paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / WDP Angel G7 / WDP Angel G7 / WDP Angel G7 / WDP Angel G7

WDP Angel G7 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount WDP

Buy WDP Angel G7

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


WDP Angel G7
[ View Photos (30) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 53
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $1500

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Angel G7 is the result of 9 years of Angel advancement and technical refinement. After being premiered at the San Diego NPPL event in November 2004, the G7 is due to be fully revealed at the Huntington Beach Super 7 World Series Event #1 on 17th March at the WDP booth.

The G7 has retained the Angels’ classically beautiful form, albeit in a tighter, more athletic package, but that is where most of the similarities end. Read on….

The G7’s internals have been completely redesigned, the basic component layout remains the same as previous low pressure Angels, but the components themselves are radically and conceptually different from Angels that have gone before.

The Angel G7 is even smaller and lighter than the A4 fly, which it replaces as WDP’s flagship marker.

The familiar pull-knob used to open the breach mechanism has been replaced with a sculpted lever-lok on the G7’s back plate, giving a smoother, more symmetrical line which, coupled with the G7s ultra-smooth lines, allows for faster cleaning and wipe downs between games. The new lever-lok also allows the bolt to be positioned further forward into the breech than was previously possible.

The G7’s redesigned ram and bolt incorporate larger porting than previous Angels. The hammer's weight and size has been reduced by over 30%, significantly reducing the kick caused by the hammer's movement on each shot, and producing the most stable firing platform possible. A single locating pin holds the re-designed ram unit in the optimum position, negating ram adjustment and ensuring that the ram is perfectly positioned to maximise performance at all times.

The G7’s exhaust valve guide and stem have also had a radical overhaul. The valve guide porting has been enlarged by 50% and re-designed to direct gas as efficiently and smoothly as possible through the valve and bolt on to the ball with minimum flow distortion.

The valve stem has seen a complete redesign,with a NEW valve stem, NEW spring and NEW spring guide being made as one modular system, offering even better shot to shot consistency. The valve, spring, and guide have also been miniaturised to facilitate a larger gas chamber. This, combined with a larger volume chamber in the mini reg, lowers the operating pressure of the marker to 225psi with no volumizer present, making the G7 the lowest pressure Angel ever, A small volumizer can still be used to lower the pressure even further if required.

The G7’s grip frame and trigger mechanism is identical to the awesome Angel Speed. The trigger is held by two roller bearings so it runs friction free. The trigger incorporates a dual polarity magnet system that uses 4 magnets. Two located in the trigger itself and a further two located in the G7’s vernier adjustment wheels. The magnets work in pairs. The front pair work as an attracting pair, the rear pair as an opposing set. This creates an ultra-smooth, crisp trigger action that has been so popular in the Angel Speed, and provides the perfect interface to deliver the G7’s awesome rate of fire of 31 balls per second at a consistent velocity.

The G7’s moulded grip panels have built in windows revealing the marker's advanced LCD user- interface and the reprogramming sensor. The redesigned panels allow for a slimmer narrower feeling grip. This redesign, coupled with additional tactile panels on the front and rear of the frame, gives four contact points between the hand and the grip frame. You have never been more in control.

The Angel G7's 3 function buttons are situated under a soft rubber membrane.

The 4.8 volt rechargeable metal hydride battery is still used, only this time it is a slim line version that is 1oz (28 grams) lighter than the previous battery, further reducing the guns overall weight.

The LPR in the Angel G7 has also been completely re-designed. The porting has been opened up by 50% and the springs and piston have been remodelled, to increase the gas flow and re-charge rate,. As a result, there has been a massive increase in stability and recovery rate, giving the user unsurpassed shot to shot consistency. Guaranteeing zero drop in range or accuracy even while achieving the G7’s incredible 31bps rate of fire.

The mini reg incorporates a front tactile rubber grip for extra control and stability, whilst inside the porting has been increased 100% to allow for even greater gas supply and increased flow to cope with lower pressure and increased fire power.

The G7’s bolt is still based on the proven soft face bolt, but is now longer, and designed to work in tandem with the new high-flow valving, to ensure smooth turbulence-free travel for the gas blast as it is released to fire the paintball. This increases gas efficiency and shot to shot consistency.

The Angels advanced electronics have always been the industry benchmark. The G7’s board incorporates all the technical features loved by Angel users the world over. The Angel G7 now incorporates the 'switch ON and GO' feature as proven in the Angel Speed. Vibrating alarms and game timers that can be set in 30 second increments, shot counters, temperature read out, Infrared communication, trigger de-bounce settings, and the usual array of modes that one would expect from the Worlds most advanced Paintball Marker.

Due to the diversification of tournament rules, extra modes have been added to the G7’s arsenal, including the introduction of 15 bps capped modes. These new modes allow G7 users to out-shoot their opponents no matter what tournament restrictions are in place.

The loader speed settings have also been increased. The standard, medium, fast and S-fast settings seen on the fly are replaced with settings that run from 1 to 16 with the familiar S-fast setting actually equating to a number 8 setting. This further increases the users opportunity of achieving the Angel's incredible maximum rate of fire when used in conjunction with a fully functional, high performance loader.

The G7 is available in the following colours
Black Gloss Polish
Graphite Gloss Polish
Red Gloss Polish
Deep Blue Gloss Polish
Black Dust
Graphite Dust

• NEW smaller, lighter rechargeable battery unit.
• NEW Breech release system
• NEW redesigned Zero Kick Ram Unit
• NEW modular Exhaust system
• NEW smaller 14 way valve
• NEW Larger Volume chambers and sculpted gas porting
• for even lower pressure
• NEW longer, remodelled Soft Face Bolt.
• NEW modes of fire
• NEW Gripper Panels
• 45 frame or 90 frame Grip Options
• Hi-Gloss ‘Liquid finish’
Product Availability 
The WDP Angel G7 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
TeK NeaK Thursday, April 21st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month34 of 37 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Nothings realy in the same category
Marker Setup: 2005 WDP Angel G7 -Blue
Halo B w/ RIP Drive and Victory Board
Check-It Unimount -Black
68ci 4500psi LP Angel Air

2005 Black Smart Parts Ion
14" Evil Pipe Kit (all black)
Custom Products 3D Flame Drop Forward w/ On/Off (black)
Evolution 2 w/ Z-Board (black)
Shocktech No-Rise Clamping Feed Neck (black)
Custom Products In-Line Regulator (black)
Hybrid Fresh Lady Grips (black)
Dye Rhino Bottle Cover (black)
88cu 4500psi Carbon Fiber PMI Pure Energy HPA

Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing, this is as souped up as you will need, just get a victory (v.35) board for your halo if you expect to shoot as fast as it is capable of!
Strengths: Looks, speed, maintenence, manual/disc, eyes.
Weaknesses: Nothing realy, I hate saying that, but realy nothing!
Review: Ok, first this thing is great looking, no picture online quite grasps the clean lines and rich textured anno this thing has! It is absolutely breathtaking!

Out of the box it is ready to go, make a few chrono adjustments and start ripping, but read the cd-rom supplied to understand the settings and how they affect your marker before attempting to shoot at full capability. It is programmed with no bounce and shooting maximum 15 bps out of the box. The marker is fairly quiet when shooting paint and very, very little kick. When you start ripping on the trigger you realy cant notice any kick at all and no drop off. I would however recommend a low pressure tank, even though some say it can handle a high pressure tank, go low pressure and make things easier on the marker. After all, it cost $1500.00 and if in case you happen to over pressurize the marker, it isnt going to be pretty. Now on to the comments some make about this not being worth the extra money over the regular speed. It is, you get an LCD screen, more of a low pressure set up, better internals and a all round great marker! It only needs to be oiled every 8,000 shots and greased every 20,000 shots. Talk avout easy maintenence! I personally prefer an LCD over an LED, easier interface and less room for error.

Shooting for the first game was very easy to achieve the maximum bps I had it set for, with some trigger adjustments to my liking. Extremely efficient on a 68 4500 lp Angel Air tank i got around 1800 shots on a hot fill. Some say Angels "lob" balls across the field, and physics prove this to be wrong, I wont go into that, this thing shoots lazers accross the field. The eyes, with proper settings, do not chop. What i mean by proper settings is, you can physicaly set how many balls per second you want to shoot. But if you have it set to 25 bps, and your hopper settings set low, its not gonna do 25 bps. Please if you are not familiar with the settings read the manual carefully before playing and getting frustrated. Consistency, well hows +/- 2 fps for ya?

Hopper, if you really want to shoot this thing at full potential, the halo b and the victory (v.35) board is the only way you are gonna achieve 30 bps. If you just want a fast hopper for tourney play, any hopper that is force feed will work, egg, halo b, empier reloader b, etc.

Feed neck, this is the first feed neck i have had that stock fits my halo b! Wow, right, usualy you have to sand down, not with this marker! I like the o-ring set up, it works very well, but what would a $1500.00 marker be with something that wasn't thought about?

Barrel, stock is great, but there are quieter barrels out there. If you do get another barrel, dont skimp on this, the marker is light, so dont go and get a $30.00 5 pound barrel to go on it.

ASA, i use a check it unimount, i dont realy think it is necessary to put a drop forward on it, but it is totaly up to the user on that, it is a personal preference only. But do get one with an on/off.

Eyes, these are the best eyes i've ever seen on any marker period. WDP realy thought long and hard on which eyes to come out with. They work great and efficiently, i havent chopped yet!

Conclusion: This is the best marker out there IMHO, and when you get into the $1,000.00 range, the difference in markers is feel and software. Go test them, or read a lot about them, I love mine and anyone who has that kind of money to spend would be lucky to own one. The craftmanship WDP put into this marker is phenominal, if you have every seen one you will know what im saying. Great marker, best on the market IMHO, and fastest marker out there, period.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

LipGlossandBlac Friday, March 18th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested24 of 33 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dm4, Karnivor, JD Fly, 05 Speed, Stock Cyborg, Dark timmy
Marker Setup: Black/Red DM4, Tadao board. Dye "peanut". Red Halo B.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe A Barrel kit?
Strengths: Fast
Sexy
LIGHT LIGHT LIGHT
Easy to use LCD
Made by WDP
Weaknesses: Timmy users throw rocks at you
Too much money
Bigger paint bill
Review: Well I tested this bad boy out on thursday, the day it was unveiled at HB. Boy first thing I thought when I saw it was how great the Colors were and the smooth lines of the marker. After asking the angel guys to air one up and fill it with paint, i took it out back for a target shoot. Took a couple test shots, this marker is QUIET, Extremeley smooth trigger pull. Then I decided to take her for the test run. Boy could this rip. NO KICK. That blew me away. Might I also add the g7 is EFFICIENT. I did not have a chance to chrono, but I will be going to hb tomorrow and will take notes and write a more full review tomorrow.
Now for bad things about the marker
-Timmy owners have to put the gun down because they spend money on something IMHO isnt worth it.
- Too many people want to see it.

WELL I just bought my brand new red polish g7 and fell in love with it. Anyone who is debating wether to buy this or not buy it. Don't listen to these people who are jealous and dont want anyone to have a better marker. I am now wdp for life
Conclusion: Definetley if you have the $1497.00 to pick it up, I'd say go for it, You will not regret it.I got one
10 because this is a great gat (real muppet mower)
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, April 12th, 2005 at 8:18 pm PST
I found this review  
33 Comments - Add Comment

Darrel001 Monday, March 21st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested20 of 66 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
SPEED05
Marker Setup: DM4 w/ EVOLVE BOLT, AKA 2-LITER,
SPEED05 W/ CP ASA ADAPTOR, AKA2-LITER
Recommended
Upgrades:
I NEVER LIKE THE MINIREG DUE TO SLOW CHARGING CHARACTERISTICS. ONCE AN ADAPTOR IS AVAILABLE FOR THE G7 BUY THE 2-LITER.

BETTER BARREL.
Strengths: Fast as my finger can pull.
Weaknesses: Too expensive.
Feels the same as a SPEED05

Review: I was really excited to try this new marker. But after owning a SPEED05 I would say to wait until something better comes along. It basically felt like a speed05 w/ an lcd. The replacement from the pull know to the lever-lock thing felt a bit odd but i guess that is something to get used to. The glossy finish was nice.

Things to watch out for (manufactuer’s claim):

1.) 14-way solenoid valve (they use a 4-way not 14-way solenoid this is just wdp marketing b.s or a typo that stuck because it make the marker sound kool)
2.) zero-kick ram (the dm4 w/ evolve and most other matrixes have less kick, this is just wdp marketing b.s )
3.) does not use a 9-volt battery (no big deal)
4.) 15bps limit capable (good feature)
5.) 31 bps (same claim for the speed05 but never proven)

I could not test efficiency because of limited testing.

So, in my personal opinion, if you currently own a speed05 or a4fly, wait for something more substantial to come along. if you own a a4 or lower model this might be a good upgrade to take. as I was not that impressed by the g7, I would suggest, to all, try the g7 before pulling $1500 out of you wallet. take the manufactures claim with a grain of salt. (a lot of salt).
Conclusion: Just wait for something better to come along. Try the G7 before you buy it.

I was not really impressed by the g7. Don’t get caught in the marketing hype.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Monday, March 21st, 2005 at 4:19 pm PST
I found this review  
42 Comments - Add Comment

Mr Murderdoll89 Saturday, May 7th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested19 of 62 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
05 Speed- IMO its the same thing. But cheaper. I think the G7 has some new bolt kit or something. I know nothing about Angels. Sorry
Marker Setup: Silver LCD Gen E Matrix
CP Roller
CP Regulator
Aardvark Trinity LPR
Dye Stickies
ShockTech Drop
CP Unimount
No Rise Halo Feedneck
Z-Board Egg

Black Spyder Imagine
Evil Driver
Dye Stickies
12 Volt Revvy
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new Barrel...
Strengths: It was fast
DECENT accuracy.
Light.
Weaknesses: Eh...its EXTREMELY over priced.
Way over hyped.
Review: I am sorry to all you hardcore angel lovers that are out there. But I was not impressed at all with the ALMIGHTY G7. As usual WDP made a gun almost completely similiar to another gun of that year. What gun?The 05 Speed. I tested both and was 10x more impressed with the Speed. Mostly because the 05 Speed and the G7 have the exact same feel to them. If I am correct don't both have the Infared eyes? The speed was good but I don't think its worth the $1600 price tag.


Some things that did not fit into weakness' was this:
-It felt very very wierd to me while I played with it.
-Angel lob has not yet been fixed.
Conclusion: Overall I think that if you have the money to waste.Spend the extra 500 or 600 Idk what it is. But personally I would get a good used DM4 or a NIB 05 Speed. It will save you money and you will be just as impressed.


EDIT- For those of you who constantly keep harassing me with PM's. I DO NOT AT ALL THINK THE WRATH IS BETTER THAN A G7. I FOUND THE WRATH TO BE GOOD FOR IT'S PRICE RANGE. THEY ARE TWO COMPLETELY DIFFERENT MARKERS.IF I RECIEVE ONE MORE PM THEY ARE GETTING REPORTED.

Idk if all my facts were straight as I am not used to Angels so read my review knowing this.I give it a 5.
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Friday, July 1st, 2005 at 5:24 pm PST
I found this review  
51 Comments - Add Comment

ZORN Wednesday, July 6th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year17 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
I've only ever owned the G7.
Marker Setup: WDP Angel G7 Gloss Black
Halo B Hopper with Rip Drive
Check It Unimount ASA On/Off
Centerflag Hyperflow Regulator
Smart Parts Freak Barrel System
68 c.i. 4500 psi Compressed Air Tank
Tadao Board (one of the 150 made)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Aftermarket Barrel
Tadao Board (if you can find one)
Strengths: Speed
Accuracy
Reliability
Quality
Aesthetics
WDP Master Technician Support
Excellent manual
Weaknesses: See review below.
Review: I made an atypical upgrade going from an A5 to the G7. The stock A5 still has a place in my field bag, but not at the speedball field. Even in the woods the G7 will hold it's own. With a good paint-to-barrel match, the G7 is deadly accurate at long distances, especially given the right dwell and low pressure settings.

I contemplated buying the WDP '05 Speed, the Bob Long '05 Ripper, or the '05 Matrix. After much deliberation and reading several reviews, I decided that I really liked the LCD screen and many of the other features of the G7. As stated in the strengths listed above, this marker is very fast. I can easily squeeze 12 balls per second on the field, and have been able to attain 21 balls per second in practice. The marker is extremely accurate given high quality paint and a good paint-to-barrel match. The dwell settings are also customizable which allow good air volume control.

The marker is very reliable and has outstanding quality. You can feel the difference when you pick up this marker. If you get the chance, pick up an Ion in one hand and hold a G7 in the other (if the owner will let you). No offense to Ion owners, but you get what you pay for. There's a reason the G7 is expensive and why others are not.

I bought the G7 from a certified master technician (MT). He set up and tested the marker prior to shipping. The MT "tweaked" the trigger for me, which means he did something to the settings and did something with the magnets. Complicated gobbly-gook, so I leave that up to the masters. But suffice it to say I can "walk" the blade trigger very well, and besides that it has a nice feel to it - "bouncy" I guess you could call it.

The manual is shiny and colorful and very thorough in it's warnings about safety. The LCD menu is a bit daunting at first and may take several attempts to be understood, but once you put the G7 in your hand and figure out a couple things it becomes a lot more intuitive. Hint: figure out which settings must be adjusted internally (taking off the handgrip and using the blue and yellow buttons) and you're half-way there.

There are some very minor "weaknesses" in the G7. They're more nuisances than anything. You have to push the ram back in order to open the "trapdoor" to get to the bolt. You have to be aware that low-rise or no-rise aftermarket feednecks may interfere with opening the bolt "trapdoor". The only other complaint I have is the LCD window in the handgrip. It's made of rubber that's a bit smoky. This design change is a result from previous models where the clear plastic window would be scratched and virtually opaque.

Another "weakness" is the fact that you must buy high-end accessories and high-end paint. This is NOT a Tippmann that you bang around. It requires expensive ammo. You wouldn't put 87 octane in a Ferrari, so don't put cheap paint in the G7! Likewise the G7 is useless without such things as a Halo B hopper or equivalent, uni-mount, low pressure regulator, and a compressed air tank... none of which are cheap.

I only have two other issues that I'd warn potential buyers to be aware of: (1) You will get attention with this marker. You may be swarmed at the local field with all kinds of questions. The most common by far is "Can I see it?" Which means they want to pick it up and pull the trigger as fast as they can. (2) Your paint bill will be higher or you will spend less time shooting paint. This marker is fast y'all! You'll be amazed at how often you have to reload. So you'll either spend more money on buying paint, or you'll spend less time shooting paint!

I do not recommend this marker for newbies, or young players. Parents please DO NOT buy this marker for your child or teenager! Make them earn it for themselves. This is a very powerful marker and takes a lot of restraint to not "overshoot" the opposition. In the hands of the inexperienced or immature this marker could be very dangerous, and frankly isn't very fun if you're on the receiving end.

Last, in regards to kick... there is a minimal amount. I have not found it to interfere with my gameplay. It will crawl upwards while shooting a steady (emphasize steady) stream of paint, but I have usually found this attribute to be advantageous.

Revision (11/29/2006):
I've used this gun for over 18 months. It's just as fast now as when I bought it. Maintenance has been very easy - lube regularly and grease the LPR. That's about it. The rubber foregrip has come off, but I don't miss it. The Tadao board was a great investment for me - the G7 still rips even in the winter time (I bump up the dwell a bit and raise the hopper delay setting for cold weather play). G7's are widely available as of Nov. 2006 as most owners really want the new Angel One. You can get a great deal on an awesome marker for less than $500.
Conclusion: Revised (11/29/2006):
Now that the WDP Angel One has been released, a lot of people are selling their G7. This is still an awesome marker and now that the price has dropped I highly recommend it for the serious speedball player.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, November 29th, 2006 at 6:43 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Thanatos2288 Friday, May 5th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PM5---less kick, quieter, and lighter
Dm4--less kick, quieter, and lighter
Dm6- a lot lighter. less kick and quieter. Eyes are inferior though.
E-cocker-quieter, heavier
05 speed-no breech lock :( which leads to a lot of chopping until set properly
Ego-lighter, same volume, not balanced as well, but still very good. Eyes are just as good.
Shocker-Lighter, quieter
Marker Setup: Dm6, 2006 Dark Ego
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel Kit---The marker comes with pretty muvh everything you could want out of the box. You cant put volumizers on it and it wouldnt help anyways, the feedneck is fine, the bolt is fine, and the board is amazing.
Strengths: -Everything is adjustable.
-Bolt removal
-Eyes are VERY good. -Well balanced.
-air consumption
Weaknesses: -LCD Complexity.
-Trigger pull weight
-marker weight
Review: I just want to go into more depth on the key strengths and weaknesses before continuing the review.

Strengths-
-Everything is adjustable. You can set dwell, MROF, 4 point trigger adjustment, trigger offset, eye settings. Basically everything can be set.
-The marker allows the bolt to be removed (easily and quickly) while it is still gassed up. This allows for field stripping in game if you get a breach break.
-Eyes are VERY good. They are far better then the eyes in a dm, pm, shocker, or cocker in my opinion.
-Well balanced. While the marker is very heavy for such a high end marker, it is so well balanced that the weight is not noticable in game.
Air consumption- I cant give a 68/4500 shot amount yet, as the field I was at only filled to 3000, but my 68 fileld to 3000psi got easily 1200 shots, which is better then my Dm4 or PM5 will get on a 68/4500 fill.

Weaknesses-
LCD complexity-the sheer amount of control the board gives you over the marker settings does lend itself to complexity. While the manual does do a very good job of describing how to use the board, it still takes a little bit to get used to.
-Trigger weight-This is just personal opinion, but I really think that the trigger is a little bit heavy. This is not really a weakness, however, because by removing the magnet from the rear vernier wheel, I was able to fix this.
-Marker weight. The marker is heavy for a marker in this price range. I think the G7 is 1.9lb, while the pm6, for example, is 1.75lb. The marker is balanced so well, however, that I did not find that this affected it in game.

I just purchased this marker brand new to serve as my tournament marker for the upcoming season. This was a big change for me, though, as I have always in the past shot DYE markers. Upon recieving the Angel, I have to say that I was blown away by its looks. It actually feels like it should be worth the $1000 MSRP. The lines flow beatifully, and the glossy anno matches it very well. I was not, however, as impressed with the packaging itself. Being used to DYE guns, I am used to getting nice little goodies such as a repair box, a really nice set of allens, and a nice barrel cover; all packaged in a nice foam filled box. this was made up for, however, by the manual. The Angel manual manages to cover all the electronic settings, all of the break down, and a lot of troubleshooting. All of this is done in a color, glossy, professional looking manual.

While the packaging is nice, the most important aspect of a marker is of course, how it performs. When I took it to the local field for practice, I aired it up and took it to the chrono. Unbelivably, it came out of the boc at 267, 264, 267, 268. This is incredable for a marker which has not even been broken in yet. When I got it clocked in, I was able to get it to 259, 259, 260 (I was practicing at an indoor 3 man field). This alone made me very impressed with the quality of the marker.

After playing with it for a few games, I can safetly say that this marker deserves its place among other top markers. Not only did it rip, as all high end markers will do (although the Angel is the fastest in the world, able to shoot 33bps), but it was very consistent, accurate, and had no visable shootdown. It was a lot louder then any other markers I have used, but that really doesn't matter in a game, as very rarely can people figure out where you are from the noise of your marker. I also felt that this was a small price to pay for the performance I was recieving. With the stock barrel, I was achieving better accuracy then my Dm4, shocker, or Ecocker, and on par with my PM5.

My G7 has a 90 frame, which was also a change for me. I am very used to 45 frames. It was fairly difficult at first for me to get used to, as I kept shooting lower then I was trying to. After a bit of play, though, I thought that it was a lot more natural then a 45 frame, and it led to higher rates of fire with better accuracy. For example, on an alias timmy, I can usually only hit 12bps, but with this angel, I was able to in game (not just sitting and trying to walk the trigger at top speeds) hit 14bps. I was able to tell this, btw, by a handy dandy rof indicator in the grip.

I also want to note that the G7 is one of the few markers which really needs almost no upgrades. Most markers should be upgraded with a new feedneck, bolt, board, and trigger. The G7 really needs none of these ups. The Feedneck is great, and requires no tools to clamp. The bolt is fine as well, and the Evil upgrade one really doesn't actually change performance at all. Upgrading the board can actually be seen as a downgrade for most, most aftermarket boards do not utilize the LCD screen at all. They also don't really give you much more control, as the stock board is so good. As for the trigger, it's all up to personal preference, but 90% of angel owners seem to love their stock triggers You should still upgrade the barrel with a barrel kit, but that is the same for every marker. Being able to select the bore size of your barrel is of the utmost importance, and as of now, there is no marker (as far as I know) which comes with a full bore kit. A lot of markers come with ultralites stock, but you still have to buy the different backs to go with it.

Finally, I feel like I have to mention the board. It has been said that "you can surf the web on your Angel", and after tinkering around with the settings, I can almost believe it to be true. The marker has a rof indicator, a thermometer, a shot counter, can be programmed to say things (on the screen), can be locked with a pin number, has 3 game timers, has a vibrate feature, and can talk to your computer, palm pilot, or other angel with an IR sensor. While none of these modes are necessary, it's certainly cool to have. Also, I personally like it when the marker randomly tells me that I am the shiznat (I didn't actually program it to do this, strangely enough, it just seems to randomly, which makes it even cooler).
Conclusion: In conclusion, I have to admit that I am highly impressed with the Angel G7. I purchased it with trepidation, but upon using, have been utterly sold. I will not be returning to DYE soon. The marker does have its share of weaknesses, as with all markers, but I feel like the weaknesses it has are insignificant. I mean, the car charger sucks, but it doesnt affect the game. The weight isn't great, but the balance is. Overall, I think that this marker is easily worth its current cost. I'm not going to say that everyone should go out and buy it (part of the reason being that most people don't shoot nagels, and most angel owners like this), but I will say that you should give it a try before buying a DM6, pm6, or EGO. I really think that the G7 is easily deserving of being with those markers as the top in the world, and is easily as good as them. As such, I don't see myself using my DYE or Smart Parts markers in the near future.

I am, however, giving this marker a 9, as I was not impressed with the tools that came with it, it is heavy, and frankly, no marker is perfect.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, December 25th, 2006 at 11:36 am PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

paintballing66 Saturday, March 26th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested14 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Every high end gun and other models of Angels.
Marker Setup: 2003 Stock Cocker
WGP Bolt
Dye Xcel 14 IN
Mav Dev Sonic LPR
Taso 3 Way
ANS Mini Ram (Red)
Ergo Reg.
CP Drop and On/Off
Dye Sticky
68CI/3000PSI and 12V Revi
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing, however product only tested.
Strengths: Extremely Fast
Air Efficient
Look/Feel
Rechargable battery and longer life
Light
Weaknesses: Very Pricey
Built-in Reg
Review: When I first saw the Angle G7 I was working my shift at a Pegleg Paintball proshop in Utah. A kid had just purchased it and came in for a chrono for speed and BPS. He let me mess around with it for about ten minutes and the first thing i noticed about it was it is very light. Even lighter than previous Angles models, the G7 will be hard to beat. I also noticed that instead of a seperate Regulator it had a reg pre-built into the gun. This is adds alot to the looks of the gun however it would be a huge paint to clean. The G7 showed its true colors at the chrono however. Firing at a constant 291 +/- 5 FPS we were able to clock it up to a solid 19 BPS with out gloves and with the bounce and ramp. Wow. One word can describe it- scary. A true testament that you do not want to be on the wrong end of that in a game. The last thing I noticed during this test period was that it is extremely air efficient and works on a very low pressure.We had fired a whole 180 round Halo Reloader and the air had dropped from 3000 PSI to a little under 2800 PSI. The operating pressure for the gun is around 70-80 PSI. The new look suites the gun very well and if you are desperate for a gun that will shoot constant and FAST then the G7 is your gun. All for a cheap price of around $1400-$1500.
Conclusion: I really was impressed by the G7. I am a die-hard cocker fan and have never really liked Angles but the G7 has changed my outlook. The performance was consistant and smooth. Many would dock markers of this kind points for being pricey but for a tip top of the line gun, WDP can get away with pricing the G7 at $1400 +. I will give it a 10 without thinking twice due to the fact that this gun is such a flawless gun in every aspect. However keep in mind that this review is only after about ten minutes of testing it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

oldklump Friday, June 10th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
angel joy division, angel 4 fly, 04 shocker with vission
Marker Setup: my primary guns are the angle g7 and the joy division. both guns have empire reloader B's and smart parts on offs. I have a 72ci 4500psi tank on my g7 and a 45ci 4500psi tank on my joy. Both guns have 14in black two peice dye ultralites. (.689bore)
Recommended
Upgrades:
this gun simply rips out of the box therefor no upgrade is needed, a cool looking volumizer to put on the front of the gun might make it a bit sicker looking, but again that is realy only a cosmetic upgrade. As far as an upgrade to increase performance none are necessary.
Strengths: Accuracy and speed are a must for tournement paintball, and the g7 has both.
Weaknesses: A bit on the heavy side.
Review: I just picked this gun up about three months ago and dropped about two grand on the entire set up. even though i own a shocker as a backup gun and the joy division, i really love WDP and the angel line up. when i first saw it i knew i had to have it, not becaue i needed a new gun but simply becasue as well as a player i am a colactor and so i wanted this beauty for my collection. like i said earlier it just ripped out of the box (which most angels do), but what set this gun aside from the rest was the breech locking mechinism. instead of the pull pin like on my joy for example, there is a little lever which also conseals the on/off switch. I love the modes and when i am not in a tourny i set it to 22bps accum(ramping) and destroy. I can't say that the g7 is better than my joy because they are both angels and i love my joy to death. It is nice however to have two of the best guns in my opinion in your gear bag.
Conclusion: Even though i have the best angle made, i had to pick up the g7 and i am glad i did. I must give the gun a 9 instead of a 10 however becasue nothing is made perfect and the guns only flaw is thta it is a bit on the heavy side. This shouldn't truly be a problem because if you can't handle the weight of the gun then perhaps you just arn't man enough for the sport. I highly suggest this gun if you have the money and the only other gun that i woud recommend besides this is the joy which is lighter but equally sick. i hope this helps.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, June 11th, 2005 at 2:58 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tacokid Monday, March 28th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 38 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel Joy Division
Marker Setup: Angel Joy Division, AGD 68/3000, shocktech drop, halo b with ripper and vic board
Recommended
Upgrades:
none
Strengths: Fast
No Chops
Nice clean look
Weaknesses: Expensive
Expensive
Not all that great
Review: When you first shoot the Joy you immediately thing (FAST) however you better adjust the ram quick like as this thing has some kick to it and its hard to keep her down when firing fast. I was hitting around 13-15 bps on the field and about 25 in the house when I had my hands off the grip and just toggled three fingers on it.

The trigger is OKAY but I would much rather see the 05 Speed MT trigger on it. All in all the larger finger guard made for better play as I could get my big fingers with glove on the trigger with no problems. WDP LISTEN UP QUIT CHANGING YOUR MARKERS EVERY 5 DAYS SO AS I GET TICKED OFF BUYING THE NEW MODEL ONLY TO HAVE YOU DISCONTINUE IT ONE WEEK LATER. MAKE UP YOUR MINDS AND STICK WITH ONE FLAGSHIP MARKER, ONE MIDDLE RANGE MARKER, AND ONE HIGH END MARKER!!!!

Barrel: I found that the best thing you can do for the barrel is to very carefully take it off the guns, BE VERY CAREFUL NOT TO SCRATCH OR DAMAGE THE THREADS, THEN WITH A FIRM GRIP GRAB THE END OF THE 14 INCH INFINITY BARREL AND THROW THE THING IN THE TRASH. The barrel is junk and for WDP to sell it on there site for $1,995 without a decent barrel should be CRIMINAL!!!!

Electronics: WDP doesnt do a very good job in the instructions department. They assume everyone has a computer with PRINTER and to be honest the CD instruction guide just tells me they are trying to save every dime and make me the end user spend the money to learn how to program it. COME ON WDP print the manual!!!! I have had cars that cost less then your markers!!!!!!!

Eyes: The eyes work great but for WDP to act like they created something new is a joke. Bob Long was doing this long before. Granted Angels are easier to work on and the elimination of the 1 sec delay helps. Bottom line it works but WDP is very CREATIVE in its marketing strategy.......hmmmmm
Conclusion: The Angel A4 is no longer their flagship marker and in fact they stopped selling it last month. Of course WDP came out with the G7 and early reports are that the NO KICK MARKER ACTUALLY KICKS, SO BUYERS BEWARE!

As for me its too late! I am use to Angel and like the overall marker set up. The only thing thats upsets me is IM sticking more money into WDP's hands knowing that they charge WAY TOOOOO MUCH FOR A MARKER THAT DOESNT DO TOO MUCH BETTER THAN THE $250 SMART PARTS ION.

My recommendation for purchase is a solid 7 out of 10.
As for your money do your self a favor.... BUY A SHOCKER WITH RAMP OR AN ION OR AN 05 SPEED (USED FOR ABOUT $700)
STAY AWAY, I REPEAT STAY AWAY FROM ANY MARKER COSTING $1,500 OUT OF THE BOX WITH A CRAPPY BARREL AND NOOOOOO MANUAL!!!!!!!
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
20 Comments - Add Comment

anglekid Tuesday, May 17th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
momba angle 4 fly
Marker Setup: angle G-7 with angle air tank and intellifeeded empire hopper ,pipe 14inch barrel kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
intellifeeded gun and hopper
Strengths: Fast, Light, Accurate
Weaknesses: Loud without a volumizer
Review: i got the gun when it came out, i hade 2 angles before this and was impressed with the G-7 it shoots fast and it is accurate, it also has rang when playing. one thing that made me love it was the trigger, before buying i was deciding if i was going to get the G-7 or a dm5 matrix i was happy with my choice
Conclusion: This gun is great ,it is fast and light and i would recommend getting one you will love it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media