paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Rufus Dawg Wicked Bolt / Rufus Dawg Wicked Bolt / Rufus Dawg Wicked Bolt / Rufus Dawg Wicked Bolt / Rufus Dawg Wicked Bolt

Rufus Dawg Wicked Bolt Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Rufus Dawg

Buy Rufus Dawg Wicked Bolt

Paintball Custom 98 Bolts

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Rufus Dawg Wicked Bolt
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 11
Average Rating: 7.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $30

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Increase The Performance, Accuracy And Efficiency Of Your Tippmann Marker
with Rufus Dawg's NEW "WICKED BOLT". The kit includes 1 new Bolt with O-Ring
and 1 new powertube that fits the Tippmann Model 98, 98 Custom and Custom Pro line of markers.

Venturi Bolt Design:
::Allows more even distribution of the Air Blast on the paintball.
The result is a more consistant shot due to less deformation of the ball.

Full Paintball Cradle:
::Full conical shape on the front of the bolt which "Cradles" the
ball so it does not deform on contact.

Flexible Rear Seal:
::Provides a full seal around the powertube without extra drag or
friction.

Guide Rails:
::The rails provide an outer track to guide the bolt inside the body.
Less contact rusults in less friction and wear.

Recessed Pockets:
::The recessed pockets on the outer shape are designed to hold paint
and shell fragments from boken paintballs, keeping them from hurting
performance.

Delrin Material:
::Molded from Delrin, a strong self lubricating plastic.
Product Availability 
The Rufus Dawg Wicked Bolt is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Socompaintball Friday, June 24th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month15 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock 98 bolt it is no comparison
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98
Tapco collapsible stock
Red Dot sight
Smart Parts 14" Teardrop
Rufus Dawg Wicked Bolt
Coiled Remote
Ricochet Ak
Strengths: Very accurate
Delrin
Makes gun much more quiet
No ball breakage
Weaknesses: Installing it is a pain
Review: After buying this product i could not wait to go get it installed( it comes with a different power tube to fit the bolt) so i did it my self which took for ever. you have to remove the hose and strip the gun down to every piece. but after it was installed I tested it out and wow. this bolt makes accuracy almost perfect. I was using dbx balls that were soft and covered in paint but it was all I had to test it with. i started firing it and I was so amazed of the accuracy boost i thought i was shooting marbs. From 75 feet away this bolt kept the grouping of the paintballs within 1 foot on the tree i was shooting at. I also noticed after playing one game with this bolt that it reduces the noise greatly. Any one who owns a Tippmann 98 knows that they are not the quietest thing in the paintball world, but this bolt made the gun so quiet i could hear the eletro hopper running while firing the gun. This is probably one of the best upgrades I have purchased.
Conclusion: If you have 30 bucks this bolt is a must it will make your accuracy so much better and reduces noise. I have to give this a 10 because it is so worth it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

dando69 Tuesday, March 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock bolt
Marker Setup: Custom 98
wicked bold
rt
empire 4 piece barrel kit
double trigger
custom polished drop
empire quick asa
rocket cock
GTA vert bottle kit with expansion chamber
72 cu in 3000lb comp air bottle
Strengths: Accuracy
Ease of installation
Maintenance required
Weaknesses: Increased cleaning time
Review: This is probably one of the best upgrades for my marker that I have put in yet. The only downside that I have found was when I installed my r/t. Obviously due to the fact that the cross pieces in the bolt itself will not correctly work with a stock styled power tube I was faced with possibly moding an r/t tube to fit this. I gave it a shot just for kicks to see if Rufus Dawg did possibly carry an r/t tube and so be it they do... all I had to do was pay for shipping and handling and it is now compatible with the r/t.

On a different note after I installed this part I found that I could shoot any quality of paint just as consistently as the next. No matter how much I pay for a case of paint I get very consistent performance from my gun.

The fact that the tube is plastic only raises one concern, you must take care with installing the velocity adjustment screw into the tube body but other than that I feel again as I previously stated is one of the best upgrades for my gun especially considering the price.
Conclusion: I would recomend this to anyone who is looking for a more consistant shot with a Custom 98
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

splatface Sunday, March 29th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock bolt
Marker Setup: Alpha Black Tactical
Gravity fed hopper
3000 p.s.i. HPA tank
16in Progressive barrel
Wicked Bolt
Remote line

Smart Parts SP-1
Double Trigger
16in Smart Parts Tactical barrel
Strengths: Supposed improvement in accuracy.
Handles chops better.
Weaknesses: Takes a while to install.
It costs money.
Review: To me, this bolt makes a rather insignificant improvement as far as accuracy goes. I can see how it could handle chops because of the grooves on the bolt.

To install, you have to disassemble the entire gun, take out the power tube, take off the air hose, take out the thing in the power tube, install the new power tube, put the hose back on the tube, reinstall the tube, and then reassemble the rest of the gun. A bit of a hassle to install if you ask me.
Conclusion: I would have to say that this upgrade is pointless. $30 for this makes it worse. Nothing wrong with it, but nothing good about it either. Save the $30 and buy some paint.
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, March 3rd, 2010 at 1:10 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

boostedd84 Wednesday, January 3rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock bolt
Marker Setup: Stock with evolution 2 hopper and j and 14 inch barrel
Strengths: Very accurate, fairly easy to install nice upgrade from stock
Weaknesses: None yet
Review: I put it in the gun and immediatly noticed a difference it is easier on the paint compared to the stock bolt shoots much more accuratly and i think it was pretty easy to install not sure why so many people keep complaining about how hard it was to install it me took ten minutes if that long
Conclusion: Worth it nice upgrade
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Humansalvation Saturday, March 3rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Shocktech bolt, custom mods on stock bolt, etc.
Marker Setup: Tippmannn 98C
Rufus Dawg Wicked Bolt
14" J&J Ceramic Barrel
14" Lapco Machine Gun Shroud
Cyclone feeding system w/ 330 rnd hopper
R/T kit
72ci 4500psi HPA
Remote line w/ quick disconnect
etc.
Strengths: Easy install, Good looks, Efficient, Cost effective.
Weaknesses: Possible to be harder to clean
Review: Personally I have really enjoyed my Wicked Bolt. I have been in paintball for a very long time and knew what I was buying when I purchased this bolt. I am posting because I am seeing alot of people complaining about how hard it is to install the bolt system and also that it does not fit their markers. Tippmann has so many variations to their 98 series markers that I think it very possible that some people have purchased a bolt that is not setup for their markers which in their case is a user error not a problem on the behalf of the company's.

I also knew what to expect out of the product. I didn't expect it to get me 500 more shots or make cheap paint fly like marbs but it does what its intended to do and looks good too. I had a R/T installed prior to the bolt and noticed a very nice pick up in speed with the new one the shot consistency is nicer too with the new bolt.
Conclusion: I think it's a good buy for anyone looking to scrape that last bit of consistancy out of their 98 Customs. It's not your first and probobly second upgrade by all means but when you have little else to change out on your Custom this is a great addition to any marker. Can't beat the alien looking bolt either.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, March 3rd, 2007 at 7:56 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

greyalien Wednesday, November 9th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Bolt
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom Pro
Strengths: -Slight accuracy change
Weaknesses: -Pain to install
-Powertube stripped easily
Review: Wow. Ok so i get this bolt to hopefully improve the acuracy of my custom pro. To install it, you need to remove the stock powertube and bolt, take the gas line out of the powertube, remove the valve and velocity screw, and put them in the new tube, and then fit the hose back in.

This went fairly well till i had to put the velocity screw into the new powertube. Since it didnt already have threads in it, and its just plastic, the velocity screw stripped the tube and i had to saw the thing apart in orded to remove the valve and velocity screw. I put them back into the stock tube, and put my gun back together with the stock stuff.

If the screw hadnt stripped the new tube, i might have been satisfied with the product. However, it caused me nothing but trouble, and when i did test it (with the velocity screw partway in) i didnt notice any difference at all. Dont waste your time with this. If you really want a new bolt, get one that accomodates the stock powertube, or buy one that has a metal powertube.
Conclusion: Buy one if you want to be frustrated and waste money
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

chl2onic Thursday, December 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock bolt, less accurate & louder.
Marker Setup: 98 Custom wicked bolt, flatline, trinity springs, sliding stock, and a 9v. evil rage cyclone hopper....

a-5, double trigger, whisper barrel.
Strengths: Quiet, consistant with a flatline, less ball breakage.
Weaknesses: Hard to clean. Tricky to install. Resetting your velocity with out a chrono.
Review: The Wicked bolt has been all in all a good upgrade. Its improved accuracy. Made my gun quieter. Works great with my flatline barrel. Though you have to take practally everything apart, it goes back together very easily. I dont like the little recessed pockets on the bolt itself they catch paint and are a pain to clean. All in all it was well worth what it costed me.
Conclusion: I'd Buy this for your gu. its a cheap upgrade that greatly improves accuracy.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, November 20th, 2009 at 8:41 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ScreamingShiek Sunday, July 25th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: BT4 Combat w/Trinity Barrel Rail, 12" Palmer's Pursuit Single Ported .685, Collapsible Stock, AMP ACOG Dot Sight
Strengths: Consistency
Accuracy
Increase in effective range
Weaknesses: None observed
Review: I bought this bolt as an addition to my Palmer's barrel. First game out, using XBall Scenarios, I noticed that the range was increased slightly, but the accuracy was far greater inside of one hundred feet. With good paintballs, it will go where you want it to go. As for installation, it does require disassembly of the marker and powertube, but this is simple so long as the threads are sealed properly once everything is screwed together. I liked it so much I bought a second one for another BT. This one did not install properly because the power tube stem was actually bent, so I used mixed and matched with the stock bolt and came up with a solution. This bolt is an excellent addition to any gun that needs increased accuracy and better. At this time I bought each of the Rufus Dawg Wicked bolts for $24, so the price is not an issue.
Conclusion: Good bolt, cheap price, and easy to install.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Candyman29_77 Thursday, April 19th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
32 Degrees Starfire Bolt
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom, Rufus Dawg Wicked Bolt, Q-loader, PyschoBallistics Rear Cocker, 20" J&J ceramic barrel
Strengths: Deadly accurate
Weaknesses: None as of yet
Review: This bolt is awesome. It may be the best out there. The accuracy gain over the stock bolt is unbelievable. I have used the star fire bolt and it gave some improvement. But the rufus dawg wicked bolt was just a lot more noticeable. At 40-50 yards, you can put paint on paint if you use decent balls.
Conclusion: I would recommend this bolt to anyone who wants an accuracy improvement. It gives huge gains of accuracy and is not that expensive.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, April 19th, 2007 at 7:44 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

double agent Saturday, January 20th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
stock Tippmann Power Tube and front bolt
Marker Setup: Tippmann Model 98 (not Custom)
14" Dye barrel
CO2
All stock setup
Strengths: The bolt supports in the center causing less stress and distortion on the ball.
Weaknesses: The Wicked Power Tube didn't fit my M98. See below.
Review: My M98 ate paintballs for breakfast, breaking 2-3 for every 100 it shot, so I bought the Wicked Bolt to try to fix it.

The Wicked Power Tube didn't fit my M98. And I don't mean it was meant for the 98 Custom, I specifically requested the Power Tube for an M98 when I called Rufus Dawg, and they modified it for me. I mean, the stock valve was too big for the Power Tube. I ended up tearing the tube when I put the valve in.

The Wicked Bolt Power Tube for the Model 98 and the M98 Custom are NOT the same Power Tube, the M98 needs to be factory modified. If you order this from Rufus Dawg and you have an M98, not a Custom, you have to tell them so.

I got the Wicked Bolt for my son's M98 on Christmas. So far so good.

1.2.07 When I put the stock valve into the Wicked Power Tube, it didn't fit; the valve was too big. I forced it, and it ended up tearing the Power Tube. Rufus Dog offered to modify my stock Power tube to work with the Wicked Bolt front bolt though. I will probably modify it myself to save on shipping.

Update 1.17.07 I used a Dremel and put the slots in my stock Power Tube, and it works fine. Apparently the plastic Power Tube that comes with the Wicked Bolt kit is there for no other reason than so that you don't have to permanantly alter your stock Power Tube by cutting slots in it for the Wicked Bolt. Putting the slots in the stock tube is pretty easy if you have a grinder or Dremel tool though.

Update 3.4.07 The M98 has been relagated to "back-up gun" status, and yesterday it was employed for the first time since I put in the Wicked Bolt. I went though about 600 balls in 35 degree weather, both marbs and white box stuff, and not a single ball broke. That was all I wanted it to do.
Conclusion: Not impressed with quality control, but I have a very early M98, so maybe the valve that was on the early m98's are different from later ones. In other words, it might not be Rufus Dawg's fault that it didn't fit. I have seen other reviews here that said it didn't fit for them, either, though. I will update soon if it helps with ball breakage.
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Monday, March 5th, 2007 at 7:46 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media