paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Game Face Recon E5 / Game Face Recon E5 / Game Face Recon E5 / Game Face Recon E5

Game Face Recon E5 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Game Face

Buy Game Face Recon E5

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Game Face Recon E5
[ View Photos (15) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 33
Average Rating: 8.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $280

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
RECON E5

If military-style markers are what you crave, the Recon E5 is for you.

Electronic trigger frame
.68 cal. Semi-automatic
Adjustable stock
Authentic M16-style cocking lever – fully sealed from elements for a long life.
Weaver/Picatinny compatible AR15 multi-mount rail system
Under-barrel Weaver mount for additional accessories
Wraparound rubber grip
Built-in bottom line air adapter
Tool-free, pull-pin breakdown for easy cleaning and lubrication
Spyder compatible internals
Spyder-threaded 14" micro-honed barrel

Available Accesories

Red dot sight GFMSRD

Fully-sealed red dot sight with 10 brightness settings. NiCad battery included.

Tactical flashlight GFMSFL

Pressure pad actuated. Two CR123A lithium batteries included.

Bipod GFMSB

Bipod with telescoping legs for long-range sniper-style shooting. Clamps to any 7/8" barrel.

Barrel Compensator GFMSC

Steadies marker recoil

Product Availability 
The Game Face Recon E5 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Darkterrin Saturday, May 28th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months37 of 40 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have used the Tippmann A5 with flatline Barrel and folding stock and they are cool and perform well but i like my Recon E5 better.
Marker Setup: I use to use my Tippmann 98 Custom but now i use my new awsome recon E5 on it i have the AR15 scope mount with red dot scope, tatical flashlight,Barrel Compensator and BI Pod.It was hard to find the accessories for the Recon e5 but i eventually found them at a place called octanegear.com un recon e5 mods
Recommended
Upgrades:
The barrel comensator is great it makes a diffrance in stedying th recoil the red dot scope is also very cool, if you config it wright it is awsome, and the bi pod is also cool it allows you to make stedy snpier like shots, the tatical light is awsome it isnt really needed but it looks so darn kool.
Strengths: ACCURACY,RATE OF FIRE,RANG,LOOKS,COMFORTABILITY and PRICE
Weaknesses: The weight is a factor its a little hevy in the front especialy
Review: All in all the recon E5 is an awsom paint ball marker for (senario play).. It has never jammed or faild me. The accuracy and range of the RECON E5 has helped me take out more guys than ever befor i love this paintball marker.The 14 inch barrel dose well and it is a great alternative to those arikon guns wich are expensive,i got my recon for free I DO like to bragg lol see last march i sent a letter to GameFace paintball asking thme for a Recon E5 for free i dident think it was going to work but.. and everybody made fun of me for doing it lol. but one day i came home and there was a box on my porch an when i opend it i almost lost it lol.Anyway i said to them if i got one i would spred the word about the marker and show people how great it was and it truly is a great Marker i love it so much lol and i especialy love and thank GameFace for the opertunity Heck i even got it befor the marker even went on the market (i kinda think i was a feild test of the marker but lol im not complaining)
Conclusion: My recommendation is that you buy this product it is awsome i love it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 7th, 2006 at 10:41 pm PST
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

PBallBassboy666 Monday, June 6th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested16 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmans w/flatlines. and also tested the armothech's
Marker Setup: Game Face Impulse W/eye, Rickochet 2k motorized hopper, N2 and Comp air,
Recommended
Upgrades:
bi pod and nutin else
Strengths: Acurate, and fast when needed. and just overall a cool gun.
Weaknesses: A little on the bigger side for a marker. but thats it.
Review: I thought overall it was an amazing gun. it was accurate when it needed to be and when called for the electro trigger brought out the demon in it. this thing could whip some paint but also keep it accurate, be warned if this thing gets 1 paintball broken anywhere in the breach or barrel than u best have ur rag or or a push through rod on u. but compared to the armotech's in price, they blow them outa the water.
Conclusion: A sollid gun function, performance and money wise. recomend it for scenario players or to have around as a fun gun
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, June 7th, 2005 at 11:31 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Overthetopdan Tuesday, September 6th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months7 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
This was the first Mil-sim gun I had a chance to use, though the good ol' Tippmann A-5 w/flatline is a fairly good compairson. The A-5 is more durable, but also more expensive (once you buy the upgrades to get it running right) and not really an accurate camparison because of the trigger frame difference.(the A-5 is mechanical and an A-5 with an e-grip hits about the 450 dollar range)
Marker Setup: Currently the Recon I am using has a 14 inch CP one piece barrel and I took the whole sight rail off. My loader is a Richocet AK. For the most part, I've been using CO2, but for reasons I've listed below, I'll be going to compressed air soon.
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new barrel is a must, and if you take the handguard and front sight pieces with you, you can check the outside diameter of the barrel to see if you can put it back on. Also, if you really can't afford a compressed air tank, you will want to take your tanks and have an anti-siphon tubes put on, or, put an expansion chamber on the gun. Once again, remember that almost everything is spider compatible, and that stuff is everywhere. A new bolt, a new grip, and good supply of o-rings will do you good. Lastly, buy a loader that will do at least 14 bps, and I recommend a Halo TSA Backman. You will never out shoot it and has a 210 ball hopper.
Strengths: Fire rate and cool factor. Nuff said.
Weaknesses: Cheap e-grip and HUGE inside diameter stock barrel size.
Review: First of all, this gun is great to look at and to play with. It can make you feel like freakin' Rambo when charging throught the brush with this marker. Having Spider compatible barrels and internals makes it easy to find upgrades and replacements. As for the barrel, I'd reccomend a CP one piece or a Tru-flight for lower end barrels, or a Phreak system for the player with out much of a budget. Sizable barrels are a msut have for anyone who plays field-paint scenarios much. Although a new bolt may help that a bit. I haven't had a chance to do this myself. The egrip is nice and fast, but if your CO2 tank lets too much liquid in, the solenoid freezes up. Compressed air solves this, but its not quite as efficient as CO2 on a warm day. Maintence is important on this marker, for it needs its o-rings oiled often and liberaly. Beyond that, a dang good marker for the price, and an excellent addition to anyones arsenal, if the don't mind the wieght. But of course, a good sling will help that out.
Conclusion: If the retailer is selling it for less than 300, buy it. It's fun to use, easy to maintain, and durable. Plenty of upgrades, tons of mil-sim options, and a unique feel. A bargain at less than 300 bucks. You'll shoot that much in paint in your first couple of games.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Jacklebak Wednesday, November 23rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 custom
Marker Setup: I own the Recon E5 and am currently looking for accesories
Recommended
Upgrades:
i want to buy a barrel compensator, laser, and remote; so i suggest the same
Strengths: very durable, shoots accurately, and looks AWSOME!!!
Weaknesses: It is pretty heavy and not recomended for the weak. Also not entirly waterproof.
Review: I have had only less than a month so far with my new Recon E5, but i can already tell that it will be one of my favourite guns to use. I myself am a woodsballer so it fits my personality perfect. First of all, it is perfect for almost any position on the field. If you want to snipe with it, buy a scope and an upgrade and snipe with it. If you are more of an assult kinda guy, then upgrade to automatic. And even if you dont go paintballing a lot and only do walk-ons, then you can leave it how it is and still have a blast! The only thing i found that could be classified as a let-down was the fact that it is a bit heavy and long. However, while playing, if you drop it or hit it on something due to its size, It is a very durable gun and can take a lot of rough play. Im not sure if it is supposed to be waterproof, but the box said it was fully weatherproof so..... anyway the grip (in my opinion - if it is supposed to be waterproof at all) does not seem to be able to fully keep out all water. However im not about to go find out -- I value this kikaz gun to much. Did i mention that this thing looks AWSOME!!??? you will garanteed, have the coolest gun at your field. Everyone will be lookin at the thing so dont be shy about struting aroud with it straped to your back or hanging on your shoulders (if you buy a strap). It is no-doubt the coolest marker i have ever seen.
Conclusion: If you are a woodsballer or a scenerio baller then i would definatly recomend you get this gun immediatly. If you enjoy tourny ball better then it might not be your cup of tea, but it would still look cool nomatter what you play.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, November 23rd, 2005 at 6:16 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Mephistopheles0 Monday, October 10th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Recommended
Upgrades:
A fast loader, not necessarily an expensive one.
Strengths: Good for anyone who wants to hold their gun like a real rifle.
Weaknesses: Marker specific accessories are nearly non-existent
Review: My first experience with this gun was kind of a sour one. I bought this gun at a national chain store and made sure the box was sealed before I purchases it. After getting the gun home and breaking the tape, I soon realized that someone had already used it and pretty much trashed it; Scratches all over it, paint oozing out of the bolt. It was bad. After fighting with the guy at customer service for an exchange(his phrase of choice at the time being "we don't sell used guns") I finally got the brand new E5 I had paid for. When you first open the box you can't help but feel a little giddy. Just seeing the weaver/picatinny rails you begin to day dream of all the possible accessories and configurations for this gun. In theory there are lots of accessories for this gun, but only real life accessories such as tac. lights, laser sights, scopes, things of that sort. The manufacturer itself offers bi-pods,tac. lights, red dot scopes, and a "barrel compensator" specifically made for this gun. However, they are VERY hard to come by and I have yet to find them for less than twice the MSRP. On the paintball side of things, all the internals for this gun are Spyder compatible, so it's simple enough to find what you need. On the other hand, it's nearly impossible to find accessories that will keep up with the military look and feel of the gun. The gun itself operates very smoothly. So far I've put about 5,000 balls through it with absolutely no breaks. But considering I very rarely shoot fast, that might not mean too much. The sights are completely adjustable and do work, but are very hard to utilize properly with a mask on.
Conclusion: Overall I am very pleased with this gun. The only reason you may consider getting something else would be to take advantage of all the marker-specific accessories put out for similar guns from other companies.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

maxwelbr Monday, June 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98c, Tippman A5 with 16" barrel, G36 stock and scope
Marker Setup: I use a Game Face Recon E5 with a Trinity M-16 magaizine kit,
Recommended
Upgrades:
I would definately reccomend a Trinity M-16 or Ak-47 magazine to complete the markers looks. Also, get a cheap red dot scope to put on the rail. I would also suggest you get an elbow and a small hopper (50rnd) because the hopper sticks out a little.
Strengths: Solid construction
Accurate
Looks Amazing
easy break-down
Good e-trigger
Weaknesses:
Hard to use iron-sights with mask
bare hose looks bad.
The stock wiggles
Review: All i can say it WOW! This gun is very good! I got mine used and man did it ever look amazing! I got it all organized in the box and just pulled it out and set it up. I don;t even know much about markers and i had that 1 taken apart and put back together in a few seconds. Its easy to take down, everything comes off of it! The hadguard, carry-handly, stock, hose, even the ball reciever comes off easy.

Once i got my co2 connected, i shot over 400 balls with a 12oz co2 tank. I chopped ONE! 1/400. Thats very good, just using a gravity hopper.

I shot my first ball at a waterbottle probably 25-30 meters away and SPLAT! right on target! I was amazed! I set up some targets on various trees and made my own little obstace course and i hit nearly every target i shot at.

This was my first gun ever, and i think that its an amazing deal. Its more accurate than my friends Tippman A5 that has probably $500 worth of upgrades and a 16" barrel. It even looks better.

This gun has EVERYTHING you could ever ask for in a paint marker: cheap yet durable, metal cunstruction, easy take down/cleaning, VERY accurate and insane looks. It even has an electonic trigger that can throw huge amounts of paint very easily. All of this for under $300. I got mine for $180 and i love it!
Conclusion: WOW! This marker is amazing. Just looking at it, i'd say its a 10 for sure. There are some drawbacks though. If it wern;t for its weight and the wiggly stock and the fact that you can;t aim with the iron-sights with a mask it would be a 10. I was impressed at the accuracy with the stock 14" barrel. Its very accurate and durable. It looks great and has a good electronic trigger. GET THIS GUN, YOU WILL LOVE IT!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

HamDaddy Tuesday, February 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder E-99 Avant- loved this gun, no problems except gun ran crappy on CO2 (very cold), I used alot of parts from this gun for the E5
Spyder TL-R- used for a day, hated trigger, made me stand out like crazy in the woods
Tippman 98 Custom- basic setup, cant run with Recon E5-even w/flatline or response trigger
Marker Setup: Night Ops Kit-"silencer" and flashlight
Spyder E-tigger
Spyder E-99 Avant expansion chamber
Dye sticky grip
Red dot sight
Recommended
Upgrades:
Better trigger
Night Ops Kit
Sling
Better barrel if not using night ops kit
Custom bananna clip mag kit
Remote
HPA/Nitro
10-12bps hopper (min)
Strengths: Very well balanced
Gun setup
Upgradeability
Shot distance/consistency
Spyder internal/thread/trigger compatable
Weaknesses: A little on the heavy side, esp for younger players
Loud
Review: I have been using this gun for about a month and I absolutely love it! I had been using a spyder E-99 Avant for the last few months, until I bought the Recon E5. One of the key features for me was that Recon and Spyder are alomost 100% compatible with each other. I took the E trigger and the expansion chamber from my E-99 and put them right onto my Recon E5 without any problems. The only problem with this is that you cant tighten the trigger all the way down or the trigger will jam...however you can still tighten it down so there is not any "shake" in the trigger, and so far I can say that this setup has worked great for me...having the ability to go burst or auto with this gun is a plus. The night ops kit adds to the cool factor for this gun, however they dont have any real field use (maybe at night-will update later on this) the recoil is strenghtened by the "silencer" from the night ops kit, but you will gain about a pound by adding it. I use a remote when woodsballing because the expanding stock is very helpful in steadying the gun. The stock adjusts in 3 different positions so it can fit just about anyone. The stock barrel has threads of the end allowing for the "slencer" from the nigt ops kit to screw right onto the end of the gun. I was extremely impressed with the distance that my shots form this gun were flying. I shot just as far as other players with flatlines and apex barrels. You start to lose some accuracy at about 120 ft. but thats true for just about any barrel. Right out of the box the gun shoots hot but with a few adjustments I can say that I only broke 1 ball out of 500 going from burst to auto once I swapped out the stock trigger to an E-trigger.
Conclusion: This gun really is one of the best looking "military style" of guns I have seen yet. I have played in a couple of tournaments with this gun and have received lots of props from other players. I recommend upgrading the trigger and giong with HPA to get optimal performance from this gun. Take my word-this gun wont disappoint!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, February 7th, 2006 at 2:50 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

MultiGunMan Tuesday, December 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5, 98 Custom, spyder shutter
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 with flatline, 98 custom with flatline , Spyder Shutter with hammerhead barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
the stuff on the back of the box and possibly a different e grip
Strengths: Has good look, works well, good for scenario games
Weaknesses: Trigger feels kinda sloppy, a little on the heavy side
Review: Gun works well definatly will need a semi fast hopper for it, for the diehard scenario people i would recommend this gun and the stuff on the back of the box, the trigger works just feels kinda sloppy to me, easy to fieldstrip. The gun is fast once you get going and accepts spyder threads for those of u that want one and have a tricked out spyder.
Conclusion: Buy it if you like woods ball like me. get a decent hopper and a coiled remote and youll probably be well liked on the scenario scene.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Radhazord Tuesday, July 3rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman A-5, Id take the Recon E5 anyday
Marker Setup: A red dot scope, forward hand grip, a tactical flashlight, Bi-pod and for no reason a laser pointer(dont use it at all)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Scope of some kind and a BI-pod
Strengths: Accuracy, Fire rate(sometimes), versatility, is fun to look at and is very very durable
Weaknesses: A little long. can fire to fast . a little front heavy
Review: The Recon E5 is a great gun that beats anything on the market like it. It is very easy to assemble so you be ready to play in minutes. Its very accurate and but you can also just lay down some pretty heavy fire with it. But one of its best features(to me) is its funny to see the long on people faces when they realize they have to play against it.
Conclusion: Its a awesome gun that lets do what ever you want to and still and a nice military feel
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mike85 Sunday, November 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ive used the tippman 98 custom..the recon e5 is much better
Marker Setup: I had my tippman for 3 months before i got the recon e5..i use my recon all the time now..and as i might say its one of the best paintball guns ive ever used
Recommended
Upgrades:
I recommend the scope and the bipod accessories for this marker..the flash light isnt all that important but it looks sweet
Strengths: Accurate,Durable,reliable,affordable
Weaknesses: Its heavy,and its hard to find the accessories
Review: I use the gun all the time..ive never taken out so many people with any gun. the sight helps a LOt..its accurate..has a good grip..and its just fun to use..i havent owned it for a full year ive had it about 9 months.I love my recon e5. Way better than tippman. In my opinion
Conclusion: So all in all this gun is defianatly worth buying...ecspicially if u like the look and feel of the real thing
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media