paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Diablo Matrix / Diablo Matrix / Diablo Matrix / Diablo Matrix

Diablo Matrix Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Diablo

Buy Diablo Matrix

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Diablo Matrix
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 125
Average Rating: 9.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $799

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
This electronic-triggered, ALL pneumatic marker gives you a rate-of-fire equal to the very best. It has no hammer, no sear, no main spring. Interchangable forebreech can be fitted to accept your favorite barrels from Angels, Shockers, Mags, etc. (the standard forebreach is threaded for Cocker barrels). Includes Regulator, Custom Barrel, Interchangeable ForeGrip, and Electronic Trigger assembly.
Product Availability 
The Diablo Matrix is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (13):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Bobo Sagato Monday, November 18th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year23 of 24 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
My friend has an impulse, but it's not quite the same: the impulse is a more beautiful gun, and the way they work is completely different and all personal preference options.
Marker Setup: Originial Switch on/off Matrix with PBCentral Bolt Kit and chip, MacDev vertical reg (PBC verticle reg adapter with presure gauge), KAPP Rhino Reg adapted to fit (similar to Trinity), drop forward, HALO, rubber grips, DYE barrels
Recommended
Upgrades:
Things to do yourself: Adjust trigger, hi or lorise, interchangeable breech, rate of fire adjustment
Things to let an airsmith do if you are not familiar with this marker: verticle reg, LPR reg, bolt kit and chip
Optional upgrades: volumizers (new matrices are coming out with the two side ports hollow for more air flow, so now added on volumizers can actually do something) anno/milling, warp feed interface
Things to Have: Extra O-Rings, matrix muck/battle lube, marker oil, allen wrench set
Strengths: Wow, where to begin?

Rate of Fire
-adjustable (stock) up to about 16 BPS
-adjustable trigger (2 set screws, interchangeable springs)
-upgradeable ROF Bolt Kits with new chips, max about 22 BPS

Accuracy
-little or no recoil
-dual ball detents for ball centering
-few moving parts
-comparable to autococker (i own two, trust me on this one)
-spool valve design: regulated, fixed volume airspace delivers consistant energy ( http://www.warpig.com/paintball/technical/paintguns/matrix/i ndex.shtml for more information on spool )

Consistency
-i have heard of drop off, but not over 10 fps, and i have not experienced it
-runs very well, cleanly on hydrogen/compressed air
-runs very well on CO2 (similar to impulse) not recommended unless using anti-siphon

Ball Chopping
-if front LPR installed, ball chopping practically eliminated
-IF (thats a big if) a ball chops, the front breech removes for easy cleaning (no need to unscrew barrel)

Upgradeability
-comes in switch/pushbutton LED or LCD
-most upgrades are performance oriented, not frou frou
~Bolt kit: better efficiency, higher ROF
~LPR reg: eliminates ball chopping
~Vert reg: stock regs very good, upgradeability an option
~Hi rise and Lo rise options easily installed
~Interchangeable forbreech for different threaded barrels

Maintenance
-inspect moving o-rings, oil, play
-uses one standard 9volt battery
Weaknesses: Appearance
-not the best, not the worst, can be customized (KAPP, Aardvark)

Gas Consumption
-sucks air like its going out of style. if thats a problem get a tight paint-barrel bore match and a bigger tank or higher pressure

Weight
-add a HALO full of paint and a large tank and it gets a little heavy, but not bad

Rumors
-I've recently heard that when they make these, sometimes the specifics are not followed exactly to the letter. i have no direct evidence of this
Conclusion: Probably the thing I'm most impressed with is the fact that out of the box and works extremely well. It gets even better if you put a little effort into it. I would highly recommend this marker to someone that owns a cocker and looking to move up to electronic, or to anyone looking to take the step up. several aftermarket versions such as the Tequila Matrix by Aardvark, the Shocktech Matrix, and the Image Matrix are floating around.
It can compare to the angel, the impulse, electronic cockers, and other high end markers. its all a matter of preference.
heres some quick stats of my opinion on a STOCK Matrix:
Speed: 10/10
Accuracy: 10/10
Trajectory: 9/10
Distance: 10/10
Consistancy: 9/10
Durability: 8/10
Gas Consumption: 6/10
Appearance: 4/10
Ball Breakage: 9/10
Upgradeability: 8/10
Any questions about this marker? Mail me federalli@cox.net
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

shotinpaint Saturday, February 15th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
AGD E-mag- personal preference. the E-mag and the matrix are my two favorite guns
Marker Setup: I have an airgun designs e-mag with a dye ultrilite barrel, HALO B, 68ci nitro, and shocktech drop forward.

My other gun is a diablo LED matrix with the alligator trigger, shocktech front reg, a bee-hive reg, a pbc mid rise with smoke Halo B, and a shocktech dropforward.
Recommended
Upgrades:
The alligator trigger is a must for this gun, if you want a high rate of fire the ge tthis trigger you will not regret it. For the front regulator there is a variety of them, there is the trinity, the shocktech, and the PBC. its all preference and I really like the company shocktech so chose the shocktech. the only other thing is halo B, definatly buy one for this gun.
Strengths: Here is the bonus section for the matrix.

ACCURACY- this is the most accurate gun ever made. in fact whenever you look this gun up thats the first thing you see is that it is teh most accurate gun. And from useing this gun i`m telling you its the truth.

SPEED- Wow! The speed is quicker than any other gun on the market. Anyone could pick this gun up and rip quick strings of paint. The stock matrices trigger is very nice and a person can maintain about 15 bps which is very high, but when you slap on a alligator trigger a person can get 19 bps, now thats insane. All in all this gun gives a new meaning to the term "A string of balls.

QUITENESS- The matrix is the most quite gun i have ever seen. It makes a sound identical to a water drop into a sink. This gun rocks in woodsball for that reason.

WEIGHT- The matrix is not heavy at all. With all teh stuff i have on mine its about 3.9 pounds give or take a few ounces.

LOOKS- The matrix doesnt have the grace looks of a custom cocker or the ulgy look of the low end spyder. In my opinion it looks sweet as hell. The pictures on the internet dont do justice for the gun when you see it up close it looks like two different guns.
Weaknesses: There is no bad thing about the matrix accept that it's an airhog. it will last you about 2 game per refill though unless your like me and rip out alot of paint so its not thats bad.
Conclusion: In conclusion the matrix is a very unique and amazing gun. its puts all most every gun to shame.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Fingers Sunday, June 16th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Auto cocker, Spyder Flash, Bushmaster, Shocker 2002, etc.
Marker Setup: Trinity LP reg, Mac Dev Vertical Reg, Kapp Drop zone Cradle w/ on/off, Aardvark red bolt kit and blade triger, Freak set, Rev 12v. & 88cu/4500psi. HPA.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trinity LP reg, Aardvark red bolt kit and blade triger, Freak set.
Strengths: This marker is extremely fast and very easy to shoot fast even if you are not the greatest trigger man out there. This gun will make you fast.
I have had it for about 2 months now, and I've probably shot 10,000 rounds through it, and NEVER CHOPPED a ball.
I have never written a review before, but I am so happy with the performance of this gun that I was compelled to sign up a write this review. I want to share my good experience.
I am used to shooting my Dark Cocker -w/ hinge trigger- and I can rip that pretty good, but when I got my matrix I started shooting ropes the first time I played with it.
I bought my Matrix used from ebay; it was already 3 months old and already had all the previously mentioned mods on it. So, I really don't know how they shoot out of the box, but it is a really sweat marker all modded up.

Just a few more things:
-I am not one of those people who loves everything I buy just because I can't admit a bad buying decision. So, if I say I like something it is because it is truly unique in its design and/or performance.
-I have shot shockers, Impulses,bushmasters, and autocockers, all of which are very decent markers, however, it is my opinion the Matrix is far superior.

+(s)
- very-very-FAST
-despite what I've read, not any heavier than and Impulse or Shocker. (I've actually weighed them)
-very-very-simple design and simple to maintain. (only gives you problems if you do not clean regularly. And forget about all that leaking B.S. you read about; that's from people who treat their Matrixes like a tippmann. No more maintenance required than any other upper-end electro marker out there, except the simplicity of the Matrix design makes it a lot easier & faster to trouble-shoot and fix.
-the absolute quietest marker I have ever heard.
-undetectable recoil-NONE-
-true close bolt accuracy and distance.
-able to shoot the brittlest paint and not break or chop.
-fairly price when compared to its performance and other comparable markers.
Weaknesses: -(s)
-uses a lot of air (but no more than comparable low pressure markers)
-not as popular as some other markers, limiting aftermarket accessories availability.
-kind of a tall profile (maybe try a warp feed)
-very simple/plain milling (kind of ugly compared to other markers)
Lastly and probably the biggest negative: It shoots so fast that I use almost a case of paint every time I play. This can get expensive if you are not sponsored.
But, you do get a lot more kills!
Conclusion: I have to strongly recommend this to anyone looking for a long range, accurate, quiet, and supper fast marker for around $1000, and that is easy to maintain.

Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

matrix_KIDD Saturday, January 25th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Bob Long 2k2 intimidator, Freak Factory impulse.
Marker Setup: Diablo LED matrix, 68/4500 dynaflow HP, center flag mounting rail, trinity reg, AK-47 volumizers, works feedtube, CP 14" barrel kit, bolt kit, switch trigger, center flag reg, evlution II.
Recommended
Upgrades:
The Bolt Kit and the Trinity reg. are really essential for this gun, of course a barrel kit will optomize any gun's performance, and an evlution or a halo.
Strengths: extremely fast, my matrix shoot's about 22 bps, with 3 regs on the gun, it is extremely consistent chrono wise, this gun isn't as heavy as everyone makes it out to be.
Weaknesses: air efficiancy.
Conclusion: matrices are really fast, very low pressure and very consistent, i would put my gun up to most any gun around and i am extremely satisfied with this gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

AgentOrange Saturday, October 4th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Impulse, Shocker, Ebladed cocker
Marker Setup: Silver 98custom
32* 2003 Expansion Chamber
32* Flame Drop
Madmann Spring Kit
Custom Trigger Job
Ricochet Ak
Clear Dye Stickies
16oz Stubby w\anti siphon
Recommended
Upgrades:
New bolt for better effciancy, and new barrel maybe
Strengths: Fast
Doesnt chop much
Weaknesses: Kind of ineffciant
Review: Well its a good fast, fairly reliable gun. Only real drawback is that its kind of ineffciant but can be improved with a new bolt. Also I'm not a huge fan of the trigger but than to can be replaced. So its weakness can be fixed pretty easily. I personally think its one of the best of the electros I've shot and is a real good gun.
Conclusion: I'd recomend this gun pretty highly. It has a few minor flaws but as stated an be fixed, although you will need a fairly big tank anyways like at least a 68k but 88k would be even more preferable. But still a good buy.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Mr.Incredible Monday, December 31st, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Ematrix, Cp flame drop, 12vt rev
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel, large nitro tank, trinity, bolt kit ....
Strengths: Fires very fast, accurate and quiet...easy to take apart and clean...has interchangeable breeches so you can use other barrles i.e spyder, automag, m98 ect.... you can adjust the trigger so its pull is almost non-exhistant...its realy a nice gun..oh ..and great range too..
Weaknesses: well....it does eat up gas but if you fill between games its not that big of deal...the stock barrel that it came with on mine was a OTP and it was ok but i have seen better..and there is nothing really pretty about the gun either..no biggie though..
Conclusion: well ...there is nothing bad really about the gun exept cosmetics and the gas issue...its a very nice gun at a very nice price...exeptional rance and accuracy..but ...no gun is perfect so ...its gets a 9
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mr_mich Friday, May 25th, 2001
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: Trigger-This gun has an angel-like trigger. No joke, no exaggeration, no lie. It has the same adjustment points, and can be made so short and light that you can pretty much put your finger on the trigger and shoot it. Most electros are like that today.

Accuracy-I don't care what you guys say about accuracy. If all guns could achieve the same accuracy with the same paint and barrel, then we'd all be running around with upgraded Spyders in tournaments. Anyways, this gun has the accuracy of an Autococker. I'm not ignorant, but if I put a Lapco Bigshot on my Piranha, it's not as accurate as it is on my Matrix with the same paint. It's accurate all right.

Low Pressure-Stock it operates at 120-150 psi. No chops, no breaks. A great added bonus.

LOTS OF UPGRADES-They have at least three front regulators for the matrix, and how many do bushmasters have? Hm..... There are low-rises, mid-rises, volumizers, ASA's, regulators, grips, etc.

ALL pneumatic-This gun uses no springs, hammer, or ram.

Stock regulator-It's terrific! A lot of people change it, but I'm going to stick with it because it's a great regulator.

Field Strip-Chopped a ball? It's hard to do it because the bolt bounces off the ball and skips a few shots, but if you do from outshooting your revvy (common mistake), this is simple. There's a huge knob in the back of the gun. Unscrew it, and its a huge screw that runs throughout the whole gun. Take off the breach, clean it out, rub off the bolt, put the breach back on, and screw the knob back in. Easy, huh?
Weaknesses: Gas hog-Expect no more than 600 shots off a 68/3k compressed air fill. However, considering most guns get 680, that's not a bad trade-off. It's not good for back players though, even though the new internals from Shocktech and Aardvark Custom Paintball Products will fix this.

Size-It's tall. In retrospect it is a bit larger than the angel. It's not a good front man gun because of its size.

Frame-The only type of grips it takes is Angel LCD grips. The new ones come with rubber grips, which are a huge improvement over the pewter grips. The pewter grips look dead sexy, but they are heavy. The pewter grips alone way over a pound.

O-rings-There are way too many o-rings in this gun.

Oh yeah, there's such a thing as specialty-angel's and triggers, cockers and accuracy, etc. The matrix just ruins every other gun's show and puts it all into one big beast.
Conclusion: Let's see, you weigh out the goods and the bads, and tell me what you think. Trigger of an angel, accuracy of a cocker, low pressure (and efficiency) of a shocker, all for the price of a Shocker Turbo. The max rate of fire is 16.7 balls per second. Oh, the reason it is only semi-automatic: THERE ARE RUMORS THAT THE NPPL MIGHT BAN GUNS THAT ARE *CAPABLE* OF SHOOTING IN MODES OTHER THAN SEMI!!!! This was actually a smart alternative on Diablo/Airtech's part, because then they won't have to offer replacement boards. There are already chips out for the Matrix that give it 2 semi-automatic modes, auto-response, zip modes, burst modes, turbo modes, and the infamous full-auto. The barrel threads are interchangable with new forebreaches, which means you can use your favorite barrels, however the breaches are $50 each. Any more questions I would be glad to answer. It's a great gun stock, and I would recommend it to anyone. More reliable than shockers, simpler than cockers, and cheaper than angels. Great buy.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

teddypan Wednesday, March 5th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nasty Impulse
Fire Element Angel
E-Blade cocker
GZ Intimidator (my other gun)
Marker Setup: Matrix
PBC Red Bolt Kit
PBC Front Reg
Sidewinder Regulator
Freak (14 and 12 inch fronts)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definately a bolt kit and lpr
Strengths: -This thing is the most ridiculously fast gun i have ever shot. I am usually pretty slow but i can fan this trigger so fast that it was skipping beats with a freaking halo b!
-Shoots DARTS with an aftermarket barrel. Stock OTP barrel isnt bad though.
-Never chops if u get an LPR
-Consistent
-Feels good
-Best value in paintball
Weaknesses: MY GOD IT IS SUCH A GAS HOG!!! I had 3000 psi left in my tank and ran out of air in 3 hoppers (halo b only holds 150 balls too!); that is pretty bad.

I am just changing from a nasty impulse, and the matrix is a little bit heavier, but its still not that bad at all.

Really needs the lpr up front or you will chop like a maniac becacuse it is so fast. Also, dont say that you wont shoot fast so you dont need the lpr because i thought so too, but I can shoot 15 bps with it. It is so easy to rip on this thing.

Its an ugly duckling....
Conclusion: Great gun. Great value. Shoots darts. Fastest thing around. Quiet as hell. Gas hog. Ugly. Buy it though. Do it. Trust me. Do it. You wont regret it. Do it. Buy it.....
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bigcat Friday, February 7th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Impulse
Spyder AMG
Shocker
Marker Setup: 16" DYE boomstick
Trinity LPR
PMI Thor w/ nitro duck 90 ci Wizard drop
Halo
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trinity LPR
New Barrel (Smart Parts or Dye have always been my favorites)
Bolt kit ( I don't have one yet although I will soon)
Strengths: Accurate
Shoots quite flat
FAST
Very low recoil
Very low ball ball breakage with Trinity LPR
Feels Good to shoot
Weaknesses: Gas hog
With my setup it weighs 9.9 pounds although I am a back player so this is really not an issue unless you are smaller or play front
Phantom Leaks
Conclusion: It is a well balenced mix of speed, accuracy, and trajectory.
With the LPR you very rarely break a ball which can many times be more important than speed or accuracy.
This gun fits my playing style, but it may not yours. Try to get your hands on one that you can test to see if you like it. Through my experience with the gun I have found a gun which I really love.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SulfateSolution Sunday, August 25th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder TL plus with dye boomstick, bushmaster
Marker Setup: Matrix with stock barel red bolt kit and a trinity reg, 68 3000 aci bulldog, gladiator reg, 12v rev
Recommended
Upgrades:
bolt kit
Strengths: After the first two shots the gun is verry stable and shoots at a constant fps.

Verry quiet and verry fast.

Verry accurate.

Scares the poo outta the rec players
Weaknesses: I seemed to have troubles with the range, i was shooting at 245 fps but i couldnt get my balls to go as far as i needed to. So if any one knows what i can do to make the gun shoot farther please let me know.
Conclusion: Other than the range problem i seem to be having it is a verry verry good gun, reliable, quiet, and it aint that ugly like others say.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (13):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media