paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / CMI International Tru-Flight Barrel / CMI International Tru-Flight Barrel / CMI International Tru-Flight Barrel

CMI International Tru-Flight Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount CMI International

Buy CMI International Tru-Flight Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


CMI International Tru-Flight Barrel
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 272
Average Rating: 7.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $30

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Precision-Rifled Barrel Specifically Designed for Paintball
Four years in development, the Tru-Flight Rifled Barrel is making paintball history for: Extreme Accuracy,
Tighter Pattern,
Greater Distance, and
Spin-Free Projection.
Product Availability 
The CMI International Tru-Flight Barrel is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (28):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
leif52pickup Monday, April 28th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month361 of 365 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Spyder Victor barrel (good barrel for being so short)
Marker Setup: Spyder Victor
16" CMI TruFlight
removed "venturi" (it isn't technically a venturi at all)
Recommended
Paintballs:
anything medium bore. I like Brass Eagle Afterburners.
Strengths: Shoots straight
doesn't break balls
light weight, but strong.
Cheap: $20!
Weaknesses: Mediocre finish
The threads are loose until the last 1/4 turn.
Needed some work?
Review: Due to recommendations on this website I did some preliminary work on this barrel before using it.
-I bevelled the rear edge of it to create a "loading ramp"
-I ran super fine steel wool through it to get a mirror finnish
-I put steel wool in the muzzle brake and turned it back and forth many many times to dull the knife like edge of the ports

After I did all of this, this barrel shot very well. I would high recommend getting one of these over high priced single peice barrels, since paintballs are inherently somewhat inaccuracy.

16" ended up being a little cumbersum
Conclusion: Would be a good barrel at $40, but at $20 its great.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, April 28th, 2003 at 2:23 am PST
I found this review  
13 Comments - Add Comment

paintballkid026 Monday, August 4th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
98 custom stock barrel- all tippmann stock barrels suck
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom with tru-flight 14" barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
anything
Strengths: cheap, accurate, looks really cool on a 98c
Weaknesses: none yet
Review: for $20, this is an amazing barrel. if your looking to put a new barrel on your gun and you dont have a lot of money than this is for you. i couldnt find another 14" for this price. this barrel is also really accurate to- i get a lot more outs each game. it looks really cool and its good enough to use as a sniper barrel.
Conclusion: get it now, its defiantly worth it- you wont be dissapointed
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cosmo_2001 Wednesday, April 9th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
1 year10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Barrel
Marker Setup: Brass Eagle Stingray II, TunderPig Tru-Flight 16 in. Sniper Barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anarchy, Diablo, Pretty much any paintball I have ever used with this barrel has worked well. I don't recommend anything cheap (B.E., Zap, ect.)
Strengths: Very Accurate, Doesn't break balls, cheap
Weaknesses: Hard to clean, kinda long (I have the 16")...hard to maneuver in woods
Review: I have no idea what you people are talking about when you say this barrel breaks balls like a knife. I have shot this barrel for about a year and I have broken maybe 5 balls with it. I have had many outings where I never even broke a single ball. This baby is superbly accurate too. I hate wasting paint on people, so this is the perfect barrel for me. I can nail guys from 30+ yards with one shot!

Make sure you keep the muzzle break clean, otherwise you are screwed. If for some reason this barrel does break a ball (maybe your velocity was way over what it should be), then it is relatively hard to clean, because of the riflings and the length.

Conclusion: This barrel is a great price (I got mine for under $25 at eBay) and it is worth it. Buy one for your marker and see for yourself how well it improves your accuracy.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

wgpmasterah Wednesday, April 2nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months9 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
wgp stock micro horned stock on my 2k2 vert cocker, 32 degrees 14" whisper barrel, sp big daddy, freak kits, wgp kaner kits, A LOT of barrels all tested by shooting peoples guns at the parks.
Marker Setup: 2k2 vert feed Glacier Ize-FreeFlow lp cocker. 8hole freeflow bolt, belsales 2stage pneumy reg, smooth 2k3 sto lighter shaft ram, ans quickfire slider down to 1.7 mm trigg. pull, perfect suction timing, since i am a spyder/cocker specialist, stock 2k2 3-way, stock 2k2 valve set, stock 2k2 vert reg at 275 psi. pshyco drop-7" forward, 2.5" down. pmi nitro. CMI 8" sb (speedball) barrel.
Recommended
Paintballs:
severe, marbz, pmi prem's. diablo's. anything, NO!! NO! NO!!!! BRASS EAGLE! NEVER EVER! EVER BUY BRASS EAGLES! it's obvious.. pos..
Strengths: DEAD, FREAKIN ACCURATE! NO PROBLEMS! SOOOO AMAZING!
Weaknesses: weaknesses? HAH! yeah right!
Review: ok first of all, any of you people who are noobs and own a cocker thinking you're bad @$$, u're not. not until you know every single property of a cocker and know how to TIME your cocker with out trouble. THEN! you can start acting bad @$$, ok... since i play speedball 24/7 and in tournys.. this barrel has NEVER let me down. since the barrel is parallel internal ported.. what the internal actually does is, it sorta of.. SORTA of squishes the shell of the pb so it can even out the distribution of the shell in the bore. so.. if use like.. one year old crap paint.. i bet you it will STILL SHOOT AMAZINGLY straight. .but then again i don't want to try and take time to clean crap out if it breaks. this barrel is by the the best... i'm not comparing this barrel to a boom, freak or anything. just in generality this barrel is amazing. you don't want to use a lot of money, this is it. got mine for $10 on ebay BRAND NEW.. then again i buy everything on ebay BRAND new.. never used, yeh right. If you buy it on a online retailer probably... $20 or so. not bad.. compared to a very nice $110 boom or a freak kit. but.. that's something that you want performance and brand. basically all it is, if you don't have a cocker, and have open bolt guns like spyders...tippi's.. what ever, then it's allllll in the paint you use. you need good qualtiy paint. For a cocker, the #1 prioirty is the timing.. if your timing is off, it'll cause mass blow back which you don't want. which will result in chopping balls as the ball drops down the feed port and the bolt will slice the ball.. you need your cocker timed "PERFECTLY!!!" once that's accomplished, then the #2 thing is, paint. again as long as it's higher end like marbz, pmi prem's (premium)... basically anything EXCEPT, extra big bore, extra small bore, or BRASS EAGLE...uhh, i don't know what else to say, VERY GOOD BARREL! EXTREMELY ACCURATE! POINT, SHOOT, HE"S OUT! simple as that. if you have any questions regarding spyders or cockers, DO email me. i would love to hear your questions and help to solve them for you.
Conclusion: barrel is awesome, if you know you're going to be using the same gun for more then 5 years like me then buy this or just save up and get a Scepter or Freak set. always, get it on ebay, cheaper and brand new.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, November 10th, 2003 at 9:19 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

orlandotx Wednesday, June 25th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Stock barrel of Tippman 98
Stock barrel of Spyder SE
Marker Setup: Spyder SE
16 inch Thunder Pig Tru-Flight Barrel.
VL clear thumb screw elbow.
20 oz CO2 tank with butt plate.
VL 200 round hopper.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any and all.
Strengths: Inexpensive. Very accurate. Cool muzzel.
Weaknesses: Louder than the stock barrel but MUCH more accurate.
Review: After I order this on ebay I read the reviews. I'm glad I didn't read them before as I may not have purchased this product. I have not found one sharp edge on this barrel. It is louder than the stock barrel but not much. It definitely didn't stand out on the field. It never came loose and I'm a running, jumping, diving kind of paintball fool. I've shot some cheap paint through it with great success. I shot 2 year old paint with great accuracy. I also shot some Winchester paint which, according to most reviews on this site, is the worst paint out there. Not one break in 400 rounds. In fact the owner of the field could not believe how accurate my marker shot the Winchester paint.
Conclusion: I love this barrel. No sharp edges. No broken balls. Either most of these people are biased in their opinions or are haters. This is a great barrel. Hightly recommended.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TimberGhost0417 Thursday, March 10th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Just a stock barrel.
Marker Setup: Piranha R6 Black, Palmers Stabilizer Richochet 2k Hopper, 14" CMI Rifled Tru-Flight Barrel, 9oz tank + tank butt.
NOTE: Going to buy the tru-flight QUIET BARREL, and use this as my back up. It's the SAME EXACT barrel but with a new feature, it's more silent than this one.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything works since it's dual bore
I've used:
PMI bigballs
spank
weapons grade
bunch of 2nds paint

seconds paint
Bonus Balls
Strengths: 100% Accuracy
Extremely Solid
Light-Weight
Use Any Paintballs
Weaknesses: Nothing with my barrel
Review: I purchased this barrel to shoot farther distances. I original practiced shooting at a box target from a distance of 10 feet. I noticed I can only shoot about 15 feet before having to tilt my marker up a little. That was with the marker chronod at 300 out of the box.
I purchased this barrel because it featured the rifled technology. I just took it out to the field this past week. Here's my assessment.

ACCURACY - Extremely accurate (I use RPS/PMI BIG BALL they make marbilizer)
0-65 FEET guaranteed hit anywhere you want, as many times as you want
I have ok aim, but not the greatest. I've practiced about 600 shots, about an hour at a time so I'm alright.

Update: Hit where you want to hit

EASE OF CLEANING - Only use a brush squeeze, never tried one of the other plastic/synthetic squeegees but I hear complaints that sometimes it's hard to clean. The barrel is rifled, as well as dual bored. This means when you touch the inside of the barrel, you'll notice the rifling actually rises up a little. For the synthetic circle squeegees, they're circles. That's great for regular barrels but this barrel has the special rifling feature, which makes the insides NOT a perfect circle but a rifled barrel. There are pieces in the barrel that rise up, from the bottom to the top of the barrel. That keeps your paintball from spinning, but it also leaves a space in the barrel if you don't use a brush squeegee that can get into the grooves.

DURABILITY - AirCraft Grade material. Light weight SOLID SOLID SOLID. I mean hardcore SOLID. To actually dent this sucker, you gotta do it on purpose. Or drop something really really heavy on it. And it has to be a sharp object focusing the force on one part, otherwise it won't dent. Push this barrel through any obstacle, and it's good to go.

Ease Of Use - I got a 9oz tank so I can crawl AND HAVE MY MARKER AIMED WHILE I CRAWL. You see me (if you on my team) you'll notice I'm aiming the whole time, one handed. It's not so heavy it breaks your hand. It's actually pretty light weight. Not made of steel, but some high grade aircraft material.
Conclusion: BUY THIS TO SAVE ON PAINT. you can just just about any type of paint in this barrel. So far I've used maybe 6-8 types of paint, they all shoot straight. Extremely accurate barrel with a special rifled feature that's hard to find (didn't find any other ones).
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, November 1st, 2005 at 1:47 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

douchebag Saturday, November 15th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
stock barrel
Marker Setup: JT 6.0 Excellerator, Empire Reloader, 16 in Tru-Flight barrel, and 20 oz CO2
Recommended
Paintballs:
PMI, Evil, higher end stuff
Strengths: accuracy, dirt cheap, light
Weaknesses: none really... maybe louder than most
Review: This is a great barrel expecially for the price (20 bucks on Ebay). It is very accurate, at 80 feet I keep 200 shots within 1 foot of one another. Some say it cuts balls, haven't seen it happen yet... and my marker is famous for ball breakage. Cheap balls do seem to be a little less accurate.. but that is expected, THEY ARE CHEAPER!
Conclusion: Overall this is a great barrel, I didn't do anything to prep it like some other reviews said and I haven't had any problems. It is accurate, strong, light.... and CHEAP CHEAP CHEAP!!! That is always a big bonus in this pricey sport we play. Give it 9 due to noise issue.... but that is it BUY THIS BARREL.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Beowolfff Monday, November 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Tippmann 98 / Teardrop / "Lucky"
Marker Setup: 98 Custom with a few extras
Recommended
Paintballs:
"Scorch" seems to like the Tipp 98. Any quality ball will work.
Strengths: Other than looks? Zero
Weaknesses:
In this case, the price does NOT justify the performance claim.
Review: At first - the True Flight seemed to do...."ok" at accuracy. Not much better than the stock Tipp 98 barrell though.
(After several thousand - literally, through the stock barrell....not one break was produced.) It took about 200 or so before this thing started showing it's true colors. I noticed that on average, every third or so ball would leave the 14 incher like Phil Neikro threw it. (Neikro could throw a knuckle ball like you would not believe.) No idea where the thing was going to land.
If the rifleing is supposed to prevent this - perhaps someone forgot to mention it to their production line or the R and D department.

After the first ball break - I was doomed. No amount of squeegee would help. I believe the barrell gets the paint into the grooves (rifleing) and it's there to stay until you wash it out with soap and water. I went back to the stocker and *poof* problem gone.

Conclusion: My suggestion is: It's a crap shoot (no pun intended) as to whether or not you will get a good barrell delivered to you. True Flights quality control obviously has issues, and the consumer ALWAYS pays for this lack of quality and consistancy. Buy a better- rated barrell to be sure of what you will get.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

jason hassley Sunday, March 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
all i'v used wuz stock barrels
Marker Setup: Spyder TL-X
20 oz. Pure ENERGY co2
16 " tru flight thunder pig barrel
200 ct. hopper
Recommended
Paintballs:
Hard shells one's, like blue streak
Strengths: Looks cool, rifeling is good
shoot far
accurate
Weaknesses:
Hard to clean the muzzle break
Review: i bought this barrel off ebay for $30 and i knew it was gonna be the best barrel ever, it's 16 inches it's rifled, what else can u ask for. after 100 shot a single ball never chopped and every ball went perfectly straight for 150+ feet. IT WAS AWSOME. then i was havin a war with my best friend and my barrel wuz shooting. AWSOME then all of the sudden 1 chopped, i shot again, another chopped. This Barrel weakens the power but improves accuracy
Conclusion: This is a good barrel for anyone, it's cheap and accurate, buy it
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, July 31st, 2004 at 10:30 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

tink12 Wednesday, June 16th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann stock, louder, less accurate.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom with 14in tru-flight barrel.
Recommended
Paintballs:
anything
Strengths: accurate, looks cool, increased distance.



Weaknesses: A little loud but a whole lot better than stock.
Review: This is a great barrel for a rec-baller or anyone who wants a better barrel, increased distance, and far better accuracy. Looks good especially on the 98's. The rifling is really cool looking to. The barrel is light and the cost is cheap, I recommend this barrel to anyone who wants or needs an upgrade but doesn't have alot to spend. I haven't broke a ball yet and just about all the balls are dead on. GREAT DEAL FOR THE PRICE, BUY IT!!!!!!
Conclusion: Buy this barrel if you need an upgrade, its great.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (28):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media