paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / PMI Piranha USP Pistol / PMI Piranha USP Pistol / PMI Piranha USP Pistol / PMI Piranha USP Pistol

PMI Piranha USP Pistol Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount PMI

Buy PMI Piranha USP Pistol

Paintball Pistols

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


PMI Piranha USP Pistol
[ View Photos (9) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 39
Average Rating: 8.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $120

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
# Semi-automatic
# Uses .68 caliber paintballs
# Powered by 12-gram Co2 cartridges (not included)
# Fast threading Co2 cap for quicker cartridge changing.
#Fixed 9 round spring loaded ammo tube.
#10 shot capacity - 9 in tube + 1 in chamber.
# Capable of shooting 8 balls per second.
# Fixed 5" barrel with threaded tip
# Vertical feed, closed receiver
# Durable space-age polymer grip frame with single trigger and guard
# 13" total length, 7" tall
# Rear velocity adapter.
# Made of corrosion-resistant, aerospace grade aluminum with wear resistant teflon finish on all internal parts
#Extra cupseal, main spring, o-rings and other small parts included.
# Weight without paint or air: 2 pounds
Product Availability 
The PMI Piranha USP Pistol is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
mgregg85 Thursday, January 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month23 of 31 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Zeus G1 & G2, ACP, delta 68, PT series
Marker Setup: PMI Piranha Vert Feed
-E-Force
-DYE Ultralite Barrel
-Tigershark Bolt
-Palmer Stabilizer
-Remote Line

2 x Zeus G1's

Piranha USP w/e-forcegrip
Recommended
Upgrades:
Tigershark bolt, pipe front barrel extension if you want more accuracy(accuracy is already ok, pretty good for a pistol), E-Force grip to make it into a sort of mock uzi or a Glock 18
Strengths: Simple design, easy reloading(co2 and paint), good accuracy, tough aerospace aluminium body, easy upgrades
Weaknesses: Limited magazine capacity, co2 efficiency is ok
Review: PMI USP Features:
-CO2 drop out w/pop out lever for easy spinning of the knob.
-Easy field stripping
-fully recessed bolt, no beavertail worries here
-threaded barrel tip takes pipe fronts
-easy paint reloading via a quick cap styled design
-almost all spyder and piranha upgrades will work with this pistol
-nice balance
All of these features add up to a nicely designed paintball marker. Its a great pistol that fits into the ronin gear holsters quite well. Im currently looking for another and I may sell my two zeus's.
Conclusion: Buy it, its nice, cheap and effective while still being durable
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, January 14th, 2005 at 5:19 pm PST
I found this review  
17 Comments - Add Comment

Tempest/Delta Wednesday, June 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Zeus, Delta .68, PT series
Marker Setup: Tippman A5
-Flatline
-Low Pressure Kit
-Detonater Regulator

2 Piranah USPs as sidarms

Piranah R6
-Razzor Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
a holster, if it doesn't come with one.
Strengths: Tight shot grouping, easy reload, very light
Weaknesses: Might require some work out of the box, co2 piercing screw doesn't always work
Review: I bought two of these bad boys for my scenario games. I pulled both of them out of the box, and had the same problem with each of them. The CO2 cartridge would pierce before the seal had completly formed, resulting in some lost air. It was worse when I had to work the clamping knob all the way around while air was hissing out.

On the plus side, once you get it charged up, this baby can put the ball anywhere an R6 can. I compared my shot distance to my R6, and only went maybe 5 feet further with the R6. The USP was putting 9 out of 10 shots consistantly on target. (For me, a target is a CD-ROM at 25 yards.) With the addition of a pipe front, that went up to about 19 out of 20 shots.

Oh yeah, also remember to cock it before you clamp down the co2 cartridge.
Conclusion: All in all, a very accurate, very light, pistol. Just make sure you get it checked out before you leave the store.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, June 22nd, 2005 at 8:33 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Paul Hewson Sunday, November 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month13 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Delta
Marker Setup: (primary) Timmie ECX, empire reloader pure energy 5000 Ci, (freak A.A. barrel) (Backup) impulse vision **retired**, blade trigger, (freak AA barrel). 3rd Tippmann A5 stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Its a pistol, I'd recommend leaving a pistol
Strengths: Cost, Reliability
Weaknesses: Low velocity compared to full size marker. needs a rail to mount laser.
Review: I purchased this about a month ago, and so far its worked great for me. It was reliable everytime I used it, and although you have to be closer then you normally would to use it effectively, thats sort of the fun of it.

Key points:
1) You get about 18-20 useful shots out of it.
2) Conventional stacked tube design
3) It likes bigger paintballs (the barel is fairly wide)
4) Comes with its own holster! (thanks PMI)
5) Holds 9 in the clip and one in the chamber
6) It does take a little finesse to insure you seat the
CO2 cartridge properly., once its seated it will
not leak
7) Comes with differrent velocity springs, about 8
O rings, and a good manual. again very cool PMI
8) When you fire it it will alert anyone within 100 yards
where your position is (its loud, but no louder then
a stock 98)
9) It is basically a chopped Pirrhana (Sp?), so I guess
in theory it could take an E-grip to make it fully auto
(let me know if anyone has tried this)
10) Allows the player to "keep it real" in situation where
their primary marker craps out

**anecdote** (read only if your bored) I never really thought I needed a back up until some touney guy [not that I don't like touney dudes; all different players makes the sport fun, but I digress] I had posted in woodsball could tell my main marker wasn't working (the halo smashed a ball inside the neck, always fun!). So he decided to bunker me.
I placed my ECX on the deck, unlatched the holster strap and drew the USP. I waited until I could pick which side he was going to come around, tucked in aimed, and... Shazam! fired when I saw the first hint of color on his jersey. He was dissapointed and surprised, but like a professional didn't fire after he was hit first, which I thanked him for. The USP is now permantly attached to me when I step on to paintball field
Note: During a game I reccomend having it gased up,loaded and holstered with the safety off. If you do need it you'll need it fast. Its saved many a welt :)
Conclusion: Buy it and have fun. Pistols tend to have more leaking issues then other markers, but I haven't had any issues with mine, I give a 10
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, November 13th, 2005 at 9:10 am PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

jeff_rx7 Wednesday, June 29th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested11 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
zues G1, G2, Delta .68
Marker Setup: Spyder Rodeo, 20 inch taso barell, 9V revvy
Recommended
Upgrades:
The Extreme Rage holster
Strengths: Accurate
Compact
Weaknesses: See review
Review: for the last few weeks, i have been looking for info on the new (well newer) USP. pbreview was a great help, and here is my opinion on the USP. I have recently been considering buying a USP as a secondary, and I'm glad i got to try one before i bought one of my own.

i have not really played with pistols much, so trying to aim with it was tricky. i found myself having trouble aiming it because it was so much different than my semi. the pistol shoots surprisingly straight however, with no curve in the shot for well over 100 ft. this pistol is also very sturdy. when you grab it, its not heavy, but you can definately feel that the gun is durable.

the lever on the co2 knob is handy, giving you lots of needed leverage so you dont lose much air from the 12 gram. i found that i could get a consistant 15-20 shots out of a 12 gram shooting at about 250 fps.

reloading the gun is interesting too. PMI has a good magazine design ( much better than that of the zues) with a sliding piece to cover where you load the balls. i found that if you put your finger in the groove when the gun is tipped back, the paint balls load much quicker and easier.

this gun also makes you much more aware of your game too. ie. you dont want to advance too far without being sure your magazine is full. i speak from experience, it really sucks when you go storming into a room with three opponants when you only have two shots left in the magazine :(
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun to any body that already ownes or has owned a pistol, and for all you semi owners, definately try this gun out before you buy it. i would say that this is the best pistol i have ever shot for its decent gas efficiency, amazing accuracy, and excellent design.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Banana Slayer Thursday, April 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ariakon Overlord - Not that great...
Marker Setup: Palmer's Pursuit Shop Blazer
--Palmer's Pursuit Shop Stabilizer
--Sheridan Gripframe
--Lapco Dropforward
--10.5" Brass Barrel

PMI/ACI Trracer

PMI USP Pistol

Halo B
--Rip Drive

Pure Enegry 68/4500

Recommended
Upgrades:
E-Force Frame - Turn your USP into an automatic pistol (think Glock)
PIPE Front - Add some accuracy I guess...
Holster
Strengths: Available Upgrades Do To Full Size Internals
Accurate
Star Wars Blaster Pistol Looks
Price
Weaknesses: Tricky (at first) Reload
Nine Round Feeder
Exposed cup seal
Review: The Good:

There are a lot of available upgrades for the USP truley making it a tinkerers pistol. Since the USP uses full sized Pirahna internals, you can upgrade the bolt, gripframe. Also, there is threading on the USP's barrel that allows you to attatch PIPE fronts. Not sure why you'd want to do this, but I guess some accuracy could be gained. Most pistols you can't do much too, the USP offers you the chance to personalize it a bit.

The USP is pretty damn accurate for its size. You're not going to be longballing with this thing, but where's the fun in that anyways. As long as you're in a medium range, you should be able to hit your target. This is a good thin as the feed only holds ten shots.

This thing looks like a Blaster Pistol from Star Wars. If you ask me, that's pretty sweet. Sure, the RoboCop look of some of the Ariakon pistols is cool, but the USP takes it in my opinion.

Another major plus to the USP is its price. You can find them brand new for around $80 which is $20 than most pistols (Tib 8 excluded). You save some cash that you can use for a holster or upgrades to the pistol. It's (in my opinion) better than most pistols out there and being cheaper is a huge plus.

Now onto the bad:

This thing can be a pain in the ass to reload. It takes a little while to get the reloading down. I've found the best way to do it is to put your finger in the crook between the feeder and the marker and fill the feeder before getting a paintball in the breach. That's the easiest way to reload the marker that I've found and without some practice, it can be really difficult on the field.

My one real pet peeve with this marker is that it only holds nine rounds in the feeder. I would prefer ten as you use a ten round tube to reload it, and it's much safer to have a paintball in the breech while reloading in case someone tries to bunker you. Not so with the USP...

The biggest drawback of the USP is its exposed cup seal. The 12gram dropout is nice, but it puts your cup seal out in the open just asking to get dirty and ruined. It's not easy to get to, to replace either since you have to dissasemble the valve. Just be sure to store the USP with a big barrel condom on it to cover up the twelve gram area to keep dirt out. Don't store it with a twelve gram in the pistol as it can stick to the cup seal and then tear off a bit of it when removed ruining it.
Conclusion: Overall, the USP is good pistol at a great price. It has some drawbacks, but also has a lot of pluses to it that other pistols are lacking. And at its price, it's hard to beat. I give it a very solid 9/10.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

..!..('_')..!.. Monday, June 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
No pistols, but have used 98C, Xtra, Marauder, and Stingray.
Marker Setup: Main- 98C with Comando f/x package, 20oz tank, PMI 200 rnd hopper.
Backup- Pmi Usp pistol (Stock)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe a pipe front, but accuracy is alrady great.
NO BOTTOMLINE ADAPTER OR HOPPER ADAPTER
Strengths: See review
Weaknesses: See Review
Review: Strengths-
Accurate
Light
Powerful
Good CO2 Usage

Weaknesses-
Not very big clip (hey I needed a weakness i guess!) But most pistols have a small one.


A great pistol, i just got mine today and it works great. Very accurate, I can shoot through a 1.5'x1' shed window with no problem. Prety good co2 usage, about 35-40(sorry, i didnt count) shots per 12 gram. Easy to put in and no leakage.

Edit June 30, 2005:
I have had the pistol for 3 days now and have shot about 7 co2 cartridges through it, it works just as good as when i got it, 37 shots per 12 gram, and very accurate. Im looking for a pipe front and maybe a egrip to make it like an uzi.
Conclusion: Great as a backup or as a main weapon. Fires as fast as my Tippy and just as accurate. BUY IT. An easy 10
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, June 28th, 2005 at 5:08 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

bayruun Saturday, April 23rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Delta 68
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra stock, 17 inch barrel (dunno the company)
9oz Co2, 45 round hopper (smaller target, fun to use), Draxxus paint

PMI USP stock with Rage holster
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing really. If you add a bottomline, then you've missed the point of having a pistol. If you add a E-force grip, then you have an automatic pistol with 10 rounds... why?
Strengths: Lighter than other pistols
Cheap
Accurate enough
Very effecient
Weaknesses: Magazine difficult to reload
Piercing screw didn't work at first
Review: I bought my USP today, and I thought that it would work straight out of the box. I was wrong. The thing wasted two 12grams on me, since the piercing screw doesn't work. As much as I want to believe that this is a great product, at this point I can't reccomend it.

I'll take it back to the shop and see if they can fix it, otherwise it will be replaced. If the second one doesn't work, its getting a rating of 1... a product has to work to be ranked higher.

[edit April 27th]

I got it back from the shop after having it fixed, and it works beautifully! I'm getting much faster at relaoding the thing, and I suppose it isn't so much harder to reload than other pistols. It is VERY effecient. Tne 12gram is good for about 33 shots. It shoots fast enough for me, and it has a decent shot grouping for a pistol.

[edit Sept 4]

Finally got around to using it on the field. My Xtra kept breaking balls, so I had to use the USP often. It was very reliable, getting me two hits (considering its a pistol and there were two guys per team, this is good). Reloading was an issue. I think I might try the Overlord.
Conclusion: Because this is the best pistol I've used (but it reloads slowly), it gets a 9. You want a good cheap pistol that works well, this is the one.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, September 4th, 2005 at 1:25 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

321pb123 Friday, March 27th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: I use a tippmann 98 with a flatline barrel, double trigger, and 3000 psi compressed air tank/ CO2

09 UL SLG- no ugrades

PMI Piranha USP Pistol
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel extension
Strengths: Appearance, easy to handle, just plain fun to have a pistol, accuracy, weight (size)
Weaknesses: air efficiency- (Its about 20-30 shots a tank), weight (size)
Review: I got mine today and first impressions are good. I've wanted a pistol for a while and this is the cheapest one I've found ($60). It came in the mail today and along with my friend's (we both ordered one each) so we had a "duel" and the gun was pretty accurate. I wrote weight (size) as a pro and a con because this is my first pistol and I'm not sure on other's sizes. This pistol is pretty big and wieghs about 2 pounds.
Conclusion: I would recommend this product, but I'd recommend it if you get it for the price i paid (contact me for the website).
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Friday, March 27th, 2009 at 6:00 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Lenday666 Thursday, June 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
No Pistols (First One)
Marker Setup: Spyder Mr1 With 12" - 24" Barrel Upgrade
Red Dot System
Laser
Remote Coil
Recommended
Upgrades:
None
Strengths: Good Feel, Accuracy, Range
Durable, Nice Overall Gun
Holster And Belt Included!!
Weaknesses: You Dont Get Many Shot From The Gas,
Abit Difficult Reloading But Not Too Bad
Review: Originally i was goin to buy the Pt. Jr paintball pistol but after being F*KED ABOUT! With the warhouse stock, i decided too change the order and get a USP. I orderd it with 40 Co2 sparklets and a case...Anyway eventually it arrived, when i first put a sparklet in it, it started p**sin out , so i tried a second and after the first it was fine. The first place i took it was a local plot of woodland and tried it for the first time, i was amazed it went nearly as far as my original marker and it was pretty accurate, the only down side was the ammount of shots i got from the sparklet after about 20 shots the power dies, but i did have the high velocity spring in so this is probably why. The other good thing is that you get a holster and belt with it which i found sh*t hot!! I admit i was dissapointed when i had to choose this gun over the Pt. Jr But i have to say overall i was impressed with the gun, from its looks to its feel, it shot well and i can see it coming in handy in some senario play (even though i hav'nt used it in a game yet :-( ) Now ive tried it im not dissapointed at all!
Conclusion: having not tried a Pt. Jr i cannot compare, but from what ive tasted of this pistol im far from dissapointed, i would recommend it if you are considering getting a side arm, For the price you cant go wrong!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

philzhou31 Friday, July 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
This is my 3rd pistol. I've tried the Sheridan PGP, owned both PT Enforcer and PT Extreme and the Piranha out performs all of them.
Marker Setup: Primary: 98 Autococker with AGD Warpfeed, AKALMP Lightning Bolt, Pnematics and Back Block, Sidewinder Reg. Dye sliding trigger frame and Dye Ultralite barrel. PMI 3000psi 72cu with drop forward. VL 12V Revvie with JT Speedpod system. Smartparts wood grips.

Backup: Spyder Imagine with Smartparts feed neck with 14 Inch War Pig barrel (don't buy this barrel) and drop forward.

Backup: F4 Illustrator with 16 inch barrel

Secondary: Stock Piranha USP
Recommended
Upgrades:
maybe some softer grips, comes with hard plastic
Strengths: Great design, included high velocity spring greatly improves FPS, nice gas efficiency
Weaknesses: A bit big (about 13 inchs), included grips are very uncomfortable
Review: Nicely built gun, very solid feel, from what I can see, the body is metal except ball detent, loading chamber cover and cocking slide, trigger frame is plastic. Shoots very smoothly, I epecially like the CO2 system, the small lever really helps saving CO2. This gun solves the problem the PTs and a lot of other pistols has, which is that the loading of the CO2 cartridges takes too long or is too strenuous on the hands therefore causing loss of gas but the lever system doesn't cause that. I think Piranha used full-sized internals, which solves the gas problem but at the same time makes the gun a bit big. The safety button is a bit small so its not that easy to switch with just the thumb. The included pouch has a few Allen wrenches, a couple of O-Rings, and High Velocity Spring and etc.
Conclusion: A great pistol for the price, I found mine brand new on Ebay for $65, tried it before you buy it
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media