paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / ANS GX-5 / ANS GX-5 / ANS GX-5 / ANS GX-5

ANS GX-5 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount ANS

Buy ANS GX-5

Paintball High-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


ANS GX-5
[ View Photos (8) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 16
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $525

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The latest creation from ANS yields the best closed bolt marker on the market today. The GX-5 marker is lighter and faster then it's predecessors of the GX series. The GX-5 marker is the first mechanical marker to come standard with a 90 degree swing frame which is ergonomically designed to allow for easier and faster trigger pulls. The body is lighter and the overall marker is lighter. Everything you need comes with this tournament ready marker. All of today's aftermarket upgrades come standard on the new marker including QEVs ,Clamping Feed Neck, Delrin Venturi Bolt, New Dual Detent System, and every new marker is e-frame ready with no drilling needed.. The Clamping Feed Neck is designed specifically to fit the larger necks on the high end loaders with no sanding required. Each marker comes with 3 different detent strengths to choose from. You can adjust the detent depending on loader strength and paint-barrel match. The IVG has been redesigned with a longer internal spring. You will now find the gauge for the new marker operating pressure on the bottom of the front block and the new In-Line regulator has the same high flow rate as the X-2 as well as a bottom inlet hole for your air source to provide a comfortable fore grip. The new marker also comes with a 15 degree ASA. This marker will perform the best with compressed air and a eVLution or HALO loader.
Product Availability 
The ANS GX-5 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
GX5 speed Monday, February 14th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month22 of 34 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann a-5 response vert cocker with almost all ans parts and a system x vengance
Marker Setup: Halo B freak barrel a crossfire stubbie with a dye rhino tank cover
Recommended
Upgrades:
all listed above
Strengths: Acurate Fast comfortable
Weaknesses: You have to practice walking it to get good.
Review: The gx5 is the most comfortable gun i have ever had with a reputation like ans and speed and accuracy as a cocker there is no reason anyone should spend more for a cocker. It is freaking amazing. if you have ever seen anyone with an oracle or nightkast like that there is no reason to spend the extra dough. with a gun like this you cant go wrong
Conclusion: Get it immediately it is the coolest gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
38 Comments - Add Comment

shaasta Saturday, July 16th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tricked out 98 Custom:
J&J 16" Full Tilt Ceramic *Black
Dark Horizons Lite Titanium Hammer
32 Degrees Star Fire Front Bolt
Dead On Paintball Pro-seal
Stiletto Drop Forward
32 Degrees 2003 Expansion Chamber *Black
Vertical Adapter
Sniper Hopper
Marker Setup: Blue/Black powder fade Gx-5
Blue 14" Freak A/A w/stainless steel inserts
Blue Halo B w/ rip drive
70/4500 High Pressure Crossfire Stubby
Blue Dye Rhino Tank Cover
ANS Blue Fill Nipple Cover
Check It Uni-Mount 2
Recommended
Upgrades:
If you're a serious tourney player:
E2 Eblade
Slik Lite rear end block kit
Dark Horizons titanium hammer
Check It Uni-Mount 2
Top of the line valve
Freak Kit w/ stainless steel inserts
Good Ball Detents
Strengths: Review
Weaknesses: Review
Review: Ok, at this point in time i haven't actually fired the gun because my air tank hasn't come in yet, but im going to review it anyway and when I get the tank finish the review.

The Good : - It's lightweight for a cocker
- The stock barrel is a very nice two piece, 14'', heavily ported with muzzle
break. It's almost after market quality.
- Easily adjusted Inline regulator pressure, just twist the handle knob.
- The gun comes stock with Q.E.V's, a delrin venturi style bolt, 90* swing
trigger, a drop forward with on/off, and the nice barrel
- Nice milling
- The trigger has a nice pull to it, and it even has a little hole to put your
pointer finer if you shoot with your middle finger
- The feed neck twists to fit, so it fits every hopper, especially my Halo B
- Comes with three different ball detent strengths
- Pressure guage in front of ASA, it's easy to see

The Unsure: - The Drop forward is huge, and i wonder because of the size and shape
if some tanks couldn't fit in it. To counter the odd shape of the drop, im
getting a Check It Uni-Mount 2
- Since the factory trigger setting provides the shortest pull possible, the
safety will not work on a stock setting marker unless you put the safety
button halfway through the trigger frame. Of course, you could always
adjust the trigger setting to make the safety operation easier.
- Stock barrel is supposed to be .689, but a few of medium sized balls,
heat and recsport, roll right out
- Maybe its just me, but I seem to only be getting 500 shots off of a 4500 ci
tank filled to about 3500.
- Ball detents seem to suck, but I could always get some new ones

I just got a chance to fire the gun, but keep in mind this isn't an on the field review just yet.

Just shooting the gun is a great feeling. The cocking action is nice and smooth just like the trigger pull, and the sound of it firing is just plain satisfying. To start off with, I put in some solar flare. Yeah I know, it sucks, but it's a start. After about 50 shots, i noticed the ball detents were ripping up the shells' of the balls'. Serves me right for using Target paint. Next was the Draxxus rec-sport, which is also lower quality. It shot pretty nice for crappy paint; only a few balls, about 1 of 20, would drift off. After that, I used some Draxxus Blaze. Not the best paint out there, but it's a whole lot better than solar flare. I was very impressed this time, having nearly every ball landing where I intended it to. But I believe that it could have been better, because every 30 balls or so one would roll out the tip of the barrel, indicating that the ball was too small. I have some Hellfire, which I am saving for actual playing. I look forward to writing back when i've battle tested this gun.

I finally got a chance to battle test this gun, and i've gotta say, this thing is the best thing since sliced bread. At first I thought that the large profile of the gun with the hopper and drop forward would be a problem, but fortunately i was wrong. It's pretty quiet for a cocker, but the sound of the back block against the body is a dead give away of your position. I used some viewloader heavy-metal and some heat, and the accuracy through the stock barrel was impressive. I found that the chrono sweet spot for this gun is around 285-290, giving the best in and consistency. I ended the day with 21 kills and 3 hits, partly in thanks to my new gun.
Conclusion: It's a nice, smooth shooting gun. In my opinion, the best of all mechanical cockers. It's just plain fun to shoot, and a killer combo of consistency, sleek milling, and rate of fire. The few minor problems I encountered can be easily fixed with a little time and money. If your looking to buy your first cocker, or looking for a solid base to upgrade to tourney level, this gun is for you. 9 out of 10, nothings perfect.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, November 6th, 2005 at 8:36 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

jasonkc25 Monday, December 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
No other similar gun used unless you count other mechanical markers such as: Brass Eagle Posion (yeah, I've been playing that long), F2, and various Spyders.
Although not similar I also own a homemade Timmy as well. I have owned an SL-68 II in the past (that's a pump if you are wondering) so I am familiar with a wide range of markers.
Marker Setup: ANS X-5 stock (thus far), black to gray fade
Nitroduck 68cu, 4500 tank
Halo hopper (it's a bit overkill for this gun, but it's what I had)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Only thing I could possibly recommend is a barrel kit (and we all know why).
Strengths: Accuracy
Range
Speed
Very quiet
It's a very sharp looking gun
Weaknesses: None
Review: I have never owned a cocker but have always loved shooting them. A couple of friends of mine have consistantly shot cockers since they first came out back in the days when the only way to get an auto-cocker was to buy the auto-cocking kit for the Sniper II (yeah yeah, showing my age again).
First off, the X-5 was shipped very promptly. The packaging was very secure, it was shipped in a box in foam cut specifically for the marker that was then placed in another box packed with foam peanutes.
Again I have mention how sharp this gun looks. The fade job from black to gray is very smooth and so gradual you can hardly tell it's there. Overall the fit and finish of this gun is very nice.
One of the first noticable things about the X-5 is the HUGE drop forward. I wasn't real sure about this at first, but after throwing my 68 on it I am no longer skeptical, it really feels very comfortable.
Once gassed up we did need to do a little timing but nothing major by any means. After that, it shot like a dream. This is by far the shortest trigger pull on a mechanical autococker I have ever seen. One can trully fire like a madman with this thing (and I typically play with a Timmy). As with most cockers the accuracy and range are second to none, can't wait to try some different barrels on it. It's also very quiet.
Something else that is nice, though hardly nessecary are two set screws in the trigger to tighten down any slop you may have in the trigger pull. I did adjust these albeit just barely. The trigger comes pretty tight as it is.

Finally play tested:
This gun rocks.It's quiet, it's fast and it's accurate. I even had a couple of the refs on the field checking to see if I had a an E-Blade on the thing. The FPS stayed consistent throughout the day. The only time I had a ball break was when I decided to go to the range and shoot up some 6 month old paint I had (big mistake there...and this is not a complaint at all...shoe me a gun that wouldn't have chopped six month old paint.

I just have no complaints with this marker what so ever.

For anyone that is a fan of cocker's this is a must. Especially if you like proving that you don't have to have a 1500 electro gun to shoot up the competition.
Conclusion: I can't say anything bad about this marker. The fit of the parts, the design and the anodizing are all top notch. Out of the box the marker worked pretty much flawlessly. I would highly recommend the X-5 to anyone that loves the mechanical cocker. I know I will have a very hard time going back to using my Timmy (it's not all about bps).
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, February 2nd, 2006 at 7:49 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Don Carnage Sunday, June 3rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Other cockers (mechanical)
Automags
Smart Parts Ion
A-5
Custom 98
various Spyders
Marker Setup: Paradigm Pro Automag w/ Custom Products Razor drop and on/off ASA, Viper-blade trigger, and Lapco Snapshot
Recommended
Upgrades:
Good barrel
High Pressure Tank
Strengths: All ANS upgrades come stock
90 degree frame
Short Triggerpull
Weaknesses: No safety
Review: Iíve always been a fan of the GX5, now that their price is $290 direct from ANS, I couldnít help but get one as a backup/loaner.

The first thing I noticed when the box arrived was how comfortable it feels. The trigger frame is one of the most comfortable Iíve held and with the forward-angled fore grip the gun feels amazing. The drop is very adjustable as far as moving it forward and back and the air outlet can be moved to the top, left, or right sides. The ano job is nice and thick, so it will be fairly resistant to scratches. It also comes with a full o-ring kit as well as extra detents of varying strength.

I took it out, it was already timed at the factory, and the chrono was 290. The reg had a bit of variance of + to -8, however, since itís a new reg, they usually take a few hundred shots to break in anyway. The stock barrel seems fine, but I already had a good barrel kit that I used.

The trigger pull is half of normal mechanical cockers Iíve owned. Between that and the ergonomic fit of the 90 degree frame, I could very easily get a manual ROF of 11 bps.

Iíve heard the downside to the tight trigger pull is that it makes a safety dang near useless. However, mine didnít come with a safety installed at all. Some fields will require a safety on top of just a barrel sock, so I recommend installing one. Theyíre very cheap and easy to put on.

I have used this marker in a scenario game that rained. Many other players had to run back to the ready station because they didnít want to get water in their electronics. This gun however, kept on working great.

I fully recommend this cocker to anyone who likes mechanical guns. IT already has eyeholes and covers installed for upgrading to an e-frame if you want. The price is outstanding to other cockers since this already comes with the ANS regs, 3-way, valve, great bolt, quick exhaust valves, awesome drop, twisting feed neck, and the 90 degree frame.
Conclusion: The GX5 is the best mechanical cocker I've ever used. The price is comparable to most mech WGP cockers, and the stock upgrades and quality far surpasses theirs. For less than $300 straight from the factory, this gun is an extreme bargain.

I would give I a 9.5 only due to the lack of a safety, but rounding up, it comes to a 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Bonez87x Tuesday, May 17th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
2k1 Shocker, 2k5 Shocker
Marker Setup: (currently of this date) Stock 05' Shocker
Recommended
Upgrades:
IF something better comes out better than the stock parts. When I purchase mine later on, Im thinking Evil Pipe or Freak, Halo B, big ****ing hpa air tank.
Strengths: Comes 100% stock great piece of *** marker
Weaknesses: Never saw a one in the 2 games I used it.
Review: I felt when I used this marker that it was better then other cockers I have felt. I used to have the Gx4 and being that was sold and I got a shocker.. Im thinking of getting this for a back up. I absolutly love it. I never really got used to the whole cocker cleaning and understanding. But am willing to learn.

If its possible, maybe a rake trigger on it.

Will change this review shortly after the day I purchase this maker. (maybe early October 05') When I get a better feel with it there after, I'll then change this review again. And so on, and so on... and so on...
Conclusion: I think that this is a great marker. Defently an UP from its older brother, the Gx4. If you love mech cockers, get this. You wont be disapointed.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, May 17th, 2005 at 12:20 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Lil3k Monday, May 9th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: ans gx-5
halo b
68cu 3000psi pure energy nitro tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel (only for the serious paintballers)
halo b
tank
Strengths: Light, accurate, good looking, throws a lot of paint.
Weaknesses: Stock barrel like all guns.
Review: The gun is a really great gun out of the box and let me just say it is so beautiful!!!
when i took it to pb usa i went to the chronograph and shot 180,181,170,180,175,175. this is with a stock barrel. i then took it to play a few hyperball rounds and did very well with it. this gun is the sh!t.
Conclusion: this gun is a great gun for entry level players or even serious paintballers . JUST GET IT!!
YOU WONT REGRET IT!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

OmegaBurn Tuesday, March 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
STO COCKER, Couple of custom built cockers, Eclipse Cocker, ANS Gen-x3 Chaos Series w/ ups.
Marker Setup: GenX-3(blue to black purple fade), DYE Trigger Frame, DYE drop and air source w/ on/off, DYE beaver tail, Eclipse RAM, 68/4500 DYE Throttle bottle(or 8?/4500 PS Stubby Bottle, VL REV 18v

---either cocker----DYE BoomStick 12", J&J Ceramic 16" flat black

GenX-5 stock(Black), Either tank i own, Black VL REV 18v

Origional RT Automag w/ custom wood grip, KAPP Drop Zone 2 or KAPP Drop Zone Stubby, either tank, Clear VL REV 18v
Recommended
Upgrades:
New pneumatics hose, trigger job, Drop Forward and on/off ASA, after market barrel.
Strengths: Sleek, tight, very light compared to previous ANS models
Weaknesses: Stock pneumatics hose
Delrin bolt pin
Large on/off
Feed Neck
Review: Overall this gun is attractive, efficient, and quiet. Out of the box operational w/ minor reg adjustment. Easy to maintain and the delrin parts are a much appreciated upgrade from previous models. In the hands of a good player this is a lethal marker!

Cons-

The trigger is much slower than any DYE trigger frame. Trigger is also a bit bulky for my tastes. Mabye its just mine but i have noticed the saftey interferes with trigger operation with the slightest bump also my marker can fire with saftey engaged you just have to manually return the trigger forward.

When i first pressured my gun up the 3 way hose to the jackhammer popped right off but it was easily replaced. Feed neck is rather large and hard to adjust once a hopper is on the marker ( at least with a VL REV due to battery compartment).

I find the hopper adapter to be very difficult to adjust once hopper is on the gun, also it large and intrusive when sighting down the body. If this can be replaced it should!

Also IMHO the drop is OK because i like KAPP Drop Zone's anyway BUT the on/off is huge(although it works excellently).


Pros-

Light, Sleek, very accurate stock 2-piece barrel, very smooth on/off action, comes with a rebuild kit, Presetup for E-grips( if you like that sort of thing), delrin bolt, and the excellent array of quality ANS internals and pneumatics.
Conclusion: This is a truly wonderful cocker and can be turned into an A1 slaughtering machine with a few aftermarket parts. The trigger may just need to be worn in, I just think the trigger truly stinks. Get a dye frame on the bad mother and a madman spring kit.

Overall This is the best mechanical stock marker i have ever used.

Definatlly not worth 500$ but i got mine new in the box for 250$ so i cant complain :) :)
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, December 5th, 2006 at 9:50 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rhiakath Wednesday, June 29th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
This is the first autococker i have owned but used many others
Marker Setup: grey GX5, freak systems, halo B w/rip drive, Dye Throttle 91/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, trigger, or depending on preference, halo b, warp feed, or q-loader
Strengths: Speed, price, and weight
Weaknesses: High profile with a large tank and a halo
Review: Straight out of the box, i must say, it rips like anything. the design of the gun as a whole is prety nice... not much to complain about in that area. The ROF of this gun is not too bad... you can def keep up with the best of them.

Right out of the box, i probably put about 500 rounds for testing.... wow. velocity was consistant and i didnt really have too much of a drop at high ROFs.

the only couple of problems i have had with this gun was the settings were way off out of the box and even at that it, you couldnt really comeplain. Also, the feed with the halo and an N2 tank made for a high profile.... a warp feed or q-loader, although not faster than the halo, may help out a bit... whatever your preference may be
Conclusion: All in all, for the amount of money you pay for this gun, it is well worth every penny. Like i said, for the ROF that it does have, it keeps up with the best of them... def would suggest buying this gun if you can afford it... one of the best investments i have ever made.

Also, the price says 525, dunno where at but the sites PBreview listed were a lil expensive... i picked up mine for 500. i know its not much, but 25$ is 25$ you can use for something to upgrade the gun with.... if you want the info, hit me up at zazou528@hotmail.com
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, June 29th, 2005 at 12:12 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

Lord Vodka Saturday, September 10th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
highly modified tippman
System X NME
Marker Setup: Right now just stock X-5
crossfire 68 ci 4500 psi

System X NME
Recommended
Upgrades:
Halo B
E2 trigger, or race frame if you dont want to drill gun
big compressed air tank
new barrel, I getting all american but a PIPE system is best if you have the cash
Strengths: Good feel, nice look, reliable.
Weaknesses: Stock barrel, speed (good for mechanical in truth but slow compared to electronic)
Review: Well i bought my X-5 and immediately scheduled a trip with my friends to the course. When i got there i got about 5 compliments on the gun immediately i mean this things beatiful. When i got to test velocity it shot great at 280 fps but the stock barrel wasn't making many points. so i put on an aftermarket barrel and this thing is dead accurate even with old paint. When i get my E2 frame and All-American barrel (and some decent paint) I will leave additional review.

I just wanted to add that i've spoken with ANS performance department like 5 times now and they have excellent customer service there even willing to do the customers support's job (there customer support group sucks).

Update...
I recently had problems with my ans X-5 the gun works part of the time but the trigger seems to be not coming all the way forward and even when you push it forward the velocities just not there (I believe I have a timing issue) so i'll most likely be sending my gun back to ANS and testing out the acclaimed customer service.


Update....
I am now having trouble with this gun when i pull the trigger it just locks backword and i have to press it forward to shoot but even then the balls only go about 20 feet. I believe this problem is timing or something to do with the bolt seems to work while dry firing but has tons of problems when balls are used. So for now il have to lowe my rating to a 6.
Conclusion: In conclusion i'd say this is a great mechanical marker and i would highly recomend it. Find a good deal though i got mine NIB on ebay for $350 with an evo 2 hopper an invision mask and a 20 oz. tank. Great customer service in there performance department.
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, January 26th, 2006 at 10:32 pm PST
I found this review  
12 Comments - Add Comment

pbagent Wednesday, December 3rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
M98 Custom, Diablo Wrath, Ion, misc automags
Marker Setup: ANS GX-5, J&J Ceramic barrel kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
Mechanized hopper is a must, barrel kit (as for all autocockers)
Strengths: Sexy
No batteries
Dependable
Weaknesses: Must match paint to barrel!
Must use compressed air
Gas hog
Review: This is the first autococker I have ever owned, and it has been a pure pleasure.

The 90` grip frame is heavenly. Not only is it comfortable on the wrists, but it helps you tuck the marker in nice and tight. The marker has been very dependable. Once you learn how to properly work the trigger (i.e. not short-stroke!) it is smooth sailing.

Not only that, but you will turn heads on the field.

With prior markers, I felt obligated to upgrade - but this gun comes stock with a delrin venturi bolt, 15` ASA, clamping feed neck, double trigger, drop forward with on/off, etc etc etc. I would have to say that all of these "extras" is a major selling point.

As with any autococker, crappy paint = barrel breaks or paintballs rolling straight out of the barrel, hence a barrel kit is a must. I have had great luck with the J&J ceramic kit.

This gun is an air hog, but it may be that I do not have the reg's set efficiently.
Conclusion: Everything is as advertised. Not for newbies. If you're thinking about a cocker, check out the ANS web site. You won't be disappointed!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media