paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / New Designz Roller Trigger / New Designz Roller Trigger / New Designz Roller Trigger / New Designz Roller Trigger / New Designz Roller Trigger

New Designz Roller Trigger Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount New Designz

Buy New Designz Roller Trigger

Paintball Ion Triggers and Frames

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


New Designz Roller Trigger
[ View Photos (17) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 71
Average Rating: 9.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $36

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
NDZ introduces the fully adjustable ION trigger. We decided to go full tilt with this one. Check out what we offer with this trigger.
ION Fully Adjustable Trigger
Aluminum or Composite
Dual roller bearing design for minimal side to side trigger wobble.
Includes precision ground pin for the ideal bearing to pin fit.
No more sanding or destroying the bearing during installation.
Fully adjustable, pre & post travel along with trigger switch activation.
Adjustable magnetic force, remove one magnet for less force, both for no force.
Adjustments made with trigger on the frame.
Nylon tipped trigger stop set screw to stop frame wear.
All screws are stainless steel.
Loctite (serviceable), pre-applied to screws for added convenience.
Wider than stock trigger for comfort.
Replaces the stock trigger with no other modification.
All NDZ triggers come packaged with an allen wrench.
Product Availability 
The New Designz Roller Trigger is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
glacierspyder Wednesday, March 30th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month28 of 30 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock trigger
Marker Setup: Smart Parts red Ion, Hybrid Hedlok, CP Reg, New Designz on/off w/ bleed, New Designz roller trigger, Scepter barrel kit.
Blood red Nightkast, Eclipse Nexus kit, Worrblade, Worrblade bolt, Bob Long gauge on front block, Scepter barrel kit.
Evo2, 12v Revy X-board, Halo B w/ rip drive, and a Crossfire 92ci x 4500psi
Strengths: Blade style and very adjustable.
Weaknesses: None
Review: This thing will get your Ion shooting the way it should. The stock trigger is sub par when compared to this. Now note I say when adjusted properly in this review this means if you just slap on the trigger and not adjust it, itís not going to used to itís full potential. Ok, when adjusted you can get a very short trigger pull on this thing. I have mine adjusted so I can put my index finger in the hook and rip a rope of paint without taking my finger off the trigger. There are two removable magnets on the trigger so you can get a different pull force or remove them both for no force at all. It has a very light pull so I decided not to remove any of the magnets. The set screw in the center of the trigger is use for ďflippingĒ the switch on the board. Donít over adjust this, you may hit the switch itself and damage it. The screw above the hook is used for the trigger stop. I put the trigger stop flush with the trigger and then adjusted my switch activation set screw so it activates when the trigger is at rest on the trigger frame (firing position). It may take a little bit to get it fully adjusted but itís worth it. Just turn your Ion on with eyes off and make sure your getting the on/off led to blink every time you pull the trigger. The stock magnet adjustment screw is also used set this how you like, higher for snappy feel or lower for lose lighter feel. The upper pre-travels screw is supposed to hit the banjo fitting but I noticed that when adjusting it, the set screw didnít do anything, may be to short. So I just backed it out and didnít use it. Iím going to mess with it a little to see if I can get it to hit the banjo. There is very little side to side slop in the way I have my trigger adjusted. You may experience more depending on how lose you have your trigger set. Now, I'm not a fast walking trigger guy maybe 10-12 bps constant so, I let some of my friends try it out who are faster and they all thought the speed you can get compared to stock trigger was insane. They had no problems with walking the trigger and getting some good fast ropes. I tested the trigger without rebound just so I could give a good review. I did test rebound just with dry firing and was amazed at how fast the rebound activated using this trigger. This trigger comes in red, black, silver, and blue in aluminum or red, black, blue and yellow in composite.

Edit: Just wanted to add some helpful tips for anyone getting the ND Ion trigger. Before installing the trigger turn the set screws to break the loctite, that way it won't be so hard to turn them when installed. It's a low grade loctite so it won't take much force to get them to turn. Also, I wanted to add some testing with adjustment. I backed out the switch set screw (the one in the center of the trigger) so it wouldnít make contact with the switch and adjusted the trigger stop set screw (the one by the hook on the trigger) and the magnet set screw in the grip so I could get a good walking feel to it. I then adjusted the switch set screw so it just makes contact with the switch every time the trigger is pulled (eyes off light flashes on every pull). I did this by turning the switch screw and watching the on/off and when I got a single blink it ment the switch was activated I then stopped turning the screw. Remember donít over adjust this or you could damage your switch. I then made small adjustments to the stop, magnent and switch screws to fine tweak it. I Ďm still not using the pre-travel screw (the one at the top), anyways I now have the trigger adjusted to my walking ability and this thing is ripping like crazy.

Conclusion: The best trigger I've used so far with my Ion.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, May 16th, 2005 at 1:55 pm PST
I found this review  
22 Comments - Add Comment

BlackEagle754 Friday, June 17th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Marker Setup: Blue Smart Parts Ion
Evo II with Z-Board
New Designz Roller Trigger
Proto Switch FS Goggles
Soon to be-
J&J Ceramic Barrel (Or Freak)
Dye Sticky Grip
A drop of some sort
New Feedneck
Strengths: Snappy yet easy to walk.
Weaknesses: None at all.
Review: We ordered in 3 or 4 of these triggers at work. Two of the other guys put them on their Ions and I pretty much fell in love with their new triggers. I decided to snag this trigger at work before we sold it today, and I can't believe how fast I can walk this gun now! I've got the trigger snappy yet so easy to walk. This is the best money I've spend on this gun so far. The aluminum construction really got me sold, and the lack of trigger slop from side to side has got me smiling from ear to ear. Once I got it set up properly, I would go as far as comparing it to the trigger on the new '05 Super Stock. That is one easy gun to walk, and this trigger puts the Ion up with that beast!
Conclusion: Buy one of these with the gun. The stock trigger is horrible compared to these. They are a bit pricy, but well worth the cash.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, June 17th, 2005 at 8:37 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

csichiro51 Friday, May 6th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
stock ion trigger and semi-auto triggers
Marker Setup: Ion ND roller trigger, WGP QEV, hybrid feed neck, evil pipe 14 inches, Evolution II, Pure Energy 68/4500
Strengths: Higher Rate Of BPS
Look Cool
Light
Weaknesses: None Really
Maybe Pice, I Got Mine For $42
Review: Recently I got my new ion trigger. I thought the stock trigger was sweet but when I started firing with this trigger, it was SWEET!!!

It shoots so much faster than the stock trigger. When you start firing, this trigger starts almost "bouncing" but not far enough to make it shoot, therefor it's legal.

Also, this trigger is tons easier to pull and shoot!
Conclusion: If you have an Ion, or getting an Ion, this trigger is a necessity. It will make your gun even better and you will not regret the purchase!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, May 20th, 2005 at 1:55 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

g murder Monday, August 1st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
CP Ion trigger
Stock Ion trigger
Marker Setup: Smart Part Ion
St!ffi Barrel kit
DYE: UL, drop & grips
ND trigger
CP: in-line, feedneck, ASA
Crossfire 68/45 HP
Halo B
Strengths: Flat design...very walkable
Weaknesses: Pricey but what in paintball is cheap?
Review: I used a CP roller trigger before switch to this...I found this trigger similar to my samurai trigger on my e2 Karnivor, it has a nice flat design to give you the maximum amount of space for the bottom finger to walk the trigger unlike the curved bottom design of the CP.

I bought the aluminum version wanting to stay away from the plastic feel of the composite which is similar to the plastic feel of the stock plastic trigger....the aluminum version has a nice, tight, solid, high quality feel.

The 2 magnets it comes with are removable but I left them in and added another magnet for a nice, snappy, crisp feel...with the CP if I pointed the gun upwards the trigger would not stay forward unlike the ND trigger.

This trigger looks good also and sits very close to the frame...the adjustment points are all accessible from the front of the trigger without having to take apart the gun and they include an allen/hex key for the perfect sized fit.

This trigger makes it easier to attain and keep high rates of fire
Conclusion: Good trigger, good product with a tight, solid, snappy tactile feel.....
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dyekidd69 Monday, May 16th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock trigger
Marker Setup: Angel 05 Speed, 68/45 Crossy, Empire Reloader B
Strengths: Magnet, not plastic
Weaknesses: None
Review: Wow I was very impressed with NDz on this trigger. after about 30 minuts of tinkering with the magnet and screws, i got it so it would rip very fast. When I tested it at the field everyone thought i was on rebound mode it was that fast... lol they didnt believe me until i showed them the settings.
10/10 good job NDZ
Conclusion: Buy this if you have an ion!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

HouseholdDog Friday, July 11th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
I have "tried" to use a CP trigger. It was so fiddly to install that I gave up.
Marker Setup: SP ion
L7 Bolt
360 QEV
Freak Jr
Kila Detents
CP Mini On/Off ASA
Dye Sticky Grips
Critical Feedneck
Vlocity Jr + Virtue Chip
Strengths: Easy Installation
Perfect return strength (for me)
Very Little Slop
Weaknesses: Range of adjustment.
Review: I just installed this on my ion. I am very impressed with it so far.

It was very simple to install. Just remove the old trigger pin with a punch, put new one in, punch the (supplied) pin in and voila! The CP trigger requires you to screw the trigger pin through a nut. I never did get the cp trigger in.

The feel of the trigger is really quite good. It is nice and wide and does not wobble much at all. It wasn't until I installed the trigger, that I realised how much the wobble, was slowing me down. The wobble means you constantly have to readjust your fingers, thus slowing you down. The NDZ all but eliminates this problem.

The return is fairly crisp but no where near as "notchy" as the stock trigger. It gives you just enough report to know that it has disengaged.

The shape of the trigger is great. It is nice and wide, so you don't have to reposition your fingers after each pull. The other thing I like is the straight design. The stock trigger was always a lot heavier for the index finger. The NDZ seems to have around the same resistance for both fingers, which is a big plus.

The range of adjustability is one issue with it however. The pre-travel can only be adjusted a little, compared with stock. It only seems to give you around 5mm to play with. I am not sure if I missed something (please leave a comment if I have). Its not a real problem as I like the pre-travel range, but some people might not like it.


Hope this helps. Dog

Conclusion: All in all this is a great trigger. I was very impressed with it, once I installed it. It's certainly comparable to triggers on more expensive markers. It also allows you to walk the trigger a lot faster, over stock. The combination of width, even feel on both fingers and lack of wobble really allow you to speed up your shooting.

Probably deserves and 8-9 out of 10. Unfortunately, as this would drops its ranking, I feel I should give it a 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, July 11th, 2008 at 12:36 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

LOCKNLOAD1988 Friday, April 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Ion Trigger
Spyder New Designz Trigger
Stock Spyder Trigger
Various high-end marker triggers
Marker Setup: Black Smart Parts ION, 47/3000 psi tank, New Designz Roller Trigger, J&J Pro1 Barrel, Shocktech 2-piece drop forward, carbon fiber decals.
Strengths: Extremely light, super easy to adjust, looks awesome, and is very durable
Weaknesses: The price was a little bit steep($36), but that's just about it.
Review: If you bought the Smart Parts ION, then good job on buying a great marker, but for it to reach its full capabilities, you HAVE to get a new trigger. I tried out several triggers on my ION before I selected the ND Roller Trigger, and for a couple of reasons:

1. Their trigger is made of super light-weight aluminum, and its probably lighter than the stock plastic trigger.

2. This is the easiest and most comfortable trigger to walk that I've ever used with the exception of those $1000 Angel Speed's.

3. It looks freakin' awesome
Conclusion: This is the best trigger out there for the ION at this point in time and I doubt that a new one will come out that's better than this one. If you get an ION, get this trigger.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, May 19th, 2005 at 7:36 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

ion_owner13 Saturday, November 5th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
stock trigger
Marker Setup: Black SP Ion with SP q-lock low rise, Sp dovetail rail w/ SP on/off, Eclipse QEV , crossfire 68/45 tank , evo 2 with y-board, and finally, New Deigns Ion Roller trigger.
Strengths: Very, very smooth. Needs no adjustment out of the box.
Weaknesses: Adjustment screws are complex to some noobs like me.
Review: I started out with a stock trigger obviously. I searched for a good triger that would go on an ion only because i did not seem to reach my rate of fire maximum even with dwell down and rof up. I put a QEV in my gun and it helped a lo ittle bit but not by much. After seeing many videos of people with only triggers on their guns ,and they were shooting fast, i decided on a trigger. Once i put this trigger on,( by the way, this trigger is ver easy to install), i did not adjust anything on it because simply i did not know how, even though i had adjusted my ion stock trigger greatly. Once i put paint through my gun ten minutes later, ohhh man i was surprised. This trigger has insane smoothness due to the roller berrings and could easily put you up to the max rate of fire if you could reach that high. It actually seemed as if it were shooting on its own because of how smooth the pull was even with about a 1/4 inch pull. I was simply amazed at the performance of this trigger. The high quality of the New Designs company truely shows with the high quality aluminum and the great smoothness. This is a must have upgrade to increase the potential of your gun.
Conclusion: If you are looking for a great upgrade and want the max out of your gun with out any other upgrade, buy this trigger.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

jmoney07 Wednesday, October 10th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock trigger
Blade trigger
Rocker Trigger
Marker Setup: -Smart Parts Ion
-Virtue Board
-Virtue Eyes
-Smart Parts QEV
-CP Regulator
-Redz Bolt
-New Designz Firing Can
-New Designz Swivel Donut
-Q-Lock feed
-Halo B w/ Victory Board
-Freak Barrel System
-CP on/off ASA w/ 32 Degrees Drop
-48ci/4500psi carbon fiber tank
Strengths: Different colors.
Looks cooler than stock trigger.
Weaknesses: Shoots slower than stock trigger.
Review: Okay, so I am going to make this review short, sweet, and to the point, because I'm sure you have better things to do than read about my ramblings about this trigger. If you want to shoot slower, but have a cooler looking trigger, this is for you. Because I will admit it looks SICK, it shoots like garbage. Honestly, this is a complete waste of money, and you should not buy this.
Conclusion: Do not buy this, stock trigger is best, I'd know, I've used a lot of different ones.
Rating:
2 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, October 10th, 2007 at 5:42 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

madcatmk3 Sunday, November 12th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock trigger. Aluminum version.
Marker Setup: Dye DM6 Red w/ black and silver parts, CP sling trigger
Freestyle 04 gen2 (NOX) STD LPR w/ barrel kit (3 bores), freak kit SS, Nitroduck 68cu 4500psi, empire realoder B, DYe hyper 2.
Ion w/ SP lock feedneck, CP composite trigger, Dye hyper 2
Strengths: Blade style
Weaknesses: It doesnt return very fast. I cant stand the feel of the composite.
Review: Ive got to be honest. I dont like this trigger. It doesnt return fast enough, so I cant rip a stream with it. Not only that but I dont like the composite feel. I got stuck with a composite one since that was all my store had. Honeslty if they fixed the return problem I would buy a aluminum one. IM sure a lot of ion fanboys will complain abut this but Im rating on MY personal experiance.
Conclusion: Ehhh get the aluminum one and make sure you get the spring version. The magnet one sucks. THe experiance was below average for me. I can shoot the stock on a better stream then this.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media