paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Empire Ground Pounder Knee Pads / Empire Ground Pounder Knee Pads / Empire Ground Pounder Knee Pads / Empire Ground Pounder Knee Pads

Empire Ground Pounder Knee Pads Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Empire

Buy Empire Ground Pounder Knee Pads

Paintball Knee and Elbow Pads

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Empire Ground Pounder Knee Pads
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 10
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $35

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Our new neoprene knee protection provides support and heat retention. We added a comfort zone, made with terry cloth encapsulated closed-cell foam, neoprene, and a contour form fitting layer of memory foam.
Product Availability 
The Empire Ground Pounder Knee Pads are newer, so they should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
jjgoforward Monday, August 20th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Just some cheap rollerblade knee pads.
Marker Setup: Diablo Reincarnation 2 BBS w/ EYES Black/Silver Fade
Halo Frontman E'hopper
14" J&J Ceramic barrel
88/3000 Crossfire/Carlton HPA
Strengths: Good price. Very comfortable. Great protection
Weaknesses: Sizing
Review: 06/18/08 Edit: I recently took in the seem (sewing) on my Ground Pounders by about 1/4". Wow what a difference! They stayed up all day-about 3 hours of play. They are so secure that I'm even using them to play softball in. They are very comfortable, and they don't inhibit my mobility at all. They are really tough. I slid hard into second and there was no damage to me and no damage to the knee pads! I can't belie ve how much padding they have in the knees. So if your Ground Pounders are not staying put-have your wife do a little stitching for you-I guess you could do it yourself- and you'll be amazed at the increased performance.
I got my Ground Pounders from my wife as an anniversary present!! Since I wear large men's shirts, large men's gymn shorts etc. she and my son assumed that the large size Ground Pounder would be great. Well they are really too large. If I wear them over something they stay in place just great. However, since I learned that they are supposed to be worn under your paintball paints, they slide down after about the third round. When they are in place, they are wonderful. I dive and slide and crawl all over the place and I haven't bruised my knee once since I have been wearing them. Also I play most rounds on my knees, and I don't get nearly as stiff and sore as I used to. O.K. I'm just getting started playing paintball at the age of 48. But I have to pull them up a couple times a day when we are playing for an entire afternoon. Oh yeah-if you try to wear them on the outside of your pants-which I learned is not "cool", they sort of grip the grass and dirt. I face planted into a bunker because they wouldn't slide. If you wear them "right" that shouldn't be a problem!:~}
Bottem line-They are GREAT protection. I am 5'8"-190 lbs, and wear size 36" pants and I probably needed a medium. Maybe that will help you with sizing
Conclusion: Buy this pad-it is great comfort and protection. Try it on before you buy it. Or maybe order a little smaller than you think.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, October 23rd, 2008 at 10:51 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dwolkomir Tuesday, February 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye knee pads, craftsman knee pads, rollerblade knee pads, neoprene knee braces
Marker Setup: 2003 E-orracle turled with nexus internals, 14" freak, Evolution II with Z-board, Mac Dev 68/4500
Strengths: Supportive, comfortable
Weaknesses: None
Review: I have been playing since 1993 with bad knees and I have tried every knee pad out there. The groundpounders fit well, don't ride up or down too badly and are very supportive. The terry cloth on the inside of the knee pad is soft and comfortable and the memory foam pad works great to absorb impacts and molds to your knee for squatting for a longer period. I have used these pads on concrete and gravel playing indoors, I will try them in the woods and grass as soon as the snow melts.
Conclusion: Great knee pad, especially if you have knee problems.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

g murder Thursday, June 2nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none....my kneecaps
Marker Setup: WGP Karnivor
P. Eclipse e2 blade frame
Kaner barrel kit
Center Flag reg
Function drop
Center Flag 70/4500


Smart Part Ion
St!ffi Barrel kit
DYE: drop & grips
CP: in-line, trigger, feedneck, ASA
Crossfire 68/45 HP
VL Evolution 2
Strengths: Comfortable, non-slip
Weaknesses: Took me to long to buy these.
Review: Great knee pads.....very comfortable...cooling holes around the slide on part that goes around your the back of your leg....

I wore the ground pounders under my pants for a day...they did not slip or move one bit.

The terrycloth lining was very comfortable to wear....kept heat in my knee which kept my knee very limber....all day I did not stiffen up and at the end of the day, when I went home, my knees were the only part of my body that was not sore.

From the first time I played with these knee pads and slid into the first bunker...my first though was that these pads should've been my first upgrade I bought..instead of a goggle. (haha).

Excellent pads for the money or for any cost......I could've worn them to bed that night...that's how good they feel!
Conclusion: Great pads...no slipage...affordable....heat retention to keep knees limber....and it did not make my legs sweat gallons like some other more costly pads.

If you need wearable knee pads go get these...I usually don't give ratings above 9 but these are a ten++
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, September 7th, 2005 at 10:48 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

WiccanBaller Saturday, June 11th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
redz knee/shin strap on pads (dont fit, slide down, feel like they're cutting your skin)
Marker Setup: angel a4 fly with SS freak system, 04 macdev conguest, 4.0 software and force fly warranty.
Strengths: VERY comfortable, don't slide around, can get a few bounces
Weaknesses: Cant take much of a beating
Review: To give you and idea of how they fit and how much stress they take, Im 6 ft tall, 140 lbs, and i play front so i pretty much superman or slide into every bunker i go to. Needless to say, my pads go through a lot of friction and stress. They are very comfortable and do not slide around me like my redz pads did. However in the past 3 months that ive had my ground pounders they have already begun to come apart in the neoprene area. Currently it is not a problem and does not affect the pads performance but i seriously wonder if they'll last another three months.
Conclusion: If you play back or mid, or just dont dive/slide around a lot then id recommend them. I may have just got a bad set but if you play like me you might want to see if there is something a little sterdier out there. Ive heard the new proto knee pads work great.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pfizerreg Tuesday, February 13th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Marker Setup: Too many pumps to list.

Strengths: Cheap, flexible, soft.
Weaknesses: Don't hold up too long under heavy use, slippage, coverage, durability.
Review: Well, I bought these pads about a year ago and I've been reasonably happy with them. There are a few things I would like to see different:

1) Cut aways in the back of the knee.
The Ground pounders are one wraparound neoprene piece without a hole for the back of the joint. This means that it bunches up when you bend. Not too comfortable, but you get used to it.

2) More coverage!
I thought that just kneepads would cut it, but I've found that shin guards are necessary. I scraped up my shins countless times, and I kept wishing that I had invested in longer pads.

3) Breathability
The "breathable fabric" is just neoprene with some holes in it. It's a relief to take these off at the end of a day of play.

4) Stop the slippage.
After heavy running and sliding, these pads often end up at my ankles. Not good.

5) Increased Durability
The thread that connects the pad to the neoprene is very weak, and has ripped. There is now a huge hole, and that pad does not hold as well as it used to.

All that said, the pads made moving on my knees much easier, and they didn't offer a hard surface for breakage.
Conclusion: They are well worth the cheap price, but I would invest in a better engineered pair of pads next time. I believe that the slippage problems are because of the materials. The elastic part at the top of one of the pads ripped from pulling the pads on. Hey, maybe I should have been more careful with them, but I'd expect a product to be more durable.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, February 13th, 2007 at 11:33 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

wicked x Sunday, January 16th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Redz knee pads, Dye Knee pads.
Marker Setup: 05 speed
Strengths: Soft, don't slide/move, cool, comfortable
Weaknesses: None obvious at this point
Review: I purchased these to compete in an indoor tournement that had concrete floor covered in astroturf. Needless to say, this isn't the most fun type of floor to kneel, crawl, or dive on. These pads completly eliminated the pain usually involved with playing in these conditions. They have a soft memory type foam in them that is very nice. They also have a terry cloth interior that wicks sweat away and remains cool at the same time. The back part is vented to allow sweat to get out of the back part of you knee. They held up very well and didn't need to be constantly adjusted which was very nice.
Conclusion: I would buy this product if you are looking for a simple, effective knee pad. They are probably my favorite knee pad of all time. Can't beat the features and the fact that you can put them on and not worry that they will slide up and down your leg. BUY THESE.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

camerica19 Sunday, August 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Nerve, CP Rail, Check It On/Off...... Empire Reloader B. Nitro Duck X-Stream Peanut Tank
Strengths: Fit Amazingly, Lightweight, GREAT padding, Comfortable, All around great
Weaknesses: None..... at all
Review: I bought these knee pads after I saw the condition of my local field. Gravel. stones; I needed something to protect my knees. Bought these knee pads on ebay for 25$. Got a large. They fit amazingly. Not too tight, not too loose. They don't move at all when I have them on. The protection itself, is amazing. The gel knees really support your knees and you can't even feel the ground below you. I even used them for 2 hours at a pickup ice hockey game, and they held tough. They didn't move once!
Conclusion: If your looking for a cheap pair of high quality knee pads, look no further. These go above and beyond all of my expectations
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BrutishOpus Saturday, August 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Knee pads
Marker Setup: Ion with Smartparts On/Off ASA, New designs feeneck, CP Reg and Smartparts S-rail
Spyder E-99 Avant with Hybrid feedneck, dye Sticky Grip
Bob Long Ripper Timmy with CP reg, custom bolt, CP on/off ASA
Strengths: Very durable and tough
Heavy padding
Weaknesses: Long time to break in
Review: I love these knee pads there freakin tough as nails and have enough padding in them to sky dive with, there sweet. They are easy to put on and they dont slide off your knees while wearing them, even for hours, and they feel extremly comfortable, I can jump on my knees with out any discomfort or anything, the only "qurk" I have with it is that they can be a little tight once you first get them and they take forever to break in, but after about 4 or 5 washes there fine, great pads, the best there is, ay better than Dye
Conclusion: Get them, very nice pads, well build and they preform excellently
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

t_kirl Saturday, July 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: SP Ion
NDZ On/Off Rail Combo
Q-Lock
NDZ QEV
NDZ Blade Trigger
Blackheart
Dye Stickies
Reloader B
68 45 Nitro
Strengths: Comfortable, Dont more or slide around, Good padding
Weaknesses: None so far
Review: Well I bought these knee pads for an upcoming tourney. When I first arrived at the field, I slipped them on and then moved around to see if they would move. Nothing, they stayed in place all day. I played on a woods field, with lots of roots and rocks, these things worked like a dream. I could hardly feel the ground. Even after a lot of slides the pads didnt move an inch. Overall the best 35 dollars I ever spent.
Conclusion: This is probably the best 35 dollars you could spend, if you have knee problems or are playing on a field with lots of rocks and roots. Buy these and you wont be sorry.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

gunner091 Thursday, July 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: E2ed 04 Prostock Autococker-Halo B-Pure Energy 68/3000
Strengths: Price, looks, comfort, support, memmory foam
Weaknesses: In my case (threading came undone/cant take beating).
Review: I bought these knee pads and the price was great. only 35 dollars. anyways i took them home and wore them around for a while. they molded to my knees like the matresses on tv. they were really comfortable espesially when your in a kneeling position. in my case the threading came undone around the upper part of the knee.
Conclusion: They are good for the price and really comfortable. kinda disappointed about the threading situation and not being able to stay intact.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media