paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Barrels of America Snakebite Barrel / Barrels of America Snakebite Barrel / Barrels of America Snakebite Barrel

Barrels of America Snakebite Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Barrels of America

Buy Barrels of America Snakebite Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Barrels of America Snakebite Barrel
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 12
Average Rating: 9.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $75

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Snake Bit's short spiral of holes with the ring behind makes for good looks, but also controls the gun noise without sacrificing gas efficiency or accuracy. Comes in 10", 12" and 14" in .688 and .692 bore.
Product Availability 
The Barrels of America Snakebite Barrel is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Unregistered User Friday, February 8th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
12" smart parts, 8" taso, 11" armson rifled barrel-
BOA barrel are more polished!
Marker Setup: SFH eMAG ( super F*#$@!'in heavy ega68 AutoMag )
4500 pmi 68cu in tank
45 benchy
trickout trigger.
angels dont scare me.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Marbelizers, or any Ball size is .689
noticed best if used Nelsons.
smaller balls are accurate when playing close range.
i'm a front player so never tried playing back.
Strengths: •Polished to the MAX!!!
•very, very, accurate (when using the right and freshest paint)
•can play very tight (10" size barrel)
•heavy duty!!! try running in to a bunker at full speed using your barrel to slow you down!
•when breaking paint, shoot 5 balls then barrel accuracy back to normal.
Weaknesses: only thing i can think of....da buggah is heavy!
it made my arms big!
Conclusion: overall this is one of the best barrels made thus far.
feel the inside of the barrel and compare it with any other barrel then
you'll know why. so smooth, so polished!
too bad they cant make BOA Titaniums.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

AE544 Monday, November 18th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock barrels not really similiar
Marker Setup: 98 WGP right feed Cocker
w/
Remote
Pure energy reg
Recommended
Paintballs:
I use PMI paint and it works fairly well in the barrel
any kind of small size bore paint would work perfectly through this barrel
Strengths: sweet lookin (mines chrome)
silent (pretty silents considering the small amount of ports in the barrel)
Very durable ( stainless steel)
works well with many small paints ( real small bore size which is good and bad)
Weaknesses: Very heavy (almost ways as much as my gun!)
only shoots small paint ( small bore size which is good and bad)
nothin much else
Conclusion: All in all this a great barrel i got mine for free with my gun. Although i havent played paintball for to long and the fact that i havent tryed out to many barrels i think i wont need a new barrel for a long time.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, May 25th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
JJ ceramic, automag stock barrels, 32 ice cold, boomsticks.
Marker Setup: 68 mag with snakebite barrel, 88 4500 nitro duck, Z- grip, ricochet Ak loader
Recommended
Paintballs:
Medium to small. Works Very well with Diablo Midnight and Team colors. Team colors never shot too well out of my other barrels but it fits the snakebite perfectly.
Strengths: Surprisingly accurate, and i've got the 10". The best honed barrel i'l ever felt. Shoots through breaks very well. It's stainless which is definatly the best barrel material. Also, very gas effiecient, yet has enough porting to keep accuracy and noise down. Best barrel I've had for my mag, i got mine used for $20. GREAT BUY
Weaknesses: Some say it's heavy, SS is always a little heavier but it's worth the quality. YOu wont' get scratches, it looks great, and is the smootest. The 10" works great and it's light at that lenght. Well, weight shouldn't be an issue anyway.
Conclusion: Best barrel i've had, especialyl since i got mine for 20. Shoots very accuratly, short, SS, shoots through ball break better then even my J&J. I really recommmend this barrel over an All American or DYE.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, April 19th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye 10'', Smart parts all american 14", 16", 12"
Marker Setup: GZ Intimidator w/ 68 45k Pure Energy HPA, System X drop forward w/ on off.
However when I had my mag I used the BOA barrel :)
Recommended
Paintballs:
Usually something meant for a smaller bore would be best and preferably don't shoot crap through this barrel. It doesn't matter how good a barrel you have if you are shooting garbage paint through it its not really going to matter what barrel you have.
Strengths: The polishing in this barrel is amazing. Its probably better honed than any barrel I have ever seen. Accurate as hell. Plus I like the sound this barrel makes. Especially on my mag Oh yeah it looks pretty bad a$$ too in my opinion
Weaknesses: A little heavy. But if it really bothers you hit the gym you pansy!
Conclusion: The best barrel I have ever put on my Mag period. I tried a ten inch and a 12 inch snake bite on my mag and both performed better than any other. If you own a mag I highly recommend this barrel for you.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, February 23rd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
12" BOA, PMI Ceramic & Stainless 12", CP 14", DYE Boomstick 16 & 18", Speedline Powerlyte 14" (sweet!!) and several others i can't remember
Marker Setup: Matrix w/ Bolt Kit, Trinity
88/4500 Max Flow & Gas Thru Grip
12v Revy w/ Turborev Board
Recommended
Paintballs:
RPS Premium, All Star, Marbelizer, Premium Gold
Strengths: I found the BOA to be extremely accurate and quiet. Definitely worth every penny I paid for it. I now have to nearly fight my own brother just for the chance to use it.
Weaknesses: Nothing.
Conclusion: BOA makes an excellent product. Well balanced and accurate. The internal polishing is unbelievable. I would highly recommend this barrel for anyones arsenal.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kiddie_min Monday, April 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Honed stock brass VM 68 (don't laugh very accurate)
SP barrels
Marker Setup: I used the BOA on this marker:
PMI-3 ( then called VM-68) now out of production
Chopped front ASA, Custom milling
ProTeam Automag Spring kit
venturi
ANS Phase 2 X chamber/ remote and regulator for CO2
12" BOA Snakebite
Recommended
Paintballs:
R.P. Sherer Premium Work the best But any medium to larger size will do
Strengths: internal finish
with proper paint match -Extremely accurate
very tough
lowers recoil and kick
Weaknesses: Heavy at first - worth it unless you're 10 yrs old
Price $85 worth it
Review: I can not brag on this barrel enough. It has the most polished internals I have ever seen except maybe the Stainless Steel Dye and Lapco barrels which are heavier than this one and more expensive. My barrel is 12 inches long with the last 2 1/2 being ported. Some say it is still loud but usually the people I shoot from any distance, even close, look around to see who shot them. I think it is quiet enough. When you match the paint with the bore it will be dead on accurate to 100 ft.
It is a brass barrel that is honed, and then plated in chrome and honed again and again to be close to perfect, if not perfect. That accounts for the weight and the quality. The black powder coating which is very protective looks good, but when it falls and chips you can see the chrome underneath. I simply removed it on mine and now it has a tough, cool looking brushed aluminum look to it. That chrome is even tougher than the coating.These barrels were so very high in quality that, to this day, I compare every other barrel to my BOA.
I got out of paintball for about 4-5 years and when I got back in I couldn't find any of these barrels anywhere. I think the company has since gone out of business. Everyone wants aluminum.... sissies. If anyone wants to sell there spyder threaded one just email me at kiddie_min@hotmail.com. I will give you a very good price. Price was $85 when I bought it a long time ago. Would I do it again? Heck Ya! You won't get that for a used one though. Sorry! I am not that crazy.
Conclusion: If you can find one get it no matter what the threads. I guarantee you can sell it to someone else. I definately recommend this barrel, but just like SS barrels it will seem heavy at first but you can't beat the performance.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Outlaw5 Saturday, August 30th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Automag Barrels
Marker Setup: Mini-Mag w/X-Valve, Right hand power feed, Warp Feed Left, Halo-B,88ci 4500psi Crossfire high preset reg nitro, 32 Degrees gas thru front grip, Boa Snakebite barrel 14".
Recommended
Paintballs:
Nelson Challenger-any color.
Strengths: Prefectly honed with excellent balance
Weaknesses: None
Review: I've had this barrel since BOA began. I believe I was in the first 100 snakebites made in 94'. This barrel with the correct paintball match is very hard to beat. In the early days it was Proball, White in the White Box that gave this barrel its accuracy. Now the Proball is sized differently and Nelson Challenger Paint is the best. My barrel ID is .692 so this large paintball is the best. I've taken players out from a good distance--from right rear eagle to the opposite teams left rear eagle--about 200 ft. consistently. The company is no longer making this barrel so if you find one for sale then considering getting it. The accuracy is insane and the paintball prices for Nelson Challenger are very low, between $40.00 and $50.00 depending on which online company you go with.
Conclusion: This barrel is hard to beat in its class of no inserts. You must have the correct paintball to barrel match to truly get the performance that it can deliver but when you do.....people will run from your accuracy.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TheDuelist Friday, May 2nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Too many to list
Marker Setup: EMag
Level 10
Evo II
SP Max FLow 88/45
BOA Snakebite .688 12"
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anarchy, Marbs
Strengths: Finish is excellent. Various bore sizes were available. Mine is a .688.
Weaknesses: Some say weight. The main weakness is they are no longer produced.
Review: Excellent barrel. I use this with an adapter in my Emag without problems (The barrel is threaded for a cocker). Most of what you will find are brass or nickel not stainless. They are polished extremely well and are very quiet. If you get a chance to pick one up, do so. You won't regret it.
Conclusion: As I said before. If you find one grab it. They are excellent barrels.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, June 15th, 2001
Strengths: I purchased a BOA Express barrel for my Viper M1 and I also bought a Snakebite for my Micormag.
I must say that the looks of this barrel are very impressive. I bought the ported and black coated one. It is probably the best looking barrel I own. The barrel is heavy and reminds me of my old VM68 Magnum. In other words this barrel is a workhorse. It is very accurate, fairly quiet and I didn't break any paintballs while testing it. In a pinch this barrel could be used as a nite stick it is so well made. The workmanship is the very best.
Weaknesses: I found nothing bad about this barrel.
Conclusion: BOA makes a great barrel. The looks of this barrel are outstanding. I would say that if you want an aftermarket barrel that will last forever buy this barrel. I don't think you can go wrong. Also it would work great on the Viper M1.
I don't always give 10's in my ratings but this barrel deserves one. Also the service at BOA was outstanding.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, June 13th, 2001
Strengths: shoots most all paint great, supper easy to fit a silencer for it(home made) 1/2 the weight of my 10 inch dye ss, mine is powder coated and looks nice, good porting indesctuctable
Weaknesses: hard to come by, my powder coat is chipping, 10 inch aint to good for long balling
Conclusion: its way worth it the bads i mentioned are minute and the goods are what makes a barrel so sell out the cash if ya can find one.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media