paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto 2 Piece Barrel / Proto 2 Piece Barrel / Proto 2 Piece Barrel

Proto 2 Piece Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto 2 Piece Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto 2 Piece Barrel
[ View Photos (5) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 22
Average Rating: 8.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $80

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Proto barrels are manufactured with premium 6061-T6 high-grade aluminum and honed to .690 and 8 micron finish. Proto barrels are available in two models, single tube construction and two piece configuration. Additionally, straight porting makes the Proto barrel a quiet and most accurate addition to your gun.

Available in black, red, blue and clear. Sizes are 12" and 14" lengths for single tube and 14" and 16" lengths for two piece. Made for most markers.
Product Availability 
The Proto 2 Piece Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
B_Manz Monday, June 22nd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Best to Worst:
Proto 2-piece (14")
Smart Parts Linear (14")
J&J Ceramic (16")
Ion Stock Barrel
Spyder stock barrels
Marker Setup: SP Ion XE
Proto 2-piece Barrel (14")
360 QEV
ViewLoader eVlution 2
PMI 68/3000
Recommended
Paintballs:
Best to Worst:
RPS Stingers/Inertia
Visible Impact/ Anything X-ball (although expensive)
DXS Bronze
Strengths: Lightweight
Accurate
Great Colors/finish
2-piece
Weaknesses: Doesn't come with an o-ring (took it from stock barrel)
Review: First off, let me just say that this thing looks fantastic right out of the tube! (look at photos) I got mine in blue on Ebay for $25, and it was definitely worth it!

As soon as i got home, i took it out and tried it with some 3-week old (not counting sitting on the shelf at Wal-Mart) Impact paint and shot it. The barrel bore was a little big for these, but it still shot great! It is no contest which barrel i will be using from now on on my Ion.

Some of the paintballs really only curved because they were kind of old, and had dimples. This is great though, and i would highly recommend this to a friend.

EDIT: I found some old stingers that seemed to be in decent shape with only a few dimples, and they shot ropes! Far better than the impact which was a little small.

If you want to have different bore sizes, you cannot get any more form Proto, but the Dye Ultralite fronts and backs are interchangeable with Proto fronts and backs. For example, you could have a Dye UL .685 back and the Proto front, or you could have the Proto .690 back with a Dye UL front.
Conclusion: Find this on Ebay and buy it! Great addition to any gun! 10/10
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, June 27th, 2009 at 10:04 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Rex_recta Wednesday, June 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
UL, proto 1 piece, etc.
Marker Setup: Red to Black fade PM5
Phat mini drop
AIM on/off
Proto 2 piece
Red Halo B
45/45 Pure Energy
Recommended
Paintballs:
ALotta mid bore. Stingers, rampage, hemmorage, prem's.
Strengths: Light
2 piece
CAN ACCEPT UL TIPS
Weaknesses: None
Review: Well, my coach gave me this barrel because he UL'd (both barrel and frame) his PM6 and I gave it a whirl. At the time I was borrowing barrel's from team mates ranging from freak kits, to autococker 1 piece prostock barrel, kaner kit, shaft 1 pieces. So when I got this barrel I was pleasently pleased. I am not much of a 12 inch barrel guy, so I tried taking a 14 inch UL tip off of my friends ion, he would use 12 inch tip and it worked very well on the proto back. I did not have one barrel break all day. Then again, out of all the barrels I have used, I never broke a ball with my proto.
Conclusion: I recommend anyone get this. Its a great barrel and though I paid dirt cheap for mine, they are relatively inexpensive and very good on paint.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

lilevil Friday, January 12th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
proto 1 piece
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
~Proto 2 piece
~Pure Energy 3k 47
~12v Revy
Recommended
Paintballs:
Dont know so far have only shot with reballs
Strengths: Very accurate
Quiet
Smooth internals
Can have UL tips
Weaknesses: Just a hair off of boomstick accuracy
Review: I had my new barrel choice down to 3 barrel- j & j full tilt 2 piece, proto 2 piece, and proto 1 piece. i went down to my local field and shot the 1 and 2 piece proto, switching off between the 2 during the hopper., there really close, i was shooting at a pole and a few bunkers, around 50-60 feet away, and with each barrel i was able to graze bunkers, and keep a tight grouping on the pole around the same distance away. but the difference lies in that with the 2 piece i had less correcting and was able to keep longer strings going without having to move the gun alot, it seems every 5-8 shots with the one piece i had to re adjust the gun to keep the balls on spot, i could see this better when i was shooting at the pole, the field i was testing at was croegaert's reball field in Rock Island, IL. find them on pbnation and u will see how far i was shooting, i was on blue side shooting at the far pole on red side. overall this is a great barrel, but just off of the boomstick, but a great buy deffinetly!!!
Conclusion: I recommend this barrel for people who want a barrel that can perform damn close to the boomstick without the sticker price. go get this barrel, very very nice.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Zaunji Sunday, February 25th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Ion barrel
Freak
Marker Setup: ~Black SP Ion~
Warrior Ion Feedneck
NDZ EZ on-off ASA w/ rail
Proto 2-peice
Orange ADF detents
SP QEV
Critical RPM Trigger

47/3000 HP Aluminum Crossfire tank
VLocity JR.
Recommended
Paintballs:
X-Ball Bronze (a tad small but fire great)
Dusk (If you can get it, it fits very well)
Strengths: Very light
Great Porting
2-peice
cheap
Smooth inside
looks awesome
Weaknesses: Threads are a bit squeaky
Review: When I was getting a barrel for my Ion I didn't have much money. I saw that this barrel had a very great price. So I got it, not being too sure on whether it was good or not. All I knew was that it looked cool and it was cheap.

It was extremely light, it was as light as the bag I brought it home in... Inside it was quite smooth too.

The porting was positioned perfectly. When I shot I noticed a big difference in the quietness between it and my stock barrel. The way they put the porting also adds style too, IMO.

The performance of this barrel can definitely compare to a freak that I tried at the field.
Conclusion: The performance of this barrel amazed me. It's also very cheap, its light, its smooth, its a very good barrel. I strongly recommend this barrel.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, February 25th, 2007 at 4:48 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

StumpyManager Sunday, February 25th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Barrel
Marker Setup: Proto PMR 06
Halo B
P/E 45/4800 N2 Tank
Proto 2 Piece
Trinity Feedneck
New Designs Scythe Trigger
Recommended
Paintballs:
Stingers, Premiums, just none of that Monsterball crap.
Strengths: Accurate... very accurate
Light
Cheap
Weaknesses: Doesn't come with a barrel bag, hard to carry around
Review: This was a great addition to my PMR. Even though the stock 12 inch one piece was really accurate, the two piece actually makes it more accurate; doesnt that say something? Before, I could lane decently off the break, with maybe one or two paintballs going a little wide. But with this new trigger, i was able to dominate the break. At one point, I was able to eliminate 3 people off the break, on a 4 people team. Domination. That's how much of a difference in accuracy and power this barrel is. Amazing.
Conclusion: If you have the sixty bucks, this is money well spent. Not the first upgrade needed for the PMR, but a damn goodone at that. Get this barrel and your game will improve!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ikey Thursday, June 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
most barrels, proto 1 peice
Marker Setup: stock karnivor
Recommended
Paintballs:
anyhting that fits
Strengths: Very light, good looking, pretty good performance
Weaknesses: Not really any
Review: this is a fantastic stock barrel. i mnea obviously some guns come with barrel kits, pipes, or ULs. but in general, compared to most stock barrels this is very nice. its worth using. most people would complain that it is not 14 inches if you get it would a gun....which is probably the only reason why it is not more popular.

this barrel is very light. i would say it is lighter than a UL. it looks nice. the internals finish is not quite as smooth as a UL, but then again i have never seen a barrel that is better than a UL either. however finish is still good. these barrels arent anything special in the noise depanrtment....pretty standard. they are acurate however. even teh 1 peice is a good performer. the special thing about this barrel is that since it is made by dye, it fits with dye barrel parts. you can use a dye back with a proto front, or a proto back with a dye front. that wil ljust make your barrel look better, gives more options for kits and sizes, and since they are dye parts it is just kaing the barrel perform better.
Conclusion: generally stock barrels are something you take off and never use again.....because they cant hold up to your fancy barrel kit. this barrel is good enough to see some use. it definitely stands up to UL performance (not quite there IMO but close). i would give it a 10, but some guns do come with better stock barrels.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Massempirepb Friday, February 25th, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Sly
Dye
Freak
Marker Setup: Dp fusion Fx and a closer virtued
Vitrue board
Sly carbon fiber barrel/ ultralite
Ninja tank
Dye rotor
Recommended
Paintballs:
Depending on the bore size. I always go .692 the bigger the bore the better the accuracy in most cases
Strengths: Price
2 piece
Accurate
Weaknesses: Nothing I can find.
Review: I hade this barrel barrel on my pm6 . The barrel worked great on all kinds of paint and I'd shoot 2 or 3 different cases of paint a day with the same barrel with no problems. Also the barrel looks great on my pm6 or my dp fusion or my system x nme . All around a great barrel.
Conclusion: Good affordable quality barrel. A great buy you'll be happy with for sure
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

THESTONEA Saturday, May 29th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
freak barrel
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom
bt m16 stock
ninja 48 pin tank
proto 14" 2 piece barrel
stock hopper
Strengths: Very accurate and pretty silent also cheap
Weaknesses: hHaven't found any yet
Review: When I got this I was a little scared at first cause it didn't look very professional, but I had to try since it was $25 down from $90 I immediately screwed on my marker and hit the field. I was very impressed you definitely get better accuracy then your stock barrel and it also makes your marker a bit quieter. It also makes your marker look bad ass.
Conclusion: I recommend this to both speedball and woodsball players it is a great barrel I have had a great time using it. Whoever buy this will definitely have a great time too.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

CanadianPB41 Friday, March 5th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None
Recommended
Paintballs:
XO or Draxxus but it's up to you
Strengths: Light
Accurate
Quiet
Price point
Weaknesses: Nothing really.
Review: First off, as every knows, proto is owned by dye so this is pretty much a cheap UL with one less row of porting. for the price it's a great barrel that's really light and accurate. i normally end up using mid to low end XO paint and it still shoots great out of this barrel. if you need a new barrel and don't have the cash to get a UL, buy this.
Conclusion: If you're tight on cash and need a high quality barrel, this is for you. I'm giving it an 8 only becasue it's a step down from a UL and the UL isn't perfect either.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

virtue ions rul Tuesday, March 17th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Boom stick
UL
Pepper stix
Tear drop
stock ion
proto 1 peice
cp classic 1 piece
cp 2 piece
u name it ive used it
Marker Setup: -SP ion
-trinity Q-lock feed neck
-body kit
-proto 2 piece 14 and 16 inch fronts
-tear drop 14 in.
-virtue blue eyes
-virtue OLED board
-virtue grips for OLED board
-virtue ez on 2.0
-firebolt
-360 QEV
-trinity roller trigger
-hybrid on/off asa
-empire bottom rail for hybrid on/off
-trinity bullet on/off asa
-halo v35 with victory board
-draxxus carbon fiber stubby tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
wpn toxic
wpn grade
bushido
proballs
players choice
marblizers
anything thts .68 bore
NEVER USE MONSTERBALLS ON ANYTHING!!!!!!!!! but practice in your back yard ya u can
Strengths: Light
Nice finish
Sturdy
Affordable
Easy to clean
Weaknesses: Doesn't come with O ring
Sqeaky
Add a little oil and ur good
Review: I've used almost every barrel known and this would have to be my favorite when it comes to bang for the buck. i got my barrel for my ion for $20 EBAY but my local shop sells them for 40 or so less if you can negotiate.
but it is very lightwieght
love it i got a black back and a blue front so its looks pretty good u can make straight lanes with this.
ive tried the tear drop front sp and it shoots spirals so im happy with this one.
o ya this is also the one im using right now and probably till i can afford a freak kit
Conclusion: Buy this barrel if u want the most bang for your buck
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media