paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / X.O. Industries Hot Box Paintballs / X.O. Industries Hot Box Paintballs / X.O. Industries Hot Box Paintballs

X.O. Industries Hot Box Paintballs Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount X.O. Industries

Buy X.O. Industries Hot Box Paintballs

Paintball Paintballs

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


X.O. Industries Hot Box Paintballs
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 32
Average Rating: 6.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Hot Box is X.O. Industries introductory/practice grade paint. Excellent shell, good, bright fill, at a decent price.

Hot Box comes in both single and two-tone shell colors and many different fill colors.
Product Availability 
The X.O. Industries Hot Box Paintballs are newer, so they should be commonly available.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
4tene Sunday, June 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Zap Rec Series.
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra 2004(TL-X w/ rear cocking) w/ Spyder Rocking Trigger, twisted volumizer, CP Medium Regulator, macroline fittings, and Delrin ACS bolt. Evlution II w/ Z-board, Bulldog 47 c.i. 3000k.
Strengths: Hard shell, bright fill, good weight.
Weaknesses: None
Review: Well, after using crappy Zap Rec Series, I found these puppies on sale at my local paintball storefront (Paintstorm) for only $45(Canadian). My buddy of course grabbed a box, because he's a junky, and LOVES shootin' his gun out back. Anyways, these things are much better then Zap's. Also alittle bit cheaper. The shell is harder, you can't gently squish and break them, and they rarely chop. The colour is bright pink... how can you miss a pink splat? And what better color to spray someone with? Humiliating. I love it. They're also much more accurate then Zaps. Now, I haven't used any 'Premium' series balls, so I'm sure in comparison, these aren't so great, but from the 3 or 4 brands I have used, my gun and I agree with these the most. I definately recommend these whether for gameplay, or to shoot around. They're affordable, so why not?
Conclusion: Great paint for the price! Get 'em.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

irshpnkrckr Monday, January 31st, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Primer
Premium
Other mid-level paints
Marker Setup: Lasoya Intimidator
Halo w/ Victory board
68/5000 Pure Energy
'99 All American onepiece
Recommended
Barrels:
Anything that will fit the bore. I'd like to see you find a barrel that wont shoot this straight.
Strengths: Breaks on target
Cheap compared to compared quality from other manufacturers
Weaknesses: Semi-thin fill
Review: Amazing stuff here. On a budget? Here's where you need to be. This is another quality product from XO, these guys are sweet. It's the best paint i've used in this grade level. It easily compares to PMI Premium, Zap Primer, Draxxus Blaze, etc. It's better than anything at it's price and on par to better with more expensive stuff. Don't be scared away by the unknown name, these guys will come out big soon. They've got excellent products, and super cool people working to put XO on top. The paint comes fresh, no busted balls yet, and they break where you want them to. The price on all the XO paint is outstanding, and the paint doesnt lack where the dollars spent do. I highly reccomend ever yone try this paint in particular if you want to see how XO's paint compares without spending a lot, if you're on a budget, or you just dont want to spend a lot on paint. Great job XO.
Conclusion: Buy this, you'll be impressed to no end. XO makes quality paint, and that's all there is to it. Expect big things from these guys, they're working towards being huge.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

sfig4 Monday, July 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
The only thing Ive used that compares to this paint is X.O white Box
Marker Setup: Red SP ION
48/3000 PSI PMI TANK
Contract Killer Grips
Evo 2
Lapco Feedneck :(
Strengths: CHEAP
decent fill thickness
allways round
accurate
Weaknesses: The shell is EXTREMELY THICK
Bounces OFF BUNKERS from 5+FEET!!!!!!!
Review: I have used this paint for about 8 months now, tons of cases. This is standard field paint and it is very cheap. I think everything about this paintball is quite average except for one thing. IT IS VERY HARD TO BREAK! On various occasions I stood about 8 feet away from any bunker and shot at it. the paint broke about 2/10 shots. This is the only problem I can find with this paint so... its you're choice. Also it doesn't normally break on people.

Update:Wednesday/Jan/17/07

Hotbox is starting to come im much better batches. Because of this I am going to give it a six. There are mostly batches that I was talking about but there are some really good ones too.

Conclusion: Becuase this is decent paint i would have to give it an 6 or 7 but becuase of its shell problem I will have to give it a 5.

Update:: 6
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, January 17th, 2007 at 4:50 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Furby Wednesday, December 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Zap Spank, Primer, Tork, Chronic
RP Flash and Premium
Marker Setup: 2004 Angel Fly with V35 HALO, Freak Kit and Centerflag Dynaflow
Recommended
Barrels:
Only used Freak Kit
Strengths: Consistency
Roundness
Weaknesses: Fill just a bit on the thin side
Review: This stuff shoots amazing! Only real complaint I have is the fill, it's just a skosh on the thin side, but X.O. has been improving since they first came out, and they have the hard part done: A round, consistent ball. As time goes on I'm sure the fill will improve as well.
Conclusion: Nicely priced alternative to RP and ZAP
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

klockness Sunday, March 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Zap rec, spank, triad from academy, draxus, diablo formula 13
Marker Setup: drallion with odyssey barrel kit working on upgrades
Recommended
Barrels:
small bore or a kit, smart parts is just a hair large
Strengths: Great for the price
Pretty accurate
Two color shells
nice shells
Weaknesses: Kinda small
Inconsistent in size
Some a little oval
A lot broke
Review: When I opened the case I was in aw. The only paintballs I have seen more beautiful is the formula 13 I have used in tournaments. Great for the price, they were all round, no dents or dimples, two colored and none broken when I first opened the case.

First I noticed when dropping and blowing them through my barrels (.689 odyssey and sp progressive) that they were a little small and a little inconsistent in size (most just fell through, some needed a small breath or push). In fact I had several roll out the end of my .689 barrel while playing. But they shot really accurate and consistent despite being small for my barrel.

Now I am not sure why, but several of them broke, and I don't mean in my gun. I have had several break in the bags after I bought them. Several broke in my pods, and at least one broke in my hopper(I use a cocker this wasn't from blow back). My friends didn't seem to have these problems so I am going to give them the benefit of doubt that they may have gotten hot in my truck or I just got a bad batch. But they started getting sticky and nasty quick. Some didn't want to come out of my pods. That was when I opened them and was playing but they still seemed to shoot pretty good. Later while I was cleaning my gear I noticed a lot of them started getting dimples and out of shape. That's when I also noticed several had broken in pods, hopper, and the bags. I didn't treat them different then any other paintballs I've used in the past to cause this.
Conclusion: Main thing, they are cheap and they shot pretty accurate. Great for rec play. I would say these and zap spank are the best balls I have tried in this price. I think I would choose spank of the two though.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

icdbko32 Friday, July 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
v1-better in that it doesn't have very many problems with it unlike hotbox but bounces alot like hotbox
menace-so much better, never has problems and always breaks, and is very accurate
x-ball bronze-much better has .689 size and hardly has very many problems with them besides some dimples time to time
whitebox- well depending on what whitebox or seconds you get hotbox is much better but so is any other paint almost.
chronic-much better, breaks good and accurate
Marker Setup: -Russian legion intimidator
-68 ci 4500 psi crossfire n2 tank
-Dye Ultralite back with Stiffi front
-profiler goggles
-z-boarded evolution 2
Recommended
Barrels:
any kit that has smaller sizes such as .685 and smaller
Strengths: -Bright fill
-Shoots good when fresh
-Small seams
Weaknesses: -Bounces alot
-Dimples sometimes
-Out of shape sometimes
-Thin fill
Review: This paint isn't to bad when fresh and its a good price but it has some flaws with it. First thing being bounces, i get bounces like mad when shot with this or v, v1 a lil less for bounces but there pretty bad, i'd seriously get a paint that breaks better such as menace or x-ball bronze. I'm a big guy and not a very good front player at all but my friends were sitting out for a game so i went as a walk on to one of the games and all the positions were taken so i went to run to the doritio at the 40. Well let me tell you, this was a mistake, i got hit around 10 times, no biggy right but i called myself cuz i figured that there was no way one didn't break, wrong again, not a single one broke on me and the guy that shot me was a mear 30 yards away from me.

Other then bounces its not to bad when fresh as theres not to many balls the have dimples or are out of shaped but some are. Also sometimes you'll get some random balls in the bags that are totally different colours then the rest of it. All in all its not a bad paint when fresh but when you leave it in the heat, thats another story. And yes i really most paint is like that but this more then others, alot more.

When my friend left his in the sun along with other people, that is when the problems started. The balls started to swell, get soft, break in hoppers, guns, and pods, and they started to dimple alot and stick together. All the people that bought them started to have problems even though they had jsut bought the paint 2 hours b4 that. Everybody ended up switching to v1 or menace and the problems stopped after that but it was a lesson learned and thats probably one of the reasons why, why so many people hate hotbox.
Conclusion: Some people may not like my review of this product but i speak from experience. I love xo's paint, its great paint for great prices just some of the lower end of its stuff isn't that great. Im not the only one to notice this, many others have to considering around where i live everybody uses xo because the factory is close. I really notice this stuff about paint myself because if its good paint it won't chop or barrel breaks but the second i get cruddy* paint, chop, chop. Good product for the price is fresh just remember to keep it cool. i give it an 8 when kept cool and fresh.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sfig Thursday, April 27th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
similar field paintballs. Zap Chronic. Stingers
Marker Setup: Spyder Pilot
14" Progressive
Egg2
20oz C02 with On/Off
Recommended
Barrels:
Any Barrel
Strengths: CHEAP
decent fill thickness
allways round
accurate
Weaknesses: The shell is EXTREMELY THICK
Bounces OFF BUNKERS from 8+FEET!!!!!!!
Review: I have used this paint for about 2 months now, about 8 cases. This is standerd field paint and it is very cheap. I think everything about this paintball is quite average except for one thing. IT IS VERY HARD TO BREAK! On various occasions i stood about 8 feet away from any bunker and shot at it. the paint broke about 2/10 shots. Now i know what youre thinking "this guy's paint isnt breaking cuase he owns a spyder" not true my friend who owns an ion has simmilar results to this. ICD markers, Cockers, Piranha's, and Tippmann's have the same result to. This is the ownly pronlem i can find with this paint so... its youre choice.
Conclusion: becuase this is decent paint i would have to give it an 8 but becuase of its shell problem I will have to give it a 6.
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, April 29th, 2006 at 7:47 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

vertigoness Thursday, February 3rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
TC (SUCKS), Draxxus and other name brand paints
Marker Setup: Ironmen Timmy with all up's
-45ci 4500psi tank
-reloader B
Recommended
Barrels:
UL, Longbow, or stiff!
Strengths: I wish I could type more so I guess I will say, everything.
Weaknesses: None really except what everyone else has said somewhat thin fill.
Review: THis paint shoots straight break on target and has a consistent shape to it. For being a new company this paint is awesome. I am proud to say that I will continue to purchase paint from XO and will tell my friends to do the same. I can't wait to start being able to purchase the higher grade stuff.
Conclusion: This paint is some of the most cost effective and best paint that you can find if you are looking for paint for a low price. The paint is good and they price is just as good as the paint shoots. I am giving it a 9 because I believe the company has put much effort into this product.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbgr8 Thursday, January 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Just about every paintball ever made and this paint stacks up as being among the best!
Marker Setup: Automag, Autococker, Grey Ghost, Vindicator, Intimidator
Recommended
Barrels:
Any decent barrel with an appropriate diameter for .685 paintballs

Strengths: Consistently straight shooting, good colors, great accuracy
Weaknesses: The usual with any paint
Review: I have been using X.O. brand paints for just about 4 months now and they are among the best paints I have ever shot. X.O. is obviously taking the time to dial in their manufacturing process and QC-ing these balls to VERY exacting standards. I've shot some of their white box paint that puts other brand premium and tournament grades to shame!.
Conclusion: Excellent pricing, excellent quality, excellent consistency, very very few in-gun breaks.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Avery_mac Wednesday, December 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
xo paints
Marker Setup: 2004 bko with mac dev gauge , golthic bolt pin , ccm low pro clamping feed neck
Recommended
Barrels:
any kind
Strengths: Price
Weaknesses: None , i can't afford more than 4 boxes
Review: I have played with hotbox and it is great paint i get it for $40.00 a box after taxes nice seems nice fill bright colors nice box. this paint is easy to clean up cheap and i think its canadian good good stuff
i was the one who told them to post xo paint here good stuff
Conclusion: Great paint for the price
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media