paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Ariakon Overlord / Ariakon Overlord / Ariakon Overlord / Ariakon Overlord

Ariakon Overlord Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Ariakon

Buy Ariakon Overlord

Paintball Pistols

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Ariakon Overlord
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 74
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $110

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
No Description Available
Product Availability 
The Ariakon Overlord is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
DanGuy Saturday, February 26th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month143 of 145 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Delta 68, Zeus(G1 &G2), PT Extreme, Core ZX, ACP
Marker Setup: stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Buy extra magazines.
Strengths: Fast Loading. Well balanced. Very well built. Great Accuracy& Velocity.
Weaknesses: A bit heavier than some of the other choices out there but barely.
Review: I'll start with the packaging. It arrived in an attractive factory box and was very well padded. Included were a barrel plug, spare parts, & manual. Other than the Delta none of my other pistols was packaged this well.

Being familiar with many of the pistols on the market I tossed aside the manual and went straight for the pistol. The weight was impressive. Even though it has extensive milling it still has some heft and the fit and finish was perfect. Not a scratch or blemish to be found.

Since the main feature of this pistol is the Rapid Release Magazine I immediatley tried to remove it. I pulled, pushed, twisted but simply could not get it off. I figured I had better check the manual before i break something. Turns out that the magainze has a little lever that you lift and bingo the magazine practicaly pops off in my hand. The design is incredibly simply but ingenious. Putting the mag back on is simply a matter of sliding it back into position from the rear of the pistol until you hear a "click". Once its on its not going anywhere.

Loading the mag itself was simple and straightforward. Remove the plug in the back. Pull the spring loaded arm forward, drop in 10 balls and replace the plug. Then release the spring loaded lever and its done. Its essentaialy the same as any other pistol and takes only a few seconds.

Ok out to the back yard to take some shots and see how she performs. I got 19 shots off the first CO2 which was pretty good considering i had the velocity cranked all the way up. I turned the velocity down about half way and got 27 shots out of the second CO2. Just about the same as the ACP. Last I removed the velocity screw entirley and got 29 shots from the third CO2. Again just about the same as the ACP which is better than average.

Next I went accuracy. I was shooting at paper cups on my fence from about 25 feet. I was able to hit 9 /10 3 times and 10/10 once. Very good for a pistol at this range. I don't have a chrono otherwise I would have posted some results but the Overlord does shoot just as far as my full sized marker and all the other pistols. I think the velocity had to be above 300 to do that since I know my sim4 shoots hot with the velocity turned all the way up.



Comfort wise this is the best pistol trigger out there, at least for me. The hand grips are very comfortable and the trigger gurad has a spot that rests on your middle finger for extra support. One bonus feature that I did not realize it had was an accessory rail in the front. You can add a vertical grip, flashlight, laser or whatever on the rail. I tried some of mine from my sim4 and they fit perfectly.

People say that this is a copy of the Delta but when you compare them side by side it becomes obvious that the fit and finish of the Overlord is much better and I doubt these are made in the same factory.


Conclusion: Because of its looks people either love it or hate it, but the speed of mag system cannot be ignored. Its definetly the fastest and most secure system I have seen to date. Even though he ACP seems to be more upgradable and I'm told that the new mag system will soon be available for the ACP as well, I have to give the nod to the Overlord until then. As it stands I think the Overlord is currently the best pistol on market and you can't go wrong . The gun performs just as good if not better than the rest so even if you don't spring for the extra mags you will still get a top performer, but the main feature of this gun is the mag system and so I suggest buying a few extra to get the full benefit of this pistol. If you are in the market for a pistol I recommend the overlord over all the others. You won't be dissappointed.

Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

brihard Friday, April 1st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month39 of 43 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Traditional non-pistol blowbacks
Marker Setup: Ariakon Overlord Pistol
Tippmann M98C
Flatline barrel system
Carbine stock
Remote coil lne
Red dot sight
Recommended
Upgrades:
Extra magazines
Holster
Bottomline when available, if it suits your style
Strengths: Rapid-Release Magazine
Accuracy
Durability
Ergonomics
Air efficiency
Delrin bolt
Quick-strip
Reliability
Killer looks
Weaknesses: CO2 change can be a bit lengthy
Cleaning ball chops annoying
Review: I received this marker packaged in a nicely designed box, well padded, and in perfect condition. I was immediately impressed at the effort Ariakon made towards presentation. I opened the box, and my first impression was that it was relatively big- but beautiful. Oh so beautiful.

The Overlord pistol was released at the beginning of March, making it a month old.They released their Ariakon Combat Pistol back in February, and I had one on order until I found out the Overlord was coming out. I don't regret my decision.

The overlord is full of awesome features. First and foremost is the rapid release magazine. A spring-loaded bar holds the mag in place on top of the pistol, but a simple tug and slide and it slides off instantly. It's the easiest thing in the world to swap the magazine on this thing. To mount the mag, simply slide it on. It will lock itself in place. It literally couldn't be easier. The magazine itself feeds balls smoothly, and works canted 90 degrees to either side for weird angle shots.

Recently, a lot of marker owners have been ordering Delrin bolts for their markers of various varieties- Delrin is a self lubricating compound, and a lot lighter that metal. You DO NOT need to lubricate it- simply clean it, and it lubricates itself. Very cool. The Overlord comes stock with a Delrin bolt- the first marker to do so. This is one of the touches that, along with tight engineering, has brought very impressive gas efficiency to the Overlord.

Reloading the CO2, conversely, can be a minor hassle. It's a screw-in plug, so nothing unusual, but compared to lever-loaded CO2 cartridges, it takes a tad longer. The air efficiency makes up for this, though.

Accuracy wise, the Overlord is right up there with anything on the market. No aftermarket barrel is needed - or possible - but Ariakon's stock Overlord barrel continues the companies success in providing the finest in stock barrels of any manufacturer.the barrel is mirror smooth on the inside, and about 8 inches long

The construction is very solid. The marker is extremely durable, but also fairly light due to extensive - and in my opinion very cool - milling of both the marker and the magazine. The grip is polymer, and the remainder of the marker metal, with the exception of the already mentioned Delrin bolt. It feels solid and hefty, but is not uncomfortably heavy or bulky. The grip has a small notch in which the middle finger rests, transferring a portion of the weight onto that finger, and stabilizing the marker a bit as you squeeze the trigger. the grip is very comfortable, approximating a .45 grip, but curved a bit more in the rear to sit in your palm.

Stripping the marker is ridiculously simple. My personal best for a complete field strip and reassembly with no tools was 31 seconds. This includes completely removing the magazine, striker, bolt, rear velocity adjuster, velocity spring, and striker buffer from the marker, and them reassembling it. You could do this in the middle of a game if you had to, as long as you had some concealment, or a buddy covering you. The entire thing comes apart with just one field strip pin.

I tested the marker with year old Wal-Mart paint. I had a few chops from either horribly deformed balls, or error on my part. These are a hassle to clean because of the double stack design, but removing the mag and running a squeegee through is straightforward, and because of the smoothness of the barrel, a very effective cleaning technique in and of itself. You shouldn't get any chops with quality paint.

I was shooting in 6* Celsius weather- about 42F or so, I think. I got 22 to 24 shots from a CO2 12g cartridge with maximum velocity setting, and this even with a mechanism kind of gunked up from exploded paint. Other owners have reported 30+ shots per cartridge- arguably the best available of any pistol on the market.
Conclusion:
The Overlord is a collection of good ideas in a sleek, sexy, and durable package. I can't recommend it enough to anyone looking for a sidearm, or even an unconventional primary marker. There is a forward accessory rail for flashlights, lasers, or even fore grips, and the parts are there to accommodate a bottomline kit which we can only be suppose will be released soon with Ariakon's notorious secrecy and surprise regarding new products. If you want to get a pistol, your money will be well spend on this. Generally $155 Canadian, or $110 US. Extra magazines will be available soon.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

TheMedievalMan Sunday, May 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month24 of 26 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Delta .68 very nice, but a little bit over priced (usually $118) and it leaks. Brass Eagle Talon pump pistol, well... its Brass Eagle so what do you expect?
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom with Flatline Barrel or J&J Ceramic Barrel, response trigger, Richochet Apache (the updated 2005 model), double trigger, Clear Dye Sticky Grips, Rocket Cock II, Dead On Rear Velocity Adjuster and Tippmann expansion chamber.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe some extra clips, Dye Stickies or other more comfortable grips because the stock ones are kinda hard and hurt the hands, extra ten round tubes.
Strengths: Doesnt leak, quick change clips, price ($99.99-$109.99), gas efficient (30 shots 12gram).
Weaknesses: A slight bit too large, grips are hard, sights, some brand 12 grams get stuck.
Review: This is a very nice side arm. The pistol is about 2.2 pounds. If youve ever felt an Ion in your hands without the battery, hopper, and tank, then its around the same weight. I got my Overlord from my local paintball shop for a hundred bucks plus tax, so it came out to around $106.99 here in the state of Florida. I got it with eight hundred round tubes for an extra two bucks. After I got the Overlord, I took it out of the box and brought it to the back yard gased up with a crosman 12 gram and loaded it with brand new red paintballs. I noticed that the clip will hold ten balls as it is designed. But it can also hold up to twelve all together with one in the chamber, and another one in between the clip and the chambered ball. I fired it in the back yard at a target a hundred feet away with around two foot groupings. I wasnt shooting at my best, but more like in real life situation, where you just point and shoot. I noticed that I always seem to get exactly thirty rounds on the pistol righ out of the box before it runs out of air. The pistol will degas itself when you run out of co2, you will hear a hissing sound for around two or three seconds and then you need to reload. I really wouldnt suggest getting any more than two extra clips, seeing as how by the time you use all three clips you would have run out of air. So reloading paintballs by that time would be the last thing you should be doing. The pistol is a little bit to big for my taste, but its still more compact compared to a regular sized paintball gun like a long 98 Custom for example. I purchased my Overlord at a site called actionvillage. There they have a special of free shipping when you buy anything for $100 or more. You can maybe buy it with a few hundred round tubes and/or 12 grams to go a little bit over a hundred to get the free shipping. However, I noticed that they are never in stock on their site, which is why I bought mine in my local shop when I found out that they had them. But you might get them in stock by the time you are reading this though. I began having problems I should say about the gun double firing and chopping the balls. I think some of my parts were defective. This could either be the striker or the velocity spring. I replaced the stock ones with that of my Spyder Aggressor XT. I swaped those parts and the velocity spring and striker from my Spyder work perfectly in this pistol. The bolt becomes easier to cock back reducing some hardness minus around 40%. It also kicks less. The parts seem to have no problem in my Spyder though, so both guns are happy with the swaped parts.
Conclusion: If you are looking for a good reliable back up, or even a light compact main then this is for you. It wont leak! And Ariakon is coming out with accessories for it. It even has a tac rail at the bottom front of the gun for accessories and a place to put a bottom line. Maybe they will also come out with a hopper adaptor. Also the quick change clips is very nice, you just pull on the switch holding the clip to the gun upward and pull the clip one or two inches back and it will easily come off. Just as easily you can replace a new one.

Note: I have just recently realized that my Overlords piercer gets the 12 grams stuck. I cannot remove them by just screwing out the cap and letting them drop, they get stuck in there and I have to use pliers to remove them. Ive gone through a number of 12 grams and they all seem to get stuck in there. I called Ariakon and they told me that it will do that depending on the brand of 12 grams you use. I was using Crosman Copperheads and they told me that several people have been calling them complaining about the same thing and that they were all using Crosmans. The company representative told me to use Brass Eagle 12 grams because the tip of the 12 gram is smoother and more refined. The Crosman brand has a sort of large "disk" shape to it that will stuck itself into the piercer. The gun does not leak gas at all. I know because I placed a fresh 12 gram into the gun and left it over night to test if it leaked. It shot all thirty the next day! Thats amazing in a paintball pistol. I suppose the trade off is having such a tight fit for the 12 gram for that to happen. I removed the screw that is supposed to be for the bottom line adaptor and used a flat head screw driver with a taped up tip to not to scratch the threading and paintjob and placed it into the hole and used it to pry the 12 gram out. Try using these tips if you have any problems like I did. If you have any questions on some problems let me know in the comments because I usually respond. If I dont, try emailing me at Chris_the_barbarian@hotmail.com. I will be studying and using this pistol to become very familiar with it and I might know how to solve some of these problems because it has happened to me and I have been able to fix it.

Note 10/08/05: I have left the Overlord with a fresh cartridge for three weeks now. And to my surprise the Overlord has fired all 30 shots during the game! This is a leak proof pistol! Because of this wonderful feature, I will bring up the rating from a 9, to a 10. I dont think any other pistol out there, that I know of can have this kind of reliability.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, October 16th, 2005 at 8:31 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

PiranhaDude05 Sunday, March 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month24 of 31 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
first pistol
Marker Setup: sstock gun, w/ holster and extra mag
Recommended
Upgrades:
extra mags, holster. i am hoping to get a bottomline for it, then a q-loader for the top... that'll be sweet.
Strengths: fast firing, accurate, awesome magazine setup, medium weight, very good CO2 efficiency
Weaknesses: You gotta clean whole gun if paint breaks on bolt.
Review: I think this is an awesome gun overall, it is a great sidearm. it has a fast trigger, and is awesome for bunkering,it is reliable, also, the magazine setup rules all, you can carry two extras in the holster (which i recommend getting the holster ad extra mags) it is not very heavy, and it has great accuracy, i could shoot ta can off of another can on a stump at about 20 feet w/o moving the bottom can. a very nice gun overall. at 110.00 dollars, it is a good price for a great gun.
Conclusion: I recommend this gun for any player, speedball, scenario, or woodsball. it is an awesome gun for everyone
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, May 10th, 2005 at 6:16 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DeadeyeDEMON666 Saturday, April 2nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month22 of 32 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
My first pistol.
Marker Setup: Spyder Rodeo w/ stock barrel and 12oz. C02
Recommended
Upgrades:
Extra magazines and a good holster made by Ariakon
Strengths: shoots straight, C02 conserver, and cheap
Weaknesses: None really
Review: Amazing gun. best I have ever used! Shoots very far, does not curve at all and i think it may even be better than most normal paintball markers and the market today. It has an awesome color. (Black !B<) When you get one make sure you cock the gun before adding the C02 or else you will have wasted a whole 12 gram C02 canister and that's about 50 cents down the drain. One bad thing though is that if a paintball chops,(which it rarely does with this gun unless you have horrible paintballs { Cough cough -Brass Eagle- cough cough -freedom paint-}) otherwise this gun is the best investment I have ever made.
Conclusion: Buy it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Rating: 100 out of 10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

zcollier Tuesday, November 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month12 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PGP, Nelspot 007, Spyder
Marker Setup: A-5 with JCS Red Hot Powertube, Shockteck bolt, JCS RVA, Spec Ops foregrip shroud, and 8" Lapco Bigshot with Suppressor
Recommended
Upgrades:
Some way to prevent the CO2 12-grams from getting stuck
Strengths: Looks cool, 10-round reloaders
Weaknesses: CO2 12-grams get stuck
Pistol is larger than expectations
Review: Please see EDIT in conclusion section as I have now 2 years of experience with the product.

======

Despite some knocks against this pistol (described below) I do very much like it. Like any marker, it has its limitations.

When I first received my pistol (I bought mine online), I was actually a bit shocked at how big it was. If you're a female, or a male with a smaller hand (or child), chances are that you're not going to like using the Ariakon Overlord. If you're going to buy an Overlord to actually use as a back-up gun, you'd best have a large hand.

The look is great. I think the Overlord is one of the handsomest of the pistols currently on the market. The CO2 efficiency is great (I get about 27 shots per 12-gram), the fast-reloader system is great. It takes a little time to get used to the speedloaders. The Overlord comes with sticky-grips that make it nice to hold. The grips, the efficiency, and the accuracy (the Overlord was quite a bit more accurate than I expected it would be) are the real selling points.

I'd still like to see about getting some more CO2 efficiency out of the marker, as I see (what I think is) a lot of CO2 coming out around the hammer area when the marker is fired. And of course, there's the 12-grams getting stuck problem. I'm going to see if this can be fixed with a small piece of PVC with an o-ring or bushing on it that will pop the CO2 off of the piercing pin and cup seal when the CO2 knob is screwed down. For what it's worth, I disagree that "use Brass Eagle 12-grams" is an acceptable answer to the problem of stuck 12-grams. The Overlord is just about the *only* marker for which this is a problem. 12-grams have been in use since the beginning of paintball. Indeed they were the first power source ever used. For the (roughly) 25-year life of paintball, to make a pistol that causes "any other brand" of 12-gram to get stuck borders on unacceptable. The sticking problem shouldn't be demonstrative of a problem with Crosman or any other brand of CO2 12-gram powerlet, it's demonstrative of poor design, or insufficient quality engineering with regard to Ariakon's product development. (Yes, I'm working on a solution to help prevent the powerlets from sticking)

I wish Ariakon's Overlord was smaller and lighter, but I fear this is the minimum size that any dual-stacked-tube blowback can be. Of the paintballs I have shot through this pistol, I especially liked using DraXxus Hellfire.

Couple of notes: The spring feeder is sometimes a bit "overeager" and sometimes needs to be pushed back a bit so that a new ball can drop into the firing chamber. This problem will probably improve with time as the spring gets a bit looser.

Reviews on the holster for the Overlord are mixed. It certainly holds the pistol as desired. However, I have noticed a tendency for the pistol and holster to drift to the front of the leg instead of remaining along the side of the leg.

Regardless, I paid $110.00 for my Overlord (I bought the Olive-colored for $10.00 more), and the VALUE you get in the pistol for $100.00 is really very very good.
Conclusion: Size = 6
Looks = 10
Accuracy = 9
Efficiency = 8
Value = 10
CO2 problem = 6 (we'll factor in the CO2 problem because it's so glaring)

Total = 48

48 / 6 = 8

My first pick would have been the PT Extreme. I wish the Overlord had a CO2 quick-change like the PT Extreme. Of course the problem is that the quick-change didn't work so well and leaked.

I'd much rather have a pistol that holds its charge and as such is able to fire off a good 25-30 semi-auto rounds, than have a leaky quick-change.

If you're not willing to spend $400 - $500 on a Sydarm (if you can find one), this would probably be your next best bet.

Despite my comments above I *DO* like the Overlord enough to have bought two pistols. It's still cheaper than one Sydarm. Use your best judgment.

----------
EDIT:
Well, 2 years after submitting the review, I have more feedback to provide. With respect to the CO2 issue, I purchased an ungodly number of CO2 cartridges. I mean ungodly. 500. Yeah. Something was wrong with me.

So anyway, I no longer have a problem with the CO2 cartridges. However, the pistol itself didn't get any smaller. :)

Updated:
Size = 6
Looks = 10
Accuracy = 9
Efficiency = 8
Value = 10
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, October 29th, 2007 at 9:24 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

PBJ_717 Sunday, August 28th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Overlord
3 10 round clips
Tac Light
Ariakon holster
Profiler Mask
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definitely buy 2 extra mags
Ariakon holster
mayebe a tac light (for that extra scare factor and the look)
Strengths: Great accuracy
loading system
Delron bolt
Air efficency
Quick break down
Good weight
Good look
Weaknesses: Maybe the weight (see body)
Review: Packaging
First off when i received my Overlord it was in a foam padded box with spare parts. There was no way it was going to be damaged. The people at Ariakon really take pride in the care of their product from the moment it leaves them till it arrives to you. Right out of the box it was ready to go. No need to oil or nuthin. Just set the velocity and your ready.

Accuracy
At first glance this marker dose not look like it would be very accurate at all but let me tell you, this pistol is extremely accurate. I mean the accuracy just blew me away! I was able to lay ball over ball over ball from 50 feet.

Air efficiency
The air efficiency of the Overlord is outstanding. I get about an average of 20-25 balls out of one 12 gram. This is why you dont have to buy more than 2 extra mags for this pistol because thats 30 rounds and you would run out of air before you ran out of paint. It also does't leak at all. I accidental left a unused 12 gram in after a little fun in the sun(actually it was sprinkling,cold and cloudy but the sun sounds better) of playing one time and then left for the rest of the day to go to the state fair(it was a lot of fun) and then stayed the night at my friends house. In the morning before i went home i could't remember if i had a 12 gram in the marker. Well i decided to fire it and what do ya know, there was a 12 gram in there. I got 21 shots with it so i know it didn't leak. One huge flaw of the air system is that 12 grams get stuck. The only way to get them out is to unscrew the access port and pry out the 12 gram. This problem is worse with the use of Crosman Copperheads because they are a peice of crap! Use brass eagle 12 grams and the problem just goes away though.

Cleaning
This marker is so easy to clean. All you need to do is take one pin out ant the bolt comes right out. A quick wipe down of the internals with a wet rag and back in to the marker they go. The best part about it is that you dont need to oil the bolt because is made of Delron, which oils itself.

Weight
Most people would say that the Overlord is heavier that most other pistols and they would be right. Now that could be a bad thing but I think that the weight is a good thing. It gives you the feeling of durability and strength. It really is personal preference to whether the weight is to much. I think its not though.

Loading system
The revolutionary loading system is enough of a reason to get this pistol alone. It slides on and of extremely easily and fluidly. The design is a work of genus. Just lift the spring loaded lever and slid of. Then just place and slid on another clip. The only ting negative about them is it takes some time to learn exactly were to places the clip before sliding them on. If you dont get them in the right spot then it could jam but nothing that isn't to hard to fix.

The look and feel
The look of this marker is awesome! The first time i took it to the Field my friends were commenting on the way it looked more than anything else. I really love the look! The balance is very good. The grip has this little extra room for your middle finger which lets the weight of the marker rest on the finger.

Oh ya and buy the way it is cheep!

Conclusion: All in all the Overlord is an outstanding, reliable and accurate marker. Other than the 12 gram thing this is the best pistol, not just for the price, but probably the best pistol you can buy. GET IT!!!!! I would give it a 9 because nothing in this world is perfect except this marker!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, September 2nd, 2005 at 6:58 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

AccessTime Monday, May 23rd, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Zeus G2
Marker Setup: A5 w/ RT, double trigger.
Recommended
Upgrades:
No useful accessories avaliable at this time.
Strengths: Reasonable accuracy, less 'kick' than other pistols, inexpensive, lightweight but high-quality internals.
Weaknesses: Ball feed mechanism.
Review: Overall I think this is the best semi-auto pistol on the market. It has the typical weaknesses of pistols including the tube feed mechanism that can cause ball chopping, an upward kick when firing that hurts multi-shot accuracy, etc. In my experience, it was the best in both these aspects, ball chopping is quite rare and the kick is less than other pistols due to the high-grade, lightweight internals. I was only able to get 20 shots off a 12-gram before the velocity started to drop. It's easy to forget to cock the gun before loading the 12-gram, subsequently wasting the 12-gram. Easy to maintain, it can be stripped, cleaned, and put back together in a minute or two if you know what you're doing.
Conclusion: If you want a pistol for whatever purpose, this is the one to get.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Unreal Insanity Friday, March 25th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
This is my first Pistol.
Marker Setup: TIppman A-5, Evil Pipe Kit, M-4 Scenario Kit, and Crossfire 68ci/3000psi tank, Ariakon Overlord pistol
Recommended
Upgrades:
Extra magzines.
Strengths: Accurate, fast shoting and gas efficient
Weaknesses: If ball breaks, the entire gun most be disassembled, and clean.(Which is nothing)
Review: This gun was made with perfection! The magazine pops out in matter of seconds, very gas efficient, and shots like a dart.

Its a little heavy when I first used it, but I dont care about weight. Tried it out outside, and at 50 feets I was hitting bottles left and right. A perfect 10 out of 10. Its well engineered and priced just right.

I recommend this side arm for any woodsballand scenario player out there.
Conclusion: Well made piece of equipment and priced right. I recommend it to any woodsball and scenario player out there.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mattshark Thursday, December 29th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
- J & J Performance Full Tilt Ceramic 2-Piece Barrel
- View Loader hopper
- Response trigger
- Expansion chamber
- Dark Horizons Lite tintanium bolt

Ariakon Overlord (sidearm)
Recommended
Upgrades:
No upgrades are available as of now however more mags would be best.
Strengths: -Looks amazing
-Very fast reload
-Very acurate
-Quite efficient
-Price is great
Weaknesses: -It's big
-Front heavy
-Large grip
-Some co2 cartrige problems
Review: Dispite some of the minor flaws, this gun is great. I'll start in the order you recognise things

1. Getting the gun.
-When you get your Overlord you will notice that Ariakon spent some effort into packing this. the box is sturdy and has a nice foam egshell padding for the gun which is great for storage. Comes complete with a barrel plug, allen wrench for dissasembling the trigger, o-rings, velocity adjustor, spare striker cushion, and a spare cup seal.

-Now onto the gun. of course the first thing you will notice is how amazingly awesome this gun looks. it has a great futuristic look to it as well as a great form to it. The grip is quite big however yet very comfortable. The gun measures at 13" long, 8" tall, and 1.25" wide. As you hold the gun you will notice its quite heavy as well as front heavy. The grip is designed to fit well with a bigger hand and will place the weight of the gun mainly on the middle finger. the trigger is quite easy to pull however the opposite is a little different. Cocking the bolt is a bit tough seeing as theres only room for 2 fingers and a tight spring pushing forward you could find yourself in a akward fight to cock this gun.

-The gun has a very easy strip system. the main bulk of the internals are held together with one pin. Just remove one little clip and slide the pin out and...opps...your back velocity lug has just flown accross the room. this of course im sure has happened to any new owner that has not read a guide in taking care of their ariakon. so now that the back velocity lug is off you can remove the velocity spring and the pin to go with it, as well as the striker cushion. Now all you have to do is pull the bolt back and the striker comes with it and you get an easy strip in less then 30 secconds.

2. performance.
-Loading up this gun is quite simple. cock the bolt back and remove the co2 cap then pop in a 12 gram cartrige. screw down the cap and you wil hear a nice satisfying hiss. the down side is that if you use any cartrige with a lip on the end you are bound to get it stuck in the puncture valve. I recomend you use Brass Eagles as they have a tappered end that works well however if you over tighten the co2 cap you may get it stuck in the puncture valve just the same. the only solution to this is to bang the gun against your hand in hope that the cartrige will dislodge and fall out into your hand.

-The magazines couldnt be any easier. just pop off the Magazine Plug cock the spring back load in 10 balls put the plug back in engage the spring and you're ready. just slide the mag into place and it locks itself in. Twist the plug to release the balls into the chamber and your set. Theres a nice little gap between the gun and the mag so you can see if there is another ball coming down into the chamber or not so you dont have to count your shots. Swaping mags couldnt be easier. Just pull the latch up slide off the mag and put the next one on. Reloading the mags can be a little frustrating however especialy out on the battlefeild.

-Shooting this gun is verry nice. the accuracy is great at close range yet at 70'+ the acuracy reallys starts do drop with low velocities. the barrel measures at 8.5" long about as long as the stock tippman 98 barrel. The recoil is substantial, and can really mess up your aim if fired in rapid succesion. Air efficiency is quite decent. at a higher velocity I get about 22 shots per cartrige at about 40 degree temperature. thats enough for 2 clips and some room for accidental dry shots. due to the front heavy-ness its recomended that you use your other hand to stablize the gun if you want to be dead accurate, unless if you have a firm grip on the gun. reloading again is quite simple and can be done in under 10 seconds. reloading co2 however is a pain. you have to unscrew the cap, pray to god the cartrige is willing to come out, pop in another and tighten it up. Takes about 30 seconds if you can get the cartrige out easily. and then of course you have to cock the gun again (make sure you do this before you pop the seal on the cartrige or you will lose about 1 shot-worth of co2.) this can be akward and tough if you get frustrated or are simply under fire and cant seem to get the dang bolt cocked back. Cleaning is a bit tough. I cycled about 200 balls and 1 broke. the paint stuck around and is still in the gun because a normal squeegee cant seem to get it out. you need some sort of swab or something to clean it out compleatly or you will have a bit of paint left over. over all its a great gun if your prepared for a some pesky little things that are just tedious.
Conclusion: So here ill break it all down
1 Price- 9
a. Gun $99.99 - 10
b. Mag $34.99 - 7
c. Holster 34.99 -10

2 Appeal- 9.5
a. Looks- 10
b. Feel - 9

3 Quality- 8.5
a. Durability - 10
b. Craftmanship - 7

4 accuracy- 9

overall -9
Drawbacks
-Weight
-Grip size
-CO2 cartrige getting stuck
-Hard to get completely clean
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media