paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Great American Paintballs / Great American Paintballs / Great American Paintballs

Great American Paintballs Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount

Buy Great American Paintballs

Paintball Paintballs

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Great American Paintballs
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 89
Average Rating: 7.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
No Description Available
Product Availability 
The Great American Paintballs are newer, so they should be commonly available.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
p8ntballa16 Thursday, August 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months8 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
viper venom, Drakula, tc pro, all zap paint, marbs. etc....
Marker Setup: alias timmy
Recommended
Barrels:
any small bore barrel will work, freak kit and kaner kit works good with everything.
Strengths: Breaks in gun are minimal, consistant, smell good, usually breaks on opponent.
Weaknesses: Thin fill great for shooting through breaks, but easily wiped.
Review: I really like this paint, it has great marking abilities and is very good on gun breaks. I also like there thin fill, even though it is a little easier to wipe, it is great for shooting through gun breaks. They also have scented paint, apple, orange and bannana. In addition to scented paints they have many different levels of paint which are all very good quality and ranges from 45$-95$. Dynasty uses there paint, that should be enough in itself. The bore is very consistant as well as the roundness. The balls also tend to get hard if stored for a long time rather than soft, and you are able to rehabilitate your paintballs through a hydration method listed on there web page, and they dont lose there roundness. I will probably stick with this paint for as long as they keep there great quality in there paint.
Conclusion: I would definitly reccomend this paint for any level of play, from there cheapest to the balls dynasty use, they all have great quality and are especially good for fast guns because of there ability to shoot through breaks....it phenomenal. I give it a 10 because its great.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dakkon Monday, December 16th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
zaps
Marker Setup: black dragun lcd
Recommended
Barrels:
small bore barrels
Strengths: It's cheap, has good bright fills. I use it always because of a sponsorship. I love them, they roll out of some barrels like freaks w/out inserts and boomies, but they fit small bore size barrels like a glove, shoot straight/far.
Weaknesses: Wouldn't suggest for tournaments, it wipes really easily but leaves a big oil mark. Dosn't always break right, alot of the time its the seam that breaks. Rolls out of some barrels.
Conclusion: Awesome paint for the price, and has some pretty cool colors to. For its price i dont think it can be beat, I've used some other paint for the same price, and like GAP more.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

Dakkon Monday, October 14th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Strengths: They broke when they hit and were a great size for my gun, i dont know if there all the same but the ones i was using i received from a sponsored player and they were metallic purple, not a single one broke in my barrel or my friends the guns being used were a black dragun lcd, autococker, tippman 98 custom w/ flatline. maybe there are diffrent types but these were awesome paint when i used them, i ended up trading 500 marbalizers for 500 of these
Weaknesses: rolls out of some barrels. but fit great in mine, not really much else i can say thats bad, i got a weird curve every now and then, but i think it was my barrel
Conclusion: some of the best paint ive used, it fit my gun good and it shot nice
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

mike31c Tuesday, December 16th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
ZAP, Super Swirls, "paintballs in a bag" basically anything the field has at the time
Marker Setup: A-5 w/ 20oz CO2, RT, stock barrel, Tactical Sling
2x PT Extremes w/ R&L Tactical Holsters
PMI Piranha SB w/ AGD 6-pak
Recommended
Barrels:
I've used stock barrels and had NO problems with them.
Strengths: breaks on opponents quite easily.
Weaknesses: I really HATE their "banana flavor" paint!
Review: I have never chopped a ball on any of my Markers. My 15 yr old PMI, to my modern A-5 to my pistols, never, EVER chopped a ball. And these are the stock barrels. I don't know why others are having problems with them.

My pistols never shoot hotter then 235 and yet they DO break on contact with opponents. I am also never more then 20 feet from them but still!

My only gripe about GAP's: Their "Banana Flavor" paint leaves my mouth a very BAD aftertaste! I got hit in the mask with them and I got a taste of it and it made me gag! What concerns me, I was told it is NOT banana. I didn't even want to know what it was then :P
Conclusion: These are not "high-end" paint. But I will use them because I never had a problem with them!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

eastwood2 Friday, August 29th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nelson Hot Spot
Big Ball
Etc.
Marker Setup: Black Spyder Imagine
13.5" ACI Zero Gravity One-Piece barrel
Ricochet AK 9v hopper
20 oz. CO2
Recommended
Barrels:
Fairly small diameter paintball so "fits" or will work with almost any barrel.
Strengths: --Low Cost
--Many colors
--No breakage in gun
--Small diameter
Weaknesses: --None
Review: Great American paintballs are an awesome all-around recreational ammo. I use them for wood ball and they perform great. Available in many colors, although I don't recommend the black shell because it's almost invisible once it leaves the barrel. That may sound good, but you get zero tracer effect. Try the green apple--they have flourescent green fill and an apple scent! All other colors are great as well: orange, yellow, red, etc.
I buy these paintballs online and have had no breakage with the Great American. I can't say the same thing for Nelson Hot Spot. Great American packs their paint incredibly well-- four bags per box and a fiber pad on the bottom for extra protection. No breakage even with regular UPS ground delivery.
Conclusion: Buy Great American! Great colors. No breakage. Very good accuracy for the money.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, July 21st, 2004 at 2:35 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Docster Friday, May 16th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
PMI premium: didn't seem to break as well
RPS Marballizer: accurate, breaks well, cost about twice as much ($75)
Marker Setup: custom DYE autococker
(Palmer regs, KAPP valve, DYE hinge, STO ram, yadayadayada...)
Ricochet
nitro
Recommended
Barrels:
DYE Ultralite
Strengths: Inexpensive ($40) case
Breaks well
The pink paint is very bright
No chops
Weaknesses: Seems to be an occasional curveball
Review: Recently went with a friend to play some woodsball, and between the two of us we went through 3 cases of this stuff. I also went through some PMI premiums on the same day, that I ended up giving away because I was getting about a chop per hopper (though to be fair, the PMI paint was about 2 weeks older). Also shot 1/2 case of marbalizers after my GAP ran out, which performed in their usual consistent manner.

The GAP seem a little smaller than the marb's, but I was getting nice crisp groupings through the ultralite. (I had also sized them through my PMI ceramic, but they just rolled through). There would be an occasional roller through my ultralite, which I wonder might account for the occasional curveballs I would shoot (maybe one per every 20 or 30 shots).

Our paint had a bright pink fill, and seemed to break okay without bouncing (I do shoot a lot of paint though).

My friend was alternating between an Intimidator and a B2K2 with a boomstick, and reported similar results; pretty much no chops, but the occasional flier. On the last game of the day, we played on different teams, and he bunkered me with the Intimidator. I can report that the paint broke when it hit my mask, my bare forearm, my ricochet, my camo pants, and at least twice on my shirt. The paint also seemed to break (at least twice) on the ref who was standing behind me.

Conclusion: Cheap and performs very well given the price. Probably need to pay attention with paint/barrel match a little more than the average paintball.

Also, it seems that a lot of Spyder owners on this forum have had some chops with this paint. all 3 markers that we used with this paint were set up for low pressure, so it might be a little more fragile in a high pressure blowback gun.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Friday, May 16th, 2003 at 9:08 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

paintballkido Friday, August 2nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Stock 2002 virticle feed worr games autococker, with custom products flame drop with an on and off adapter. A Pure Energy compressed air tank and a 9 volt revoulution hopper.
Recommended
Barrels:
J&J edge, boomstick, ...stock barreks work fine.
Strengths: Everthing, this paint ROCKS!!!! these paintballs shoot very strait, the break on impact not in your gun.... I went to play at a field in temecula CA, and Tod Martenez from team Avalanche , and a bunch of Dynasty players were there using these paintballs and Tod asked me and my buddys if we wanted to buy a box so we did and these paintballs were the best paintballs i have ever shot... so Shoot great american.....
Weaknesses: Nothing at all!
Conclusion: so you should throw away whatever paintballs you are shooting and shoot great american.. this paint can not be beaten... so go out and buy grat american paintballs....
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cupofjoey Friday, July 5th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
32 Degrees, Diablo Midnight Grade, PMI, Big Ball
Marker Setup: 2001 WDP Angel LCD, 18v Viewloader Revolution hopper, Warped Sportz Drop forward, 12'' OTP G4 barrel, 110ci ACI Bulldog tank, DYE low center feed and DYE volumizer with a Liquid Paintball solid bolt to round out the mix.
Recommended
Barrels:
OTP G4, Custom Products, DYE Boomstick (in colder weather), JT barrels
Strengths: I have wondered a bit in my choice of paint from 32 degrees to Diablo midnight grade. Hell I started out just by using a sling shot and Brass Eagle. For the money, you can not beat this paint. I have put about 8000 rounds (yes that is eight thousand) of the stuff through my marker (2001 Angel LCD) with a stock bolt and I have only had 2 breaks to speak of. Wonderful in all types of weather and about any reasonable bore size barrel.
Weaknesses: Kind of finniky when it comes to DYE boomstick. You also have to turn the
case(s) over once every week or so because the paint seems to settle a little bit more in the balls than say Diablo or a PMI. Also easily wiped off (recommend use in recreational not tournament play and in practice). Other than that, no complaints here.
Conclusion: Wonderful paint for the cost, don't expect to much out of it because it is a cheaper. lower quality paint, but it is still stout enough to handle a lot of play time. Good Job to the Great American Lads.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Division Effect Monday, June 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
marballizer, rp menace, evil,etc.
Marker Setup: Joy Division Angel 4 Fly/bronze fade
Evil Pipe Kit
CP drop
72/4500 low pressure crossfire tank
blue halo b with rip drive and a victory board
Recommended
Barrels:
boomsticks, evil pipe kits, powerlyte kits, etc.

anything except freak
Strengths: nice bright fill
flies straight
good breaking shell
definately price
Weaknesses: cant think of any yet
so far this is my favorite paint
Review: for the price and the performance this is definately a paint to be reckoned with, i cant think of any weaknesses that this paint has, but it has all the strengths that u want in a quality paint, it flies well, breaks exceptionaly well (that especially includes banana ball with dynasty shell), has a good, distinct, bright fill, has a great price, and performs very well in speed,x, and rec ball.
Conclusion: i have been playing with this paint for about a year and it is by far my favorite
considering the fact that i have played with most of the other paint out there, i think that this paint has the price and quality match more than any other paint
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

mpb Thursday, May 13th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
zap, nelson, pmi
Marker Setup: timmy ecx (just got it)
Recommended
Barrels:
.688 - .690
Strengths: accurate, smell great, dont break if fresh, cheap
Weaknesses: bought usually online from sites that keep them to long at the wrong conditions
Review: I hear to many people talking bad about these great paintballs usually cause the get bad cases. theres alot of things that paintball sellers do wrong when they store their paint. Its the online dealers you have to blaim not GAP. The other day i went to the GAP factory and they gave me a tour. their paint is really good when its fresh its just the idiots who store them at 90° that give GAP the bad rep. you gotta take care of your paint for it to work good. So get a fresh case and then tell me it mas misshaped and dimpled also if your paints brittle go to greatamericanpaintballs.com########### and look at the hydration procedure. your not suppose to expose paintball to the atmosphere for more than two hours. store your paint in moisture proof bags at 60° to 80° . And stop complaining about paint thats bad couse its yuor fault
Conclusion: buy this paint but try to get it fresh not old and brttle
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, June 29th, 2004 at 1:19 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media