paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Squad Buster Paint Grenade / Tippmann Squad Buster Paint Grenade / Tippmann Squad Buster Paint Grenade

Tippmann Squad Buster Paint Grenade Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Squad Buster Paint Grenade

Paintball Miscellaneous

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Squad Buster Paint Grenade
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 271
Average Rating: 4.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $5

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Just pull the pin and throw and upon impact this non exploding grenade releases a swirling fury of paint within a 30 foot area.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Squad Buster Paint Grenade is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (28):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Stan_the_HitMan Monday, May 31st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested128 of 133 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
water baloon (jokes) bouncing bettys, home mades (the kind with firecrackers) and bannanas.
Marker Setup: Primary: tippmann proshop sniper with dye sticky 3's and squareshooter
secondary: doule Core PT Proessionals dye sticky 3's all around.
Dye invision 03 mask
Strengths: Splatters paint over a 10 feet radius _thickly_
Cool looking
Weaknesses: Very misunderstood, misused, and under rated.
not regular paint
a bit awkward to throw
Review: OK, people, i read the reviews, and ive tested them for myself, so let me enlighten you with my findings compared to there findings.

Many people said they dint explode when thrown.
my findings:
to throw grenade;
step one _remove black mesh_ ( this is wear every one went wrong, if mesh is not removed grenade turns into potently harmful projectile
step 2 pull pin (no trouble there im sure)
step 3 SHAKE ( think of these grenades as a can of pop, you need to dilute the gases inside into the liquid or they will have no pressure to escape, like opening a can of pop that has not been shaken, the better you shake the more pressure you build up.)
step 4 remove cap/ or just throw it and hope it falls off.
step 5 watch it twirl around spewing paint
** if steps are not followed correctly in order grenade will not go off**

Many people take this grenade for granted, for example, one review i read hear says these people pulled the pin, threw the grenade to one another and it did not blow, then they threw it at the ground and it still did not blow.
Problem: did not follow instructions, more specifically the taking off of the black mesh. or they might not be throwing it hard enough, but hey, you don't need to be a major league pitcher to set one off, throwing it at the ground would most defiantly cause it to rupture.
solution: follow instructions ( i know there a bit sketchy, but hey what can ya do)

some people say you need to really lobb it to get her to explode
well, truth is they need a bit of an impact, throwing them at a speed of 5 mph at a non pillow surface should do it.
problem: people being anncey and _just_ pulling the pin

another problem i saw was it is better to not use them one one person, to wait for many people to be close together to use it and this is hard to find.
answer: if you cant find people together that's your problem, not mine, go look in a trench or a pill box or something, and remember, newbies hunt in packs.


people also say that it has bad range, well im glad to see you've gotten to the stage where you can make it go off, good for you, now the spray covers a 10-15 foot radius, i suppose it may look smaller if you were using your binoculars backwards or something..... but it says thirty feet on the box wright? well someone thirty feet away on a windy day may get some drizzle mist, but that's about it. but still, when bunkering 10 feet of kill-zone is all you need.


other people say its too expensive.....5 bucks, common, i can take a joke just as well as the next guy, but i know your not broke, how do i know, your playing paintball one of the most expensive and fun sports in the world.
Conclusion: All in all you pay for what you get, and if your a scenario or close quarters player, i recommend them, great for throwing around corners if your being bunkered that way, or for clearing a room. and what about those nasty pill boxes? just toss it in the stir Fri and notice the difference in taste....for them, because their are eating paint to night...ha ha..ha......i made a joke.
anyway, there may be some bad rumors you've heard, but to see for yourself surrender 5 bucks and follow the directions, and laugh at the people who didn't. im giving it an 8 because its not everything and a bag of chips. looks good, smells good, and it sounds a hell of allot cooler than "bouncing Betty ( sounds like a porno movie) or a "banana grenade" (sounds like a tool a monkey would use if they went to war)
so 8 it is
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 21st, 2006 at 9:25 am PST
I found this review  
34 Comments - Add Comment

cocker kid 2k2 Saturday, March 29th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested31 of 84 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Never used anything as useless as this.
Marker Setup: Smart parts basic impulse s/n 17830
Vert reg
Tapeworm
Strengths: It smells good.
Weaknesses: It does nothing.
Review: First and only time I paid money for one of these was back in June of 01 when i was a wee newbie, I thought it would be fun, so I got it home and I took it out of its little packaging, thinking that it was something good. So I smelled it and later on discovered that its only good feature is it smells good. So me and my friend decided to play catch with it, so I took the pin out and the red cap flew off. I threw it to him, he didn't catch it and expecting it to blow up it just did nothing. So we continued to play catch, he missed it about 8 times and still nothing happened, so when it got back to me I was getting a bit irritated and just slammed it against the ground, and what a surprise, nothing happened, we had to slam it against the ground a good 4 times until it did something, and what it did was pathetic. It just squirted out a tiny bit of what wasn't even paint. Very disappointing.
Conclusion: Its great if your in the mood to waste 5 dollars, but if you actually dont like flushing money down the toilet, this isn't for you.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
38 Comments - Add Comment

chickeny Saturday, June 14th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month23 of 25 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none
Strengths: good for bunkers
good for big games
Weaknesses: hafta throw it GOOD
takes a bit to get ready
Review: well i've never spent my own $$ on 1 of these, i just keep winning them in raffles but for the times i did use them they were pretty good for me. every one here is saying that it doesn't work on the first shot or it hardly does anything and i disagree. first of all you must take off the netting holding it together or at least slide it to the bottom so the paint can spray eaiser, then it has to come on the ground hard which can be accomplished with a long range throw into a bunker. when they hit the ground the paint comes flying out and there's quite a bit of paint that spins around and can take out a large # of ppl in the right situation. these grenades are not for a 1-person kill, wait until there's 3 or 4 campers and then let 1 of these loose. for anyone who thinks they don't explode, you just need a bit more of an arm or some more arc on it and make sure you set it up properly before throwing it.
Conclusion: if you're spending money on these for just a small game with your friends, don't waste your money, wait until a big game at a local outdoor field. for big games these things are quite handy since there are always large groups sitting almost everywhere. if you play indoor, do not get this product either, it just ruins the fun of indoor cause it paints a large radius. just because of how good these grenades have been to me and because of how many times they've saved my @$$ from big squads (hence squadbuster) i'm going to give it an 8.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
12 Comments - Add Comment

donut10591 Thursday, September 23rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month16 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
bananas willies
Marker Setup: angel4
nduck45 68
revy x intellifeed
pipe
st drop
st on/off
Strengths: Scares Noobs (below)
Fun to Shoot
Lots of possibilities
Weaknesses: Doesn't go off (sometimes)
Review: At my last big game there were.. 70 on 70 noobs. So my friend and i got squadbustersand tested them at the range.. they worked any it got all over someone's car. LOL (had to clean it up though) So we bought 2 each and went to the game. First we were getting pinned by i don't know... 20 noobs. (stock guns if u shoot their bunker once they scream and duck for about a minute hehe) so i shook the grenade, pulled the pin, flipped the cap, removed the mesh and whipped it at a tree behind their bunker. SPLOOOOSH all over the fricking field. Well we won.. NExt Game... Pinned again so i followed the steps and chucked it, didn't work. My friend chucked his and it didn't work. Sooooo, i decided to shoot the grenades and see if they'll at least leak out. I snapped a few grounders at the grenade and pop, it flies open and shoots part of the plastic and paint at everyone. THat was a much bigger explosion than the first one. So i thought.. if i put it in pressure maybe it'll splash out easier. Next game.. I take out the grenade, and snip every mesh wire but the middle one. Next, i crease the grenade on the sides with a small knife so if i press hard enough the thing will explode.As the game starts, i'm on the castle (skirmish paintball field) I gently drop it at the bottom, run up the stairs and wait, soon enough, 80 people come and attack. The whole front was destroyed, soooooooo. I take aim... and his the grenade right on the center crease. Since i spent so much time pressurising it, the whole thing went up 17 feet, completely covered my mask in paint, and i took out 50 guys.. and 20 of my guys. Now paint was raining, no stop blue paint for 10 seconds. As the last drop falls, my whole backside is blue (not my front side i looked like a hippie) every ref was blue and they posted that game on the bulletin board.
Conclusion: Well, first i should tell you how i use this now. First, before game i take duct tape and tape the spout on top that the paint is supposed to come out of. (careful do this outside if you pull the pin to fast it leaks. (for mine i have no idea why) next, take a knife and crease small circles all over the grenade. about 1 centimeter deep.not too small of a circle though or it will just mist the paint out. After that, snip the mesh wire up to the middle one. Now take duct tape, make a reverse stick. (sticky part of the piece of tape is facing outwards and put it between the part where the 2 sides of the grenade meet. Lastly, here's the trickiest part but the most important, squeeze each side until about 3/4's of each side is filled with paint and tape around the sides to keep it pressurized at the end. In the game, drop it gently or underhand, whatever you do don't throw it or it will mess it up. Then carefully shoot the pressurized part of the grenade make sure you don't hit the top or it will just spurt out one end. If you followed the steps correctly it shoot shoot a straight stream of mist about 20 feet in 6 directions. If you make smaller circles (creases with the knife, ) it will go shorter but you will be able to get more people, if you're lucky and the pressure is aimed to you, shoot it at a higher place and it will rain on those wipers. I like this grenade, but i have to do a lot of work for a better outcome.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

irish639 Saturday, May 19th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Water ballon with random chemicals from under my counter in it
Marker Setup: Sp ion
Hybrid grenade grips-darker green camo
VP scythe triger
68/3k pure energy carbon fiber tank
Racing green on/off and black rail
Cp shorty reg
Firebolt
XSV Clutch clamping feedneck
Virte EZ-on
reloader B
ANS warrior Body
T-board
FBM frame
Urban camo membrane pad
Strengths: Fun to whatch racoons get owned with
Weaknesses: You have to clean that paint off ut house
Review: I got a few of these for a scenario game i was going to the next weekend and they worked nicely there, but before I had other uses for them:
A few days B4 that scenario game this pack of racoons started calling my cat a niggy and eating his food so i scared them and made them go outside, they just sat there as i yelled at them so i went and got one of these thing, shook it and took off netting and cap and lobbed it at the little terds, it hit one of their tails and it exploded, they were then bluecoons and pretty pissed, especially the one that got hit in his tail, but they ran off, a few days later i saw 1 racoon and it had a blue hue to it, how rewarding that was :), try not to hit racoons in the head, may cause death, or a bunch of pissed off bluecoons....
Got a picture of that 1, http://i140.photobucket.com/albums/r9/irish639/Bluecoon.jpg
Conclusion: Better for racoon ownage then noob ownage
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, May 20th, 2007 at 12:08 am PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Menohl Monday, November 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years9 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Atomic Big Boy Grenades
Wet Willie Grenades
Bannana Bombs
Meteor Shower Grenades
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
GTA Inline Expansion Chamber
GTA Double Trigger
Madmann Spring Kit
J&J 14" Ceramic Barrel
Viewloader 12V Revolution w/ X-Board
JCS 6" Offset 3/8" Dovetail Sight Rail
Magnacraft 3-9X30 Illuminated Scope
Thunder Pig In-Line CO2 Gauge
JCS Combat Folding Stock w/RVA
Kingman Coiled Remote
PMI 20oz. CO2 Tank
Strengths: Intimidating to new and young players
Weaknesses: They rarely go off
erratic spray when they do go off.
Review: I have used these grenades on and off for years, and every few years i pick one up just to see if they ever got these to work correctly... sadly tippmann never has.

Every time i've used these grenades or seen them used the same thing always happens:

1.The person throws it, the grenade hits the ground and it doesn't go off.
2. The opponent pics it up and throws it back, it still doesn't go off.
3. The original person picks it up again, gets pissed at it, and throws it at the ground about 3-4 feet from them.
4. The grenade finally goes off and throws paint all over the person's shoes and pants.
5. They are the only person marked by the grenade.

The fact is, that you really have to throw these sucker hard or else they will not go off, long distance lobs RARELY set these off, and the opponent just throws them back.

When they do go off, the spray pattern isn't really that great, and i've rarely seen these grenades throw paint higher than a foot off of the ground.

I've seen more people shot out because they were fiddeling with these things or attempting to throw one, than people taken out by a grenade.


Conclusion: Seriously, if you want to use a decent paint grenade get a Wet Willie or a Bananna Bomb, or just don't use a grenade and spend that money on more paint.

3 out of 10 - Just not worth the money or the effort
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

mclauthlin Tuesday, March 11th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year9 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom with flatline barrel and M-16 collapsable stock, PT Extreme sidearm
Strengths: It's awesome to get those hard to reach enemies packed away in a bunker as well as taking out a group of enemies snuggled together trying to watch each others backs. As for the damage it can do, it's great for what it needs to do as well as being compact. I give this an overall 10 because it's been everything I've needed it to be, except my first time using it (but that was my own stupidity). It's a real simple product and the cost hasn't been a problem for me. That's why I have a carry a case of over 30 with me to the field.
Weaknesses: The only problem I had was the possibility of pressure release and the grenade prematurely "explodes" before I got to throw it. As for anything else, no problem.
Review: Here's a story for everyone to laugh at, talking about not being able to throw one - It was during a speedball game and I was cornered behind a rock so I pulled the pin and popped the red top off, and went to pull back and throw, before I knew it, I looked like a smurf. Blew my own self up with my own grenade. Go ahead, everyone can laugh it up all you want.
Conclusion: I recommend it highly, not only because of what it can do on the field but off. When people see you step onto the field with straps of grenades, you look quite scarey and the fear of your opponents just makes you want to destroy them even more. Remember, when you are on the field, if they aren't with you, then they aren't supposed to be on the field.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
13 Comments - Add Comment

SNUGLY TEDYBEAR Wednesday, August 20th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
only nade ive ever used so NONE
Marker Setup: 00' impulse, (thats pretty much just the body tho everything else is updated)
-03' cricket board
-blade trigger
-max-flo vert reg
-pmi PERFECT drop
-ND delrin bolt,
-dye ROCKET reg
-full freak kit,
-SP sticky grips
-revvy
-68/45 pure energy n2 tank
Strengths: easy to throw
wet willy x2
paint shoots out both ends
Weaknesses: must hit a hard suface
must throw HARD
Review: FIRST THINGS FIRST!!!!!!
HERE ARE SOME HELPFUL DIRECTIONS
1. Take out pin
2. Remove cap
3. Remove netting
4. Grab the Squadbuster by one end
5. Throw HARD at a HARD surface (when you throw it should spin a LOT due to centrifugal force) IF THIS DIDNT HAPPEN YOU THREW IT WRONG

IF U FOLLOW THOSE DIRECTIONS THE THING WILL WORK LIKE A DREAM

now that we have that problem fixed, lets get to the review


this thing was FUNNNNNNNN

me and my friend were just playing aorund with some new players and we just rushed em all into a building and threw them, ehehehe that was so fun

the squad buster kills or marks about a 10x10 foot area of people, which is quite good i would say

it carried really well in the air, it spins like crazy because its like throwing a stick with weights on both ends, because the paint is in bubbles on each end when you take the pin out and the cap

theres no real point to having the pin and cap on it, you would never break it in your pocket or just holding it, you need to throw it quite hard at a hard surface (like a wall, the ground, or a player)

this nade is probably BEST for urban type maps (with lots of buildings and walls to throw at) this nade probably sucks really bad for woods ball, and in tournaments this obviosuly wouldnt work for crap and ISN'T ALLOWED so if ur not playing an urban style map (indoors OR out) this probably wont be very useful
Conclusion: i WOULD recommend the squad buster, i dont know why every1 else has had problems with it, you just take the pin out, take the cap off AND THROW IT HARD, and you'll be satisfied
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, August 20th, 2003 at 1:07 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Paintballer338 Tuesday, June 28th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
F-bomb, wet willy
Marker Setup: red/black alias, 14" stiffi, 68/45 Pure Energy LP,halo b w/ rip drive, Evo II, and NDZ on/off, cp rail
Strengths: Explained in body
Weaknesses: Explained in body
Review: the main reason the squad buster grenade is getting so low review ratings is people don't know how to use them, so I will either refresh or inform you know how to use them so they will work.

first: shake the grenade wellvwith the cap and pin On, if you shake it without the cap or pin on you will get a facefull of paint.

second: take the pin and cap of and throw with an high arc and try to land the grenade in a semi-hard ground if you land it in tall grass or leaves it will soften the impact and might cause it not to work.

how it works: all is holding back the paint is a bb and the impact drives the bb out and that bounces the grenade in the air, and the paint comes out and causes it to spin.

there might be a few of defective squad busters out there but the main reason they don't work is from tye miss-use of the user.

all of the squad busters I have used have worked, because I know how to use the.
Conclusion: Buy one ore a few, be shure you know how to use them before you throw them.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dairy cow Friday, September 24th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested5 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
water baloons filled with paint from home depot
Marker Setup: e-99 avant,sweet spot trigger, smart parts progressive barrel, VL revi
Strengths: None
Weaknesses: Everything
Review: its horrible, does not go off on impact and yes i did follow directions
it looks cool but what good is that going to do on the field
to make it go off u have to like hit with a sledge hammer or something
IF U JUST HAVE A STRONG DESIRE TO THROW AWAY 5 DOLLARS THEN BUY THIS PRODUCT IT IS FOR U!!!!!!!!!!
Conclusion: Terrible i give it a 1 for effort
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Friday, September 24th, 2004 at 6:04 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (28):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media