paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / SLIK 2k5 Edge III Nylatron Bolt / SLIK 2k5 Edge III Nylatron Bolt / SLIK 2k5 Edge III Nylatron Bolt / SLIK 2k5 Edge III Nylatron Bolt / SLIK 2k5 Edge III Nylatron Bolt

SLIK 2k5 Edge III Nylatron Bolt Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount SLIK

Buy SLIK 2k5 Edge III Nylatron Bolt

Paintball Autococker Bolts

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


SLIK 2k5 Edge III Nylatron Bolt
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 17
Average Rating: 9.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $50

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
When SLIK brought out the Edge 2 we thought we had seen the highest standard of paintball. Well they like to keep us on our toes and like to see us drool. This is the Edge III. The Hotest, lightest bolt on the market. Weighing in at only 15.7 total grams it is just over half the weight of any other bolt on the market. Plus it is made of Nylatron. The new Space Age material that is stronger, lighter, and tougher then Delrin.
Product Availability 
The SLIK 2k5 Edge III Nylatron Bolt is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
deathbybowtie Tuesday, April 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock WGP bolt
Eclipse DART bolt
WGP Worrblade bolt
Marker Setup: 2004 Nightkast Autococker
Empire Quik Flip
Shocktech inline reg
Planet Eclipse Samurai trigger
Planet Eclipse Nexus ram w/ QEVs
Slik Edge III bolt
WGP Panel grips
WGP STO Kaner barrel kit
Viewloader eVLution 2 smoke/black shell
68/3000 Pure Energy tank
Strengths: Light
O-ring-less design
High-flowing
Lug access
Light
Price
Weaknesses: Pin detent
o-rings can be hard to get
Review: The Slik Edge III bolt is definitely designed for the electro cocker crowd. Just looking at it, you can tell it's rediculously light. There isn't a scrap of extra material on this bolt. It weighs in at 15.7 grams, which is less than HALF of most other all-delrin bolts on the market. There is simply no competition to this bolt for its weight.

The design of the Edge III is also superb. For authentic WGP bodies, the bolt fits very well without the use of o-rings, which means less friction and less parts to lubricate at the end of the day. For those would-be Slik owners with focker bodies, the bolt may require o-rings to fit without blowback, so Slik cut some grooves into the bolt for the o-rings to go. The o-rings, however, are not a standard paintball o-ring size, and can therefore be hard to find if your bolt doesn't come with them. Slik is very good about providing o-rings to people who need them, though. (In case anyone is wondering, it's a #13 o-ring.) The angled inlet port and open face make the Edge III a very efficient bolt.

The bolt is made from nylatron, which is a lightweight plastic very similar to delrin. Unlike delrin, however, nylatron does not swell when it gets water on it. Nylatron is also self-lubricating, so you no longer have to lube your bolt at the end of the day.

One of my favorite features of the Edge III is the lug access ability. Slik has cut away enough of the bolt that you can access the hammer lug without removing the bolt. It's not a huge improvement over other bolts, but it's definitely a nice touch.

At $45, the Edge III is very competitively priced.

My biggest complaint with the Edge III is the bolt pin detent. In their quest to make the lightest bolt possible, Slik used a rather unorthodox bolt pin detent method that screws into the bolt from the body side of the bolt instead of the back, like most bolts. The problem with this is that if it's not Loctited heavily, the detent tends to back out into the bolt, which loosens the bolt pin and can cause it to come out, which will make your bolt fly out of the gun. Two dabs of Loctite on the detent usually does the trick to keep in in place, but it can be a big pain if it's not taken care of right away.
Conclusion: This is the bolt to have, period. If you are looking for an upgraded bolt, look no further; you have found your bolt messiah. The Slik Edge III's combination of light weight, excellent design, and reasonable price make it the best bolt around.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, April 19th, 2005 at 9:13 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

rayzoredge Wednesday, August 6th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock bolt, Fireball Mountain Mercury bolt
Marker Setup: WGP Autococker
* Evolution 44 Magnum Ram
* Eclipse E1 Frame w/ Zero B Board
* Dual Eclipse Ego Qev.
* Samurai Trigger
* Fireball Mountain Delrin Bolt
* Oracle Tickler.
* Custom Bob Long Pressure Gauge
* Ricochet AK
* Lapco Snapshot

WGP Autococker
* PMP Pump Conversion Kit
* Lapco Bigshot 10"
* Ricochet AK

Tippmann Pro/Carbine
* Custom
* AirTipps Bolt and Stock
* Lapco Bigshot 10"
* Ricochet AK

Sheridan PGP
* Stock
Strengths: Very light, feels durable
Weaknesses: May not fit your 'Cocker
Review: Bought this off of Compulsive Paintball after reading the awesome reviews here, hoping that it wasn't a case where everyone read "nylatron" and jumped onto the bandwagon to hype it up. Received it in the mail, ripped it out of the package, and was eager to try it on my primary marker.

It wouldn't fit.

The tolerances between the 'Cocker body and the bolt apparently didn't go well because it was literally a real PITA to try to shove the bolt into the gun. I gave up halfway and just pulled it out. Thinking that it was probably just my gun, I tried it on two other Autocockers.

Neither of them would fit. It would have trouble going through the back block, then you literally had to put some force into putting the bolt into the gun. Halfway through with both, I determined a no-go.
Conclusion: I won't bash the crap out of this bolt, but I can't rate it well either because of poor Q&A on SLIK's part. Maybe I got part of a bad batch or maybe it's that ONE bolt, but in conclusion, if you can, go local and test it on your gun first before buying. (Help out your paintball community too by buying local.) =p
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, August 6th, 2008 at 5:42 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Malice Intent Tuesday, April 5th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Black Magic Bolt
Marker Setup: A-5 with RT and 14" Dye Boomstick with CO2
Custom Built Autococker AIM17 SWIFT Body kit with Ergo reg and Orr-acle pneumatics, Black Magic bolt and Slik Edge 2005 bolt, Orr-acle valve kit, Lockdown Hammer, Maddman springs, Micro drop forward, Hinge trigger frame with a 14" Dye Titanium Boomstick and 14" Stiffi, With Worrgas Compressed Air
Strengths: Lightest bolt on the market
Nylatron
No O rings
Weaknesses: None that I've noticed
Review: I got this Bolt mainly because I didn't want metal wearing down the body on my cocker, what led me to this bolt is that its the lightest bolt on the market, its made of nylatron which does not require lube and will not swell like its Delron rivals. Also this bolt does not require O rings with most cocker bodies, it does come with them if you need them. This bolt preforms very well and cycles faster then my old Black Magic bolt
Conclusion: This is a great bolt, its Nylatron, its light, get it
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, April 5th, 2005 at 5:32 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

chylin Saturday, January 29th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
dart bolt
Marker Setup: WGP prostock 2k4, FreeFlow SMC RAM with QEV's, SILK Edge III bolt, SLIK micro back block, SLICK pull pin
Freak
Pure Energy 47/3000 HPA
Serid drop/rail witch on/off asa
Strengths: Weight !!
Weaknesses: Orings size is not common.
Review: First of all this bolt is light. Its milled so much, there is prapobly no way to make it lighter.
You do not need to remove Your bolt to time Your cocker anymore with this bolt.
There are places to put orings, which are not standard sized, but You need them only with Jackal, Advanced Concepts, and Fireball Mountain body. (i've got info from some Advanced Concepts body user, that he does't need to use orings) If you using any other cocker body, don't put orings cause You will slow down Your bolt.
Total reduce of weight (slik "kit") allow you to reduce recocking pressure and it will allow to shoot way faster. I''m using it on my standart wgp hinge frame and i can feel the difference (i've installed new ram the same time, so i can't really tell haw much my rof incressed by bolt itself).
If you have any questons about this bolt, fell free to email me.
Conclusion: to sum up: i can recommend this bolt to any cocker user. This baby is light and according to what Slik says: "we guarantee this bolt won't break on you. Ever."
I've shoot about 10000 balls using this bolt (for this day) and i'm fully satisfied by it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, February 13th, 2005 at 4:19 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

crefakis109 Thursday, April 8th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PE Dart Bolt
WGP Karnivor Bolt
WGP 05 Superstock Bolt
WGP Orracle Bolt
ANS Quick-Pull Bolt
Marker Setup: WGP 2005 Superstock Body (Dust Black)
Planet Eclipse E2 Frame + Solenoid (Black)
MTX MQ2 Valve
Tadao Yakuza E2 USB Autococker Board
Planet Eclipse Ram + QEVs (Black)
Planet Eclipse Dart LPR (Black)
CCM Pump Arm
Kila Rebuildable Ball Detent (Black)
CP Shorty HPR (Black)
CP Rail and '05 On/Off (Black)
CP 68/4500 psi tank
Halo B Rip Drive
Smart Parts Freak Barrel w/ Stiffi Stif-Tip
Slik EDGE III Nylatron Bolt
Strengths: Featherweight
Nylatron
Angled Inlet
Fits WGP bodies perfectly
O-rings optional
Weaknesses: The pull-pin detent
Optional O-rings not included
Review: This is an excellent bolt. Up until now, I have been using a beat up karnivor bolt. I was pretty pleased with the karni bolt but decided to move on after I scratched it too much and I was starting to get blowback. I have a superstock so I am limited to scavenging for evo-length bolts. Luckily, i found this one. Cycles very smoothly and eliminated my blowback. Unfortunately, the pull-pin detent design sucks. I threw some 242 on top of the screw and I am just going to hope it stays locked in. I haven't had a problem yet.

Conclusion: If you have an evo cocker, this is an excellent replacement bolt. For the reasons I mentioned above. Since the pull-pin detent design is the major flaw of this bolt, (as well as the fact the o-rings are optional but not INCLUDED), I give this a 9. So what if o-rings are optional. It should be up to the consumer to put them on or not - not to go hunting for them in some random hardware store. My fit is good w/o o-rings, but for those who need them, the bolt should be sold with a pair of unfitted o-rings. ESPECIALLY if they are a size not commonly found in paintball stores. The correct size is '# 13'
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, April 8th, 2010 at 11:57 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Merc4Hire Saturday, December 6th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing similar. WGP delrin, orracle Eclipse dart, generic delrin, etc.
Marker Setup: Orracle with belsales ram and qev's, E2 (and 420 trigger mod sometimes for messing around) slik bolt (I love this), ccm aluminum pump arm, etc.

I think I own 13 or 14 cockers most of which are pretty much maxed out, so that pretty much covers it.
Strengths: Light. top pin/side pin. Can't swell, O-rings are optional.
Weaknesses: It can slip through the backblock, needs lock-tite.
Review: I have maybe 20 something autocockers, and 2 of these. I will buy any I can find for a decent price. They are far and away the best bolt I have used or seen. The only comparable bolts I have seen are Jackal and Dezign.

They are so light, that with the right pump arm and backblock, your cocking mass is negligible. I have CCM series 6 delrin block and a titanium arm, full size. at 26 bps the thing is smooth. kick is negligible, pressures are low. Fast and pinchy. It's beautiful. After this everything else feels like a VM 68. Also Nylatron won't swell. Another plus is that it is a good tight fit since they don't have to worry about oil making it swell and bind. If you want O-rings you can put them on.

The only thing I don't like is the scarcity and that it doesn't get wide at the back rim to keep it from sliding through. Oh, and it will rattle apart if you don't put lock-tite on the detent for the pull pin. That is a quality issue, but extremely easy to fix.
Conclusion: Buy it over anything else. The only other bolt I would consider is a V3 delrin jambolt for blind cockers. The eclipse bolt is just over hyped. Pretty much any simple delrin bolt is excellent and about the same. This is a couple of notches better, and doesn't cost more.

I think 10 is a ridiculous rating, but you really can't improve on this other than the lock-tite and slip through thing.
Why buy a heavier bolt.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

beanbreaker Monday, July 30th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock WGP '04 Prostock bolt
Marker Setup: '04 WGP Autococker VF (Prostock)
E2 Frame
MP-4 RAM
Orracle Tickler LPR
Custom Products Stubby HPR
CCM Lexan back block
Slik Edge III Nylatron Bolt
VLocity Hopper
45/3000psi PMI Steelie
Strengths: VERY light
Portted hole/large open face
Perfect fit on WGP cockers
Weaknesses: Pin retaining screw comes loose
Use o-rings on non WGP bodies
Review: I've had very good experience with this bolt so far. Tight fit w/o o-rings, although, it is slotted for them. Nylatron is lighter than delrin, yet stronger, and won't swell if it gets wet. It has a nice ported and ANGLED entry port, and a large open face, making for excellent efficiency.

Did I mention this thing is light? :)

Some people have problems with the pin coming loose, but I haven't yet. For those who do, just put some BLUE loctite on the pin retaining screw, and it should be just fine.

Far and away much better than the stock bolt. I don't have the #'s, but I'll add them when I do. It's at LEAST 3x lighter, making for faster cycling and reducing mechanical bounce.
Conclusion: Would recommend it to anyone. high quality, and if you need o-rings, the company will send them right out. Lighter/stronger/better moisture resistant than delrin. Good upgrade
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bpie03 Thursday, November 23rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock-no comparison
Marker Setup: 04 Prostock
E2
SLIK bolt
Pepperstickz
68/3000
Egg2
Strengths: Light
lug access
much less kick
Weaknesses: A little bit longer than my stock bolt (less than a milimeter)
Review: This bolt solved my guns kick problem. Using the stock metal bolt its going to be pretty heavy and result in a fairly high amount of kick. When I would be shooting 10-15BPS my gun would tend to kind of start aiming a little higher. Once I installed it I did not check the cocking rod length since it was set for my old bolt but this one was a tiny bit longer and resulted in some chops. After that I quickly adjusted it there were no more chops. Kick was so minimal, it was amazing I couldnt believe it and it will take some getting used to. My shot grouping was tighter because the gun would say still so much better. Also you can turn your LPR pressure down which is nice because the reduced cocking mass.
Conclusion: This product works very well, and I am quite pleased with it. Buy it, you will not regret it at all.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

inspectorchao Wednesday, September 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock 2k4 Prostock bolt
Marker Setup: 2k4 Prostock W/ e2 blade
Slik Lite kit
Evlution 2
Strengths: Light, no lube needed. Fits perfectly
Weaknesses: Only place I could find them was dropdsales.com
Review: I got this to help reduce the noise and kick of my gun. Well, it worked great! Only problem I have come into is the fact that you have to loctite the pin detent in place or else the pin will fall out. Allowing you to chose where your detent rests is not a bad thing at all. The fact that you don't have to take the bolt out to adjust the lug is also great! It was annoying to have to take it out at the chorno but now I don't have to!
Conclusion: Definitely worth the money, cheper and better than most bolts. And the lightest bolt on the market!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Mr.Dirt Friday, July 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock bolt, stiffi bolt, wgp delrin bolt.
Marker Setup: 2k3 Halfblock Autococker
Worrframe
Wgp Front End
Strengths: Very, very light.
Price
Dont need to take the bolt out to adjust lug.
Weaknesses: Doesnt come with a pullpin.
Normal oring don't fit
Review: Well, I bought this cause I herd good things about this. And they were right. I compaired it to my stiffi bolt, and the weight wasn't even close. Also, very strong, isn't goning to snap or wear for a while. And the price is unbeatable. Only thing I didn't like, is that it didn't come with a pullpin. Or that normal bolt oring don't fit without sanding down or if your breach is a bit larger. One other problem I faced is that it seemed to expand or swell up. After a game, I put my cocker down, pulled out my pump, played one game, took my cocker back out, and the thing was stuck in the breach. And it didnt fit either of my 2 cockers i have. But that still doesn't turn me away from them.
Conclusion: Buy it, its the best bolt you can buy, very light, small, did I mention light. Just don't leave it in the sun (I think thats why mine doesnt fit anymore.)
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media