paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto 1 Piece Barrel / Proto 1 Piece Barrel / Proto 1 Piece Barrel

Proto 1 Piece Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto 1 Piece Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto 1 Piece Barrel
[ View Photos (7) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 71
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $44

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Increasing your gun's performance has always been a must, and having an accurate barrel is number one. Our Proto barrels are made to the highest quality standards and are ultra accurate.
Product Availability 
The Proto 1 Piece Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
PRO/CARBINEboni Wednesday, February 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months22 of 28 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
-Progressive is the only comparible one for this price
Marker Setup: Piranha EVO with a T-board, blade trigger, proto barrel, dead on paintball drop, trinity feed neck, halo b with rip, system-x 90/4500 tank. OR stock vision impulse
Recommended
Paintballs:
stingers, marbs, basically high end paint or even seconds would work
Strengths: See review
Weaknesses: See review
Review: This is a great barrel, it comes stock on the proto matrix. I love this barrel and i only got it for 27 dollars from xpaintball.com. I tested it with stingers from RPS and i was shooting ropes at a tree about 50 feet away and every ball hit within 3 or 4 inches of my intended target. You can use any paint no matter what size bore they are because the barrel is a .690 for every thread accept 'cocker and they are .693.
Conclusion: This is a great barrel for any skill level. If you are looking for a great inexpensive barrel look no further, they come in red,blue,silver,and black. both in matte and polished- 12,14,16 inch lengths are availible. if there are any questions leave a comment
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, April 6th, 2006 at 1:13 pm PST
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

Ruffneckscout15 Tuesday, January 4th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month12 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Teardrop, Freak, UL Boomstick, All American, many stock barrels.
Marker Setup: 2005 Proto Matrix, Blue-Black fade, 68/4500 max-flow, Reloader B, SS Freak Kit.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Definitely X-ball series, Chronic, or Jt Elite.
Strengths: Light, accurate, cheap.
Weaknesses: Doesn't really clean well through breaks, but that's what a squeegy is for.
Review: I'm happy to be the first one to right a review! Anyways, this barrel came stock on the Proto gat...I mean matrix. The anno on the barrel is perfect, no flaws. I went to my local field, air'd up, put some x-ball bronze series paint in, and hit the field. The barrel is very accurate for a 12 inch and the accuracy was close to my teammates freak barrel on their nerves! Don't expect to shoot through too many breaks. I chopped, but only from the cold temperature. Once it warmed up for a bit I shot it and wow no chops. For a 40 dollar barel that came stock on my gun I was impressed.
Conclusion: Overall excellent barrel for the price. If you want bore sizing though Proto doesn't make sizes so you may want to find a kit. If your in the hunt for a chaep barrel want quality and performance get this. Just remember x-ball paint shoots perfect through this barrel. No chops w/ x-ball.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, February 17th, 2005 at 3:09 pm PST
I found this review  
21 Comments - Add Comment

Bpiatt06 Wednesday, February 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month9 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Boomstick, Ion Stock barrel, Dye Xcel
Marker Setup: 05' Proto Matrix, Boomstick, 72 4500 tank, Halo B
Recommended
Paintballs:
Only tested with local field paint ( just got the gun, this barrel and the boomstick came with it)
Strengths: Very light, Straight Shooter, Accuracy not bad, Looks good
Weaknesses: Sometimes i got an odd ball that curved way left or right
Review: This is the stock barrel that comes with the 05 Matrix. I tested this barrel along with the boomstick to see how they compare to one another. In both barrels i had zero chops, i fired about 200 rounds through each. The boomstick in my opinion out preformed the proto, but for a stock barrel i was very impressed. In close range (15ft) both barrel shot almost exactly the same, except for the proto having an odd ball every once and awhile where a ball would go crazy right, or left. The longer range is where i saw the difference. The boomstick had much greater accuracy at 30+ft. I was shooting a barrel about 35 ft away and the proto hit 9 out of 10 times with a pretty good grouping. The boomstick hit 10 out of 10 times, with very good grouping (most of the balls landed on top of each other). I will not say anything bad about this barrel and in my opinion it is a very good product. If anyone is in need of a new barrel let me know, i would consider selling it. I will sell for a very good price just to help someone out if they needed a barrel. I am only considering this because my gun came with a boomstick. Email me with any questions.
Conclusion: Barrel is very good for the price and will out preform many other barrels out there. For the price you pay, this barrel is an excellent buy and keeps up with the other high priced barrels out there. This barrel is very light and looks excellent. I rate this barrel an 8 just because of the occasional curve i had, i don't know if it was just the paint i was using but that didn't happen with the boomstick. I will eventually test it with different paint and i will post my results.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, February 8th, 2006 at 9:48 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Pulp Fiction Sunday, March 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Ion Barrel, Dye Ultralight
Marker Setup: Black Ion
T Board with Dye Membrane adaptor
Black CP Trigger
Black CP Rail
Red CP On/Off
Chrome Q Lock
PMI 68/30 with Empire Tank Cover
Halo B with RIP
Black Proto 1 piece
Recommended
Paintballs:
I used Kick'n and they worked great. Just use decent paint, and you'll mow some fools
Strengths: See Review
Weaknesses: See Review
Review: I had just bought this Barrel as an upgrade from my Local paintball field, Colors paintball in West MI, and it looked pretty nice, and it looked even better on my gun. I was really excited to use this barrel. When I played uesterday, I had ball on ball accuracy. I couldn't belive that a $40 barrel could shoot like a $100+ one. This barrel definately proved itself, giving me amazing accuracy compared to my Stock barrel which had so-so accuracy.
Conclusion: This barrel is awesome, for the price, this barrel is amazing. I didn't have a single break all day, and at the end of the day, the barrel's inside looked brand new. If you want to get a nice barrel for your Gun, look at this one.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, March 26th, 2006 at 11:15 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BloodLustDE Sunday, February 11th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Imagine Stock
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine LED 05
Empire Reloader 2
Proto 14" One piece
New Designz Clamping Low Rise
Dye Stickies
Recommended
Paintballs:
Stingers
Strengths: Price, Looks, Quality
Weaknesses: Doesn't Clean well, Scratches easily
Review: After using the Imagine stock barrel i knew i had to upgrade. Picked this one up at the local shop for about 35 bucks. Took it out today for a long run. The Proto one-piece performed very well. I had one chop when i tried full auto, and the barrel did not clean itself out at all. Once i squeegee'd it i didn't barrel chop the rest of the day. It's a very accurate barrel, i was able to get more distance and better accuracy over the stock barrel. It wasn't as quite as i'd hoped though. I gave it a beating today tripping over logs and diving and i did get a nice scratch on the side already. So durability doesn't seem that great, but i suppose that depends on how you take care of it.
Conclusion: I'd recommend this barrel for anyone looking for an affordable upgrade. I was hoping for something that would vastly improve my accuracy and distance. While it was better than the stock, i think i can do better than this one.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Knot13351 Friday, October 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Ion Barrel
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
Lucky S4 w/ Mac Noid
Halo B w/ Rip
Pure Energy 68/4500 Tank
Proto 14" Barrel
Clippard QEV
Orang ADF Detents
Shocktech Drop
Prostock ASA
Warrior Feedneck
Warrior Trigger
Warrior Bolt(broken)
Recommended
Paintballs:
It has a .690 bore, so most will fit. Chronic(a little small), Inferno(excellent), and Rec Sport(excellent) all work great.
Strengths: Accurate
Self cleans well
Weaknesses: None
Review: I wanted a new barrel for my Ion, after using my stock one for 6 months. I like Proto gear, i use all Proto gear (except gun), so I decided to go with this barrel. It is super nice and has a great finish. The bore is as smooth and shiny as you could ask for. I went to SC Village the next day to try it out. It has some great long range accuracy for a 14" barrel, which is probably because the porting is designed the way it is. In speedball, it does great. Ball on ball great. All the paint i have used in it has worked good. Proto paint is supposed to be the best, but that is probably because it is a Proto barrel. I mainly use Draxxus Rec Sport paint through it. I recently used Draxxus Inferno and that was even better. Chronic is a little small, but whatever is up with this barrel, makes it shoot just as accurately.
Conclusion: I love this barrel. It looks great on my gun, and shoots just as well. Great buy in my opinion.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

protop8ntballer Saturday, March 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested4 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Ultralite, Tipmann A5 Stock, Piranha Evo Stock, Autococker Stock, Angel Stock
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5 with RT
Recommended
Paintballs:
Xball Podium Series- Bronze or Silver
Strengths: -Accurate
-Quiet
-Price ($50.00)
Weaknesses: -Must use certain paint
-Chops first 1000 balls
Review: The Proto One-Piece Barrel is obviously nice because of the manufacturer. Proto makes excellent products.

I found the barrel to be quite quiet. I currently use a Stiffi, which is much quieter, but the Proto still packs a punch.

This barrel is very accurate. It shoots straight, depending on one factor. The kind of paint you use. With a Proto Barrel, you must use a paintball such as an Xball. I shot the barrel with PMI Menaces, and the barrel just wouldn't stop chopping. I highly suggest using a really high quality paint.

This barrel will chop for about the first 500-1000 balls. After this, you will have a nice, quiet, accurate barrel.
Conclusion: Overall, this is an excellent barrel for $50.00. It is tough to find a barrel with such precision as this for its price.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

Silent Night Thursday, December 2nd, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Alpha Black e-grip, Proto Primo ( best gravity hopper ever), 16 inch Proto one piece barrel, 48/4500 psi air tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
I will spit just about anything out the same way with the same impact
Strengths: Ultralight, Accuracy, Sleek and Sexy appeal, Durable
Weaknesses: Depending on length it can be a problem
Review: It is has an appeal about it that makes it look dangerous. It can take on the woods and the turf with no problem. It doesn't complain with bad paint, it will shoot it with the same accuracy and impact of other paints. I have no complains about how it performs
Conclusion: I would give this to my friends, and I do not plan on getting another barrel
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, December 2nd, 2010 at 7:00 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

OhNoesXD Thursday, May 8th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Recommended
Paintballs:
Mostly Any
Strengths: -Accuracy
-Straight Shooting
-Price Is A Definate
-Great Availibility
Weaknesses: -None That I Know Of
Review: I picked one of these up for my Spyder about a year back. I have to say I am very pleased with this barrel, for it's price it is very accurate and highly efficient. It is availible in many assorted colors and threads. The design isn't anything special, but that has nothing to do with its performance. I'd say go get it.

Conclusion: Definately worth getting for its price.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TheFuzz7532 Saturday, October 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Evil Pipe Kit - Duh...kit
Progressive
Stock Barrels
J&J
Marker Setup: Dragun T.E.S
Evil Detonator
Evil Pipe Kit
Alamo Paintball Delrin Bolt
Scenario Dreams T-Board w/ Ultra Chip
Lightened Spring
Lightened Micro Switch and trigger
48/3000 Pure Energy Comp. Air

Viewloader Egg 2 w/ Z board
Recommended
Paintballs:
Small - Medium
Strengths: Cheap
Quiet
Accurate
Looks good
What more?
Weaknesses: After one chop, usually a few to follow
Review: This is a great barrel, especially for the price. It IS a stock barrel...but for a high-end marker. This barrel is super accurate, quiet, and looks pretty good. The only problem i had is i didn't match my paint, stuck a pod in and went at it....chop city. The barrel does have a tendency that once you do chop a ball..it becomes a shotgun....spray and chopping every ball in the barrel after that.

Some people say that it chops bad.....well...lets just say...barrel to paint means so much in the world of paintball....also...paint will expand in humid areas or on humid days. ACCOUNT FOR THIS, bring smaller paint because paint that fits good at home, will expand and be too big on extremely humid days. The barrel won't be doing all the chopping either if the marker isn't configured correctly.

This barrel is top notch, you just have to make sure you're doing things correctly.
Conclusion: Keep it clean, keep the match between barrel and paint good, keep it on the opponent and you won't have a problem. I can't give it a 10 because it doesn't flex and mold the paintball, and tell me the velocity, acceleration, displacement, curve details, and laser dot where the paintball will land....so its not perfect haha, but it IS worthy of a 9 if not slightly more for what your paying.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media