paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Pro-Team Products Sleeper Autococker / Pro-Team Products Sleeper Autococker / Pro-Team Products Sleeper Autococker / Pro-Team Products Sleeper Autococker

Pro-Team Products Sleeper Autococker Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Pro-Team Products

Buy Pro-Team Products Sleeper Autococker

Paintball High-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Pro-Team Products Sleeper Autococker
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 12
Average Rating: 8.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $470

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The f/x Cocker "Sleeper" features the award winning power feed design and anti-doubler, plus an Armson Pro-Series barrel, and Pro-Series .45 Frame, on an Autococker body. It's a bit Plain Jane next to the new f/x STO, but one glimpse of the nickel STO front end, and all bets are off! Available in Satin Black, Blue, Red, & Purple.
Product Availability 
The Pro-Team Products Sleeper Autococker is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
scout1a Friday, August 29th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
WGP cocker's, STO, basic, franken cocker. Spiders (electros) who did not strat there. tipmans
Marker Setup: Black and Gray FX sleeper, rat 3:16, maddman spring set, Phat hammer, Leslie custom fit full delron bolt, Hybrid 50/50 swing trigger, ACI zero gravity sleeved barrel system, Air america Vigilante Regulator, custom drop forward centered under marker, 3A 68 3000 PSI fiber wrap tank, ANS Jack Hammer 2, ANS 3-way and ram, 12 volt empire reloader.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Swing trigger, regulator, barrel, and what ever does it for you.
Strengths: cool looks, easy to up grade, not to many people have them.
Weaknesses: slide trigger (but I hate them all noo matter what they have done to them).
Review: I bought this marker as a body, trigger and some wired parts and know for a little bit of money i have turned it into a mean machine. My team mate is upset because my FX rocks like his, just as good if not better at times and I paid hundreds less and set it up like I wanted it. If you do not want it to be to heavy don't put a tank larger then a 68-71 on it and move your tank forward under the marker so it balances at the trigger guard with your tank on, works great for getting tight and snap shooting.
Conclusion: FX sleepers are cool looking and rock. You can do what ever you want with it, buy it and go to town.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

hey_zues69 Sunday, January 19th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Shocktech cockers, Freeflow cockers, WGPs, and Coldfusion.
Well, i like this one due to simplicity w/ the milling, but all the other ones are good as well.
Marker Setup: 2k1 Sleeper Purple
WGP hinge purple
KAPP 15* adapter purple
KAPP pump arm purple
OTP Hammer kit
RAT 3:16 valve
LPC chamber
KAPP F/X beavertail
Nitroduck Mega Reg 68/4500 tuff skin
Turbo Revvy
Kapp Gas-thru purple
Micro rock regulator LPR
Recommended
Upgrades:
Hinge, unless you like the benchmark, which i loved it alot, but i needed more speed, good internals, but the ones in em' are great too. the rest is out of preference
Strengths: Well, to name the things i like:
1. Nice body, i mean, look at it, no nooks and crannys to clean out
2. Powerfeed, its nice, and it centers my hopper directly over the gun like a centerfeed, cept w/ the speed of powerfeed, and you can turn off the paint supply.
3. looks awesome, i have a purple one, and i thought it would be homo looking, but i swear these things are absolutely HOT looking, even if they're purple :)
4. The STO pnuematics are tried and tested, and will always work, but i suggest a adjustable front LPR, so go w/ the Palmer rock regs.ohh, and the chrome is wicked!
5.Annodizing is beautiful!!! but the thing is they are the only ones who do that type of anno, so finding a matching accesory is almost nill. but it is so sweet!
Weaknesses: well, if you must:
1.If you have a purple one, your friends might poke fun at ya, but when they're shooting their Shockers and angels, and you nail em' across the field, its a good feeling :)
2.I got mine used, but not really that much, but the beavertail out of the benchmark frame slides out easy, but nothing loc-tite couldn't fix
3.You get a rare cocker, one that works more than 70%% of the time, thats due to the STO stuff, WGP makes quality parts.
4. the balldetent, is kinda weird, but it works.
Conclusion: Great cocker, I suggest it for a first cocker, or for the veteran cocker users.
i give it a 9 simply because of my nitpicking :)
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, April 7th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
WGP stock cocker: cant really compare :)
Millenium STO Stock: My sleeper was better but only cuzz its tricked
Marker Setup: 2001 Sleeper autococker, chrome CMI cradle, chrome ergo reg, system-x swing trigger, (old trigger frame had a trigger job done on it), ACI graffiti barrel system, quick disconnect, hourglass bolt, kapp twisted cocking rod, HALO hopper, and a 68/30 ACI nitro tank. Oh, and a JT IZE purple.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Well, I bought this marker with a lot of upgrades already, but stock, I would say a new REG of COURSE because it dont come with one :) and a good cradle lke KAPP or CMI, and a new barrel. And I would say a hinge trigger, but I think EVERY cocker needs one of those.
Strengths: Well, completely stock (minus a decent cradle and reg) its quite impressive. There is no difference between it and an STO, besides looks.
1) Quite accurate and good range to
2) looks nice, STO is better but hey, its got chrome stuff :)
3) affordable, easy to upgrade
Weaknesses: Well, like any product there is something bad about it.
1) Kinda heavy
2) the body is rather plain
3) The stock trigger pull is rather heavy, but I have a swing trigger.

Not to much, like I said, its performance wise shouldnt be different from an STO.
Conclusion: Its definetily worth buying if you like autocockers, and are only 15 and dont have a steady source of income. That way you can slowy upgrade it like I did. I wont give it a 10 however because NO (THATS RIGHT NO) paintball gun is perfect. Im pretty sure thats not possible :).
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, April 3rd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
98 cocker, Gen-X , Black Magic, Pamer Typhoon
Marker Setup: Green F/X Sleeper, Black Magic Reg, Kapp 15 Deg Adaptor, 32 deg clear Stickys, J&J Edge Barrel Kit, Psycho Ballistics DF, WGP Green Hinge, ANS quickpull bolt, 12 vlt Revy, Kapp 3-way, ACI Bulldog 114ci 3000psi
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, grips, hpa system, df
Strengths: has a unique look, action is very smooth compared to a stock cocker, after alot of work and some more money mine is wonderful, i wouldn't trade it for anything, especially some crap angel
Weaknesses: my feed plug was messed up so i had proteam send me a new one, 3-way leaked and had 3 stores look at it and then had to break down and get a new one, stock barrel is loud but accurate, that is all
Conclusion: put a little bit of money into it and i will be a good gun, put another 300 into it and it will rock, but be prepared to have some problems with this gun, oh yeah and remember,,, YOU THE MAN IF YOU SHOOT A COCKER!!!!!
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, March 4th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Hmmm... I've used 2 different evolution x's, a bad boys toy's shocktech autocker,a couple customs and a stock cocker. Ah also i have a tippmann 98 custom flatline reponse trigger, and a agd 68. automag double finger trigger, w/ a aka tulip barrell, i had a bob-long intimidator i quickly got rid of that.
Marker Setup: i have:
12" dye boomy .687 local field paint is proball real small bore
ansx2 reg
Kapp dropzone
Pure Energy 3000psi 68ci nitro
12v Revolution
Soon to acquire:
Freak Barrel system
AKA lightening bolt
titanium pump rod
nd just order about an hour ago a KAPP low pressure chamber
Recommended
Upgrades:
1) 1st thing you must do to all markers is change the barrel, this gun is no different. The stock armson barrell is horrible, when i first got the gun i put a ball in the back end to do a paint-barrel match nd the ball (proball) rolled right out the front.
2) Bolt-the stock bolt also is horrible! its heavy and isn't venturi
3) titanium pump rod, the stock is aluminum
4) a drop or cradle, just for comfort
5) a pair of stickys and your pretty much set
Strengths: The best thing about this marker definatly is the price. I got mine strait from pro-team for $500.
The marker comes with an excellent front block and other internals.
Pretty low operating pressure, pro-team told me to set my reg for 400-425 psi, i was able to without upgrades or other major work run at 300, inorder to achieve this,i simply put maxium pressure on my the main spring and lowered the regualto pressure. My favorite component to this marker is the front end reg. NO NOBS, its self adjusting, makes timing a breeze.
The trigger is great! Its light, smooth, and comfortable.

This marker is well worth the money! I truely didn't realize the quality and craftsmen ship that pro-team puts into there markers until a friend bought a bad boys toys shocktech cocker. To make a long story short a frind was having cocker problems nd asked me to take a look at his gun.. well i at the time though it was good and eagerly took it home nd stripped it to see what special parts warrented the high price. Well when i opened it i realzed many of the parts on my marker were beter, and the inside surfaces of the marker had burnt anodizing. It was so bad that i actually couldn't get the velocity adjuster out! Well this isn't a shocktech review... When looking at the trigger plate nd sear or both guns and comparing the two i was amazed my gun was superior! What i thought of as a next to stock autocker was actually much better than a $900 dollar what i though of as a work of art. Well anyway to end the story my friend a couple of weeks later jockingly askied if i'd trade him and almost immediatly i took the offensive and hid my sleeper behing me. I thought it was kind of funny because before i compared the two i would have jumped at the offer.
Oh one more thing i feel is very important when buying a paintball gun is who you buy it from. Tje people over at pro-team are great! they are nice and very helpfull. They fix your marker free of charge, all you have to do is ship it to them nd they do they rest.
Weaknesses: Not to much to put here. The marker needs a new barrel, bolt nd a regualor.
The only thing i absolutily hate is the balldent! It is horrible. I looked into getting a regular balldent installed, but its not as easy as it sounds, i would have to drill a hole over an existing hole, thread the hole, and possibly get a new anodize. The balldent that is stock constantly moves slightly causing the dent to get stuck in place.. It gets realy fustrating when your playin to double feed, and chop paint because of no dent.
Oh the grips are very ugly!
Conclusion: Great marker for the money, instead of buyin a $900 gun like my friend did but this for 500, buy a freak, a bolt, reg, and a cradle. You will be amazed at this markers performance.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

lucky_bamboo Friday, February 8th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I originaly had an Outlaw for my first gun, obviously it doesnt even compare to this one. My second gun was a WGP vertical feed autococker and although comparable to the sleeper, the sleeper far surpasses it in many ways. I have tested other guns such as the black dragun and the mayhem, and even though those are excellent above average guns, they are still no match for the Sleeper.
Marker Setup: 01 f/x sleeper autococker, chrome ergo regulator, CMI chrome cradle w/ on/off valve, custom trigger job, special milling, hourglass bolt, 12vt revvy, 68 ci bulldog II Nitro tank, JT spectra IZE mask.
Recommended
Upgrades:
You definately need a decent reg like the STO ergo or the black magik reg. The ANS Gen-X 2 reg also works very nicely with this gun. I also prefer a good cradle with on off, like the CMI, warped sportz, or KAPP. Definetely use nitrogen and be equiped with a motorized hopper.
Strengths: Everything! The color is very nice (Mine is purple) and the chrome accents make it really stand out! The gun is pretty quiet compared to the WGP autococker, and it shoots VERY fast, far, and accurate. The price is very good considering what you are getting. Although my gun cost over $760, you can pick up a stock sleeper with an ergo reg for about $550. Good Deal!
Weaknesses: Because the barrel is rifled, if you break a ball be prepared to REAL have to clean that sucker out. If you leave the slightest amount of paint in their, almost every shot you fire will hook...bad. Another thing is that you may have to adjust the feed because sometimes it just doesnt want to feed right.
Conclusion: Overall, this gun is excellent in almost every way. If you are looking to step up to a tournement grade gun, but want to have a little cash left, I STRONGLY recommend this gun. Fast, accurate, consistent, perdy, what else could you possibly ask for?
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, December 21st, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Free Flow Autococker, F/X Sto Autococker, STO Autococker (Custom Built)
Marker Setup: Green Satin Finish F/X Sleeper AutoCocker, Black Ice Reg (on a 45 degree adapter), CP 12" Chrome Barrel, Smart Parts Nitrogen Tank (and Reg, I know I don't need both, I just don't have the cash to buy a new air system) on a drop black drop forward. 12v hopper. Kapp Trigger, custom modified trigger springs. Custom Milled Power Feed Plug.
Recommended
Upgrades:
If your not playing speedball, you might want a new Barrel, Definetly a new plug for the power feed. A good Regulator, and Compressed air/Nitrogen Air System. (Why spend the money on a good gun and not get a consistant air system?)
Strengths: Great Gun for the Price, not as good as it's big brother F/X Sto (it's a little bit heavier). But with the right modifications (and the right person behind the gun) the f/x sleeper shoots better than some free flow's that I've shot. Only 300 to 500 dollars on a gun that's practically ready to go out of the box.
Weaknesses: Heavy, Trigger pull needs adjusting, Will jam if you don't replace the original Power feed plug.
Conclusion: Great Gun for the Money, Well worth it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

seanz1 Thursday, July 12th, 2001
Strengths: If you want a cocker and cant go all out and buy a SFL or a free flow or eclipse get this cocker it is extremely inexpensive for the stuff you get. I still cannot understand how proteam does it a 300 dollar gun a 50 dollar barell benchmark frame power feed custom ball detent sto nickle plated pneumatics proteam grips sto trigger plate for and anodizing ?????? add it up they have to be going in the hole? anyway when igot mine i got it in new orleans at the zap masters. I actually got mine for 450 i bought a palmer stabalizer straight from glen and a dye barell. the gun shoots awsome nice trigger smooth cycling it just rocks looks great to. Please if you are going to but a 2000 cocker please reconsider get the extra money and get the sleeper its the same with a ton of great stuff for only 170 more. I love this gun this is the best value on a cocker ever puls you get a awsome warranty. When i got my gun they forgot to set the reg so i called them i shiped it to them they fixed it shiped it back in 1 day it was only gone 2 days total and they paid for shipping and sent me back some free stuff you cant beat that customer service anywhere.
Weaknesses: Nothing not even the shipping because they paid set up my gun timed it and set both regs and sent me back free stuff
Conclusion: This gun is extremely worth it i dont see how you can take a 2000 cocker over the sleeper. The only upgrades are a barell reg and bolt and you have a cocker that will shoot with the best of the and look better that most. Please get this gun and not a stock cocker save money and headachs and get a sleeper
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, June 28th, 2001
Strengths: The cocker comes with a benchmark grip frame, armson pro series barrel, all STO components, and the satin finish is just fuking sick. The armson pro series barrel is amazing for speedball. The only thing you need for this gun is a regulator. Dont get a sh*t reg, get a really good reg and u will have awesome consistency and great accuracy. I got the Ans gen X reg, this is the sh*t, it performs well on the cocker and looks hott.
Weaknesses: Nothing, the only thing i would change is the powerfeed back to normal.
Conclusion: This gun shoots great out of the box,dont even need to buy upgraded parts. This is a cheap cocker and is def worth the money. If you want a really nicely tricked out cocker for a good price buy this. Dont buy a regular 2001 autococker and then trick it out, my friend did that and he got the benchmark and new pnuematics and a new barrel and he spent a ton of dough on upgrading his regular 2001 autococker. This is just the same thing as the pro team f/x sto autococker except they have vertical feed bodies but all the parts are the same. This cocker always gets the job done
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

WVprankster Monday, June 18th, 2001
Strengths: The STO parts work together well as a team. The Benchmark frame, beavertail, and Armson barrel round out the rather lightweight gun. Once a few problems were worked out, it's done it's job quickly and reliably. I prefer this style of ball-detente better than the ball type. The powerfeed looks really weird on a 'Cocker, but doesn't do any worse than right feed. I got mine in purple, and believe me, it is "satin"- finding parts that match it will be about impossible.Trigger is really smooth, if a bit long and heavy.
Weaknesses: A lot of little things that I didn't expect. The gun had a feeding problem when I first got it, but turning the PF plug a bit fixed that. Barrel is loud. I run CO2 and have not had any problems with using it, but it's only so-so effecient. The safety was really loose-fitting in it's hole, and would sometimes engage when the gun was turned a little on it's side. Pulling it out completely fixed this.Trigger could be better with a spring kit or some work.
Conclusion: The valve or bolt could have been aftermarket- I for one would pay the extra- but overall, not a bad piece of metal. Most of the things that were wrong with it were fixed in under 45 minutes. If Pro-Team puts some more effort into it, this gun could be really nice, at a great price. As it stands, I got my money's worth, but that's about it. I'm giving it a 7 because I think PTP has a solid idea, but needs to spend some more time on the drawing board.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media