smaller personally I liked it but it may be of importance to you
Conclusion: Though my preference changed, I still love the mask, one of the few full coverage ones out there and definately the best to me. If your looking for full coverage, buy this.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, July 26th, 2006 at 9:02 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Zakushark Monday, April 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT nForcer
Marker Setup: Black Dust Proto Matrix Rail
-Draxxus Pulse loader
-J&J Edge kit
-NDZ aluminum bolt cap
-Dye on/off

Tippmann 98
-E grip
-APE rampage trigger
-2 piece J&J ceramic barrel
-Low pressure kit
-Empire inline regulator
-Cyclone feed
Strengths: -Fits like a glove!
-Comfortable
-Does not fog [on almost all occasions]
Weaknesses: -Neck area feels vulnerable
-Back part is very uncomfortable [I recommend you remove it]
Review: I was amazed when I put the mask on for the first time. I had been using a JT nForcer for several years, so I expected the same odd fitting, bulky mask. The Flex 8 fits so much better. Sometimes I even forgot I have a mask on. It is very comfortable all around. Plus [so far] I have not had it fog up on me (which seemed to happen a lot with the nForcer). To add to that, the thing looks pretty intimidating (even more so if you get a tinted thermal lens).
The only bad part about the mask is when the description on the package says “full head shield”, your thinking “full head shield”. Which is true for the most part, except for your neck. The sides of the mask barely reaches the bottom of my ear lobes, and the front just reaches the bottom of my chin. Im not sure is that is normal for masks now a days or not, but I was used to the big sides on the nForcer.

Edit:
Since the time I wrote the review, I have removed the head protection, cut down the visor, and painted it. The things still works great.
Conclusion: All in all, this thing is great. The comfort is unrivaled. If your out looking for a new mask that feels great and looks good, and are tired of getting shot on top of the head when not ducking behind a bunker fast enough (I seem to have bad luck with that…), get this mask.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, January 28th, 2007 at 6:47 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Lil' C Friday, February 23rd, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
1 year5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
VForce Grill
VForce Vantage Pro
Proto Switch FS
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 w/ E-Grip and LPK
JCS Duel Trigger and APE Rampage board
10" Dye Ultralite barrel
Ricochet R5 hopper
Dead-On Products alloy firing can and Delrin front bolt
TechT Vortex/Lightning Rod Cyclone feed mods
Opsgear G36 folding stock
Special Ops MP Air-Thru magazine with Core PMI remote
70CI 4500PSI Dye Throttle HPA tank
Strengths: Full-head coverage(!)
Comfortable, secure fit
Durable
High-quality construction
Excellent field of vision
Weaknesses: Will fog under extreme conditions without fan
Too small for players with large heads
Review: After over a year, this JT Flex-8 full-head goggle remains my favorite paintball mask by far. I have one in black & grey, and one in camo.

Its most obvious feature that sets it apart from the vast majority of other masks out there is that it covers your whole head and makes your noggin impervious to paint in 360 degrees! Not that you want to give up the back of your head as a target in general, but when you do by accident, it's awfully nice not to have to peel paintball shell fragments out of your scalp after a good bunkering. The mask uses an adjustable clamshell structure to adjust around and comfortably protect different-sized heads, from ultra-pinhead on up to somewhat above average. It is NOT recommended for players with fairly big heads! I had one big-headed friend try it on and barely get it back off! But if you are in the normal range, it is extremely comfortable. The over-the-head design makes it fit even better than the standard JT Flex-8 mask (which I also own).

The mask itself provides excellent protection top to bottom. Your brow is covered by a ball-deflecting visor as well as the head cage, and it has a nice long drop down over your chin. From side to side, the cheeks of the mask fit nice and close to your face, giving better-than-average goggle clearance for woodsballers who use a stock. In front, the profile of the mask is not as low as some other top-line models, but it is still reasonable. The Flex-8 has a secure, comfortable chin strap and a good, durable back strap. The foam inside is standard for higher-end masks, but it is comfy and hodls up well to abuse.

The Flex-8 uses a Spectra two-pane thermal lens, available in a wide variety of tints as well as clear. It holds up well to play and resists scratches pretty well, and under most conditions the dead air in the middle of the two panes resists fogging under hard play. Under the fogging torture-test conditions of rainy spring weather in the Pacific Northwest, I have occasionally gotten it to fog up a bit under hard play when I wasn't paying attention to my breathing. Fortunately, the Flex-8 accepts a JT Vortex II goggle fan (about $29) which I strongly recommend -- that thing is durable, vents both in and out, and will eliminate any fog problems you have with just a short run. (It sounds like a Cesna is inside your helmet, but it's not actually loud to those around you...) Lens removal is not as easy as many other masks out there, but you won't have to do that too often.

It's too bad the full-head model only comes in black/grey and camo. I would love to see this mask in other tactical colors, like black/olive and olive/khaki (similar to the new VForce Grill in Lizard(!)).
Conclusion: As I said at the start of this review, I love this mask. The Flex-8 full-head may not have the bling or the status of the top-line, but it fits well, plays well, and holds up well. If you shop the 'Net, you can find this mask for under $50, and even at full price, I think it's worth every penny. It's not perfect, but it is a very good mask and a great value. Get one, and get a Vortex -- then go play!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Albino Dino Monday, December 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
JT Elite Headshield
Jt Flex 7
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ninja ION
Viewloader Revolution Tripod
Air American 47ci 3000 PSI Compressed Air Tank
Strengths: Full head coverage
Looks "camoflauge"
Thermal Lense
Comfort


Weaknesses: Hard to take out lenses
Review: I got this mask the other day and i gotta say its a beast. It hasent fogged on me at all and its pretty easy to clean. My buddy taco at the local paintball field reccomended this mask if i wanted to have the most face protection and a good overall mask that dont fog. I had two choices black or camo, even though my uniform is red and black i chose camo "just cuz it looks sweet" I would like anyone who reads this review to give this mask a chance, it has changed my path on goggle systems in paintball.
Conclusion: Get this mask if you want a good decent priced mask that will last "full head and no fog =)"
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, December 25th, 2006 at 7:40 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Night_Vulture Sunday, October 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Elite Headshield. Good starter mask for someone uncertain if they want a headshield
Marker Setup: Main: 98C with expansion chamber kit, remote line , and callapsable M-4 style stock. (darn Army training. I am too used to having a stock)

Loaner: PMI Piranha with flush cocking venturi bolt, gas through fore grip, and stock.

Mission: Brass Eagle Stingray II with two differant J&J Performance ceramic barrels won in a big game at Hole in The Wall Painball; Bangor, MI.
Strengths: Breatheable, Full head protection
Weaknesses: Hard to tell if a ball broke on the top or not.
Review: I recently upgraded to this mask from the JT Elite Headshield. The Flex Eight Headshield is way better than the Elite. There is more venting so your head stays cooler. Also the back portion adjusts, unlike the Elite. If you like you can even remove the back portion if you find it too uncomfortable. You have a wider field of vision than on the elite as well. For those of you who wear glasses, like myself, the Flex Eight fits over eye wear better than the Elite. For those of you who have the Wiley-X SG-1 goggles w/ prescription lenses the Flex Eight will also fit over them.
Conclusion: If you are looking for a mask with full head protection look no further. It is very comfortable and should easily fit over some of the larger prescription eyewear
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kpiechocki Saturday, June 7th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Scott, JT, Brass Eagle
Marker Setup: T68 thundertrike
Remote Coil
20oz. Co2
Red Dot

Strengths: Looks Amazing,
Great camouflage
Feels very comfortable
Good field of view
WON'T FOG
Weaknesses: Lens could be tricky to clean
Flimsy visor?
Review: I got this mask and it feels great on the face, it has awesome looks, and it's pretty adjustable to fit the head. I can't feel the head covering, but i definitely can tell it's their. The straps are very comfortable and it is very easy to breath in. I can't fog it up. It has a low profile, and yet again, it looks baddass. The visor seems a bit flimsy, but it might be built that way to deflect a head shot and not break the ball.
Conclusion: If your sick of having to wear a hat under your masks to make them fit like i did, and want something with supreme functionality and the looks and comfort to boot, get this mask. it is well worth the 54.99 i paid on Amazon. Try on a Flex 8 mask at the store first to make sure you like the feel of the strap and can get a good fit first. As you should with any mask. :)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Wisdom21 Friday, April 20th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Jt Elite Headshield - lower quality, no thermal lens, worse peripheral vision, better protection
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
Smart Parts Teardrop 14'' Black Barrel
Empire Reloader II
Kevlar HPA Tank 68ci 4500psi
Strengths: Full head protection, camo version
Weaknesses: Poor ear protection (dangerous)
Review: I used to have the older JT Elite Headshield. I had changed its lens with thermal so it was ok. But as I play mostly woods-ball and liked to wear camo, I had put camo tape all over it. Unfortunately the camo tape tends to go off and it is illegal in speed-ball tournaments. So the moment I saw the camo version of the new JT Flex 8 Full Cover I fell in love and bought it.

The first major improvement of course was camo, which was one of the main reasons I bought it. The second improvement I noticed was that the material seemed of better quality. I found out also that it was less bulky than the Elite and provided much better peripheral vision. The foam was softer and much better than the older one and overall seemed to be a much better mask.

Now the bad things about it. The fist one I noticed was that, unlike the elite headshield, it leaves the sides of the neck completely uncovered. It also leaves my earlobes out but initially I thought that this was not a problem since the earlobes are not a vital part of the ear. I was wrong! When I first played with it, a friend noticed that more than half of my ears were completely uncovered. During a game it is normal for the mask to slightly change position on the head but in this case an inch can make a big difference. A direct hit in the ear can damage eardrum and cause serious hearing damage and since it is a matter of safety, I guess JT must rectify this and also produce a small extension for current users.

It is needless to say that if you have long hair or you wear a bandanna to reduce sweat the problem becomes bigger.
Conclusion: Buy this mask if you want full head protection or if you like camo, but only after you try it on to see if your ears are fully covered!
I would give a 10 but due to the ears vulnerability I give an 8.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Lastman Friday, October 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Rentals, they dont compare.
Marker Setup: Doesn't matter
Strengths: Full Head Protection.
Thermal Lense.
Comfortable.
Easy Adjustment
Weaknesses: Hard to disassemble.
Review: One day I went paintballing, and I was outmatched. These guys knew their stuff, were well armed, and I had only my wits (my gun (rental) doesn't count). One time when I ran up to a bunker, I got shot in the head, it bounced off. It left a welt there for months, and hurt for days. Also I was getting tired of not being able to see with my mask getting foggy, even though my constant cleaning efforts were thorough. So next time I went paintballing, I went to the local proshop, got the JT full head protection and went and played. I now don't have to worry about head shots , I only have to clean when the paintballs hit my mask. It really helps your game when you can see. The mask itself is comfortable and adjusts well to my head. My only complaint is that I have had problems getting the lense out and cleaning it. I haven't been able to do it. Other wise I really like my mask.
Conclusion: I suggest buying this to anyone who likes having full head protection and doesn't want fog. I think its a excellant mask and the only problem is dissassembly. Which is why I give it a 9

EDIT: I have been able to take it apart now, but its still hard to do, still a 9.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, January 7th, 2007 at 3:46 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media