paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / BT Paintball Design A-5 Car Stock / BT Paintball Design A-5 Car Stock / BT Paintball Design A-5 Car Stock / BT Paintball Design A-5 Car Stock / BT Paintball Design A-5 Car Stock

BT Paintball Design A-5 Car Stock Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount BT Paintball Design

Buy BT Paintball Design A-5 Car Stock

Paintball A-5 Stocks

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


BT Paintball Design A-5 Car Stock
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 7
Average Rating: 4.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $70

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
-Features
-6 positions
-Angled butt plate
-Lighter weight plastic
Product Availability 
The BT Paintball Design A-5 Car Stock is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
sbeckett91 Wednesday, August 30th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
SAW-Stock, Tippmann Car Stock
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
BT CAR Stock
14" Smart Parts Linear
Remote Line
Red-Dot Sight
Strengths: +Looks realistic
+Extends?
Weaknesses: Low quality
NO INSTRUCTIONS
Too many small parts that make NO SENSE
Breaks VERY easily
Review: Wanting the MILSIM look for my A-5, I purchased this stock at my local proshop. It is made of a low quality plastic that wobbles when touched.

The installation instructions on the rear were for a different gun (Model 98), and the numerous parts of the stock did not seem to make much sense--all that is required is a one piece stock and end-cap, yet this stock contains many small screws and doo-dads that serve no purpose other than frustrating the user. I had to modify the stock with glue, four urethane earplugs and a ten-cent coint in order to fabricate a functional endcap to hold the drive-spring and guide pin in place.

The entire set-up took me three days of experimentation, tinkering and modification, which is pure lunacy. Even though the stock might have been built by Rube Goldberg, some instructions would have definitely helped the cause.

Initially, while playing the stock performed well, but became increasingly wobbly toward the end of my session. Finally, on the last game of the day, part of the stock that connects to the receiver (metal, mind you) cracked completely through the centre! This rendered my gun completely inoperable.

After trying a DIY repair, my stock once again seemed to by somewhat-gameworthy. So I took it to a field and began playing. Now the stock is connected to its endcap by a teensy-tiny screw that applies pressure on its shaft. This screw DOES NOT HAVE A HEAD (wtf?) so one cannot tighten it with a screwdriver, only pliers. (Why the endcap is not simply part of the stock, I'll never know). Repeated tightenings with pliers had stripped the screw bare. When I started playing, this screw lost its tension, the endcap SEPARATED FROM THE STOCK, and the stock fell off in the field. Thus the firing spring and pin--under pressure from a cocked and gassed gun--rocketed out the back of my gun into the mud of the field floor. I was in the middle of a tense firefight with a crippled gun, a FUBAR stock and two essential gun parts blasted to oblivion.

I eventually found those parts (thank heaven) buried in the mud and rocks and got my gun back in working order. I am having my stock welded as I write this so I can get my $65.00 worth out of it.
Conclusion: Do NOT BUY THIS STOCK, buy a Tippmann CAR-Stock or a SAW stock. Skip this
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

TheSpy11 Monday, September 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Haven't tried any other stocks.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
ACI Zero Gravity
Flatline
E-grip
Ricochet R5
JCS Duel Trigger
CenterFlag reg.
DOP Front Grip
DOP RVA
Strengths: Good stability when shooting
Doesn't wobble much
Looks great
Weaknesses: Small set screw needs to be tight
A little expensive
Review: First off, I'm not a big fan of stocks, but I'm not going to bash a certain stock because I don't like them. What I do like is how they look on a gun, and the BT stock is no exception. The construction is of high quality, and the stability gained when shooting is helpful to some people. In my opinion, this stock doesn't wobble much, and it what wobble it has is minor. The biggest thing is this: Tighten the little set screw near on tightening ring of the stock. The instructions do not make this clear, and I damaged my stock because of this. I can now get by with this issue, but the annoyance could have been prevented with better instructions.
Conclusion: I really don't see any major issues with this sock. It does it's purpose well, and stock lovers will probably feel the same. The only real drawback is the price. I don't think something simple like a stock should cost this much. Overall, I recommend this stock.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

phsycopyro dlf Saturday, August 6th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 Paintball Marker
Dead On ON/OFF Bullet Drop Forward
Tippmann A-5 Lapco Drop Forward Adapter
Tippmann A-5 M-16 3 Position Adjustable Stock
Tippmann A-5 Ricochet 200rnd Hopper
Tippmann A-5 Shock Tech Foregrip
3K 800 P.S.I. Pure Energy Compressed Air System
Tippmann A-5 E-grip
Tippmann A-5 Double Trigger
Tippmann A-5 Rufus Dawg Venturi Bolt
Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel
Strengths: It gives great military look and increases accuracy and handling.
Weaknesses: Adds significant weight to your marker.
Review: The Tippmann A-5 B.T. Car stock is a military replica of the stock used on the U.S. army's basic M-16 and M4Carbine assault rifle. The stock dramatically increases accuracy and handling during play. A considerable weakness though is that this stock will add significant weight to your marker. The 3 position amusement ability is great for making quick changes during play. This is a great tactical part.
Conclusion: I would only buy this part if you really want a great millatary look and play wooodsball more often then an other type of play.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

WGP maniac Wednesday, February 2nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Tipmann A-5 with RT, progressive barrel, 20oz Co2 tank, CAR-stock
Strengths: Gives you improved acuraccy
Weaknesses: C02 tank gets in the way unless you have a drop forward
Review: This stock wont stop moving unless you tighten the little srew up REALLY tight. The co2 tank also gets in the way unless you have a dropforward or a remote. And the velocity ajuster always changes. But if you fix those problems its a good stock that will give you much better accuracy and a more military feel.
Conclusion: if you want something thats simple, dont buy this. But if you want a colapseable stock. get this.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

XRidgelinerX Wednesday, March 4th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Tipman a-5 with response trigger, other wise stock. Spyder Pilot ACS with Fasta Hopper
Strengths: Price. Mine was free. I will explain.
Weaknesses: What everybody else has said, I guess. It is not a quality piece of gear.
Review: I ordered my A-5 from PaintballDirect.com and they threw in the Stock for free. An unadvertised special offer. Seems they can't sell the things at the original price of $79.00. If a milsim look is important to you, the stock does the trick. If you are looking for something as functional, sturdy, and rugged as the rest of your A-5 skip it. It is not up to Tippman standards.
Conclusion: Buy if for looks only.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Shalashaska Monday, March 17th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 Response/ Dye Boomstick 16" w/ vertical air feed, and classic Tippman 98 Custom
Strengths: It makes for stable firing and is adjustable for situation.
Weaknesses: It's very difficult to use iron sights because a conventional mask prevents full shouldering.
Review: The best part about it is it helps to stablize and manage the weight of the gun. However, there is a major flaw here. Every time I have had it on the gun, I can't use the iron sights because my mask prevents me from putting my cheek on the stock. It's hard to get around this from what I can tell. If you don't use the sights, though, it is a great accessory.
Conclusion: If you use iron sights, think twice about it because your mask will probably keep you from resting your cheek on the stock as necessary to aim and shoot properly in such manner. If you fire from the hip or another method that doesn't involve the sights, it is a great way to stabilize the gun when firing and balance carry and holding weight.
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Monday, March 17th, 2008 at 7:56 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tigerforce Saturday, May 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
OPSGEAR 6 position collapsible Car-Stock
Marker Setup: A-5
OPSGEAR 16" Operator Barrel; Tippmann Flatline barrel\
Red Dot scope
Remote line
Strengths: length- 12" long.
Aluminum tube construction
Weaknesses: Everything else
Set screw
Rear velocity Adjuster
Too much wiggle
Weight
PRICE
Review: This stock cost me about $89. Way too expensive for a piece of trash. The set screw ring broke rather quickly as it is nothing more than a free floating ring held in place by a small set screw jammed up on a very small ridge. This was the first thing to go. If you tighten the stock to try to get rid of the wiggle you inevitably flatten the ridge and the stock comes off the marker. The second thing to go was the screw that holds the velocity adjuster in place. That kept coming loose. I first solved the massive wiggle by putting sticky mole hair cushions on the pegs that connect it to the A-5. It did work but made the marker difficult at best to clean and take apart.
I bought my son an OPSGEAR car stock and I am going to get one for me.
Conclusion: Dont waste your money on this thing, unless you have money to waste.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media