paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / DeadlyWind Foehn Body Kit / DeadlyWind Foehn Body Kit / DeadlyWind Foehn Body Kit / DeadlyWind Foehn Body Kit / DeadlyWind Foehn Body Kit

DeadlyWind Foehn Body Kit Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount DeadlyWind

Buy DeadlyWind Foehn Body Kit

Paintball Ion Bodies

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


DeadlyWind Foehn Body Kit
[ View Photos (16) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 11
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $129

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Foehn from Deadlywind is a fully sculptured, 4-axis CNC milled aluminum body "shell" for the Ion. We start with 6061 aluminum and carve it all up! Rid yourself of the plastic jinx, for good.

The Foehn body shell includes the aluminum mainbody, aluminum tail plug (all black), and SS retaining screw. The 10-32 retaining screw can also be used to bolt your choice of "snatch grip" to the tail of the body, if desired.

Weighing in at 5.3oz, it is aerodynamically designed for a low coefficient of friction to help you move faster on the field.

We removed more material on the underside of the body than the stock Ion plastic shell, so you should have more room to mount your QEV without cutting or trimming the body*.

* Depends on the size/type of QEV
Product Availability 
The DeadlyWind Foehn Body Kit is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
flyor Tuesday, June 14th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock body - does not compare
Marker Setup: Smart Parts ION
Crossfire 68/4500
CCM No-Pro feedneck
CP Race Trigger
CP Shorty Reg
Hybrid grips
Powerlyte scepter barrel kit
Strengths: Aluminum versus plastic
Nice anno finish
Looks
Ease of install
Weaknesses: Price, but that's expected
Review: Pretty straight forward review. Ordered the body direct from DeadlyWind using paypal and it was shipped almost immediately. Big props to them on the shipping; I think I had the body kit in my hands 3 or 4 days after I ordered it! Installation is very easy, especially if you've already pulled the gun apart for any cleaning and maintenance. It is a direct replacement for the stock body...no mods required.

Basically it is an aesthetic upgrade. I don't see any performance increase from it. The weight increase is neglible. I can't tell the difference.

The anno work is very nice and the look of the gun is completely different now. Actually it's quite funny because the shape of the DeadlyWind body makes it look even more like a Shocker so it throws a few people for a loop when they first see it.
Conclusion: Quality product, fast shipping, great looking upgrade. The price is stiff when you consider $100 upgrade on a $300 gun but worth it if you're not into the plastic look. Overall I'm very happy with the purchase and recommend it to anyone who wants to drastically change the look of their ION.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

swcblues Wednesday, October 12th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock body
Marker Setup: SP Ion
Foehn BOB body
Check-it clamping feedneck
14" All-American barrel
FBM Stiletto drop
68/4500 Crossfire HP
Dye Rhino cover
Strengths: Looks
Easy access to bolt
Weaknesses: Permanently installed back fitting
Fit
Leaks
Review: This body does what it's supposed to do. You've seen the pictures, it looks like that. It's kinda swoopy and a pretty body. Bolt access works by replacing the stock air donut with an open passage two-oring one. A back plug then engages the firing chamber and rotates the whole thing out. It basically takes as long to get the bolt out as it takes to take out/loosen the two external body screws.

The anno on it was acceptable, but brushlike marks can be seen through where the milling wasn't polished well enough, and there are a couple of small indentations near the front on one side of mine. It doesn't fit quite flush with the breech at the front on one side as well. There is also a slight leak from the hole in the back plug.

While this makes bolt maintenance easy, it makes solenoid maintenance difficult, since the back fitting is permanently attached to the body. That means to clean the solenoid, you either need to pry the air line off the fitting, or pop the solenoid head while it's still stuck to the fitting by a short hose. It can be done, but it's awkward.
Conclusion: IMHO, it's probably the best looking body on the market, with a solid BOB system. If you have the money to spend, it looks a sight better than the stock body. Then again, if you have the money to spend, you probably should have bought a shocker. It has it's ups and downs, but I definitely wouldn't tell anyone not to get it. The rating I'm using would have the stock body as a three, with some of the crap shaving jobs down at 1, and nothing on the market right now at 10. Smoother milling, a QD fitting, and stopping whatever is making my gun leak would take it up to a 10.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, October 12th, 2005 at 5:04 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

OldDriver Monday, November 19th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Body, Trinity '06
Marker Setup: Speedball
Ion , Q-lock Feed neck, Hollow Point Bolt, SP360 QEV, Virtue Board, Virtue Laser Eyes and Pad, Freak JR Barrel, Halo V-35 with Rip, Foehn 2.5 Body, Scorpion Frame

Woodsball/Backup
A-5 w/ Flatline Barrel, E-grip(pre-WAS board), 6xchamber, colapseable stock and remote line on 24 oz CO2
Strengths: See review
Weaknesses: See review
Review: Foehn 2.5 Body Kit

Bought this to replace the factory body kit and the Trinity ’06 body for the advantage of the BOB design and it is available from Deadly Wind for $85 but unlike the Shocktech Body at $150 which you can order at most online stores, it is only available from Deadly Wind.

Pros:
1. Nobody has one. Most people think when you walk in with it that you have a Borg or Shocker, helping to rid yourself of the “It’s just an Ion” stigma.
2. Anodizing was beautiful. No tooling marks or bad spots visible to the naked eye and with the flowing millwork just add to the lines of the marker, making it stand out from the crowd.
3. It is a BOB (Bolt out Back), no more taking the whole marker down to re-lube the bolt. Just remove the rear frame screw (which holds the plug in place) and loosen the trigger frame screw (to give the firing can room to move), then just screw out the firing can. Reinstallation is just the reverse and only snug it up, no guerrilla wrench needed.
4. Simple to install, just be careful when removing the “Swivel Donut” from the firing can, as the snap ring is a real pain in the butt and it is easier to just replace the rear hose rather than trying to pry the old hose off. This reduces your chance of damaging the solenoid barb.

Cons:
1. Nobody has one so when you walk on the field everyone asks what it is and where they can find it so you reduce your time to play.
2. Sometimes leaks from the rear plug, when you look it up in the technical section, they say to apply DOW-33 to the o-rings or gas it up quickly so that the o-rings will fly out and seal the plug. You would think that concept went out with the Challenger Explosion, as that was how the engineers designed the Solid Rocket Boosters for the shuttle. (No disrespect intended, just an observation.) Perhaps a little less of a groove (a few thousands) or what I will try next, some Teflon tape in the grooves to bump it up a notch.
3. Minor weight increase, not very noticeable on the field when the adrenaline is going but there nonetheless.
4. Rear port on the body should be a quick connect for when you do remove the body to service the rest of the marker. Having the board hanging by the hose can be unnerving with a $100+ board just swinging in the wind.
5. Not anyone’s fault but the blue anodizing is just a shade off (darker) from that of the blue CP regulator, blue drop forward and blue On/Off, I have. You can only see it when you are focused and comparing the two but, different manufacturers what can you do but spend MORE money on a new anodizing job.
Conclusion: Well worth the $85 spent especially when compared to the Shocktech Body for $150. Yes, you can get the S.S.C. body for less than the $150 top end body and still get the BOB, but to me it does not look as good.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sfuentes Monday, October 3rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
- Stock Body
- Strange ION Body Kit
Marker Setup: Smart Parts ION
- Scythe Trigger / Strange ION Kit Trigger
- CP Regulator
- CP On/Off
- Q-Lock Feedneck
- Ligtening Bolt
- Foehn Body / Strange ION Kit Body
- Halo B with Victory Board
- 4500/45 PMI Tank
Strengths: - Appearance
- Weight (Not too heavy)
- Bolt serviceable from rear
Weaknesses: - Cost ($140 for a purely cosmetical upgrade.)
- Large banjo fitting (will require lube)
Review: The Deadlywind Foehn ION body is one of the best looking bodies available for the ION. The body is an entirely aluminum body, available in 5 colors. The body comes with a banjo fitting and a delrin donut for the body. Removal of the stock donut is required, so have your tools ready. The instructions for installing the body can be found on the website. While it can be difficult if you don't know what you're doing, the instructions are very straightforward.

This body is unique. It looks stunning and is almost guaranteed to get heads to turn at the field. The body is a bit plain, but it's still one of the best for the ION. Unfortunately, the banjo fitting is large, so lube will be required to slip a hose onto the fitting fully. I've been contacted by the manufacturer stating that a smaller fitting will be issued out soon. The problem of the banjo fitting being too large will be solved.


Conclusion: In all, this is a great body. If you have the money, go for it. It's one of the most attractive bodies for the ION and is sure to get heads to turn at the field. This product would have gotten a 10 out of 10 had it not been for the large banjo fitting.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MustanGuy Sunday, June 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Ion Body (black)
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
SS Freak Back
All-American Front
Micro Max-Flo 68/4500
Deadlywind Foehn Body
Q-Lock
Halo B w/ Rip
Strengths: -Beautiful Milling
-Incredible Anodizing Job
-Bolt-out-back design
-Simple setup
Weaknesses: I'm scared to superman into a bunker and risk scratching it...

..so yeah, nothing.
Review: When I ordered the body I noticed that they required shipping insurance which is a good move. Not only that, but primary shipping is USPS Priority, so anywhere in the US, you will get it in 3 days. However I got mine in only 2!! When I openned it up, it looked so much better than on the website. The milling cannot be captured very well in a photogaph. It has to be seen and moved around to really be able to capture the beauty of it.

It was easy to install, except for having to switch the stock solenoid hose with the one that is provided. The new hose is only a couple millimeters longer, but odd enough, it is required for the rear 90* manifold to function properly. After that was done, I tried the BOB feature. One word... Awesome!! All you do is remove the rear grip frame screw and loosen the trigger frame screw right in front of the trigger. Then, unscrew the body's back plate and out comes the whole firing can, delrin donut, and bolt! Why smart parts didn't impliment something like this in the gun's initial release I will never know...
Conclusion: If you have the money (mine was $125 shipped) and are tired of the plastic body, not to mention being tired of having to take your whole marker apart just to get to the bolt, don't cheat yourself... get this body. Not only will it turn heads, but it also has some nice functionality.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pat332 Friday, October 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
trinity body. powerlyte body.
Marker Setup: red ion. red cp rail. red 2k5 on off. cp roller trigger. red hybrid hedlok feedneck. orange unicorn bolt. dark ion body. cp 12 inch 2 piece barrel. cp shorty reg. dye sticky 3s.
Strengths: Looks great.
Weaknesses: None really.
Review: This is a really good body at an alright price. If u are looking for a lower end (pricewise) metal body go for the powerlyte. Only 70 bucks. But anyway this is a great product and it does everything its supposed to do. Look sexy on your smart parts ion.I reccomend the dark ion body over this. But this body is also great.
Conclusion: Buy it if you like the way it looks.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

gdog5 Wednesday, July 6th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Angel 05 Speed
LCD Matrix
Ion
other guns....
Strengths: Looks
Weaknesses: Adds wieght, spent $110 on nothing more than a cosmetic upgrade
Review: I didn't like the look of the original body and i had been watching DW's website for their reslease of it for awhile so when they did come out i got one of the first. The design of the body is great, the whole shape flows and looks nice. It makes the ion look so much more professional and "high end". I do have a small issue where when put in sunlight scratches can be seen on it from it being polished not too well. But a minor issue. I contacted DW and they said theyd be happy to replace it with a new body.
Conclusion: As i said before its 110(old) and 130(new) for a cosmetic upgrade. It looks great and im happy with it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

rAdEr Tuesday, February 6th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock body
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion:
Freak 06 front+back+insert - 14"
Chipley reg
Blackheart board
L6 bolt
Dye Sticky 3
Q-lock feedneck
New designz QEV
Kila magnetic detents
Halo b loader
Evolution II loader
PMI Pure Energy Tank- 45ci/4500psi
Empire 06 Tank Cover
Psychoballistics Z Drop Forward
Strengths: Looks, Bolt accessibility, Easy installment
Weaknesses: Price, Design - see review
Review: There is no doubt that this is one of the best looking ion bodies on the market. It gets rid of that flimsy plastic feeling from the stock body and makes your ion look like a shocker. The one thing that seperates this body from many other alluminum ones is that you can access the bolt by a few turns of the allen wrench. But personally, it does not make much of a difference to me because when I finish a day of paintball I take my whole gun apart anyway and clean it. I would imagine that it would be very conveniant for chops, but fortunately I have never chopped with my ion.

In my opinion, purchasing this body was merely a cosmetic upgrade. I have not utilized the back bolt entrance much and I dropped $125 on the body. It does make my ion look like a shocker, but to me that just isnt worth the money. The other issue is that I dont like the design of the replacement fitting in the back of the solenoid. I had two or three leaks occur just when installing this bodyI could not play for a few weeks because I had to send it in for repairs at the local paintball shop to get the leaks patched up.
Conclusion: Very good looking body, easy back entrance to the bolt, overpriced in my opinion and is subject to leak problems (in my experiences at least)
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

goatmouth Wednesday, October 8th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Factory Body
Smart Parts Freak Green Body
Marker Setup: -Smart Parts Ion (1st Gen)
-Smart Parts 360 QEV
-Smart Parts Fire Bolt
-Smart Parts In-line Micro Maxflo
-Smart Parts 68ci 4500psi
-Smart Parts S-Rail Drop Forward
-Smart Parts Lo-Rise Feed Neck
-Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit w/ All American Front
-Deadlywind Foehn B.O.B.
-Deadlywind Finger Lock Trigger
-Element V.2 Frame
-HALO B w/ rip drive
-Virtue Board
-Virtue Membrane Pad
-Virtue Laser Break beam Eyes
-Virtue EZ On 2.0
-Virtue Argyle Bullets 45 Grips
-CP Shorty Regulator
Strengths: Great Craftsmanship
Flawless Finish
Perfect Fit
Weaknesses: There is not one to date. Price maybe, but you pay for what you get.
Review: This body is GREAT! I received the body very promptly and was at awe at first sight. The body it fit the factory Ion body and Element V2 Frame. The body was very easy to install (5min max). The bolt out back (BOB) could be the greatest feature on the body, works great. Loosen one screw, take one out the back of the frame, use your factory Ion wrench and BAM it is out! Played for 3+ years without this feature and it was awful. Deadlywind thought the design through and put it together well.
Conclusion: Go buy one if you are looking for a bolt out back body. I would defenitly spend the $85 dollars again. Love the body, great job Deadlywind!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, October 8th, 2008 at 10:05 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MickilBunz Friday, July 20th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock
Marker Setup: Virtue board
Virtue eyes
Virtue QEV
DeadlyWind HollowPoint Bolt
DXS 68ci 4500
Lucky untec1 Barrel
NDZ Firing can and breech
TTech Stinger trigger
Strengths: New look, BOB Back it's own Banjo
Weaknesses: Weight
Review: I love the look it's sleek, slim and attention getter. the only issue is being that it's aluminum instead of plactic it's a little heaver but nothing much. it's more cosmetic than performance not really sure if the banjo is a performance upgrade but it was one less headache. got mines on in like 20, 25 minutes.
Conclusion: Great craftmanship, beautiful, the BOB makes it all wroth while thou.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media