paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Airgun Designs Pro Classic / Airgun Designs Pro Classic / Airgun Designs Pro Classic / Airgun Designs Pro Classic

Airgun Designs Pro Classic Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Airgun Designs

Buy Airgun Designs Pro Classic

Paintball High-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Airgun Designs Pro Classic
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 15
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $230

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Airgun Designs USA is proud to announce the release of our new entry level marker! The new Pro Classic, with all stainless valve and bullet-proof design, is set up with:

# black hopper left powerfeed body (other mainbodies available for additional charges - upcharge depends on body style)
# patented 68 Automag A.I.R. valve
# carbon fiber trigger frame with molded grip
# bottom bottle ASA adapter with elbows and hose
# vertical bottle ASA adapter with gas-thru foregrip
# twist lock removable barrel system with easy single 11" twist-off barrel*
# a 1-piece feeder elbow
# and is tested, chronoed and ready to fire out of the box

Of course, the Pro Classic is fully compatible with our upgrades, so over time you can build it up to be even better!

Includes:

# Manual
# Tool Kit
# Autolube
# Vented S.S. Tip
Product Availability 
The Airgun Designs Pro Classic is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
unclewillie Monday, April 4th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month15 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Auctocockers match the performance of the gun, but they are built differently .
Marker Setup: Pro classic, crossfire 47/3000, eggy2
Recommended
Upgrades:
HPA is reccomended
Strengths: Reliable, durable, consistent
Weaknesses: Heavy for a gun of its size
Review: After using the Pro classic for about a year I am still impressed with it. The durability of the gun is amazing. Maintaining the gun is incredibly simple. To take the gun totally apart you only have to unscew 2 screws. The only maintenance that is required is to lube the valve every so often.
The consistency is excellent also. Mine fluctuates about 5 fps at the chrono. The efficiency of the gun is not the best however. I get around 450 shots from a 47/3000 tank. I have free, self-serve all day air so it's not a problem.
The gun is heavier then most, but you get used to that quickly after playing a few games. While the gun itself is small and compact, when you have a hopper on it's not at all. I have an eggy2 that sticks out and makes a great target for opposing players. I would wager that half of the time when I get shot that I get hit on the hopper. Adjusting my stance has'nt helped either. For $145 you can buy a ule body that makes the gun lighter and fixes the hopper problem but I haven't come around to buying one yet.
Most people buy double trigger frames for their first upgrade. I have owned both an Intelliframe and a Carbon fiber frame, and I like the carbon fiber frame more. I doubt many other people are of the same opinion though.
One reason that I bought the automag was because Airgun Designs unlike many companies today, *cough* indian creek designs *cough * they update their products and use the highest quality parts that they can.
Conclusion: This would be a great gun for any beginner or intermediate player. If you would want to upgrade it however (new body, valve, ect.) I would reccomend against it. Automag parts are very expensive. Even a used x-valve still goes for $200 on ebay. Lets say that a good tournament automag would include an x-valve, a ule body, and an intelliframe. A used x-valve, $200+ a used ule body, $80 + a used intelliframe, $60 + $230 for the original pro classic that you bought= $570. My point is that if you want to buy a Pro classic and upgrade it, don't.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, March 23rd, 2006 at 5:38 pm PST
I found this review  
25 Comments - Add Comment

steimer Saturday, September 3rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 years7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Standard feed left, pmi perfect expansion chamber, remote line on CO2.
Recommended
Upgrades:
HPA
Strengths: Low maintenance, high ROF, small, quiet, totally enclosed, easily broken down.
Weaknesses: Slightly heavy due to the valve and reg being steel.
Review: An excellent gun, perfect for a beginner and intermediate player. Suited well for both woodsball and speedball alike. Use HPA, unless you have an remote line/expansion chamber/ anti-siphon tank/ reg that will work with CO2. This gun is very small and tight, basically a barrel on a grip, and is totally enclosed as it operates. You can use it in any weather, or get it dirty, without worrying about anything getting in the internals or moving. This gun is easily maintained; a few drops of oil after playing is all it needs to keep functioning. Also has a very strong online community to help with any problems at http://automags.org.
Conclusion: Excellent gun for any type of player, especially beginner.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

DarkMag722 Friday, June 24th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
No smilar products
Marker Setup: Automag Pro Classic
CP Mini Foregrip Nickel
IntelliFrame
Dye 12 inch barrel
32deg flame drop forward
CP adapter
Recommended
Upgrades:
IntelliFrame-Trigger Frame
Z grip-Trigger Frame
lvl 10 upgrade
X-Valve
Strengths: Small, Light, Look Cool(when upgraded), Easy to Maintane,Accurate..
Weaknesses: Nothing
Review: I have had my Mag for a while and it is better than any other gun I have owned. In every comparison I could think of. I love it and the company. This gun is great. I would recommend this gun for any kind of player. One that is new to the game or some one that has played for a while.
Conclusion: Everyone should own a Mag especially this one. They are great
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, June 24th, 2005 at 2:48 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

glockfire Thursday, April 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tac-One, Minimag
Marker Setup: Pro Classic
Black ULE CF Body
RPG Custom Intelliframe
Lapco Bigshot Barrel
Redz Clamping Feedneck
RPG Viperblade Trigger
Lvl 10 Bolt
Hybrid Lady Grips
70/4500 HP
Recommended
Upgrades:
The level 10 bolt is a must have! I also Reccomend using HPA even though Anti-Siphon c02 can be used.
Strengths: Reliable, strong, accurate, and very easy to maintain.
Weaknesses: It is an air-hog!
Review: I bought my Pro-classic straight from AGD with the Lvl 10 Bolt already installed. The first time I used it was at the Earthender Scenario Game in Agate, Colorado. I read the manual that morning and went off to play.

Throughout the weekend I noticed that the Pro-Classic is not a fan of C02. What it really likes is HPA with an output of higher than 800psi. Even with C02 the reactive trigger was working fine, and I was able to shoot at 5bps with a single trigger. The marker did not fail me the entire time, and I was very pleased. All it needed the whole weekend was oil, and remember kids, MAGS LOVE OIL!!!

I got home and took it out of my bag to clean it, and I realized all I had to do was remove the rear thumb screw and all of the parts would slide right out, making cleaning a 3min. maximum job. When I got the parts out , I realized that after shooting over 2500balls, I hadnt broken a single one! The Level 10 bolt was so easy on that brittle paint, and not a single one was broken!!! I oiled the valve, and slid it right back in, and my cleaning was done. Its honestly a nice change from my A5 which takes me at least 20 minutes to field strip and clean, and another 5 to get back together.

A few weeks later I started upgrading it, and now its as beautiful as any High-End speedball gun out there, but for half the price!

I swear by my Pro-Classic now and any AGD gun on the market.
Conclusion: I reccomend this gun to any player out there. With the right combination of upgrades, you can be pulling 20+bps with a Mech Mag!!!! Its a simple design, looks great, is always reliable, and is as tough as a tank, but the best thing is.....its only $230!

-Grant Yount
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, April 27th, 2006 at 12:18 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

sn toter Monday, March 26th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Everything. I've owner well over 100 markers since '95 when I started, 36 of which have been mags. Started with a Stingray 1 and I've owned Bushys, Angels, Cockers, LS 200 prototype, Novas, Emags, RT's, Eblades,...you name it, I probably had one at some point.
Marker Setup: Below is the setup for this particular marker;
Classic valve
Dye .45 frame(single)
14" SP Teardrop
Crossfire 3k HPA 850 psi preset
Riccochet Apache
Recommended
Upgrades:
Its really up to you and your style. The Mag doesn't NEED any upgrades to shoot great and for basic woodsball and rec play I wouldn't recomend anything other than a better barrel(even the stock one isn't bad!). If you want to beef it up to its max though, your looking at a fat bill...to start with;
Gripframe(intelliframe/yframe/RPG chimera)
Xvalve
Barrel kit
ULT
Centerfeed Body(AGD ULE, RPG Pariah/Exile)
These of course go with a descent HPA/hopper combo.


Strengths: Size
Durability
Reliability
Customer support
Performance
Weaknesses: Slightly heavy by todays standards(even though it makes a stable shooting platform)
Review: Maintenance - Tom Kaye is a genius. This marker is the easiest thing in the world to maintain/repair. Drop some oil in regularly. If it leaks, you may need to replace an oring or bolt spring, but seriously, there isn't anything else in these markers that should prevent it from functioning well. The Tom Kaye repair vids are now on Youtube so they are easily accessible...watch them, all 10 parts, and you should be able to fix any mag.

Durability - I have a classic mag from 1995 that has never been upgraded or rebuilt. Shoots great to this day. 'Nuff said.

Performance - With a stock carbon fiber gripfame you can hit about 9-10 bps if you're good. Upgrade the gripframe and you can pull of a few more...put in an xvavle with a high input pressure tank and you're up in the high teens and 20's. Its all in what you want. A stock valve in these will shoot straight and efficient and you can drag it to hell and back. A great woodsball setup since you have some co2 flexibility. Low kick, very consistant shot groupings assuming you have a descent paint/barrel match. Also pretty efficient. You should see about 470 shots out of a 47ci 3k tank which is about average.

Looks - While a fully upped ULE mag is extremely refined and classy, the stock Pro classic has a more rugged look. Still looks great.
Conclusion: There is a reason the automag has been around over 15 years. Its a solid performer from a great company. AGD said it best..."Quality always shoots straight". And the Automag is the epitomy of quality.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Badmovies.org Wednesday, February 28th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Autocockers, Spyders, EXC-68s, Piranhas, and other mechanical markers
Marker Setup: Classic valve with Diamond Labs Back
Powerfeed body
Level 10 bolt system
Intelliframe double trigger
Expansion chamber
Gas-through stock w/remote
12" Smartparts All-American barrel (twistlock)
Viewloader revolution hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Level 10 bolt
Intelliframe grip
ULE mainbody (PF or CF - your preference)
Good quality barrel that fits the paint you shoot most often
On/off asa or remote
Strengths: Durable, fair rate of fire, easy maintenance.
Weaknesses: Weight of trigger pull and learning correct trigger pull.
Review: This is an updated version of a review I wrote for the 68 Powerfeed Automag. The Pro Classic is simply the slightly updated version of the same marker. Same valve and same possible upgrades.

I first picked up this marker around 1999 to 2000. At first I used it with a 20 oz CO2 bottle on a remote, but later switched to a 88/4500 HP Crossfire tank on remote. The change from CO2 to air gave me better consistency in regards to velocity. It also allowed me to fire long strings in cold weather without worrying. Previously, on CO2, I would get snow out of the barrel when firing at a rapid rate in cold weather (down to freezing) - even on the remote.

To go to the extreme, I used this marker with the Crossfire tank in single digit temperatures without problems. You may need to use the next smaller carrier if you are using the level 10 bolt system in such cold weather. However, the level 10 does help prevent chopping balls.

As a high performance mechanical, you must learn how to correctly operate the trigger. It takes some practice, but after doing so you should rarely have problems caused by not fully releasing the trigger. I would normally fire about two or three balls a second when playing, but could double that when involved in a good shootout. I mentioned the trigger pull as a weakness, but you will not find it worse than other mechanical markers. Once you fire a new x-valve Automag that has the ULT kit, you will understand how light a mechanical trigger can be.

With a good paint to barrel match and shooting at a normal rate of fire, I was dangerous on the speedball field. Hitting hoppers, boots, knees, or other small targets was common.

For ease of maintenance, this marker would be hard to beat. I have fired probably 30,000 to 40,000 shots out of it. The only maintenance required, besides cleaning and dropping oil into the ASA, has been to replace some o-rings and the bolt spring. That is after more than 7 years and 30,000 shots! A parts kit with the o-rings and spring costs about $20 from Airgun Designs. I do recommend using the medium (red) spring if you have the level 10 bolt.

It bears mentioning that friends bought Autocockers, Spyders, and other markers around the same time I purchased my Automag or even a year or two later. Every single one of those other markers is either lying broken in a box somewhere or was traded/sold because it needed repair.

One thing to be careful with is using teflon tape for your air fittings. If you do, make sure you apply it correctly to the threads. If not, shreds of the tape will get into your valve and cause problems. I have never seen this cause damage, but you will need to disassemble the valve and clean out the gunk to correct the problem. (I have never had this problem and I have always used teflon tape.)

This marker is lightweight and you can now get ULE (lightweight aluminum) bodies and rails for Automags, making them even lighter. They are especially good for those who like to stay, gun up, at the ready and those who tend to move a lot while playing. I do recommend looking at mainbodies that take cocker threaded barrels, as you will have problems finding twistlock barrels (Dye, Powerlyte, Smartparts, etc) anywhere besides ebay or for sale boards on forums.

I finally replaced my faithful old Automag this month - with a customized RT Pro Automag I purchased. It was the only possible replacement for such a solid performer.

I rate this marker an 8 (7.5 would be perfect), only because the new versions are the apex of mechanical markers and are what I would rate as a 10.
Conclusion: This is a solid performer that requires very little maintenance. If you are looking for a mechanical marker and cannot afford one of Airgun Design's high-end models (RT Pro or Tac-One with ULT), this is the one for you. Long after other markers are lying broken, an Automag will still be working like the day you purchased it.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, February 28th, 2007 at 6:31 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TaC18 Thursday, November 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
WGP Trilogy Sport
Tippmann A-5
Tipmann 98
Marker Setup: AGD 68 Classic Automag
Carbon Fiber Trigger Frame
Level 7 Inturnals
Dye Xcel 14" barrel
Smart Parts 14" Progressive
Smart Parts 12" Teardrop
Duck Bill drop forward
Nitro Duck 90ci/4500psi HPA Tank
PMI grav. Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
-HPA (Co2 messes up the o-rings etc)

If you want to boost ROF...
-Intelliframe
-Warp Feed
-Level 10 inturnals
-ULE body kit
Strengths: gun is TIGHT! literaly!
very light
high quality
few moving parts
Twist-lock barrel system
Weaknesses: high profile w/ hopper
Doesn't work well with co2
Twist-lock barrel sytem
Review: Since this is a 50 word minimum, ill be brief....


I got my first Automag last Tuesday and i was so excited when i did. i had just boughten a new n2 tank the sunday before and so i had a bit left to test out my new toy.

when i first took it out iwas amazed at its size and looks... the pictures really do it no justice.

i screwed in my newly aquired n2 tank, locked in the 12" teardrop barrel and loaded the hopper with some jt commando paint (its actually decent paint). i clicked off the safety and shot it at a cluster of trees. it shot staright and tru... then i shot at a target about 100ft away and the grouping stayed tight as when i shot the target at 50ft away. then i tried out the 14" x-cel barrel and 14" progressive barrel, both which shot amazingly accurate.

i went through about a bag of paint before my tank ran out (it was a quarter of the way full) so i know i could shoot a case w/o the tank running out or the Automag eating air (what ive been told)

trigger pull is the lightest mech. pull ive ever encountered. the carbon fiber frame seemed as thought it could take a severe beating with a sledge hammer, and the trigger resets very fast... too bad it doesnt work like a response trigger.

With the Twist-lock barrel system, it is easy to take barrels out to clean or change them, but you can only use a twist lock barrel.

im hoping to get an intelliframe and warp feed soon, so that will really boostmy rate of fire and a hole in my wallet :P i sure hope my amount of paint uses doesn't increase more than a bag (500rds)

Conclusion: I think, if you can get one, DO IT! or if your looking for a high quality paintball marker you should think about the AGD product line

this gun IMHO is one of the finest mechanical guns out there besides some of the other AGD markers... very high quality, just y looking at it you can tell that alot of time and brain power went into the creation of this beast.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, November 16th, 2006 at 12:30 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

KingKoval Wednesday, June 15th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
i have used the Airgun Desgins Tac-One. the Tac-one is a much better marker. With a much much greater ROF and much greater accuracy
Marker Setup: I have a Tac-One with the Longbow System but i mainly use my Tippmann Custom 98 with respones,stock,armson stealth barrel,expansion chamber,and a halo hopper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Do not buy the gun. There are much better guns for the same price.
Strengths: ROF and accuracy are good
Weaknesses: Heavy for size of marker and could be improved alot
Review: I was at my friends house when he got his Pro Classic by delivery and we tested it with some spare paintballs and co2. The gun shot good but the wieght could be much lighter and the rate of fire could be much faster. If you plan on buyin one of these guns you better have more money to buy upgrades for it. Decent starting gun and could be made into an excellent gun with right improvements.
Conclusion: If you have plenty of money buy it and improve it. It is a good gun but could be so much better
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
22 Comments - Add Comment

kohboose Friday, September 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
nothing of the sort really....
Marker Setup: AGD Pro classic w/ 12" 32 degrees Night stikk barrel, ULE CF main body
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new barrel, and HPA
Strengths: Solid accuracy, reliable, tons of upgrades, low mantinence, great warranty system
Weaknesses: First time uses can yield some annoying problems
Review: After hearing much talk of the greatness of the automag design, I decided to take a gamble and buy the pro classic as opposed to the a5 that i had planned on buying earlier. With great expectations, I proudly unveiled it at a local scenario game and was keen on seeing wether or not it would live up to it's reputation. You can only imagine the disapointment when the game started and the mag suddenly began shooting 102 fps compared to the 260 it had been shooting just half an hour before. annoyed but not discouraged, I rechronoed it and head back out. upon re-entering the game, a bolt-stick occured(this is when something, usually dirt or paint gets wedged into the bolt.),but was easily countered by unscrewing the barrel and pushing the bolt back. After that, it worked flawlesly and i was picking opposing players off left and right.I was quietly suprised on how well it worked after it was fixed. Shot groupings were excellent and it was a great experience all around. With the upgrades available, mags can really be made into something special.
Conclusion: Unless your a big cocker fan, then I can't think of a better mechanical marker in this price range. This is a great gun for intermediate players thinking about upgrading to a more advanced level of markers.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

spike_ball999 Monday, April 9th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Only tested autocockers (high end mech) and Ions (blow forward)
Marker Setup: Automag Classic
ULE vert feed body
Intelliframe with blade trigger
Level 10
RT on/off
PMI Gas thru
Function direct mount ASA
14" Proto one piece barrel
12v revy
47/3k
Recommended
Upgrades:
ULE
Level 10
ULE on/off or RT on/off
Intelliframe
Strengths: Durrable
Easy to maintain and work on
Small
Lightweight
Virtually no kick
Weaknesses: Gas hog
Review: I've been playing with my automag for some time now and played with it in all it's stages. It's always been good. I originally purchased it off Ebay for $180 with Level 10 and an Intelliframe already installed. Played with it a bit here and there and started swaping out parts. It evolved from a regular powerfeed right marker twist lock to a ULE champ. I originally used it with CO2 but again, I upgraded to HPA. It runs much smoother on HPA, but can still use CO2 if you really want it too.
Now Automags are tough. I've had my fair share of dives into the dirt or woodchips and it always comes out like a warrior. They're fairly easy to maintain and work on if you have some common knowledge of how they work. Just a couple drops of oil into the valve before play and you're good to go. The entire valve comes out with one field strip screw. I've always loved that sort of feature, even with old Spyders. There's a lot of little parts to these things and they're all important. Mags like and don't like being messed around with and I'll tell you why. Once you do have it tuned, it will stay that way. Once you change a small thing, even like the on/off, a few adjustments and assesments must be made. All I have to say is be patient with it.
It's a very small marker and lery lightweight, especially with a ULE body. Usually in games I rarely get a marker hit. It's one of those perfect guns for people who like to get into small places or like to play tight.
The level 10 is brilliant and if tuned right, will never chop a ball. Ever. No batteries involved so no worrying about dying batteries.
Also, they're easily customizeable. Many bodys are available as well as rails, foregrip options and grips. No two mags are exactly alike.
Conclusion: Overall, AGD has made a piece of history with this thing. It works extremely well. With an X valve upgrade or going with an Emag you could easily keep up and out perform todays modern "marvels". Even just a classic can work wonders. If you want a marker that you can keep in a dusty box forever and pull out and instantly start shooting, this is it. But who would want to do that? They're fun! Get one!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media