paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Rufus Dawg Wicked Bolt / Rufus Dawg Wicked Bolt / Rufus Dawg Wicked Bolt / Rufus Dawg Wicked Bolt / Rufus Dawg Wicked Bolt

Rufus Dawg Wicked Bolt Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Rufus Dawg

Buy Rufus Dawg Wicked Bolt

Paintball A-5 Bolts

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Rufus Dawg Wicked Bolt
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 9
Average Rating: 7.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $26

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Venturi Bolt Design:
::Allows more even distribution of the Air Blast on the paintball.
The result is a more consistant shot due to less deformation of the ball.

Full Paintball Cradle:
::Full conical shape on the front of the bolt which "Cradles" the
ball so it does not deform on contact.

Flexible Rear Seal:
::Provides a full seal around the powertube without extra drag or
friction.

Guide Rails:
::The rails provide an outer track to guide the bolt inside the body.
Less contact rusults in less friction and wear.

Recessed Pockets:
::The recessed pockets on the outer shape are designed to hold paint
and shell fragments from boken paintballs, keeping them from hurting
performance.

Delrin Material:
::Molded from Delrin, a strong self lubricating plastic.
Product Availability 
The Rufus Dawg Wicked Bolt is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
graham muldoon Saturday, December 17th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock bolt
Marker Setup: A-5
E-Grip
R-5 hopper
Red dot sight
Trigger spring modifications
Polished internals
Custom black/red fade paint
Strengths: Venturi, cradles the ball, guide rails, made of derlin.
Weaknesses: Installation can be difficult.
Review: The wicked bolt is a great bolt for the price very easy to install. has a venturi for even air distribution around the ball increasing accuracy and prevent ball deformation. full ball cradle reduces ball breakage dramatically and does not deform the ball. guide rails reduce friction and wear letting it last longer and be more efficient, plus its made of derlin, a self lubricating plastic. installation can be difficult if your are doing this for the first time because it comes with a modified power tube to equip the bolt, but i didn't have any problems.
Conclusion: i recommend this product to anyone with an A-5 or the 98 series of markers because it does what it is sopposed to do
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballstud34 Wednesday, June 1st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months11 of 31 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: A-5, double finger E-grip, Flatline, PHAT reg. ,macro line, drop forward, R5 hopper, also building a cocker its base right now.
Strengths: It works great I have never busted a ball with it
Weaknesses: I havent had any yet.
Review: I have this bolt on my A-5 and i think its sweet it even looks cooler than the stock one.Every one on my team with a tippmann has one it works great, they also have them for the 98. You should go to Rufus Dawgs store in vandalia theres a sweet shop there.
Conclusion: Im givin it a 10 its sweet.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

dark-archon Friday, February 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
04 Autococker
Trilogy
Marker Setup: A5, Spec Ops stock, Wicked Bolt, Freak/J&J Ceramic/and an Empire 3 peice, Remote w-slide, RAP4 vest, Etrig, Empire 4500
Strengths: Accuracy
Weaknesses: Louder than stock (weakness??)
Quality on cuts in Power Tube included
Review: I just purchased this for my gun but hesitated before putting it in. The power tube included had been drimmeled down or drilled down manually (looked a bit sloppy). The bolt, however, looked like it was quality manufactured. It looks like they took the stock power tube and cut slots for the bolt to slide down. It was enough to catch my attention but does not seem to effect the product. I put this on and it tested it with my Empire barrell (not the best in the world). It was definitely more accurate than the stock bolt. I was shooting Draxxus Blaze and switched to PMI stingers to give it a good test.... to my shock, it was shooting a straight rope of paint! This is the first time I really felt my A-5 was as accurate (even moreso) than my Autococker (with Dye Ultralight) I used to shoot. I really like the A5 because I am a woodsball fan. With the wicked bolt, this thing rocks!
Conclusion: Adds a little noise, but the accuracy is worth it. I have also heard the venturi design minimized ball chops, I guess I will find out soon!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

punisher9233 Sunday, June 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Marker Setup: A5, flatline, 3A 5000, palmer reg, lp kit, egrip w rampage board, various custom mods, palmer qev
ion, sp qev, sp progressive 16", quantam VL, 3A tank and accessories
Strengths: Better shot consistency evenly hugs ball
Weaknesses: None vs stock bolt
Review: Compared to the stock bolt this is a huge upgrade. I used it at DDay with the APE board and set PSP mode at the max 25bps-yes its possible and no I dont chop with the palmer qev and yes I used a chrono to test bps and yes it was consitent at 25 bps- for all you naysayers that have never tried it and for those who dont know how to take care of a gun
Conclusion: An upgrades bolt is a must and Rufus does a good job-it does what its supposed to and I dont chop paint-never have with the lpk and qev
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ronin A-5 Friday, July 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Just stock bolt
Marker Setup: A-5, 14'' J&J Ceramic, Wicked Bolt and Alum. Powertube, E-Grip, Rampage board, Polished internals, R-5 hopper, 47/3000 Crossfire or 24 oz CO2
Strengths: Delrin
Aluminum Powertube
Guide Rails
Ball Cradle
Grease Pockets
Weaknesses: Powertube has coarse threads :(
Red color of the bolt could turn some people off
Review: I got this bolt and powertube after I got my E-Grip(but before the Rampage or HPA Tank) for a couple of reasons. I did some reasearch and realised that if I was going to shoot full auto with CO2 the plastic bolt and powertube could freeze and crack. So I decided on a aluminum power tube(no cracking) but wasn't sure what bolt to get. I chose the Rufus Dawg because of all the features I read about. Let me tell you it lives up the the product claims. It's delrin so its strong and selt-lubed, the guide rails make for almost no friction(super smooth), the recessed pockets make great great grease and dirt traps, and with the concave head I have yet to break a ball. However i was very disappointed to find that after all the great things about the bolt it was the powertub that kinda let me down. The VA screw has coarse threads, most likely because they're cheaper, rather than the stock fine threads. That means that if you purchase a shorter screw to set flush with the powertube if you run a RVA, your outta luck. This coarse thread also lets more blowback gase out, so i needed to wrap it with teflon tape. The bolt is red, which could turn some people off if they're into the all flat black mil-sim thing.
Conclusion: Overall a great front bolt that fufills all promises. But Rufus Dawg skimped out on a few cents and used a coarse thread screw, which is a hassle to fix.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, July 28th, 2006 at 11:32 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mike_serafin Wednesday, November 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock bolt, shocktech bolt
Marker Setup: e-grip, tippman expansion chamber, jcs drop, rear velocity adjuster, jcs double trigger, and a smart parts progressive barrel
Strengths: None.
Weaknesses: Breaks paint and drops the velocity alot.
Review: Well i took it out and tested it with about 500 paintballs. It started out fine when I was just shooting slow. It seemed that the paint was dropping to fast. when I started letting it rip i started breaking the paint. After cleaning my gun i tried it again and the same thing happend. I decided I would try it out in a game. I took it to the radar and it was shooting about 245 fps. Anyways I tried it and instantly started breaking paint. I guess it was slightly more acurate then the shocktech bolt, before it started chopping. After the first game I switched back to the shocktech bolt and the chopping stoped. not to mention i was able to shoot at 300 fps.
Conclusion: I wouldn't realy recomend this product just because of the chopping and the reduction of velocity. There are way better bolts and power tubes out there.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mongo80 Tuesday, March 21st, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock A-5 bolt
Marker Setup: A-5,Flatline,Rufus Dawg bolt and R.D. trig, expansion chamber , P.M.I. gas through stock, PMI remote.
Strengths: Sometimes improve's accuracy. Broken balls seem to clear faster.
Weaknesses: No real noticeable improvement
Review: When I personally installed the bolt I had some problems afterward. Apparently from what the tech who worked on my gun told me that the bolt wasn't moving freely enough and it needed to be oiled. After that was taken care of everything seems to be in order. In my opinion I haven't noticed any "Real" improvement. The sound seems louder if anything. Accuracy may have improved a small fraction, as well as ball breakage may have went down a bit too. After my experience with the R.D. bolt and other products of Rufus Dawg I will NOT be purchasing any more of their upgrades. Knowing what I know, I wouldn't have bought the bolt or other accessories from Rufus Dawg. In my opinion.
Conclusion: After my experience with Rufus Dawg products, the only good thing I can say is they have good customer service. Otherwise I will not spend another dime on their upgrades.
Rating:
2 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 3rd, 2006 at 2:49 pm PST
I found this review  
13 Comments - Add Comment

DeathToBrian Thursday, February 8th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Shocktech Super-fly Bolt
However Rufus bolt is only true Venturi bolt for a-5
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
CMI Regex reg.
Apex barrel
Dead On Paintball Reg Grip adjuster
Strengths: Consistent
Reduced ball breaks
Finally a true venturi bolt for A-5
Weaknesses: Bolt is made of weak delrin
Hole where linkage arm is attached broke
Review: When I first installed this bolt.(Which by the way is not hard) I fired shots and could genuinely notice a more consistent pattern over stock bolt. Shot thru my flatline great. About a couple months later I was in a Scenario game and 3 hrs. into it my gun started shooting funny. I chronoed it and found the fps was all over the place. I took gun apart to find that the Hole where linkage arm was attached broke. The nub had cracked. This could be avoided if they made this part solid instead of milled.
Conclusion: Good idea. cheaply made. I recommend if you wan't a new bolt , buy a Shock Tech Super-fly bolt.
The o-ring on the inside of super-fly bolt is a good idea.
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, February 8th, 2007 at 5:08 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cjb4u Thursday, June 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock a-5 bolt
Marker Setup: A-5 flatline, remote co2 air, Rufus dawg Wicked bolt, special ops long bow air thru stock, A-5 A2 grip and tombestone, palmer stabilizer, J & J Edge Elite barrel kit
Strengths: Price, easy install
Weaknesses: Plastic tube looks like modified stock
Review: the bolt install very easy just clean your marker and put the new stuff in With the flatline I did see some improvement on consistency and it even made it a little quieter which is a plus w/ the flatline being so loud it is well worth the money would recommend it to any one with a A-5
Conclusion: well worth the money a must if you are looking for the most consistency out of your A-5
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media