paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Empire Grind Pants 2005 / Empire Grind Pants 2005 / Empire Grind Pants 2005 / Empire Grind Pants 2005

Empire Grind Pants 2005 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Empire

Buy Empire Grind Pants 2005

Paintball Pants and Shorts

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Empire Grind Pants 2005
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 24
Average Rating: 9.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $80

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Grind Series pants were developed as the ultimate in player pants. Every detail has been researched and refined for perfection in paintball.

Features:

* Ergonomically fitted 1680 Duraknee
* Lightweight breathable 4-way stretch crotch
* Lilac mesh panels for added mobility
* EVA heat molded lower back padding
Product Availability 
The Empire Grind Pants 2005 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
spundaejunkie Monday, December 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye C4 pants - not as nice
Marker Setup: 04 Nightkast
Nexus Ram and QEV's
Nexus Internals
Samurai Trigger
Evlution II with Z-board
Crossfire 68/4500 HP tank
Empire 4-piece 14" barrel kit
Strengths: Very well-designed and put together, lightweight, inexpensive for high-quality pants
Weaknesses: Cold to wear in the wintertime
Review: My girlfriend decided this year to get me some paintball gear for Christmas, and after some discussion with my brothers as well as some generous hinting on my part, she went out and tried to buy me a set of the Empire Tournament pants. Fortunately for me, the shop owner was placing orders for the new 2005 gear, and she got me a set of the 2005 grind pants, as well as a pair of the new Grind gloves. Seeing as I haven't gotten a chance to try the gloves yet, that review can wait. ;-)

First thing I noticed when I unwrapped the pants was that they were very well-made - most critical seams are double-stitched, and three type of fabric seem to be used in it's construction. Adjustable tabs at the waist to size them to your body. The crotch and legs have a venting fabric to keep you cool, and built into the zipper/velcro pants closure is a thin removeable rubber pad - their so-called "man-pad". The 2 front pockets have zippers to keep them shut, and the sides feature pockets just above the knee which can be used to stash swabs or even pods - my virus 140 round pods fit nicely in them.

The knees have a generous amount of padding to them - enough that I think you could ditch the kneepad, and just run with these. Above the knee padding is some sort of strtch fabric - possibly to keep you from tearing them while executing slides. The bottoms of the pants are adjustable, and unlike the Dye C4's I used to use are integrally attached to the pant itself (not sure how else to describe it.)

Extremely light-weight pants - great for keeping you cool in the summer, but since it's winter (as of me writing this) they're a little cold to wear outside. Granted, I was only running to McDonalds, and not playing all-out, but that's my only real complaint about them so far. As soon as I play with them, I'll update this review to reflect that.
Conclusion: Very nicely done. Inexpensive compared to the Dye C5 pants, and a better bargain in my opinion. Empire has come a long way in the past few years, and I highly recommend these pants to anyone looking for a set of good paintball pants.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
10 Comments - Add Comment

f2f4 Monday, April 4th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Jeans, cargo pants, ski pants
Marker Setup: If you REALLY wanna see my setups... which I doubt, go to:
http://www.freewebs.com/f2f4
Strengths: - Tons of padding
- COMPLETELY adjustable
- Pockets... tons of 'em
- Looks, venting
Weaknesses: - Other people are jealous
Review: This is my first pair of paintball-specific pants, so I'm going to be a little biased. Anyway, I did my research, tried on some, and figured that these were the best pants out there for the money. The knees are VERY well padded (I don't even wear traditional knee-pads underneath them), all the seams are very well held-together, and the tremendous amount of venting keeps me very cool. One other thing that stood out to me was the complete adjustability of these pants... everything, from the ankles, to the pockets, to the waist is equipped with drawstrings, zippers, or velcro of some sort. Another nice little touch, besides the built-in soft cup, is how there is stretchable fabric above the knee-pads and in the crotch, almost like spandex or something, yet much, much thicker.
Conclusion: After tons of sliding, running, and diving, these pants show almost no wear. It's frankly kind of erie, but that, combined with the light weight, features, and looks makes these some of the best pants out there in this price range.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 18th, 2005 at 9:18 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

KalynSS999 Monday, December 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
uh... regular pants
Marker Setup: 2003 WGP Vertical Feed Autococker
11 piece Empire Barrel kit
PMI 47/3000 HPA tank
VL EVLution II
Strengths: Very Light, Simple, and it has Empires logo on it :-P
Weaknesses: Umz.... Nothing i guess, cept only a few pockets
Review: These pants are great, like many i was planning on getting Empire's Tournament pants, but were on back order everywhere for christmas. So I ended up getting these Grind pants. They are very comfortable with the stretch fabric in all the right places. It is very light, the integrated knee pads are nice. Only has a few pockets, but don't mind that at all while on the field, just when you up and about running errands. Nice ventilation. I think it is like the tournament pants with a different look (whice is nice)
Conclusion: Absolutely great pants. These pants are lighter than the Dye C4 and C5 pants. which i why i like them. if you are planning on getting some paintball pants soon or in the future get these, (or the tourny pants if you can get them) if later, save the money for them cause its worth it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

murdermonkey Thursday, June 23rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Black STO autococker
Black Ultralight
Crome Eblade
Nexus kit (black)
Black Delrin back block
Black Eggy 2w/ z-board
Centerflag 68/3000psi nitro
Crome CP rail and on/off
Strengths: Ventilation
squeegee and barrel pockets
deep side pockets
tons of padding
very adjustable
Weaknesses: Crotch padding needs to be bigger, don't want to blow a tire
Review: Overall these are really great pants. I got them for Christmas and as soon as I tightened the sides they fit perfectly and they will keep fitting because the sides are completely adjustable. i got mine in gray to match my personality and they look really cool. plus they cost less than the new dye pants but offer the same things
Conclusion: Buy them, you need them
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

babyboyjv89 Wednesday, March 2nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
none ummm sweats
Marker Setup: Spyder Pilot ACS,Evo 2,Crossfire 68/4500, J&J 2 Piece Ceramic Barrel,Camd Trigger,ACS Bolt
Strengths: Lower back padding,,the waist straps ,2battle swab pockets,EVERYTHING
Weaknesses: Umm None Really except for one ( read the review)
Review: I really love these pants the pading on the knee is great and still the pants stay comfortable i mean everything about these pants are great i really love them and am happy i didn't get any other kinds of pants empire really knows how to make great products and too be plain they juss look really cool.....ohhh and mine came with a free empire sticker for my hopper......oh yeah about that one weakness which is not really a weakness but theres little zippers on the pockets to open them up yeah well you have to zip it up instead of down which can b kind of difficult if you try to get something out of ur pocket during the game but thats nothing big i juss had to mention it
Conclusion: I would definetly recommend these pants to anyone who is looking for some thses are by far the best pants i have ever tried. i had to buy these the price isn't bad at all you may think so just like i did but wait till you try them on there worth your money and some
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Dragon88 Friday, February 4th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none.. Never thought I would go for paintball pants...
Marker Setup: 05 Shocker SFT vision Pewter,
Crossfire HPA red 92/ 4500,
Halo B w/ Victory Brd (BLK)
Ion Red (back up)
VL Evo 2 hopper w/ Z brd
Strengths: Durable, Comfortable, pading where needed, zipper pockets, adjustable waist sizes.
Weaknesses: Not allot of pockets, no tappered leg design (draw string)
Review: Great pair of pants for paintball. I'm normally a woodsballer with Camo and everything. But after being out of paintball for 3 years I couldn't find the old Camo or fit in them :)

So I broke down and got the Empire pants at the local store since they looked cool and had a nice padded zipper area (for the important protection), knee pads, loose fit, comfortable, durable contruction (so far, all day Sunday).

I see why everyone buys pants like these now. There great, good relax fitting to absorb some hits, and keep from breaking. Easy to move in and slide into bunkers in.

would recommend to anyone, even woodsball players, I got the black and gray to allow for some option of woodsball play and not stick out like a soar thumb with yellow or anything.
Conclusion: Great for paintball, would highly recommend for anyone, old timer or noob. Easy to wear, and slide in with some padding on knees, lower back, and zipper area!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, August 27th, 2005 at 5:01 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

OlUncleGearHead Friday, June 17th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
None, this is my first set of 'ball pants.
Marker Setup: SPIon, Egg II, Pure Energy 42/3000 CA bottle.
Strengths: Looks
Good venting.
Adjustablility.
Good padding.
Cheap.
Weaknesses: Construction issues (see below).
Review: I just started playing, and wanted a pair of pants so I didn't look like a rental when I showed up to play. I went down to my local shop and picked up a pair of Grinds, the least expensive pants I could find in town ($109 Canadian).

The Grinds are really nice. I wasimpressed when I put them on for the first time. They're very comfy, have lots of stretch panels and vents and have some tough padding on the knees as well as a moulded EVA pad just over your butt for ball hauler. Adjustments are velcro tabs on each side of the waist and toggled shock cord at the ankles.

It's the second time I put them on that I was less than impressed. Closure at the front is two snaps and a velcro covered fly. The top snap just fell off. No stress applied too it. I literally fell off.

I contacted Empire (or at least the umbrella company that Empire fall under) to see if they would just send me a snap. A simple fix and everybody goes home happy, right? Nope. They flattly refused to send me a replacement snap, and instead asked that I send the pants in the be replaced.

Next thing to go was one of the zipper pulls on the pocket. Whoever sewed together the zipper pull had missed most of the ribbon, sothe second or third time I used the zipper pull, it just gave way. It's a little thing, but when I'm shelling out for a pair of pants, I want to know they they were put together properly.

The pads slide really nicely on the turf, and stay cool when playing, and look really nice. Overall, I'm happy with them.
Conclusion: If they had held up, I would give it a perfect 10, but unfortunately, it's the little details that fellapart that dropped it.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, June 24th, 2005 at 11:13 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

reaper7 Monday, April 2nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
none really just used camo pants
Marker Setup: ion stock right now but goin to have cp trigger cp reg trinity body black heart board empire grips
Strengths: There kinda of light when ever im running around ,durable ventalated
Weaknesses: None really
Review: I really like these pants i like the colors its a good design . when i get shot sometimes it bounces right off i got these on christmas and they be doing me good ever since i know thats not a long time but there holdin up good the one thing i like about these pants is that they have a pocket with a zipper so if i need to hold like me wallet or something it wont fall out there very deep so i can hold my squeege theres also pockets if you dont have a pod belt you can put them on the side of your pants there adjustable so i dont have to get new ones when i can just change the size of the pants
Conclusion: I would recomened these pants to anyone rookies to pros anyone
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Terminate Thursday, November 30th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
regular cargo pants, medical scrub pants
Marker Setup: Tippmann a-5, e-grip, dye titanium boomstick, centerflag HPA tanks, JCS double trigger, Ricochet r-5 hopper
Strengths: Padding, venting, adjustable waste, pockets, looks.... the pictures don't do these pants justice.
Weaknesses: None that i've found yet...
Review: Tried them on in the store and instantly fell in love. Got them home did some practice sliding and the knee pads are amazing. When i put my pack on the eva heat molded pad really did help it to stay on place. I haven't had it tested yet but i'm sure the crotch pad over the zipper will come in handy one day....

The waist on these is ridiculously adjustable and i ended up picking size based on the leg length. I'm normally a 32 waste but i'm wearing the large pants because it's more comfortable leg length.

The venting in these is crazy good, with a pair of sweatpants on underneath the vents, that start from the inside of the crotch and go down the whole lag, kept me nice and cool.

These look freakin nice. I mean they are nice and baggy and i think they'd make a few balls bounce specially if they hit the padding.

I know it's minor for most people but having nice big pockets with good solid zippers came as an amazing bonus to me on these pants. I love the zippers seem solid.
Conclusion: Overall great pants just another nice Empire product made for paintballers who play hard.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, November 30th, 2006 at 4:41 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ranger1987 Friday, August 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have only used empire pants so i cant really compare
Marker Setup: I'm savin for the etek right now bout to sell my nerve
Strengths: Spandex above the knees, strong, durable
Weaknesses: Needs more crotch paddin, if your tall buy a size bigger than you
Review: The pants overall are great, I love the spandex above the knees really helps when your runnin an slidin....great knee paddin also a plus for those who dont always play on a speedball course with artificial turf...... so far i have been really pleased with the empire products......the pants look nice on you to the first day I wore mine I was already being asked how I liked the feel of them
Conclusion: These pants are great for anyone who plays speedball, an the graphics on the side are really really tyte i got the gray/black
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media