paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Violent Products Ion Scythe Trigger / Violent Products Ion Scythe Trigger / Violent Products Ion Scythe Trigger / Violent Products Ion Scythe Trigger / Violent Products Ion Scythe Trigger

Violent Products Ion Scythe Trigger Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Violent Products

Buy Violent Products Ion Scythe Trigger

Paintball Ion Triggers and Frames

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Violent Products Ion Scythe Trigger
[ View Photos (10) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 36
Average Rating: 9.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $38

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Violent Products and Techna Trigger have teamed up to bring you one of the best designed ION triggers on the market. The trigger is made of Acetron and incorporates many of the features that are unique to Techna Trigger designs (unique still even after two years of being copied by others). First is the ball bearing pivot. Like the Techna produced triggers, this one also uses dual specialized flanged bearings with extended inner rings. The bearing flanges ensure that no matter how many cycles, or how hard the use, the trigger body will NEVER "walk" off of the bearing to bind on the sides of the grip frame. The extended inner rings work to position the trigger body precisely within the frame so that at no point in its travel is the trigger permitted to rub the frame. Cycle after cycle, use after use, the bearings remain centered in the frame, and the trigger body centered in the bearings. This trigger incorporates a drop in and bolt in place, "digit" pivot pin. This pivot pin will allow you to install and remove the trigger without the fear of damaging the frame or the bearings through hammering. The pin simply pushes through frame and bearings with slight thumb pressure, and is then secured with a small button head screw. There are adjustments for over travel, switch take-up, and magnet tension, making it easy to dial in the trigger feel as well.
Product Availability 
The Violent Products Ion Scythe Trigger is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Alex262 Monday, August 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month17 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
NDZ Roller Blade trigger
Stock Trigger
Marker Setup: Black Foehn Ion
JJ Edge barrel kit
VP scythe trigger
Check It Uni-mount
q lock feedneck
AKA 2-liter reg
Eclipse QEV
68/4500 crossfire tank
Killa magnetic detents
Orange Unicorn bolt
Strengths: Looks (Shape)
Bearing Design
Feel
Weight
Weaknesses: (None performance wise)
dull black look doesnt match my polished black marker.
Review: Just bought the VP scythe trigger and NOTHING compares to this trigger. I can honestly say that this thing is insane! $38 shipped aint too bad especially for the product you get. (If you were to buy a CP trigger online it would cost you $32 plus shipping).

The bearing design is awesome, you dont run the risk of ruining your frame or trigger pin because you don't have to hammer it out anymore. The bearing is connected by two screws at each end. Plus there's no side-to-side movement on this bad boy.

The shape is amazing. Because normally, my middle finger is a tad slower than the index, this trigger helps me rip faster with it's design. I can walk the trigger with no sweat with this trigger.

Although I havent tried the CP for the Ion, I've tried it on other guns and I would chose the VP scythe over the CP any day of the week, and imo the NDZ roller trigger doesn't compare to this trigger. The NDZ uses a screw to hit the switch on the board, and if you don't use loctite on the screw to hold it in place it, it loosens as you play, sometimes to the point where you can't shoot anymore w/o adjusting that screw again.

The only bad part is that because the trigger isnt aluminum it just doesn't flow well with my marker since most of the parts on it are polished black.
Conclusion: Unless you're a cosmetic freak, go with the scythe although it only comes in black, and has that dull, dust look to it, the shape is sick, plus it makes your marker rip. It's insane. Anyway, this trigger is definitely the best trigger out for the ion imo. I recommend it to everyone with an ion.

Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

AsphaltDragon Wednesday, July 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
S-Treme Trigger
New Desingz Roller
Marker Setup: Red Ion, Crossfire HPA, Red Reloader B, VP Scythe, CIP Unimount
Strengths: Shape, bearings, short trigger pull
Weaknesses: Shape ( personal taste )
Review: My friend from the store had a new toy : This trigger was on his Ion for a while, and I was quite impressed.
The color perfectly matches the powder coated grip frame, the shape is original and well designed, and the trigger pull can be made extremely light in a matter of minutes. Plus it looks hella nice.

ELABORATION :

Shape : If you aren't quite used to something to this it might take awhile, but in reality it isn't much different to a regular trigger, you'll just be pulling on a different shape. Another greta feature about design is that the trigger rounds off around the edges, which makes it super comfortable.

Pull : The bearings in this trigger are extremely smooth, and are the right size to eliminate side to side slop. Also, with a few adjustments you can have your Ion touch sensitive. ( Be prepared to clean out barrel condoms. )

EDIT : I was so impressed I bought myself one. Wow. All I can say is this trigger is insane. Before putting it in I pushed the pin thru the bearings and tapped it to watch them move, absolutely flawless pull. The bearings are practically perpetual motion machines. After installing it, without any adjusting what so ever, I began tapping. Oh, how I tapped. I ripped with out much effort, and then ripped some more.
Adjusting it down to my preferences, I had it clicking like a room full of geniuses.
This trigger is glorious. A masterpiece. A perfect ten.
Conclusion: I'm not sure about the price, but from what I've seen this product is gold. I award it my first ten. The shape would be the only weakness, and if you were buying it you'd have to be aware of shape anyway. Personally I think the shape is sick.

EDIT : If Jesus had an Ion, this would be his trigger. For serious.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, November 4th, 2005 at 4:50 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

scarroll825 Thursday, July 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Ion
Lapco Clamping Feedneck
FBM Thorn drop/on-ff ASA
71/4500 Dye Throtle
Halo B
Strengths: Easy to adjust
Light
Looks Good
I like the design
Pin
Weaknesses: Price
Review: I really liked this trigger. The disign makes it easy to walk and it is very light. I was able to use it with no magenet and I had no bounce. It is also very easy to adjust, in about five minutes I was able to got from long, short, w/ magenet, w/o magenets, to find out what best suited me. Also, the included pin makes it so easy to remove with out scratching your frame.
The only weakness what that it was pretty damb expensive for a trigger.
Conclusion: If you have the money get this trigger!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
10 Comments - Add Comment

SunsFan Monday, May 19th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock, ANS roller
Marker Setup: Ion, Blue Body Kit, Scythe Trigger, Psycho Drop Forward, Virtue Board, Virtue Membrane, Virtue EZon, Firebolt, Clippard QEV, Locking Feedneck, Stiffi, Halo v35, DXS 4500
Strengths: Feels great
Easy to walk
Tough
Weaknesses: There is none
Review: Recently bought this off of compulsive paintball for 37.50 and some other stuff so i got free shipping. This trigger is purely amazing. If you were going to only get one upgrade for your gun it would definately have to be this trigger. It just feels great. Its hard to explain unless you have actually tested this trigger but it works so good. It upped my rate of fire by atleast 7-8 shots simply because i was using the wrong trigger anyway.
Conclusion: BUY THIS NOW. if you plan on only getting one upgrade like a lot of people do MAKE THIS THE ONE!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

yougotowned Wednesday, April 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock trigger
crappy cp trigger
Marker Setup: Ion
VP Scythe
CCM No-rise Feedneck
NDZ COcker threaded breech
NDZ Spring Detents
Empire 16" 4pc Barrel kit
SP Firebolt
Strengths: Light
Shape
No side to side play
Weaknesses: Lack of colors
Only available in dust
Review: So I bought a CP trigger, thought I got a crappy messed up one. Ordered another one. No problem, but it was poor quality all around. Sold that thing after seeing 2 days of play with it. Got myself a VP SCythe, best decision I have ever made for a trigger. Price isnt the greatest, but hey, that's what you pay for such a nice trigger. It's better than the price you pay for Technas on timmys and stuff.

PROS:
-Light
-The shape is designed to fit your trigger finger
-Absolutely no side to side play, ever, unlike the CP
-No crappy spacers and pin like the CP, just a simple 2 piece easy-to-install pin.
-Smooth pulls
-Adjustable magnets. 1 magnet, 2 magnets, or just none.
-Little bounce. Which is good, refs these days are looking for the kind of bounce that makes your gun keep shooting after you stop pulling
-Absolutely no trigger stick
-Easy to rip on, no matter how slow you are.
-I love scythe designs!

CONS:
-Lack of colors. Not a big deal, it still looks good on guns. Just get it annoed for real cheap from precisionpb.com or paint it yourself
-Only available in dust. Would be cool if it was polished instead, but nothing performance affecting.
-Price is $42 priority 2-3 day shipped, If I can remember. Nothing bad. Every penny is worth it. Trust me.
Conclusion: I'd suggest anyone looking for an awesome trigger to get it ASAP. It's great, light, fast, smooth. Every person's dream trigger, unless if you hate the scythe design.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

jam*wil Saturday, October 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Ion Trigger
CP Roller
Marker Setup: 2k5 SP Ion
VP Scythe Trigger
Check-it Uni-mount 2
Lapco Clamping Feedneck
ASP QEV
Lucky Stage 1 Bolt
Lucky Stage 2 Fire Chamber

VL Egg II
Crossfire 47/30
Strengths: Bearings, Trigger Pin, Shape, Removable Magnets, Free shipping
Weaknesses: None
Review: The scythe trigger for the ion is simply one of the few products for the ion that are just absolutely amazing.

First off, before I even get to the trigger, the new trigger screw which replaces the stock pin, is an absolute must... It takes the requirement of a center punch and a hammer, and throws them right out the window. This little pin alone, you can buy elsewhere for 9.99 + shipping. So keeping that in mind, purchasing the trigger for 37.50 shipped, and taking into account the value of the 'free' trigger pin it comes with, the trigger is now 27.50... Not too bad for the best trigger on the market.

Now, originally I was one of the doubters of the peculiar shape of this trigger, however after installation, I was absolutely amazed at how well this trigger works ergonomically. It simply feels right, this is due to the extended length of ones middle finger, so it only makes sense to have the middle finger out a little bit more. This trigger shape also compliments and rewards proper hand posture.

The bearings included with this gun virtually eliminate any side to side play while making this trigger one of the smoothest triggers at the field. It comes with magnets as well which you can install if you like a little more resistance down there. Personally I don't like them, and the trigger doesn't bounce without them, so I see no need for them. Anyways, it's good to have them there just in case.
Conclusion: Overall, this is probably one of the best upgrades I've put on my marker. There's nothing else to say, except for... Go Buy It!

I give this trigger my first 10 / 10... It's that good.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

phatrob37 Saturday, December 24th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock trigger(on ion)
e-blade trigger on cocker
bko stock trigger
etc...
Marker Setup: ion:stiffi,cp rail,grind II, lucky internals, new designz feedneck, sythe trigger, dye stickies
Strengths: Shape
Easy to walk
price
Weaknesses: Had to make the pull longer than expected to hit the switch.
Review: Well all in all this is a pretty great trigger.

I use both magnets(because i have strong hands so i need a stiff pull) and it works great. it really does help you walk faster.

And some may say that its expensive, but since its $37.50 shipped it ends up costing less than most other triggers.
Conclusion: Its a great trigger at a fair price and it can help you walk a little faster. Pick yours up today
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Made in China Monday, June 18th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
cp roller
cp rake
stock
new designs wave

Marker Setup: ion
W/ vp trigger
clippard q.e.v.
freak barrel
q-lock
dynasty bodie
orange bolt
killa vibe detents
cp reg
eclipse gauge
hybrid grips
hybrid rail
cp on/off
Strengths: Smooth and fast.
Weaknesses: None.
Review: Comes with a screw instead of a trigger pin so you dont have to hammer on your gun. easy to sweet spot two magnets so you can take one out of leave them in so you get the feel you want. best trigger fr the ion i have felt so far.
Conclusion: Get this trigger no other triggers compair to it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

CaPtAiNGrImM Thursday, January 4th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
CP Roller (buddy of mine has one)
Stock trigger
Marker Setup: Smart Parts ION
Lucky 1 2 3 qev
Shocktech Clamping feedneck
Violent products Scythe trigger
Scenario dreams T-Board
Empire revolver Barrel
Warped Sportz Dark body (yellow gloss 1 of 5 ever made)
Virtue Red Eyes
Shocktech In-Line Reg
Kila Detainents
Strengths: SMOOTH
no slop
dual bearings
shape appeals to me
Weaknesses: None at all, if you think there are weaknesses, u have problems.
Review: This trigger is awseome as hell. It fits in perfect and there is absolutely no slop. Its super easy to walk, and as i said in strengths, it appeals to me becasue of the shape. My fingers arent coorintaed, and the shape of this trigger makes me walk way better than normal. I like this trigger mostly because of the shape, it just looks mean. Its also liter than the roller and stock. Ive even shot myself in the foot on accident because its so smooth and easy LOL.
Conclusion: BUY IT!!! its well worth the 47 bux. You wont be disappointed guaranteed.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bigfoot537 Saturday, December 23rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
havent used any other in a game
Marker Setup: smart parts ion 06
New Custom Painted Blue Trigger Frame
redz pepperstick 2 piece barrel 14"
smart parts protouch grip, smoke
violent products ion sythe trigger
CP ON/OFF Adaptor
CP Perfect rail drop forward
Warrior Bolt SL 2
Clippard QEV
Smart Parts Q lock
New Detents
The new Smart Parts Tube upgrade
Halo B Shell with Odyssey B internals
ANS 68 45k tank with cover

cant think of ne thing else...
Strengths: Bearings
Magnets
Shape
Lightness
Weaknesses: none, I see nothing wrong with it

I guess colors would be good.
Review: You couldnt get a better trigger. Its an amazing trigger that keeps up with me and keeps a rythm. Its a great trigger to match a great gun. The trigger has a great design that honestly before i saw it thought...how am i gunna shoot with that ?!?! I gave it a try and fell in love with it. This is really the best trigger you could ever want. It also helps with being able to adjust it to your liking, and 2 magnets that help do that.
Conclusion: If you want a trigger for the ION this is the trigger you want.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media