paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Alien Interceptor / Alien Interceptor / Alien Interceptor / Alien Interceptor

Alien Interceptor Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Alien

Buy Alien Interceptor

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Alien Interceptor
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 13
Average Rating: 9.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $575

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Alien innovation continues in the world of double-stacked electro pneumatic markers. Our patent pending “Structurally Independent Ram Housing” yields a smaller, lighter, tighter design.

Interceptor is also the easiest marker to tech and trouble shoot. Disassembled into the three main pieces: the receiver body, the Structurally Independent Ram Housing” and the trigger frame you can still turn on the air and power it up! The ram and hammer still operate – watch out it will jump a bit. The pin valve is visible, as is the airline from the LPR to the ram. Those slow unknown leaks are not possible with the Interceptor. Long torturous airways milled into the body that get clogged are gone because the solenoid attaches directly to the ram housing. Interceptor eliminates the need for multiple hoses. Hoses that can get blown off, cut or crimped.

The Sweet Tough Trigger frame wraps around the solenoid and ram housing perfectly. The WAS powered board fits easily the grip. A grip that feels great to all size hands. Narrow for the smaller hands, open trigger guard for bigger hands and made for easy firing whither you’ve got to make that one shot count or if you’re laying down a rope of balls.

Additionally our Patent Pending “Sweep Valve and Sweep Bolt” adds a highly effective flow of air to deliver your shot ball on ball time after time. Low pressure and extremely consistent the set and forget regs let you play instead of fuss with your marker.

A notably trim, narrow and light design, the Interceptor is accurate, consistent and very fast. A winning marker to bring out the winner in you, because “Winning is more fun!”
Product Availability 
The Alien Interceptor is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
p8ntball226 Thursday, July 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Mags, Freestyles, Bushmasters, Shockers
Marker Setup: Blue/Black Alien Interceptor
Recommended
Upgrades:
None
Strengths: Size
Weight
Speed
Looks
Simplicity
Quality
Customer Support
Weaknesses: Dissasembly and Reassembly
Review: Size and Weight- I noticed this was very small. When I first got it I had owned a Bushmaster, Mag, and Freestyle before. It is much smaller than the Bushy, it is much shorter. About the same size as the Freestyle, maybe a little smaller. It was bigger than the mag. It weighs very little, a very light gun. I weighed it myself with barrel, reg, and bottom line set up and it weighs 2lbs 9oz.

Build and Quality- It felt like a very solid marker. With the exception that when I got it the previous owner did not have the front grip screw so the grip frame was loose. Besides that everything is solid and very well built.

Feel- This one is a matter of preference, it may differ from me to you. I love 90 frames, I've always loved them. I had one on my Mag, one on my Bushy and I love the feel of them.

Kick- The kick of this gun is nothing special. About the same as any ram driven gun, such as a Bushy.

Barrel- The stock barrel is very nice and I won't use anything besides it, except when I'm using big paint.

Trigger- The setting that it came with was perfect, I loved it. Since then I've messed with it and got it better and lighter. Not as easy as I'd like setting the trigger pull to be, I like having the screws on the front of the trigger, more convienent.

Speed- The WAS board in it is very fast. As fast as you can move your fingers, even faster if you mess with the bounce settings.

Board Adjustments- The board is very easy to adjust, but you must read the manual first.

Shooting and Accuracy- Now, this company has put out some hype about the Interceptor that is false. The sweep valve system and bolt do NOT give you a flatter trajectory or better accuracy. I saw no better trajectory. Every gun has the same trajectory, with exception of the Flatline and other things that give you back spin. Every gun follows the same physics and every gun has the same accuracy and trajectory. Flatter trajectory is a myth like cockers being more accurate due to being a closed bolt.

Efficiency- Not yet determined. Haven't shot it enough to break it in and set the regs to perfect setgins.

Maintenance- The Interceptor is pretty easy to maintain. Just put a few drops of oil on the ram shaft and in the LPR. You can oil the bolt if you want its not necessary though.

Disassembly and Reassembly- This can be a tricky task, I've broken one of my eye wires trying to reassemble it, but a little solder fixed that. Before you think about taking it apart READ THE MANUAL!! if you don't you will most likely mess it up.
Conclusion: I'd highly recommend this gun. I've owned many high end guns, this thing is right at the top of my list. It's light, sexy, small, fast, accurate, efficient, everything you could ask for in a gun. Maybe a little expensive considering everything in the market is now dropping prices dramatically. I give this a 9/10 because no gun is perfect, they all have flaws.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Matt LaClair Sunday, June 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
05 Proto Matrix
03 E-bladed Cocker
Marker Setup: 03 Verticle feed cocker
E1 E-blade w/ zero b board
Dead-on drop
All american Barrel
Orracle Bolt
Halo B
Nitro Duck Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel (Not really Needed, But nice)
New Board (not needed at all, but my buddy has a predator board on this thing and it is amazing)
Strengths: Kick
Speed
Modes
Accuracy
Simple Design
Light
Efficient
Balance
Small
Stock Reg
85 Frame
Vision
Weaknesses: Complicated to Dissasemble


Review: Okay so my buddy bought this off one of the Paintball Wizard, NH shop owners and it had a predator board in it already, he was asking $500, so were like can we see the gun first? So he goes out back and grabs it. We were amazed at the looks of this, the milling is simple, but beautiful. The color was a flawless shade of polished reg (his is the red one with the alien sticker in the pics). So We ask if we can Hold it, he says sure and when we held it our hands flew upward from the lightness, and we were just holding the Nerve which my friend was close to getting, so I'm making the assumption that this is lighter and more well balanced than the nerve. So before his final desicion on the purchase, we ask if we can shoot it, and to our suprise he says yes. He aired it up and we went out back of the shop with about 500 balls and we started ripping. Here is my observations:

KICK

The kick is almost non existant with this thing and makes it easy shoot at a high ROF without any movement upwards. This is with the dwell on 10.


SPEED

This was the first thing I noticed when shooting this thing, It was extremely easy to throw a rope with this thing, and The trigger was very easy to walk. When we were at OSG paintball NH we were firing this and the refs gathered around testing for bounce or ramping, but they didnt find any and the feild owner said that it is the fastest gun he had ever seen in his life, no joke, and he has seen many guns in his day. Then another ref came up and wanted to trade his Bob Long Defiant 2 and His GZ timmy for it, but luckily My buddy said no. NOTE- I noticed when looking at the trigger where it meets the trigger frame it is sanded, which is obviously something the guy that sold it to my friend did, so I dont know if this helps.


MODES

With the predator board this thing has over 13 modes of fire including semi, auto response, full auto, OMFG, Assisted ramp, NXL, 4 types of PSP ramping, breakout, and some i dont remember. The predator board is a must, and incase your wondering its the predator board that fits the NME.


ACCURACY

This thing is quite accurate with the stock invasion 12" barrel, and can throw ropes into a pretty small area. I used the invasion barrel on my autococker to see the bore size, and using diablo Heat paint, balls would roll down the barrel, so Im guessing the bore is big or diablo heat is small.


EFFICIENTCY

The efficientcy on the interceptor is quite similar to that of my cocker, getting about a case off of a 92/4500 tank which is quite good. The guns stock reg (cp) is also very consistant getting +-8 on the chrono. Please note that the efficientcy tests were conducted after he bought the gun.


BALANCE AND FEEL

The Balance and feel on this gun is the thing I like most about it and the 85 degree frame helps the most, The frame makes it easy to walk the trigger while holding the grips completely. Although the balance gets alittle off when you have a 92/45 tank on it with no drop and a full halo B, but it still has great feel. Another factor to the terrific balance is the light weight, which I already mentioned, but the lightness of the interceptor cannot be stressed enough! Also this is an extremely tiny gun so dont be suprised when you see one in real life!


So basically the interceptor is the best gun for under $600 with the speed, lightness, and feel of any gun that is available for purchase To this date. Go ahead and try to compare this to any gun you'd like, but I bet the results will be the alien winning the price to performance ratio.

Conclusion: Get the alien interceptor, you wont regret it. It is absolutely the best gun for the price, hands down.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, June 18th, 2006 at 9:26 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

enigma_e Tuesday, December 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
A lot of Timmys, Diadem, Trixes, Bushmaster, Cockers, ...etc
Marker Setup: Blue Alien Interceptor
68/45 Centerflag LP Tank
VL Evo 2 with Y board
Recommended
Upgrades:
-New eye covers (You can live with the stock ones)
-Thats about it, with a CP Reg stock and WAS board its fine stock
Strengths: -No Ups needed
-Great Customer Service
-Price
Weaknesses: -Okay Air Efficiency
-WAS programming is annoying
-Eye harness can break easily
Review: Get this gun you definitely can't go wrong. Its a little under $600.00 on alienpb.com right now which can't be beaten by any other "real" high end marker. In some cases the is gun will out beat those $1000+ markers. The trigger pull might be one of lightest you have ever felt. Basically its only real downside is the LED which isn't that bad to get accustomed to. It would be a great upgrade from a 2K2 style Timmy or any ICD marker. Buy this gun its light, fast, cheap, compact, and you'll be the center of attention because of the low quantity that were made. (Only about 200 were produced or something like that)
Conclusion: Great gun, low cost, great performance what else to you want? It shoots straighter and more accurately then most other markers. Buy it you won't be disappointed...10/10 because of no major flaws with the gun just some little problems sometimes.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, April 4th, 2006 at 2:42 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Monkey88 Friday, November 25th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
B2k4 (total crap, Interceptor is so much better)
Tippmann 98 (doesnt compare)
Piranha Evo (doesnt stand a chance)
Marker Setup: Alien Interceptor
WAS board
Stiffi
Check it unimount
Recommended
Upgrades:
In the near future, you may want to get a new trigger. Everything else in this gun is perfect!
Strengths: Light!
Small, Slim Body (easy snap shooting with this)
FAST
Accuracy
Pretty quiet
Price
Weaknesses: The Trigger
Very tricky to field strip
Review: This is the best gun I have ever layed hands on. I haven't had the chance to shoot many high end guns, but the interceptor most definitely is up there with the other high ends. Here are its main key strengths and weaknesses:

Strengths

Light: Now when I say light, im not talking about 3.5 lbs spyder light, I mean LIGHT. I was walking around my local field at hypersports and people were asking me "Is that the interceptor, can I see?" Immediately the first response to holding it was "Wow this is really light." Ive held this hand to hand with an ego and saw that the alien was lighter. The ego and the alien were both using halos and 45/45.

Small & Light: This is a pretty nice small gun. Since im not the tallest person, this fits perfectly right into my hands. Because of the design of this gun, its very easy to snap shoot and run and gun with this gun.

Fast: This gun is very very fast! Pushed in the WAS board power button, cranked it to NXL 23 bps ramping, and let this thing go! Consecutively ball, after ball ropes firing. You will have lots of fun with this. Don't believe me? There will be a video coming shortly.

Accuracy: Although I have not had the chance to speak so much about accuracy do to the fact that I was using cheap walmart paint (gameface scorch) this shoot pretty accurate. I was shooting right next to a guy who had a dm5 and wanted to see how the accuracy was on my alien. 30 ft. away we were slowly shooting shot, after shot at a pole seeing the difference. Although he did beat me by a couple shots the alien held in pretty tight. Also note that he was using hellfire, and I was using rec paint. Hands down the accuracy is superb, or at least with practice paint.

Quiet: The alien shooting with my stiffi was fairly quiet. Although it did make a little bit of noise, it wouldn't be that noticeable in a game.

Price: Yes! The price! This marker competes with the high, high, end guns such as the dm5, ego, shocker, proto, and timmy. But whats the difference between the alien and the rest of the competition?... The alien is hundreds of dollars cheaper. At the price of 575.00 this is a steal.

Weaknesses:
Trigger The trigger on the alien has a very nice smooth feel to it but, with the lack of magnets, bearings, or external adjustablility, the trigger has a little hard pull to it. You do not have the freedom of adjusting where the solenoid clicks, or how hard your spring will be, just the travel. After a few hours of putting pressure on my spring, It didnt have that hard of a pull to it. Getting a new trigger in the near future for me is a must.
Conclusion: The Alien Interceptor is the best high end gun in its price range. With its adjustable WAS board, light and slim body, speed, and accuracy, this gun will get noticed quickly and will be arriving at your local field very soon.

10 out of 10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

suicidialcandy Sunday, August 14th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
gz timmy and ebladed ans cocker (interceptor blows them away)
Marker Setup: gold fade aien interceptor
2 piece 12in cp barrel (2 backs and a front)
ndz on/offf asa
smoke egg with z board
70 ci 4500psi worrgass

backup-diablo wrath
Recommended
Upgrades:
needs an asa and get a barrel kit if your in to paint to bore match
Strengths: dosent need upgrades, WAS board, "sweep bolt", price, small light and fast, grip frame
Weaknesses: Trigger spring tension cannot be adjusted, led, manual is online.
Review: for the price, this gun cannot be beaten. stock it comes witth a WAS equilizer, cp reg, ccm style feedneck (really no functional difference from the real thing), delrin sweep bolt, hot anno, and no kick when tuned well. this thing is lighter than an ego from what i hear, and because of the sweep bolt, it has a matrix style trajectory, if not better than a matrix's, shooting farther than timmys egos and angels. the grip frame is differant, being an 85* frame and having aluminum pannels, but its incredibly comfortable and after using it, 45 frames seem clunky, and the 85* seems easier to rip on or grab on to. its hard to explain well, but when you hold one, you will understand. the stock barrel is great if you can get paint to match its large bore. the trigger is pretty good except you cannot adjust the spring tension, although i would change it from where it is if i could. its has an led, which means you actually have to read the manual to know how to do everything, and the manual is online (i got mine from pbnation), so unless you print it out, its a little bit of a hassle to get to at a field. but its a low maintenance gun and there isnt much of a worry of it breaking down, so that shouldnt be a problem.
Conclusion: Its not worth paying an extra three, four, or five hundred to get another gun of this level when the interceptor can shoot farther, comes with top of the line stock components, so it dosent needs upgrading, and other than that preforms just as well for less. Ten out of ten, despite slight dowsides, because of the price.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, August 14th, 2005 at 1:34 pm PST
I found this review  
11 Comments - Add Comment

upthecrooks Wednesday, June 29th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Impulse - slower ROF, larger, heavier, similar operation, needs more upgrades from stock
Smart Parts Ion - similar weight, smaller, slower ROF, different operation, still needs a few uprgades from stock
Angel IR3 (fly'd) - heavier, similar ROF, lacks clamping neck (stock), LCD interface
Angel A4 Fly - slightly heavier, LCD interface, similar ROF, similar features (claming neck...)
Marker Setup: 2005 Vision Impulse, new style (03 shocker) vertical max flow, Eclipse Blade trigger, CCM rail, CCM on/off
Recommended
Upgrades:
Rail & On/Off
Barrel of choice
Strengths: Light
Fast
Small
Relatively easy to tech
Awesome customer support
WAS board
Cocker threaded barrel
Weaknesses: Some don't like apperance
Grip Panels (personal opinion)
Disassembly/Reassembly somewhat tricky (read manual)
Review: I was fortunate enough to be able to use the Interceptor for testing purposes. I am planning on shooting this weekend in actual game play.
I was impressed with the weight, speed, accuracy, and overall feel of the marker.
In shooting it (4-5 hoppers worth so far) it felt really solid. Very little recoil overall, and easy to handle weight/size wise.
The settings are fairly easy to change and adjust. Although it is important to READ the manual to understand how and what to do. If tuned and adjusted properly, the Interceptor will shoot flawlessly.
I disassembled the Interceptor, which is not difficult. It can however be a little tricky, so once again, READ the manual. There are a few things to be cautious of when disassembling the marker: (1) make sure wires are free of board before pulling frame down from the body (2) make sure the hose and wires are on the correct sides of trigger stop plate when reassembling (3) be sure to account for all parts and screws when taking apart (trigger spring and trigger stop plate screws can be lost of you are careless)
Overall I was impressed with the quality of the bulid, and the performance of the Intreceptor.
** UPDATE**

I had the chance to play this past weekend, and shot the Interceptor all day.
I put about a case thorugh it and, and was impressed with how well it did. It shot solid, accurately, and was fairly efficent (a hopper & ~7 pods on a 68/45 fill)
I would recomend the Interceptor to anyone looking for a solid, great shooting marker.

**PS**
I now have the updated board, featuring PSP & NXL firing modes. I used the PSP mode (i capped it @14bps) and it shot great. The ramping engages, exactly like it should, and does not "runaway" like some PSP programming is prone to do. One thing about the new board, is that PSP & NXL modes will operate in the uncapped eye mode (#1). To make them legal you MUST set it to eye mode 2 and cap your ROF (I'd suggest 14bps)
Being able to have uncapped ramping, and full auto can be cool, for grins, and scenario game use. But I had great success with it capped at 14bps.
The new programming is great and works like a charm. Nothing like being able to shoot ~14bps with one finger...
Conclusion: The Interceptor is an under-rated great performing marker. Alien provides killer tech and customer support.
Check out the Interceptor if you are looking for a great shooting, and solid marker - and if you want something a little different.

I give it an 8 for now, nothing can be perfect, and I haven't had the chance to really see what it can do.

**UPDATE**
I now give it a 9 overall
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, August 8th, 2005 at 10:01 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

PBkid23 Sunday, January 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
shockers
timmys
proto/dye matrixes
egos
Marker Setup: 05 alien interceptor, 2k2 timmy m3 board, icd on/off and rail, empire 14in, empire reg, halo b w/ rip, 68/45 pmi tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
good stock, but i got it with ups and used
Strengths: Firing modes, good efficiency/consistency, price
Weaknesses: looks, but only if you suck :P
Review: so i got this gun used with ups, but missing eye wires for $275. I took my friends broken 2k2 timmy and ripped the wires out of it and put them in the gun. This gun is amazing. These guns go for $595 on the website but you can find them on pbn for cheap. No matter what you pay you are getting a bargain. Rarely can you ever find a 2k5 gun that shoots this great. So i took it down to the field and gassed it up. My halo fit right into the clamping feedneck (stock!) without any sanding. I started up on the chrony and was getting +/- 3 velocity wise and was putting ball on ball right away. I was shooting about 14-15 bps with no problems. The bore on the barrel (.693) was too big for the paint so i had a couple barrel breaks but i put on a proto 1 piece and it was shooting fine. this gun is really good!
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun to anyone looking for a uniquely powerful gun. For the right price, this gun can be a steal! ten out of ten
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, January 31st, 2007 at 11:14 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Team Chokepoint Saturday, December 24th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
owned - fully up'd Impulse, Proto, Eclipse e-1 cocker, some low-ends: can't compare

used- Pretty much everything, the only guns that come close are Egos for feel and AKA for reliability.
Marker Setup: 05 Interceptor
Evolve Pi
CP 2-piece .689, .693
Reloader B
CP Direct Mount
CCM no-rider
LP Crossfire 68/45
Recommended
Upgrades:
Bottomline
Longer barrel (stock is plenty accurate, short)
Shorter feedneck (preference)
Strengths: Size/weight similar to Egos
Trigger frame
Reliability
Speed
Accuracy
Price
Customer service
Weaknesses: Aluminum grip panels
Understated looks
Disassembly
Lack of trigger tension adjustment
No manual included
Review: I bought this gun because I was looking for something new in the $600 range and read some shining reviews by players and in PGI magazine. Its a good thing I did, because this marker is a beast.

The packaging was adequate. The gun, along with an 11.5" barrel, matching neoprene barrel sleeve, and some stickers, was packaged between two pieces of packaging foam. There is no manual included, but an up to date manual is available at alienpb.com in pdf form, although a paper version would have been nice. Overall I was unimpressed with the packaging, but I suppose you have to take away from something to get a high quality gun at this price.

Upon my initial inspection, the first thing I noticed was the frame fit my hand like a glove. It is a unique 85* (nearly vertical) with a timmy-like hump at the back and gets narrower at the top. Surprisingly, it doesn't feel like most 90* frames at all, and handles most like an 05 Angel 45 frame. Actually, if the old I-Frame for the Impulse were made with a larger trigger guard, this is probably what it would feel like (and its a VERY large guard). Most people who have held my gun loved the frame, and you probably will too. Not to mention the fact that it weighs about the same as an Ego when fully set up.

The milling anno job (gloss blue) were top notch for the most part. A few areas inside of the trigger guard could use some work, and some sharp edges near the barrel and snatch grip that will probably wear down eventually, but everything else was flawless.

The barrel is as good as they get. My old setup used a Pipe kit with Stiffi front, arguably the best setup possible, and this barrel performs as well as that. Its a little short and there's more metal on it that necessary, but if you don't mind those things then there's no reason to replace it.

I was a little confused the first time I took the gun apart. The internals and wires are cramed into such a tiny space that it takes a few reads of the manual to master them. Basically, if you read the manual you won't break anything, but if you don't, then you're liable to pinch a wire or damage a barb. It is a stacked tube, knock open valve design similar to Intimidators etc. The ram housing is directly attached to the solenoid, so that does away with some air passages/hoses. The whole unit can be removed from the body with ease, and is in my opinion an ingenous piece of equipment. Everything else should be pretty familiar; the HPR is mounted to a timmy-style front block, with an LPR under the barrel, and a short LP hose going to the solenoid. The board and battery are located inside the grip frame, and the eye wires go through the body and are protected by a rubber sleeve. Overall, the design seems very durable and I haven't had a problem yet.

One thing that most players probaly won't like is the trigger adjustment method. I owned an Impulse before this gun, so I was spoiled by externally adjustable trigger travel/tension/actuation. The Alien's trigger is adjusted from the inside, although it is possible to do this by only removing the bolt and reaching down through the body with an allen key. You can then adjust the pre- and post-travel, and therefore you can set the fixed actuation point to be at any point in the pull. However, there is no way to adjust trigger tension, short of exchanging/cutting the spring. Fortunately, the stock spring is very light and snappy, so most players will be happy with it.

Maintenance is easy, and you'll probably never have to disassemble the gun in the first place. Just oil the ram after every day of play (AKA or KC Trouble Free oil are preferred, do NOT use dow33/55). You can do this by extending the hammer, removing the bolt, and letting a few drops of oil slide down a screwdriver shaft through the pullpin slot onto the ram. Occasionally you may want to use dow33 in the lpr for cold weather, but its not necessary.

The board is W.A.S., which is very fast and allows you to program most operation features. It is the same mounting style as an NME board, so if you want a new board you can use any of those, including AdvantagePB boards if you're a cheater :dodgy:

Customer service is legendary. Jack, the president of Alien PB, will promptly and personally answer your questions, and posts regularly in their forums on PBN (as will I - Exit Wounds @ pbn). If something goes wrong and you didn't do something stupid, they'll usually fix it for free or for very cheap. Trust me on this one, you can't go wrong in this area.

The marker performed flawlessly on the field. At the chrony, I shot a little hot out of the box (310), but once I got the regulators in harmony I got about +-5 consistency, which is pretty good for low quality paint and new regulators. It should get much better as the regs break in.

Like most markers today, it shoots much faster than you'll ever be able to move your fingers, and the W.A.S. board offers PSP and NXL modes if you want them. The eyes seem incapable of chopping a ball, and I haven't broken a ball in the barrel in the two cases that I've shot through it (except for one day in the sub freezing cold, but I'm going to ignore that because EVERYBODY was chopping that day).

Accuracy was superb. I found that I could hit small targets like hoppers and packs much more frequently than I have before. I'm convinced that there is something to the "sweep valve and bolt" design, which puts a small amount of backspin on the ball in order to stabilize its trajectory. I could literally shoot all the way across a 3-man field and land every ball on a player's hopper. The marker is very easy to snap with, and its easy and comfortable to burn lanes.

Update: I've owned this gun for about 9 months now, and I've had no problems other than minor leaks and some loose screws. A word to the wise: Use some teflon tape on the 4 screws in the rear of the gun to keep them from vibrating out during intense play. Same goes for the 2 solenoid mounting screws if you find they come loose.

For those wondering about marker setup, I currently run an Evolve Pi regulator and a CP 2-piece with two backs, fed by an LP Crossfire tank. My dwell is at 9.3, with an lpr pressure of 90. I get about 1500 shots per fill on a 68/45 at 280 fps, +/- 1.
Conclusion: I really can't think of any complaints about this gun. Every bit of it, except for the minor anno blemish I mentioned, oozes quality and superior engineering. I think it could be priced hundreds of dollars higher, and it would still be a fantastic deal. Most guns over $500 are more flashy and stylish, but then again its nice to have a gun that nobody else on the field has heard of. All things considdered, I'd say that Alien has the best gun on the market today.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, July 5th, 2006 at 9:12 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

williehoops1202 Wednesday, April 25th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: 05 Interceptor w/ pulse and PMI 68/3000
Recommended
Upgrades:
cp on and off
Strengths: Very Fast, Accurate, Light, Durable
Weaknesses: None
Review: Smooth body with great paint job. Nice milling and looks great. The 85% grip frame has a nice feel to it and fits perfectly in your hand. Trigger pul has a nice set up and easily adjusted. The interceptor has a strong body with tight and low profile but is hard to disassemble and reassemble. Besides that the Interceptor is a great gun and is a great investment.
Conclusion: This is a great marker and a great value for the price. I would recommend this to any one who is looking for a high end marker who doesn't want to to pay high prices.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

apunkjunkie Tuesday, October 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Miscellaneous other electros.
Marker Setup: E1 Orracle
Deadlywind Whisper Barrel
Halo w/Rip Drive
45/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrell Kit and maybe new grips
Strengths: Very light, Fast, Love the 85* frame
Weaknesses: Weak trigger, no screen to change settings
Review: I just picked this up in a trade and have only tested it. I will edit the review once I have a good in-game review.

I had an iffy first impression on this marker. These aren't that popular in Georgia so this is the first time I've laid eyes on one in person. The 85* frame fit well in my hand and felt really good. The marker was lighter than I expected...probably since I'm used to my Autococker.

There were 2 things I didn't like right off the bat:
1. I don't like adjusting the settings without some sort of screen. I'm not a fan of using trigger pulls and blinking lights to change settings.
2. I didn't like the trigger. It felt weak and awkward (not gassed up).

Once I gassed up the marker, however, the trigger is sweet! This thing shoots FAST.

I
Conclusion: n conclusion, I picked this up to be a backup, but depending on how it performs during a game, it may be my primary.

I give it a 9 out of 10 until I get a game time review.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media