paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dye C5 Elbow Pads / Dye C5 Elbow Pads / Dye C5 Elbow Pads / Dye C5 Elbow Pads

Dye C5 Elbow Pads Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dye

Buy Dye C5 Elbow Pads

Paintball Knee and Elbow Pads

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dye C5 Elbow Pads
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 11
Average Rating: 9.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $50

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Let's face it, your elbows and forearms can take some abuse while playing paintball. That is why we continuously strive to develop the best possible form of elbow protection. Our elbow pads have been beaten, scraped, dived on and gouged by professional paintball athletes worldwide. These elbow pads can survive the toughest abuse and look cool doing it. The vented inner arm material keeps the pad tight against your skin to protect from turf burn, yet it's fully ventilated to keep you cool. Venting on the forearm allows total air circulation and reduces sweating. The center elbow section is flexible and forms to your movement. The flexible ribbed compression area has been extended into the center forearm surface for added protection against forearm impacts. New for 05 and a first for the paintball industry, a gel forearm insert has been installed into the forearm pad for the ultimate in comfort. The C5 Elbow Pads simply offer the most comfortable protection available in the sport of paintball.
Product Availability 
The Dye C5 Elbow Pads are older, so while they may be available used and in a few cases new, they are not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Calon929 Saturday, May 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Redz, angel, 03 dye
Marker Setup: Dark timmy, empire b shocktec wheeled, .689 jr3 barrel, and empire 68/4500
Strengths: Comfortable and dont creep
Weaknesses: Cost a little more but its worth it
Review: Im pretty happy with them overall and they have held up well. I wear them all day long in Florida and they dont cook me because they breathe well. I got them in large and they were a little tight at first but they have let out a little, but not enough for them to move around on my arm. I couldnt find a decent size chart online so maybe this will help: Wrist to elbow is 11.75",about the same from elbow to shoulder, bicep is 14.25"around,and forearm is 12.5" and a Large fits me well broken in.
Conclusion: Good cushioning and they breathe well. They dont show the normal wear and tear I have experienced from thier earlier versions so I give them an A.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mder Monday, January 17th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Proto Elbow pads '04
Marker Setup: CCM Series 5 (black matte)
Eclipseblade 2 (chrome)
Orracle Tickler (chrome)
Planet Eclipse Rame w/ QEV's (chrome)
Planet Eclipse Supercharger Valve
Planet Eclipse Rex Dialer Kit
CP In-line (black)
Evlution II (smoke)
CP Rail (black)
CP On/Off ASA (black)
68 CI 3000 PSI Crossfire Carbon Wrapped Tank
Dye Rhino Tank Cover (red)
Strengths: Manuverability
Venting
Stay in place
Comfort
Protection
Weaknesses: Price
Can get itch
Review: I got these cause I knew a lot of people who had the Core elbow pads. The appearance was awesome, in the net bag it comes with. I still keep them in the net. I tried them on in the store and knew they were what I wanted.

Strengths
Manuverability: You can move very well in these, there is no loss of motion. I could still move my arms as fast, and in the same positions. They didn't hinder movement at all, once I had them in the right place. When you turn you arm in some ways the pad kind of stays to alway have the padding facing near the right direction. This works for me since the wrist is just a little bigger than mine. For a bigger person I think the wrist might just twist the padding or something like that.

Venting: I wore these all day from 9-4. I didn't get very sweaty in them through all the rigorous play. I don't think it was the cold though, because my knees were sweating.

Stationary: They don't wiggle up and down your arm, you put them where you want and they stay. No fiddling with them to keep in place. You can dive, rub up a bunker, switch hands, and more, without them moving.

Comfort: This ties all the other stuff together. I rarely knew they were on me all day, or in other words I forgot they were there on and off the field. They just felt so good. Only for like the first hour did I notice my arms where bulkier.

Protection: They really protect from any welts you would get when being shot. I took 5 shots to the forarm all day and three times I didn't know, and none left a welt that looked like I was abused. Also I could do a superman dive/slide, and it felt good, instead of a blunt pain feeling.

Weaknesses
Price: The price is a little steep for budget players. They are about $50 for something that is going to get beat to hell and back. I think however that they are well worth it. You could get other pads for cheaper, but if you want the quality go with these.

Itchy: Not as bad as it sounds. Near the end of the day when I was in the car going home I finally noticed they were on, because of a mild itch. It was just in the area of the hole. I think they stitching there to keep from unraveling could be made thinner with just more stitches like a thin material but a triple stitch. It wasn't bad, just I drew from comfort.
Conclusion: This is an awesome product from Dye. I don't know how it compares to other brands, but you really get what you pay for in these. I reccomend them to anyone, that really wants the protection they deserve.

I give it 9.8, because all paintball stuff of quality is expensive, and because the itch was so minor. I guess that it rounds out to a 10!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

Draw Me RED Tuesday, October 18th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Redz
Marker Setup: E-Cocker, Dragunfly Electric LCD, Ricochet 9v LCD, ANS Gen X2 Regulator, JJ SS 14inch, KAPP Craddle Drop, High PSI Nitro
Strengths: Very light weight
Great mobility
Excellent look and feel
New design!
Weaknesses: If you can't afford $50 for the best pads money can buy
Review: After reading some reviews and talking to some people online, I found myself having to try this so called "comfortable elbow pad" and you know... all the hype is right! For an elbow pad that continues down the forearm... I am yet to find better protection with such comfort! I know that JT is coming out with some new ones that are suppose to be cheaper in price... but DYE is such a well respected name that I wouldn't really think of changing brands and maybe sacrifice comfort just to save like 5 bucks!
Conclusion: FINAL RECOMMENDATION: I realize that $50 for elbow pads may be a bit costly... to some at least. I have an excellent job that pays great... and after this purchase, all I can say is that if I was in the market for some GREAT arm protection... and didn't have my great job... I would probably still find a way to pay for them as they are that good, but Paintball is expensive as it is, so if you have the money to play the game... you have the money for these pads... and once you get them, you'll be glad you did!!! So just go get them already!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MeanChad Friday, May 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
nothing besides stock jersey padding
Marker Setup: sp Ion Black,uni mount 2, Function 2 feedneck,Freak barrel kit, special trigger,Qev,Cp reg, Halo B rip drive, pmi pure energy 45 45
Strengths: Comfrotable, protects yor arm, ITS DYE,
Weaknesses: A little pricy but other than that none
Review: These are the best elbow pads you can get they are comfrotable and you dont sweat alot.You can slide on your whole elbow and it wont even hur or even feel it.It also doesnt slow you down you can still bend your arm the same as you could without elbow pads by far the best product i have ever used. Yo couldnt get a better product i would reccomnd these to anyone even for little kids because they have really small sizes thanks for making another great product DYE.
Conclusion: The Best you can get go buy them
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kooblerkong Wednesday, December 29th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Core C4 Elbow Pads- Similar but C5's are a lot more comfortable
Marker Setup: Clear Matte Outkast Cocker, On/Off, 14 in. Evil Pipe Kit, Peanut WarrGas Tank, 12v Revvy
Strengths: Comfortable, Gets lots of bounces.
Weaknesses: Arms sweat which is expected.
Review: The thing that most people get with elbow pads are the cushion when crashing into a bunker or the ground, and getting hit by paint. The best thing about these pads are the number of bounces you get. Man... sometimes you end up creeping out of a bunker a little further than you should have to get someone and get hit in the forearm or elbow in the process. With these pads sometimes you get bounces. Helpful in tounaments when people are freaking out and the ref comes over and says, "he's clean." I love it.
Conclusion: Buy them... they are only a few bucks more than the C4's. Others on the field will respect you if you have these.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Rohit Tuesday, September 11th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
eclipse
Marker Setup: invert mini
Stiffi barrel
68/3000 java
Empire B
Strengths: See review
Weaknesses: See review
Review: -so back in the end of 05 i wanted new elbow pads, and the C5's caught my eye.

-I ordered them blindly, and got a large. they fit my arms just fine. I bit tight, but they can be stretched and worn in to fit.

-So for 2 years of the most hardcore paintball play from everything from snake to back stand up,from gallons of sweat and paint poured into them these elbow pads have stayed their exact colour, shape, no rips or tears.

-I am beyond impressed. the gel padding is comfortable and approximately the same thickness as eclipse ones.

-to wash and clean these pads, simply soak them in water, but air dry. These pads have never smelled from sweat or paint either.
Conclusion: I would definitely recommend these elbow pads, from the shear time they have lasted they are entirely worth the buy.

If you want a guide to what you should buy- >170-smaller than L
between 170-190- L
You can figure out the rest.

If you cant decide between dye or eclipse pads, it is a simple matter of whatever company you like the most, because in my experience i find them the same.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Shadow21 Saturday, June 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None.
Marker Setup: 2K5 'Timmy & PM6
Halo B
PMI 68/3000
Strengths: Padded well.
Durable.
Looks, although hidden by jersey.
Venting.
Stay in place.
Bounces.
Weaknesses: Tight, I custom modded it.
Review: I got a a pair in a trade, straight up, or one of my two Check It Uni-Mounts, talk about a deal. Brand new, never used. I thought about this for about 5 minutes, and decided to, just because I got the Check It for free.

I got them, put them on, and found they were a little tight. Took them off, and cut two small flaps at the top, where your biceps and triceps would be. After that, they fix like a charm, and that is really the only weakness.

Game One: I get on the field, "10 seconds," yellled the ref. Errnt, go, go go! I ran to the snake, and 3 of the 5 players on the other team laned me. I was hit in the arm 3 times. I check, no breaks. This is the greatest part of the C5 Elbow Pads, they bounce like crazy.

No more worries about "turn burns" or rug burns or sticking to the ground with wet fore arms. The C5 Elbow pads eliminate all this. When you come out of a bunker, no more worries of the pain on bone/paint contact, as I suffered for a year, but overcame it. The pading will not only protect you well, but it will keep you in the game as well.
Conclusion: I would get antoehr pair, but unfortunatly, I only have 2 arms. They protect you well, and make you play well too.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jhchawk Saturday, June 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Long sleeve shirt
Marker Setup: Armotech Mars Evo
3A Low Pressure Nitro
Evlution II w/ Z board
J&J 14" Ceramic
Flurry Emissary
and OF COURSE---blackstar pull gloves
Strengths: Wont move. Ever.
Lightwieght but strong
Breathable
Comfortable
Weaknesses: Little small up top
Review: Well like I said these things are absolutely AWESOME. I barely noticed I had them on during an entire 8 hr. scenario game. They are very breathable and comfortable but they still have aweosme protection, you cant feel a thing. now I can wear cut off shirts when I play. My only complaint is that since I'm strong the upper part of the pads are a little tight around my biceps at first, but they stretch as you play.
Conclusion: Buy them, theyre awesome...unless youre the hulk.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ego59 Saturday, May 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Jt Skinz Elbow Pads
Proto 05 Elbow Pads
Both are great for the money but the dye has more padding than both and are uber comfy
Marker Setup: Planet Eclipse 05 EGO Dust Black with Silver Dust Color Contrast Kit, DART bolt, Silver Eclipse Grips, 14inch Shaft Solo .689 Polished Black Barrel, New Designz Ram Adjuster Dust Silver, New Designz Delrin Bolt Pin,CP Short Reg Dust Black, CP Direct Mount On/Off in Dust Black. Halo B Blue Shells, Shocktech Drive Cone and Rip Knob in Silver, Shocktech Spring and Speed Wheel, Empire Lid. ACI 68 4500psi Bulldog 3 with Blue Dye c5 Tank Cover

Back up: 03/04 Silver Dust Angel Speed lots of ups but to lazy to list
Strengths: Very nice padding, uber comfy, look so sweet
Weaknesses: None that i can tell
Review: For all you guys that think proto is the same as dye i have to say your wrong. dont get me wrong my proto elbow pads were great. they were comfy, protective and i got them for practically free all good things. but my dyes have more padding the gel insert feels uber good and i think the dye look a lot nicer. im kind of a dye whore so i wanted all dye stuff.lol. I highly recommend these buy them.
Conclusion: Buy them. Look Sweet. Uber padding and comfort. Worth every $.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

protomatrixman Saturday, January 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
I havent really used any other kinds of elbow pads. These are my first ones.
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix 05,M5 board,CCM feedneck,CP asa and rail,Halo B w/ rip drive,Dye Peanut 45, Dye Rhino Cover,
Strengths: Comfortable,easy to slide,
Weaknesses: Well they sort of a pain to get off. price to high
Review: These elbow pads are great. they really help. I really dont have much of a discription because i summed it up in the strengths and weaknesses. One thing I did not say is they are very light. I would highly reccomend these if you are a speedball player or a hyper ball player. You might consider geting the dye knee pads too :)

Conclusion: Ok i basicly did this step in the discription
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media