paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Nelson Paintball Special Forces Paintballs / Nelson Paintball Special Forces Paintballs / Nelson Paintball Special Forces Paintballs

Nelson Paintball Special Forces Paintballs Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Nelson Paintball

Buy Nelson Paintball Special Forces Paintballs

Paintball Paintballs

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Nelson Paintball Special Forces Paintballs
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 18
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Elite Grade
Metallic Shell
Designed with Special Forces training in mind
Featuring RANGER (green fill) and SEAL (blue fill)
Available through mass merchants and limited retailers
Product Availability 
The Nelson Paintball Special Forces Paintballs are newer, so they should be commonly available.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
greynite13 Thursday, February 24th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PMI, Diablo, Brass Eagle, Evil, Other Nelson paintballs
Marker Setup: M98 W/RT, Angel 4, Spyders, Rebels, Draguns, Automag.
Recommended
Barrels:
No problems with any of our barrels
Strengths: Very accurate. Bright fill.
Weaknesses: Only 2 colors blue and green.
Review: We field tested this paint, both Seal and Ranger, we where very impressed with the accuracy of the paint. We did not break any paint in the variety of markers we used. The fill was almost as thick as Nelsons Anarchy.
I have used a lot of different paint over the past few years, from the cheap paint at WalMart, Kmart, Dunhams to the top end stuff bought from Paintball stores. This ranks as my top favorite ball.
Conclusion: I would recommend this ball to any tournement player. This ball is sweet!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ABN Ranger Sunday, March 11th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Draxxus Blaze, PMI Marbalizer, PMI Polar Ice, Worr Game Domination, Brass Eagle Monster Ball
Marker Setup: Use both Tippmann A-5 w/ Hammerhead BattleStixx 14" Barrel & Tippmann X7 w/ OPSGEAR 16" Operator Barrel, Low Profile Hoppers on each.
Strengths: Accurate!
No Ball Breakage in Barrel!
Weaknesses: Price
Review: I bought a box of 500 of the RANGER to test this out personally after reading some reviews here on pbreview.com. I'll tell you what, I was NOT disappointed! I have been getting sick of paint breaking in my barrel, warped paint, dimpled paint, etc. So I have been on a mission to find some good paint I can rely upon knowing that my Tippmann markers are harder on paint than most others. I DIDN'T BREAK A SINGLE BALL OUT OF THE 500. All my shots were dead on and I am still using the stock bolts in both my markers. The fill is predator blood neon green and was nice and thick. I wanted to know how the paint would do if I happened to break a ball in the barrel as each time that happens with other paint, game over until I clean my barrel. Balls are just all over the place until I do. I emptied my hopper and put a few lower grade balls in my hopper that I knew would break. I fired them off and sure enough they did break in the barrel. I then switched back to the Ranger paint and fired off about 30 balls. ACCURATE! I couldn't believe it! Even with paint in my barrel the balls were dead on and this never happens. Once I had conducted that test, I was sold that this was the paint for me. And the coolest part is that it is RANGER paint and I happen to be an ex-ranger from the U.S. Army.

*** UPDATE March 31, 2007 ***

I bought 2 cases of RANGER and it performed just like my first 500.

I also grabbed 2 500 count boxes of SEAL paint as well. Same results. The only draw back to the SEAL paint is the blue fill. It's a little dark. The RANGER paint is like freaking neon and the SEAL blue just isn't as bright. Both have the same gold shell. As far as the SEAL performance, the same as my RANGER review above. Top-notch quality and accuracy.
Conclusion: Excellent Paint. I will be ordering more. These balls are accurate with little to no barrel breakage. It's pretty spendy paint but I figure I might as well spend $10 more a case for balls that are accurate and don't break in my barrel instead of the other crap that has been wasting my money.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, March 31st, 2007 at 6:51 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

edcan Thursday, November 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Anarchy
Hemorrhage
Marker Setup: WS Pewter Heavy Metal Dark Shocker/ Red 2006 Stock Shocker
HE Bolt
Dye Stainless Boomstick
Trinity on/off ASA
Recommended
Barrels:
Freak .687-.691
Strengths: Accurate
Breaks on Target
ThickFill
BrightBRIGHT!
No wipe Fill
The Roundest Paint EVER!
Weaknesses: Price
That's It
Review: This is the first paint I ever shot through my Dark Shocker and it shot the furthest and straightest I've ever seen a paintball fly period. This is trolley professional grade paint but it should be, considering it costs $79.99 a case of 1800 rounds. I bought the navy seal version of this paint and although the fill was blue nobody could wipe the "Thickest Fill in the World!!!" Anarchy, which is also made by Nelson, claims the previous, but Special Ops has the same fill thickness if not it's just a little bit thicker. If you can find Special Ops for a good price I strongly recommend buying it.
Conclusion: Nelson the creator of the paintball they couldn't make bad paint.
TRULY the BEST PAINT EVER
10- Quality
8- Price
9- Overall
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Raiders32 Monday, August 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Zap Spank
Marbs
Big Ball
Core Premium
others...
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
E-Grip w/ W.A.S Board
4 piece Empire Barrel Kit
Ricochet R5
PMI Remote Line
Pure Engergy 20oz Co2

Core Zx
Core Holster
Strengths: Accuracy, ball quality, consistancy
Weaknesses: Little brighter fill would be nice
Cost (but worth it due to quality)
Review: Really impressed with these paintballs. I could not find a single ball with a dent, pimp, or other malformity. The bronze shell is easy to follow, but makes it incredibly hard for your opponents to zero in on. I shoot about 1100+ rounds through my A-5 (with empire barrel) and another 400+ through my PMI Tracer, Electra ACS '05 (with 2 piece All American), and Core ZX without a single misque. The balls stayed right on target no matter how fast I shot.

As far as weaknesses go, I wish green fill was a wee bit brighter. Did have a couple bounces (but I always do with any paint). Cost about $10-$15 more per 2000rd case then some other decent paintballs that are out there.
Conclusion: Overall very impressive. Maybe not a ball I can afford each time I go out ($48 a case a local shop) but definately my new favorite for woodsball when I got an extra $10 to spend. Best quality ball for ball I have every seen.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

goldguy224 Monday, September 5th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
RPS Marbalizers
RPS Preimum
RPS Menace

Nelson Special OPS

Eliminator
Marker Setup: 2000 WGP Autococker
Chipply Snatch Tigger
Check It On Off
Smart Parts 16" All American
Recommended
Barrels:
I only used it with the Smart Parts All American so that one.
Strengths: THICK BREAK, I Mean Thick
Good Size
Quailty Shell
Nice Color
Weaknesses: The fact that they only had one color where I baught them from. Green.
Review: This is a good quality paint that is very consistant. Broke ever time. This paint is great it is a good paint for all types of markers I was shooting through my Cocker and I never broke one and never had a problem shooting it. THIS IS A PAINT I WOULD RECOMEND to anyone who wants a top line paint at a decent price. The case it comes in is pretty cool also. The one thing I liked about this paint is the bright break color. I can say for a fact that I was shooting less paint cause I could see where it was going and I was knowing when I would hit, the color was great. I know I was shooting less paint because I had the best test ever. Actual feild test, In game. I went out with a hopper of Marbalizers and the rest of my pods were filled with the Special Ops. And I threw every last marablizer just cause I had no idea where the hits were so I would throw a few more just to make sure. With The special ops I shot off two pods of paint because I could see where it was going and what I was hitting. I know if I can't see where its going I'm gonna throw a lot of paint. I think that this paint is one of the better paints I have used in a good long while. For the price I would say it's well worth it. Well worth it.
Conclusion: This is an awsome product I would recomend it to all players. If you play speedball, or rec, or woods ball I recomand this product to all levels of players. It is a good product from a good company that knows what there doing.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

lanthantos Monday, February 21st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Marbs, Anarchy, PMI Prems, RPS Adv, etc
Marker Setup: 04 LCD Dye Matrix (DM3), Crossfire 68/4500 hioutput tank, CP On/Off ASA, Hyper 2 reg, New style Dye Rocket LPR, St!ffi Switch Kit 14 inch Autococker thread
Tippman A5/response / Lapco barrel adapter to allow Stiffi kit
Recommended
Barrels:
Barrel kit of a .687 bore
Strengths: Accurate, Neat packaging, look very uniform, thick fill, fairly hard shell
Weaknesses: Might be a little painful for the faint of heart, the price is quite high
Review: My buddy whos a field owner and I bought 500 of these just to see what they were like as there is not a review yet on these. They were not dimpled and had the same "seam" as the anarchy paint does. They shot straight and had a pretty flat trajectory, like the claims that nelson makes "Made to replicate actual ammo flight as accurately as possible".

They seemed rather hard however, and i think they are a larger bore (i didnt size them unfortunately) And are pricey as well.

Seem like any other top end ball, except maybe a slight gimmick product.
Conclusion: Pretty cool balls, i would prefer anarchy though, but the box the 2000 round package comes in is really cool (Hard plastic case, good for storage) and they are just plain cool.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ITSRAININGPAINT Sunday, May 9th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Nelson Nel-Splat (worse than this)
US Army Paintballs (About the same)
Conquest Paintballs (bounce-fest)
Cryptic (bounce-fest)
Marker Setup: Dangerous Power G3
Custom Products 2 piece, .685
EVLution 3 hopper
DXS 48/45 CP tank cover
Recommended
Barrels:
.685 bore worked wonders.
Strengths: Accuracy, bright fill, dark green shell.
Weaknesses: None.
Review: I got these at my field for $50/2000 paintballs. These performed much better than the Nel-Splats, and were much less greasy. This paint was also a little bit harder than the Nel-Splats, no one had any barrel breaks with these. This paint was very accurate when I used my .685 back, and no one had any problems with these. My paint had a dark, mettalic green shell, and a bright yellow fill.
Conclusion: Pretty good, very accurate, bright fill, perfect shell size (no barrel breaks, lots of outs), what else can you ask for for $50/case? 9 of 10 because nothing is perfect.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Warchild71 Thursday, March 15th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Marballizer - Close but not quite as good
Allstars- As good
VL Heavy Metal- Crap
VIsible Impact - A little worse but decent
Diable Nightmare-Crap
Marker Setup: Spyder MR1 and Piranha Evo
Empire Reloader II
PMI Pure Energy N2 72ci/3000psi
BT Apex Barrel
Empire 7 Piece barrel kit
NC Star Red Dot Site (for the MR1)
Recommended
Barrels:
Apex Barrel- This paint loves the apex
Any barrel that matches the bore. Seems to be a smaller bore paint -Aboub .681-.683
Strengths: Flies straight
Very consistent
Thick bright fill
breaks on target
Weaknesses: Limited fill color selection
Review: This is a woodsballers paint. It shoots through brush without breaking but break on target almost all the time. I shot this paint playing woodsball recently and shot it back to back with some Marbz. I like Marbz but what I found is that Marbz will break if you shoot through the brush . For some reason the Special Forces paint shoots right through it and break on target. I don't know how it does it but it does. THe other thing about this paint that I like is the consistency of size and roundness. When I barrel match the paint I check the size consistency so I avoid barrel breaks. I found that on average, this paint is very consistent as far as size and roundness goes. More so than any of the other paints I've used. Bore size is a lot smaller than some people have noted in older reviews. I don't know, but maybe nelson made them smaller. They seem to be around .681-.683. I compared them to the Marbz that I have and they are definitely smaller than Marbz. The Marbz ranged from .686-.689. If you own an Apex barrel this is the paint you want to be shooting. Accuracy on the Apex is excellent with this paint.. I
Conclusion: Awesome consistent paint that beaks on impact and flies through light brush.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mobius Tuesday, March 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
No paint I've used is similar to this
Marker Setup: Custom Cocker
ICD Promaster w/ Powerlyte Scepter Kit
Recommended
Barrels:
Barrel kit
Strengths: Good shell
THICK fill
Weaknesses: Price

Review: My friends and I have been using this paint constantly for 2 months so I feel I have a pretty good grasp on it's performance.

Strengths: If you play woods ball then a shell that breaks on contact, but not on leaves is a plus. I was able to shoot through light brush without the balls exploding. That said, I had no major problems with paint bouncing off my intended targets. The fill is like toothpaste. After shooting someone you notice pieces of shell stuck in the small but clearly visible splat zone where the ball exploded. There is no wiping this paint.

Weaknesses: I've shot about 4 or 5 cases of this paint so far and one of the problems I've come across is how many balls are out of round. At first I believed the balls just had a large bore range, because when I was trying to drop them through my sizer, I was getting a range of .688 - .692. After taking the larger balls and rotating them, I was able to drop them through a smaller bore. Using the powerlyte scepter, I shoot .688 and in all those cases, I've only broken 2 balls, but because of how out of round some of them can be, I've also had 2 get stuck in my feedneck. Because of the shape of the balls, I would say that accuracy suffers slightly when shooting longer range targets. Within 40 feet, which is where I do most of my shooting, I've had no problems.

EDIT: I've just purchased 2 new cases of this paint and the consistancy is excellent. It may have been that the previous boxes I ordered may have not have been the norm. All of the paint in both cases is .683-.684 according to my barrel sizer. The paint is round and the fill is thick, but not as thick as the cases I previously purchased. This is still an excellent paint for woodsball. The price is a little high for woodsball in my opinion ($55/case). Judging the paint by my last 2 cases, I would give this paint a 9... perfect for woodsball, but too expensive. If it judged by the 6 cases previous to those, it would get a 7.5 for being inconsistant, but since I bought it at a big discount, I can accept that.
Conclusion: I love this paint and would rate it higher if it were a few dollars cheaper. I would recommend this paint to anyone and give it an overall rating of 8.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, November 19th, 2006 at 5:59 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sab541 Saturday, April 23rd, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nel-Splat
RPS Premium
RPS Stinger
Core Prime
Core Action
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom with ACT
Smart Parts 14 in Linear Barrel
View Loader Eye Force Loader
Double Trigger kit
Remote Coil
Recommended
Barrels:
Smart Parts
Strengths: Consistant
Great for woodsball
Breaks on target, not in the brush.
Weaknesses: Only 2 colors.
Hard to track when firing long distance.
Review: I got this stuff on recommendation from a friend. It's expensive but not the most expensive paint out there. I've it about a dozen times now and for woodsball it's one of the best I've used. I really like how this paint will shoot through the thin brush to get to my target. I lot of the other good paint's I've used are made for speedball, which are design to break as soon as it comes into contact with most anything. The colors are limited to 2 but they both look nice but both shell choices blend well with nature which makes it hard to track as you shoot. This could be an advantage for a sniper but I play more of a run and gun style. No dimples, no breaks, no problems. Great paint for a decent price $55 retail locally for me.
Conclusion: This is great paint for woodsball, and if you own a Tippmann you can't go wrong with this stuff.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media