paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / New Designz Spring Detents / New Designz Spring Detents / New Designz Spring Detents / New Designz Spring Detents / New Designz Spring Detents

New Designz Spring Detents Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount New Designz

Buy New Designz Spring Detents

Paintball Ion Detents

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


New Designz Spring Detents
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 8
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $12

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Replacement detents for the ION.

Spring loaded which is easier on the ball and offers less friction on the bolt.
Delrin detents.
Packaged with 3 detents and 3 springs. You'll have a back up.
Easier on brittle paint.
Product Availability 
The New Designz Spring Detents are older, so while they may be available used and in a few cases new, they are not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
sosoDAF Tuesday, October 18th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock detents- Not bad at all, but they wear out VERY fast.

-All detents will preform the same.
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
Evil Driver barrel
New Designz spring detents
Evil Detonator regulator
Evil on/off
ASP QEV with QD
Techna/VP Scythe trigger
Smart Parts Q Lock feedneck
Halo B
Crossfire 68/4500 HP
Strengths: VERY cheap.
Works great.
Includes 3, so you have an extra.
Weaknesses: None.
Review: Well, the stock Ion detents are great, but they wear out after around half a case of paint is shot through the gun.
I decided to buy some aftermarket detents.
The New Designz detents were by far the cheapest detents, at only $10.00.
All detents will work the same preformance wise, but all the other detents cost more than these.
Not only the price, but the New Designz detents come with an extra spring and detent, so if you lose one, you will have an extra.
The detents are also very easy to install, unlike the popular Killa magnetic detents.
I ended up putting a spring in backwards by accident, and broke the spring.
I emailed NDZ, and not only did they send me a replacement, they sent me a whole new kit, for free!
Conclusion: The NDZ detents are the best detents preformance, cost, and customer service wise.
They work perfectly.
Buy these!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

glacierspyder Thursday, April 14th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock rubber nubs.
Marker Setup: Smart Parts red Ion, Hybrid Hedlok, CP Reg, New Designz on/off w/ bleed, New Designz roller trigger, New Designz ball detents, Scepter barrel kit.
Blood red Nightkast, Eclipse Nexus kit, Worrblade, Worrblade bolt, Bob Long gauge on front block, Scepter barrel kit.
Evo2, 12v Revy X-board, Halo B w/ rip drive, and a Crossfire 92ci x 4500psi
Strengths: spring loaded
Don't wear as fast as stock.
Weaknesses: See review
Review: I bought these along with my ND trigger from my local proshop and had them installed. I was looking forward to getting to test these to see how well they worked. So, I loaded up my Ion and started shooting. Nothing wrong, worked great (or so I thought). I took my gun in and decided to look at the breach just to make sure that new detents didnít pierce a paintball or whatever. Well, I removed my barrel and only one detent was showing. So, I thought great I must have chopped one and shot it out. So, I went back out in my garage and sifted through the remnant goop of my paintballs in my test bucket. I didnít find any parts of the detent. I went back in and on closer examination I notice the ball detent was stuck in the back position and did not return properly. Kind of looked like this / in the hole. So I tapped the side of my Ion and it sprung back. So I took my finger started pushing the detents in and out and they were sticking like crazy. So I had some larger sized funnel springs and tried using them and still did not work. The problem is that the back of the detent is to short and it doesnít have enough guide, causing the detents to hang up. Not a big problem, so I made some spacers out of plastic and placed them behind the detents. Now they work like they should and havenít had problems of them sticking. Others have had the same problem with the detents and one other fix was to take some material off the back diameter so it wouldnít hit the sides of the detent hole and stick. This product does deserve a 10, but since a little work is involved to get them to properly work I gave it a 9.
Conclusion: Great product after you get them working.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, June 12th, 2005 at 3:31 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

WarHamster Tuesday, March 28th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Ion Detents
Marker Setup: -Custom Built Sniper II (2001 WGP Body)
-Custom Built Autococker (2004 AIM Body)
-Upgraded Smart Parts Ion
-Upgraded CCI Phantom VSC
-Upgraded Ariakon ACP Pistol
Strengths: Responsive
Longer Lasting
Cheap
Weaknesses: Springs shoot out (see review)
Stick occassionally
Review: I picked up a used Ion that had these installed. Upon breaking it down and sliding the body out of it's shell I had both springs shoot out like rockets & get promptly lost. I managed to find one of the springs but couldn't find the other so I reinstalled the stock detents & used those for a while.

Not too long afterwards I noticed the stock detents were already starting to get worn down. I went through my Ion box & found a spare NDZ detent & spring, so I borrowed the spring from it to replace the lost one, and reinstalled my NDZ detents.

So far they've been more responsive then the stock detents (haven't had any rollouts or chops yet) and they've shown no signs of wearing out. They do occassionally stick when I'm pushing them in and out (a tap on the marker usually sets them back correctly). However, it hasn't affected the performance that I've noticed yet, so it's not a huge issue.
Conclusion: Be careful installing & removing them, that you don't loose the springs as they come out like rockets. Otherwise it's an excellent product. I'm giving it an 8 because of the spring loss issue & the detents sticking.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Ace2087 Tuesday, November 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Ion Detents
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
Black Heart Board
CP Rake Trigger
CP Regulator
CP rail
CP On/Off
Freak Jr. Kit w/AA tip
Warrior V2 Bolt
360 QEV
NDZ detents
Hybrid Contract Killer Grips
Strengths: Cheap
Comes with 3 springs and nubs.
Works great
Last longer than stock detents
Weaknesses: Nothing really
You have to tape detents into place maybe??
Review: I was out testing my Ion one day when I was gettin mulitiple double and triple feeds. I thought about what it could be and after taking my marker apart I relised the stock detents where shot...bummer. So I jumped on-line and headed to ebay to check the selection and prices. Reviews were high on these detents from what I could find and tey were the cheapest detents online for sure. I think I paid 12 bucks for them shipped to my door. I got to try them out this past Sunday and I had NO PROBLEMS at all. They do what they are made to do and they do it pretty well. I was pushin about 19-20bps most of the day and never got a double feed or anything and not one break....SCORE!
Conclusion: Overall these detents rock. Cheaper than the rest, made by a good company, comes with 3 springs and detents,last longer than stock, what more can you really want in ball detents right.... 10/10 for this cheap yet awsome product from NDZ.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SPion5 Tuesday, July 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
N/A
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion Pro
SP low pro feed
NDZ Bolt
NDZ QEV
NDZ trigger
NDZ detents
Virtue eyes (green)
Virtue on/off replacement
N2o
Strengths: No ball breakage, no rollouts
Weaknesses: See review
Review: I've had these on my gun since I bought it about 7 months ago and there is the most minimal amount of ware starting to show on them, but for the price they are great and well when the finally do wear out I will by them again. I play paintball about 6 hours a week and shoot 2 cases of paint in those six hours so wear and tear on gear is expected, even from the best products.
Conclusion: Great for the money
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

theytookjustin Sunday, April 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Black Ion, black low-rise Q-lock, black NDZ On/off, Black NDZ snatch grip, Stainless steel freak back, flat black 12 inch freak front, stainless steel freak insert kit, CP black aluminum roller trigger, 45/45 Pure energy tank, Halo B
Strengths: Works way better then stock
Cheap
Easy to install
Weaknesses: None
Review: I personally do not have the NDZ detents(yet) but my brother bought them for his used ion (the kid who he bought it from had no clue how to take care of the marker, let alone realize that his stock detents were screwed over from him messing with them and shoving them in too far)
My bro bought the detents, I installed them though. Very easy to install, just put in the detents, put the springs in, and tape over

We tested it out with a few balls we just pushed through, and they worked great. a weak later we played and my brother had not a single chopped ball or ball break all day

Must say that I'm going to pick up some myself soon
Conclusion: Great product, even better with the price

A must have
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Stuckboy Sunday, November 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock detents on other markers
Marker Setup: SP Ion
NDZ Spring Detents
FBM Fierce Frame (silver to black custom anno)
FBM Delrin Curve Trigger
SP Q-Lock
SP s-rail & ASA
L6
Strengths: They work?
Cool white colour when looking in breech
Weaknesses: You have to tape detents in
Review: Stock Ion detents SUCKED! Wore out after half a case. I've already but 4500 rounds through these and they're holding up strong. I have two more pods to put through them once I get my L6 in and lubed up, should still be great.

I got them because my pro shop didn't have any Kila's in and I needed them that day, overall I am impressed.
Conclusion: If you can't afford Kila's or you need some detents quick and can't wait for Kila's, pick these up!
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, November 21st, 2006 at 3:07 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

CrazBaller Tuesday, August 16th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
The stock rubber detents
Marker Setup: CUSTOM SILVER ION
CCM FEEDNECK
NDZ DETENTS
CP REG
SCYTHE TRIGGER
DYE STICKY GRIPS
CP RAIL
KAPP ON&OFF
FREAK BARREL BACK W/AA TIP
PLANET ECLIPSE QEV
HALO B W/ PR MOD
CROSSFIRE 68/4500
Strengths: Last longer
Stronger
Delrin
Price
Weaknesses: You have to use tape to hold them in
Review: Well I needed detents because the stock one were already worn down. The stubs on the stock detents are gone. So I decided to get some new detents and picked these up at my local paintball store for $8. I have put 6 cases of paint through these detents and it still works fine!!
Conclusion: I highly recommend these detents, not only for the make of them but the price!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media