paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / BT Paintball Design Custom 98 Sealed Bolt System / BT Paintball Design Custom 98 Sealed Bolt System / BT Paintball Design Custom 98 Sealed Bolt System / BT Paintball Design Custom 98 Sealed Bolt System / BT Paintball Design Custom 98 Sealed Bolt System

BT Paintball Design Custom 98 Sealed Bolt System Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount BT Paintball Design

Buy BT Paintball Design Custom 98 Sealed Bolt System

Paintball Custom 98 Bolts

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


BT Paintball Design Custom 98 Sealed Bolt System
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 14
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $17

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Ben Tippmann Custom 98 Sealed Bolt System
Product Availability 
The BT Paintball Design Custom 98 Sealed Bolt System is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Howlin' Mad Saturday, August 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
32 Degrees Terminator Barrel
Expansion Chamber
Adco IMP
Response Trigger
Shocktech Front Bolt
Black Dye Sticky Grips
BT Sealed Bolt System
Custom Paint job
Polished Internals
Pure energy coiled remote
Strengths: -Quiets Marker
-Cheap
-Durable
-Keeps bolt clean
Weaknesses: -Bolts arent the same size Allen wrench
Review: This is one of the best, cheap upgrades for a 98 Custom.

Pros-
-Quiets Marker- It makes your 98 quieter by preventing some sound from escaping.

-Cheap- I got mine as a gift but from what i've seen its cheap.

-Durable- Its a good strong plastic.(I think its plastic) It survived when the person who I was letting use my marker while I was refing got shot up and nothing happened to it.

-Keeps bolt clean- The 98 Custom has one problem that the bolt is exposed to dirt and grime. This makes a big difference in the cleanliness of the bolt.

Cons-
Diffrent size bolt- The Allen wrenches required to put this on and take it off are diffrent than the stock Tippmann bolts. A minor inconvience.
Conclusion: Get this for your 98 Custom. You wont be disappointed.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, August 20th, 2005 at 3:43 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

wildchild7912 Monday, February 28th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: 98 custom,CMI 16" QB Tru-Flite,Maddman springs,Ben Tippmann Sealed Bolt System
Strengths: Cheap,light weight,easy to install,easier to grab
Weaknesses: Fiber glass type composite,hex bolts aren't the same size as the stock bolts,

Review: This isnt brain surgery to install the directions are pretty straight forwar(no diagrams).all you have to do is tear down your marker (like you would if you were to clean it)then slide out your old cocking knob and slid the one that it came with into the hammer,put your marker back together and THEN place the the cocking ring over the bolt opening and then use the longer bolt(yes it comes with with them) and VOILA your done.its easier to grab on to .
Conclusion: Overall a good product it has its pluses and miuses but definatly recomend to keep dirt paint and other gunk out of your marker i'll give it a 7.7 but since i cant i'll give it an 8 besides this is paintball nothing is perfect.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rooster1 Friday, March 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: '95 Automag, bone stock, '03 Autococker, bone stock
Strengths: Keeps internals clean, quiets marker sound
Weaknesses: Have to take the whole gun apart to put it on
Review: This product does what it says it will do, keep your internals clean by covering up the hammer opening.

On a side note, it does make your gun a bit quieter when firing, but not by much.

I did not like having to take the whole gun apart to put this product on, but that was the only way to switch the bolt handle to the included one with the kit. However, now that it's on, disassembly of the gun is normal, take off the 6 screws.

I would have liked to have seen an allen wrench included for the included bolts, but I have many wrenches so no biggy. I'm just thinking of the kid who gets his first gun and gets this product, then doesn't have an allen wrench.
(The Tippmann wrenches don't fit it)
Conclusion: I would purchase this product for the protection it offers against stuff getting into your guns internals.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

zack290enig Sunday, June 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
None like this
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
J&J Ceramic 14 Inch Barrel
BT Sealed Bolt System
Strengths: Covers the opening of the cocking mechanism.
Looks good.
Seemed to quiet the gun.
Weaknesses: Made out of fiberglass-like composite, so it might chip or crack during winter play.
Review: I used this for the first time yesterday. It worked beautifully. It made the gun's noise not as loud.

In my first game yesterday, we we're playing in the woods. I tried to get my enemie's flank and shoot them, but they were trying to do the same to us. This was a 2v2 game, just a basic practice. So I see my enemies in the distance and I get behind a tree. When they're about 30 feet away I shot a few rounds, just to shake them up. I yelled for my friend, and I got up to move back to the next tree, but I slipped and dropped my gun in weird concauction of pine needles, water and decayed wood. I dropped it right on the sealed bolt system, and right then and there I was happy I got this product. If i hadn't I probably would be cleaning out my gun right now.
Conclusion: Get this product if you get on the ground a lot and you do a lot of sliding.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

crudeidol Tuesday, October 31st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
I've tried the Rocket Cock 2, and this is SO much better.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98C heavily modified, TASCO Tac-Stock, Unknown brand drop forward- on/off, VL Quantum hopper, 5" JCS Shorty, 14" J&J Ceramic
Strengths: Solid, simple, easy to use
Weaknesses: Doesn't come stock with the marker
Review: I've had this for a few months now, and I've even pitted it against the Rocket Cock 2 from whoever makes that. There is NO comparison. BT's Sealed bolt system is without a doubt one of the best 'mods' available for the 98c.

The Sealed Cocking System does in fact quiet down the operation of the marker, as well as prevents dirt, grime, and other debris from getting into the inner workings of the 98c.

Installation is also a breeze. It's as easy as replacing the cocking rod and bolting the Composite pieces on using the supplied hardware.
Conclusion: I love this thing. It's made my 98c quieter and it just looks really cool!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tristanot Sunday, January 27th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
None available
Marker Setup: 98 Custom Pro
Seal Bolt
Cyclone Feed
18" Barrel
330+ Hopper
Strengths: No cleaning bolt
No paint or muck in the bolt
Quieter
No moving parts
Weaknesses: None, WIN WIN SITUATION
Review: I bought this for Christmas and went paintballin New Year's Day. I bought it because I hate taking my gun apart. It was magic, my first hit of the day way a gun hit right nest to my trigger. No paint got in the bolt, but it got all over the seal bolt. It was awesome. It is super cheap on Rap4 also. For $12.95, it is a vital upgrade to any 98.
Conclusion: The easiest, cheapest upgrade that makes your 98's internals protected.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ace-o-Spades Saturday, September 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: 98 custom
whisper barrel
CO2
bt sealed bolt system
Strengths: See review
Weaknesses: See review
Review: alright so i wanted this because im a klutz and keep on dropping my 98 custom during woodsball play. when i got it (ebay, it was like $10) i immediately put it on to test it out. installation was very simple, just one problem. when i put it on, i found that if i tightened the screws a lot, the bolt wouldnt move, cocking or otherwise. so i loosened it and now the screws are just a little loose, no biggy, as long as the screws dont fall off. anyways, i tested it out with my whisper barrel, and wow, what a difference! the whisper has so much porting, so it can handle more air, and the gun was really quiet. it did raise the velocity ever so slightly, because the CO2 that would otherwise pop out of the open bolt had to go through the barrel. again, no biggy, just lowering the velocity takes care of it (actually, its a good thing, now that i think of it. now i use less CO2 to shoot the same velocity). there is also no cock ring blowback, meaning that once you cock the ring and put it back, it wont move even though the bolt is. it also is very durable.
i've heard some statements regarding that this will increase the accuracy. i dont know how it would, it didnt for me, but im not taking off for it because thats not what i got it for. i also heard from a couple reviews that the ring is blocked by some buttstocks. i dont have a buttstock and i probably wont get one, so i wont take off for that, either.
Conclusion: i recommend this product because it
a. quiets the gun
b. keeps the gun clean
c. you use less CO2
d. cheap and durable
e. no cock ring blowback
i strongly suggest anyone who is even thinking about getting one, get it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, September 9th, 2006 at 11:28 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ilford Rule Sunday, February 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None like it that I've used.
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom Pro
14" Teardrop Barrel
Tippmann Expansion Chamber w/vert. adapter
Empire ReLoader II
BT Sealed Bolt System (rocket cock)
Strengths: -Quietens sound signature
-Easy installation
-Strong
-Cheap
-Protects internals
Weaknesses: None so far.
Review: This product is simply amazing. It took me about 5 minutes to install.
It eliminates that moving bolt on the side of the gun, which while it looks really cool, hurts like hell if you get your thumb caught. It also eliminates snagging on the bolt.

It protects the markers internals from paint and dirt getting in, so thats an obvious plus.
Conclusion: Because it costs so little and does so much, I'll give it a 10. I can't think of anything that would make it better.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbjoe693 Sunday, January 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
Flatline Barrel
Response Trigger
Tapco T6 6 Position Stock
Cyclone Feed
T-Fitting
Daisy Electronic Point Sight
Tippmann Pro Drop
Sling
Sling Swivel
Ben Tippmann Rocket Cock
Stainless Steel Screws
Polished Internals
Remote Coil
Tasco 30mm 1x Red Dot Scope
OPSGEAR Raider M4 Weaver Hand Guard - 9 Inch
OPSGEAR 18" Interceptor Sniper Barrel
OPSGEAR Integrated Weaver Tactical Retracting Bipod
OPSGEAR A3 Flat Top Carry Handle
OPSGEAR Single Side Weaver Carry Handle Scope Mount
Maddman Spring Kit

Tippmann A-5
Flatline Barrel
Responce Trigger
Tapco T6 6 Position Stock
Remote Coil
JCS 98C to A-5 Barrel Adapter

05 Proto Matrix
12" 1 Piece Proto Barrel
PMI Drop
Evlution 2
Pure Energy 3000 PSI Tank
Strengths: Keeps dirt out of gun
Weaknesses: Tapco 6 position stock wont fold all the way
flatline shroud wont fit
Review: I got this because a big problem with my 98 was dirt would get in the gun and jam up the spring resulting in the gun uncocking. So one day after I played at the local fied, I went to the fields shop and bought it. After I got it I went home and Installed it. It was easy but for a noob who has never taking apart his gun before, it will be a challenge. You have to open up the gun, take out the old cocking handle, put the new one in, close up the gun, and screw in the plastic cover (using the two screws over and under the space where the cocking handle went). I dont care that the thing is plastic. As long as it dont break easy and it does its job, its fine with me. I found that it doesnt really quiet the gun at all. It just changes the sound of the gun when you fire, a little bit. The only real weaknesses I found was that if you have a flatline, the shroud might not fit right and you might have to cut it and if you have a adjustable stock, the rocket cock pervents it from folding all the way. Just the first position will be blocked.
Conclusion: Good Item. I give it a 8.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dchester6891 Monday, January 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
I built a "rocket cock" based on this design but it was not nearly as durable and broke
Marker Setup: I use a Custom 98 with a Flatline barrel system
I use Diablo 13 paint, it seems to work better with the Flatline (i think b/c of the thicker than normal shell)
Strengths: Its cheap
Quiets the gun
No more moving parts
Very Durable
Weaknesses: Had to cut Flatline shroud to install
Looks kinda strange
Review: I recieved my bolt system and immediately realized my mistake. It wouldnt fit on the gun b/c of my flatline shroud. The top screw was slightly covered. I had to use a wood file to cut away some of the shroud. My initial reason for making a rocket cock was to cover the cock slot. I slide often and my gear gets pretty dirty. I always got paint and dirt inside my Tippmann and had to clean it.(If you have a 98 you know wat a chores this is.) Also, one of the things I really disliked about the Tippmann was the moving bolt. It got on my nerves mostly b/c I kept hitting my thumb on the bolt and jamming the gun,not to mention my poor thumb. The rocket cock covers the bolt and completely eliminates this problem. It also quiets the gun which is good in woodsball when you want to keep a low profile. This is definitely an upgrade worth getting (especially for the price). Plus its alot less work than making ur own.(Which would probably break the second time you used it, like mine.)
Conclusion: Buy it its worth the money plus its an easy install. Unless you have the flatline then its a little bit of work, but still worth it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media