paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Odyssey 3 Piece Barrel Kit / Odyssey 3 Piece Barrel Kit / Odyssey 3 Piece Barrel Kit

Odyssey 3 Piece Barrel Kit Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Odyssey

Buy Odyssey 3 Piece Barrel Kit

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Odyssey 3 Piece Barrel Kit
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 7
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $100

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
3 piece barrel kit by Odyssey Paintball.
Product Availability 
The Odyssey 3 Piece Barrel Kit is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
jhorgan Friday, March 4th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Evil Pipe, Freak Kit, Kaner Kit, Empire Kit, Many other types of barrels
Marker Setup: X-Mag Silver to Blue Fade
3.2 Software
HALO B w/Rip Drive & Victory board
Evil Pipe
Fireblade Trigger
Empire Mini-Rail
68/3000 AGD Flatline

Angel 05 Speed
HALO B w/Rip Drive & Victory board
PowerLyte Barrel Kit
CP Direct Mount On/Off ASA
68/4500 CrossFire LP Tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any paintballs that match the 3 bore sizes
Strengths: Quality construction, Smooth micro honed finish, cheap price, accurate, quiet, nice carrying case
Weaknesses: Only available in cocker and spyder threads
Review: This barrel kit is a very good kit. It is everything that a paintball player is looking for. It is very accurate. At 50 feet I was able to put 5" groupings together on a bunker with no problem. The barrels are quiet. I normally use an Evil Pipe (which is a bit on the loud side). The finish on the inside of these barrels is absolutely flawless. No metal spurs sticking out, no flaws in the annodizing. Just a smooth mirror-like finish. And to top it all off the kit comes in a very nice carrying case to keep the barrels safe and secure.

The only weakness that I can find in these barrels is that they come in only two barrel threads; cocker and spyder. True those threads are two of the most popular on the market but if you own a marker with a different type thread you're out of luck.
Conclusion: I highly recommend this barrel kit to any paintball player that is looking for a good kit at a cheap price. Tourney and Rec ball players alike will get that extra edge in their game with this kit. 10 out of 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Opteron_FA Friday, January 28th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Freak Barrel
Marker Setup: Odyssey O3 Stock, Crossfire 47ci 3000psi, Odyssey 3 Barrel Kit (Barrels with diff. bore sizes), Empire Reloader 2
Recommended
Paintballs:
Blue Streak, Big Balls, Anything just find proper paint to barrel match.
Strengths: Different Bore Sizes, and made by Odyssey
Weaknesses: See Below
Review: Odyssey has again made another work of art. These barrels come in different bore sizes .689, .693, .697 nice bores although the .697 is not used much these barrels are great. Supprisingly I have found that these barrels have better accuracy than the Freak Barrels, you want proof... try it yourself! It's too good to be true but yes. The only weakness I guess is that, you have to carry your 3 barrels if you use different paint everytime you go, but think of it as a advantage because you don't have to worry about other kits that have seperate bores, back, fronts etc... you dont have to lug around much, but hey, if you are a true hardcore paintballer go ahead get the kits but for rec., woods, and maybe a tourney player, i truly recomend these barrels. if you would like to see statistics on how accurate these barrels are, visit my Odyssey O3 gun review. I got my Odyssey Barrel Kit for $60 just look around and get awsome deals for this kit, you could buy it from Odyssey but it cost $100 there.
Conclusion: Again, I highly recommend these barrels if you are on a budget or just don't want to spend alot of money for a good, accurate, and reliable barrels. I give this barrel kit a 10 for being the most accurate barrels I've used and played with, and yes more accurate than the "Freak Barrel"
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, January 28th, 2005 at 7:13 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

poodoi2001 Friday, March 4th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
smart parts freak
evil pipe
cp one peice barrel
smart parts all american barrel
tippmann flatline barrel
Marker Setup: 2004 dye matrix
cp regulator
dead on drop
cp snatch grip
cp trigger
aka scm lpr
tadao v5.0 with m3 software
empire reloader
ccm no rise feedneck
dye sticky grips
odyssey 3 peice barrel

2004 odyssey o3
cp regulator
dead on drop
qev
freak 14" barrel
pure energy 68 4500psi
evo II hopper

Recommended
Paintballs:
any
Strengths: Cheap
3 barrel to choose from
No insert
Shoots through breaks
Weaknesses: None that I have seen
Review: I have been shooting with a freak barrel for over a year now and it's a good system. A friend of mine had sold me his odyssey barrel kit and I couldn't be happier. The barrels just rock. I can honestly say that the balls that come out of these barrels fly straighter than the freak, pipe, or cp barrels. They even shoot pretty decent after you have a break (usually takes 5 or 6 shots). One advantage to the barrels is that you don't have any inserts to mess around with. they are a plain and simple looking and will fit on any autococker threaded markers. Which makes it perfect for my trix and o3. With the odyssey barrels you don't have to pay an arm and leg for great accuracy and performance.
Conclusion: Just buy it you wont be disappointed.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Pigpen1116 Thursday, December 29th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Sp-Freak, All American, Teardrop.
Dye-Ultralite, Boomstick
WGP-Kaner
Marker Setup: Odyssey O3M, evil detonator, evil pneumatics, aim rods, ND on/off asa, ND rail.
Halo - B
Pure Energy 68-3k tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
I usually use evil paint. It works very well.
Strengths: Accurate
Quiet
Looks good
Weaknesses: Large bore sizes
Review: I really love this kit. It is extremely accurat, I'm talking ball on ball action at the chrono and the field. I trust odyssey very much with my gun, my barrel, and my halo b. This is a great barrel kit because they are all one piece. Screw in barrel kits can get inaccurate over time because the threads dont align perfectly after ample use which is why dye's 2 piece barrels are glued together. (Dye's saying - dont get screwed get glued). It is virtually the same as the odyssey 5-piece kit, but doesnt have insert sleeves. I would easily recommend this to anybody. The large bores are annoying with really small paint, but it is good if you have paint that has been sitting for a couple of weeks, because they expand and the large bores can handle it.
Conclusion: I would definitely recommend this to anybody with only one barrel for this gun. If you already have a kit, skip this one. I would give an 8.5.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

klockness Saturday, November 12th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
I haven't used kits myself but I've been around plenty of freaks
Marker Setup: 2002 wgp autococker, belsales 3-way, shocktech ram, palmer stabilizer, dye hinge, dye barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
large size
Strengths: Smooth, well built, well ported, each peace is a whole barrel no inserts, nice case
Weaknesses: They are to big, orings are pointless
Review: This would be a great barrel kit for the money except the smallest size is to large for the average paintball. I used the .689 barrel (yeah I checked it was the smallest) and had paintballs rolling out the end of it (it's a cocker the ball is always past the ball detent). I think the paintballs were a tad small but I could not find paintballs locally that were really big enough. They were all cheap but pretty good paints. Even with the paint being to small the barrel was still very accurate. The sizes are .689, .693, .697. The smallest size is just barely medium. I wish they would have made a .687 instead of .697 because seriously nobody is gonna use that size its freakin huge. Oh and the orings didn't fit it right but who cares the barrel never unscrewed.
Conclusion: If you are sure you use med-large paintballs this would be great. Even with the small paintballs this barrel was very accurate. It's hard to find but maybe on ebay. I'd say its a great deal for around $30 but no more than $45.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, December 8th, 2005 at 8:11 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

InCommand21 Friday, December 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
j&j ceramic
dye boomstick
dye ultralite
Stock barrels
Marker Setup: Diablo Wrath with Odyssey 5 piece barrel kit, J&J S2 ceramic barrel, Delrin Bolt and Ram, Virtue Board, Evoluton 2 loader, NitroDuck Compressed Air Tank, Smart Parts 20 Ounce anti-siphon on/off tank!!!
Recommended
Paintballs:
Medium sized balls. DO NOT USE SMALL BALLS!! it would be better to throw smaller sized paintballs.
I like using Draxxus Inferno, PMI Premium, or Anarchy Paintballs
Strengths: Very Accurate, 2 peices, durable, I love the looks!
Weaknesses: None that I can see.
Review: I just bought this barrel kit. I LOVE IT! It is very acurrate. It is better than the dye boomstick or ultralite. It cleans itself after abut 4 or 5 shots. It's better than the J&J Cermic, even though I also own an s2 for my wrath. I totally kick butt when I go to tournaments now! I LOVE how acurrate and consistent this barrel is! If you can find one for under $75 get it. I've heard this barrelkit is better than the Freak Barrel kit!!! It's AWESOME!!
Conclusion: get this barrel kit. Find it on ebay. I got mine for $40!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TrailBlazinMan Monday, December 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Kaner Mini kit, Stiffi switch, J&J Edge
Marker Setup: WGP Autococker Trilogy Pro SF
Q-Loader
STO Ram w/ QEVs
Delrin bolt + pull pin
Kaner Barrel Kit
48/3000 HPA
Gas through stock + remote
Strengths: Great price
Accurate
Quiet
Single piece design
Weaknesses: Cant find them anymore?
Review: I got this kit pretty quickly after getting my Trilly Pro SF. This kit is unlike more other kits in that the barrels are one piece. That means there are no cracks in the barrels. The inside of the barrels are mirrored finish, and they are accurate and quiet.

I paid $45 for my kit, but after looking some more I am unable to find any for sale. You might be able to pick one up used, or a discount from a store somewhere, or maybe I am just looking in the wrong places.

Ive also seen some complaints about overly large bore sizes, but the bores on my kit are .685, .689 and .693.
Conclusion: 7 of 10. There are better barrel kits out there, but not for the price that I paid. The other kits are worth the extra investment.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media