paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT Vortex Fan II / JT Vortex Fan II / JT Vortex Fan II / JT Vortex Fan II

JT Vortex Fan II Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT Vortex Fan II

Paintball Mask / Goggle Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT Vortex Fan II
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 18
Average Rating: 6.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Newer upgraded version of the JT Vortex mask fan.
Product Availability 
The JT Vortex Fan II is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
aj099 Thursday, September 11th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
none just crap mask that get fogged
Marker Setup: tippman a5 e grip
14 progresive barrel
m4 stock
guerilla hpa tank
with remote
red dot sight
Strengths: no fog at all none
turn it on AND BAM!! the fog is gone
Weaknesses: None at all
Review: I am a big guy i give off alot of body heat and every mask i would try within minutes there was fog so bad i couldnt see s!%*t no matter what i did so i decided to buy my own mask i paid like only 50$ for my mask its a cheap jt one and i got this fan for 40$
and i go to paintball no fog ever none i turned the fan off to check it out fog came turn it back on and the fog is gone within 30 seconds now i hear people talk s**t about this fan saying is so loud they can hear it from far away well if u are sitting in a quiet room ur gonna hear it but out in the paintball field no way people say it gives away ur postion not at all u can barely hear it 3 feet away and then some people say when ur wearing it you cant even hear what your friend is saying i heard everything that day i had no problem at all just put a bit of oil in the fan it gets even quieter this fan is just great you will never have fog it give you a nice cool brease through your hair and goggles
some people even complain that its so hard to install well they must be mechanically challenged it takes 2 seconds to pop it on and off this is definetly the best paintball thing i have bought
Conclusion: Its just great if you have bad fog problems or just hate fog get it it works perfect and like i said im a big guy i give off alot of heat running around and i get seveare fog but this cured my problem with that and it fits under the visor of ur mask so its hidden just see a little button
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

evalha07 Wednesday, May 4th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
No other mask fans.
Marker Setup: Tippman A5 with Flatline, Tactical Harness, Palmers male stabilizer, polished internals, flatline quick change kit, E-grip, trigger mods, RVA, maddmann springs.
Strengths: Effective. Light. Quiet.
Weaknesses: Price. Not quick to uninstall.
Review: This fan rocks....when used with a thermal lens, you should never really have any fog issues. When there is fog, turn it on for about 30 seconds, and it is gone. If you have just cleaned your mask and there is water inside, it will dry it out! Also feels refreshing to have a breeze inside your mask.

You do usually have to take your gloves off to flip the small switch to operate it.

This fan is not loud. Yes, when it is three inches from your ear, it seems loud, but stand 10 feet away and you cannot hear it.

I have yet to expose my fan to heavy rain, but it is somewhat enclosed since it fits under your visor.

This baby costs like 30+ so it isn't cheap, but if you have fog problems, get it. Honestly, you should get a thermal lens first, then if problems persist, get the fan. I have both just to make sure I am 100% fog free all the time.

Not all that fast to install and uninstall, but isn't too bad.





Conclusion: It works. It is very small and light. If you hate fog, get this and a thermal lens.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Caddy24Roy Wednesday, June 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
NONE
Marker Setup: Spyder Rodeo
LAPCO feedneck
14" J&J S2 Ceramic Barrel
Extreme Rage Overdrive Modified Electric Hopper
Heavy Duty Remote Coil
20 oz tank
Stranj 6 + 1 harness
6 Stranj Locking Lid Pods
Jt Proteus Mask with Vortex 2 Fan
Strengths: Great at removing fog in 10 - 20 seconds
Easy to install.
Weaknesses: Just a little noise out of the package. A little oil will fix that.
Review: Well I like to play year round and lately my Jt Alpha elite would fog up so I decide I needed a fan. I read all the reviews on this fan before I purchased it. So I ordered this fan from ebay for 25 bucks. I got it and right out of the package the fan was a little loud. From reading other reviews most of them said to add a little oil to the fan and no more noise. THIS IS SO TRUE!!!!!!!!! You must oil the fan to reduce the noise. After doing that I installed the fan on the masks in under 5 minutes. I dont know what the big fuss is about installing the fan but I had no problems at all. I put my mask on and ran around the house 3 or 4 times stopped and waited for the mask to fog. As soon as it did i hit the switch and it was gone in 10 - 20 seconds. Wow!!! What a relief since I play year round and Now no more fog for ME!!!!!!!!!! My daughter got me the Jt proteus for fathers day. Just put the fan on it and same story. NO FOG FOR ME!!!!!!!
Conclusion: This fan is a great purchase if you wear glasses or play in humid conditions. I got mine off ebay for 25 bucks.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, June 21st, 2006 at 6:38 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PBcommando Wednesday, May 11th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
No other fans
Marker Setup: JT Protium
Evil Driver Barrel
PMI 20 oz C02 tank with Smart Parts on/off switch
Strengths: Life of battery
NEEDED w/ glasses
Weaknesses: Little pricy for functionality
Disappointing
Review: I bought the fan because I had fogging problems.

PRICE:
$30 Clear, $35 Black

INSTALLATION:
Fits on all the new masks, take visor off, put on, put visor off. Done. Uses one AAA (or AA?) battery.

FOG EXTRACTION:
Not bad, but it could be better. Fog usally gone in 30 seconds.

NOISE:
If you're big on stealth, you may be disappointed. Your opponents cannot here the fan run. However, it sounds like a jet taking off in your goggles. Use sparingly as a result.

DURABILITY:
Mine is still going strong, but you need to be careful as a player. I know 2 examples (bought at about the same time) and the switches broke, making the fan inoperable.
Conclusion: Disappointed with relaibility and noise level, but I need it (have glasses), even WITH THERMAL LENS.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

SunyJim Tuesday, March 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Home built computer cpu fan direct wired to 9 volt snap on, Battery and fan mounted on the visor. So Quiet YOU hardly know it's running, but clears the mask in seconds.
Marker Setup: Tippman 98 custom with Flatty, response and drop, PMI Traccer pump with 7oz tank -stock
Strengths: Small professional looking unit.
Weaknesses: Damn this is so LOUD! out of the package.
Review: I thought this was the answer to the poorly designed PROTEUS (aka fogmaster 2000) but it was so loud out of the package. The answer from a paintball forum was to unscrew the body of the vortex and add paintball oil to the fan, then wow, so quiet.
So must be something with a few bad batches not being oiled properly.
Conclusion: Great idea, but my homebuilt job beats the mofo out of it hands down.
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, March 29th, 2006 at 11:50 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nerdcore Tuesday, May 23rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Homemade fan on my Prowler (Skull) - stronger but uses two 9 volts.
Marker Setup: Matrix LCD
14" Freak Jr kit
TMC/Trauma Eyes
Tadao 1.1
Aardvark Tenticle
SP Q-Lock
CP Rail
CP 2k5 on/off
Z-Boarded Egg
Crossfire 68/45k
Strengths: Defogs ok
Looks good
Can blow air in or suck air out
Weaknesses: Loud
Reverse setting (air out) does nothing
Review: After using my Prowler (Skull) for a while, i decided to upgrade my old Flex 7 with soft ears and this Vortex II.

Out of the package, the fan is super loud. Someone else's review suggested oiling (paintball oil will do) which helped, although it was hard to get the oil in there (had to drip 4-5 drops in between the fan blades & tilt it to let it flow onto the fan shaft, then laid the Vortex upside down).

Despite it's initial loudness, it defogged ok. My homemade fan on my Prowler defogged quicker but it DOES have a 1x1 inch cpu case fan running on two 9 volts - think A/C for your eyeballs. My suggestion with the Vortex II is oil it then flip it on (air in NOT air out) before a game starts. The oil should keep it quiet & the constant air circulation should prevent any fogging.
Conclusion: Ok product, although JT charges too much for it. If you can, try to get it used or just make your own ( two 25x25mm laptop case fans hooked up to one 9V will fit nicely on the JT Spectra series).
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

NuSkool Sunday, April 30th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Proto "Turbine" Fan
Marker Setup: WGP 2002 STO Autococker (CUSTOM Anodized):
-Planet Eclipse "E2" Trigger Frame
-Planet Eclipse "Zero B" Upgrade Board
-Planet Eclipse Samurai 2 Trigger
-Planet Eclipse "Reflective" Infared Anti-Chop Eye
-Planet Eclipse Electronic 5-Way/3-Way
-Kapp 5-Way/3-Way Hose w/ "Top Hats"
-Karnivor Valve Assembly
-WGP Worr-Blade "Lockdown" Hammer Kit
-WGP "STO" Inline Regulator
-WGP "MP-4" Ram (2 Built-In T.R.V/Q.E.V....lightweight AND Compact)
-WGP "Tickler" LPR (Low Pressure Regulator)
-WGP Worr-Blade Bolt
-WGP "Black Magic" Pull-Pin
-Custom Products "Flamed Drop" Forward
-Custom Products On/Off w/Bleed
-WGP Pump-Rod
-WGP "Black Magic" Cocking Rod
-Dye Beaver-Tail
-Redz "Q-Lock" Clamping Feedneck
-WGP Braided-Steel Hose
-WGP 45-Degree Stainless-Steel Elbows/Fittings
-WGP "Black Magic" 2-Piece Barrel (14inch)
-Evil Pipe Barrel Kit (14inch)

www.AnarkystPaintball.com
Strengths: Reduces Fog, Provides a Cool Breeze, Quiet
Weaknesses: Sound can be annoying
Review: I placed this item into my JT Spectra "Flex-7" IZE, and noticed a significant difference. The amount of fog was reduced by at least 70%, and I was cooled down by the fan itslef!!!!! The fan runs on a single "AAA" battery, and lasts (the battery) a very long time. It is very quiet, but the sound can get a bit annoying. They are easy to install, or to remove, so you won't have to worry about that.
Conclusion: A great buy, especially for anybody with a "Spectra Series" JT mask. It does it's job, and it does it well.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Da Old Chief Monday, May 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 years1 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
ProtoTurbo
Marker Setup: A5 w/E-Grip, flatline, red dot, drop forward, cammo'ed, & modified action (#1 gun) or;
98C, w/resp trigger, expansion, modified flatline, turbo-hopper, stock (cuctom SNIPER), cammo'ed, & modified action, (heavy backup gun) or;
98C w/16" CMI barrel, turbo-hopper, cammo'ed (light weight - long range gun)
Strengths: NOTHING - hard to mount, super difficult to replace batteries, ultra low air flow
Weaknesses: LOUD - had to cut fan hole into my mask to make work - a little.
Review: This fan is just above your one eye so only that eye gets some very "lil" breeze. It sucks your hot moist forehead/face air and blows it onto your glasses lens. You got to take your mask a part everytime you need to change the battery. If you wear contact lens it might help your inside mask face plate for one eye but forget it if you wear glasses!!! The fan CFM is way to low for any practical use with glasses.

I'm the old man x-Nam Vet and Sr. Engineer. All the current fan system that fit above the face mask are flawed as they take in your hot moist body heat and blow it upon my glasses/mask lens. They are all "LOUD" killing stealth sniper hearing/OPs. It is usually HOT/humid where I play and no matter what I do I'm plagued with severe mask/glasses condensation. No, low air volume fan works especially this one. All current fan systems stink as I suspect the designers do not where glasses just like I've found with mask makers.
Conclusion: Don't buy it you will be disappointed! They need to place the fan behind the users head (or on the belt - better) and use plastic >0.5" air-duct tubes attached to the head straps (to both sides) of the mask.This will remove most all the noise from near the face/ears. But you do not want to increase the rear weight on the head strap pulling the mask out of place on the users head. So place the battery in a belt pouch (allows for bigger 12V type battery) with an easy access 100% speep/powerd control (like a blower voltage potentiometer). Use a 2.5-3" BLOWER not a 1" mini-fan that has NO CFM - get >10CFM into the mask to each eye.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Monday, May 29th, 2006 at 6:06 am PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

1kureckert Monday, November 10th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Invision Turbine Goggle Fans;
Proto Goggle fan;
Extreme Rage goggles with built-in fan
Marker Setup: 26 A-5s in various configurations with remotes, etc. (I loan out my stuff for people to use.)
4 Tacamo Type IIs
Strengths: Really effective at preventing fog
Weaknesses: Usually loud - see review
Review: They are very effective at preventing fog. I and a lot of my friends sweat a lot. Without fans, we wouldn't be able to play - period. Never had a complaint from anyone about fog while using these fans.

Nevertheless, I own 20 of these fans, which I use primarily on the JT Nforcer goggles. Of those 20, only 5 are what I would consider quiet. That's 25%. On my Extreme Rage goggles with the built-in fan, 8 out of 8 were quiet. For my Dye Invision Goggle fans, 3 out of 4 were quiet. The Proto fan was noisy and useless.

The noise is so loud on the non-quiet JT fans that they are, by far, the loudest fans I have - so much so that some of my friends refuse to use them. The shrieking sound they make when they don't work right is just hard to get used to.

Conclusion: In short, they are a great fan; but, from my experience, you got a 25% chance of getting a decently quiet one.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Ishii-kun Saturday, April 26th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: stock SP-1
Strengths: Keeps your Goggles from Fogging up, Water proof, Fits all JT goggles,
Weaknesses: Loud!
Review: this fan is extremely loud, I've had it on while my teammate is screaming in my ear and I could barely make out what he was saying. Sure, its not that loud 10 ft or so away, but thats no good when you're trying to hear what your team is saying.

It is somewhat difficult to install but doesn't require any special tools or anything and will not jar loose during play.

It is waterproof which I tested out a few weeks ago when I went playing in a heavy rain storm.

Will blow air in or pull it out at the flick of a switch (though determining which way is which is somewhat difficult)
Conclusion: The cons out weigh the pros on this one, so unless you don't plan on communicating with your team then I would not recommend this product
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media