paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tag Sportz Predator Cheetah Halo Board / Tag Sportz Predator Cheetah Halo Board / Tag Sportz Predator Cheetah Halo Board / Tag Sportz Predator Cheetah Halo Board

Tag Sportz Predator Cheetah Halo Board Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tag Sportz

Buy Tag Sportz Predator Cheetah Halo Board

Paintball Hopper / Loader Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tag Sportz Predator Cheetah Halo Board
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 10
Average Rating: 7.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $80

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The newest creation from KM2/TAG. This monster control system is a new approach in handling the feeding system you are currently using. Curt designed the Cheetah to monitor the motor and the eyes to keep a steady, super fast, flow of balls heading into your gun.

If the Cheetah senses a jam it will reverse immediately to clear up the ramp and let you continue with your killing spree. Using a new reflective eye logic black and even clear paint cannot sneak past this Predators eyes. No longer will you be limited at what type of paint you use becasue your loader cannot see it.

This board is fully programmable and you will never have to pay for upgrades again. How many times have you had to keep handing out cash to get the newest (working) code for this $150.00 plastic contraption? All upgrades can be handled at our Dalton location or any PSP event. When you use a Predator you are using the fastest and most advanced code in the industry. Now it can sit on top of your gun as well.

Halo Cheetah Features:

1) Eye is digitally sampled with a 10-bit Analog to Digital converter. No more "on/off", the Cheetah can detect the tiniest bump in voltage, allowing it to detect the darkest/clearest paint. This is done automatically and does not require you to fiddle with a potentiometer.
2) Eye can actually SEE THE PAINT MOVE with its ADC and uses that information to refine its feeding levels to match your guns firing pattern exactly. No overdriving. No broken paint.
3) Advanced motor-control circuitry can turn the motor on full speed if your gun shoots that fast, ever hooked your battery up directly to the motor? Yeah we can go that fast. This board can handle roughly 6 times the current draw of a Halo, you'll never burn it out.
4) Precice digital speed control on the motor, from a crawl to 38bps and all speeds in between, the Cheetah watchs your gun, and feeds it as fast as it can fire, but no faster.
5) Precice current sense allows near instantaneous detection of motor slowdown and stall conditions, we won't break your paint.
6) Current sense also allows the Cheetah to keep the spring just barely wound, we keep a little pressure on the ballstack at all times without shooting balls past weak detents.
7) Advanced anti-jam detection and clearing. The Cheetah can reverse the motor at FULL SPEED to unwind the spring and clear a jam in less than a second once detected.
8) No special drive cones, no lubricated belts, its all in the board and hands-free, you just fire.
9) "Chameleon" LED tells you exact loader state, battery level, and status. Board is programmable for those of you who like to tweak.
10) Battery use is optimized, when this board is off its really off, and won't drain your cells when not running. Even when its on, the board 'sleeps' when not feeding to be sure the power is there when you need it.
11) Cute personal message on the board have saved the designers from at least 2 doghouse visits.
Product Availability 
The Tag Sportz Predator Cheetah Halo Board is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
CarvedArt Tuesday, August 23rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months22 of 22 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Egg II with Z & Futaba, Reloader B, Q-Loader
Marker Setup: Cobra G7 - Black Dust w/ Cobra Tat, DEZign Bolt, KO Lady Drop,14" Mamba Stiffi Switch, Halo B ripped w/ Cheetah & Code 242, Guerrilla Air Assault reg on 45/68
Strengths: 38 bps
Current sensing
Anti-jam < 1 Sec
Status LED
Off = Off
Eye Calibration
Weaknesses: LED is definitely fun, however, a bit on the bright side.
Review: The Cheetah's designer has developed this board not to just go faster; faster is easy to accomplish. He has made the board that should have been engineered for the OEM application. This board fixes every known problem associated with the Halo's original design. The eyes were reprogrammed to function much like the Egg's, the Cheetah can detect any color paint from clear to black. There's a built-in auto-calibration sequence for the eyes. It can see the speed at which paint is moving past the eyes and adjusts the motor's speed to match; if you shoot faster it spins faster up to 100% of the motor's rpm, if you shoot slower it spins slower--does not overdrive the paint = no breaks. Once it detects a jam it reverses the motor at 100% to clear the jam and back again in less than a second. It has voltage saving features that really work; I am able to play for about 1-week before I need to recharge the batteries (2-9s, Code 242). It also has voltage protection features just in case you over-volt your board. When you turn your Halo off it is truely off there are no voltage leaks to rob your batteries life while it rests. Additionaly the Cheetah has a chameleon LED that lets you know exactly what it's doing.

LED States:
• Red pulsing LED = Replace battery
• Yellow LED = Low battery
• Green LED = Seeing movement
• Blue LED = Loaded (auto-unjam mode)
• Purple LED = Loaded (manual unjam mode)
• Orange LED = Feed tube empty

Button functions:
• On = Press and hold for 2 secs
• Eye Calibration = Press and hold for 4 secs
• Manual Unjam (electronic rip) = Press
• Change Modes = Press and hold for < 4 secs
• Off = Press and hold for < 6 secs

Flash upgradable with lifetime software upgrades.

The blog is very detailed about the actual creation of the Cheetah, there are some pics and vids as well -- http://northarc.com/~curt/halo/
Conclusion: Only spins as fast as YOU want it to, not as fast as IT wants to! The stock board drives the motor with enough force to shove 22 bps into your marker whether you're shooting 3 bps or 15 bps so if you're not shooting at rates of fire close to 22 it will overdrive the paint and create a blender. The Cheetah has a LOT of thought, sweat, and love built-in! Everything the Halo should be, the Cheetah is all that and more!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

3TaDaHead Thursday, March 30th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Halo board
Victory Board
Marker Setup: Freeflow Shocker
HE Turbocharger Bolt
CP Rail, Reg
Hybrid Bolt Guide
Predator 5.0
Strengths: Extremely Fast
Auto Unjam
Weaknesses: WILL NOT WORK WITH ALL HALO MOTORS
see below
Review: First off let me say this is THE best upgrade you can get for your halo, forget about speedwheels and aluminum cones, These will cause problems, Dont take your chances with the pr mod, After 3 months of playing with this board I have found that it will not work with all halo motors, I purchased a new halo at the time I purchased this board and it would not work due to the halo motor being too weak,Drive cone would not turn,Had to keep turnin the rip knob to get it goin e.t.c. I then did some research and found that every batch of halo motors is different, They are 3 volt motors with different levels of quality control. I then purchased 3 factory replacement motors, and of the three only 2 worked with this board, If your lucky you can drop this board in and be good to go, I would however buy a couple of motors if you buy this board just to be sure. This is a problem with the halo NOT the cheetah, however I do feel that tag should post something on there website relating to this as this has been reported numerous times. Onced you have heard a cheetah runnin in a halo you will know it. In 3 months I have never broken 1 ball in my hopper and if you throw a boost pack in it you can shoot 30+ bps strings on a dime.
Conclusion: If your a performance freak then you need this, I recommend it just for the auto unjam alone, Sees black shelled paint,Nice bright led, I give it a 8 because you may need a different motor.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

adama2z23 Monday, February 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock halo board, victory V35 board, and just about all other electronic or agitated loaders.
Marker Setup: 1: 2004 Gen 1 Freestyle , w/ Dye 18" boomstick, Halo B w/Victory board, Full Predator 5.0 code flashed board, Crossfire 92/4500 HP tank, NDZ Feedneck, CP ASA on/off

2: 05 Freestyle FS-7, 14" Dye Ultralite, NDZ no rise feedneck, NDZ ultralite ASA on/off, Crossfire HP 68/4500, Halo B w/ rip drive and CHEETAH board
Strengths: >Amazing smooth!
>User friendly!
>Simple operation!
>Negates the need for a rip drive!
Weaknesses: >Might actually be ahead of it’s time.
>Definitely not too expensive!
Review: About a year ago I bought the Halo B with Rip drive for $135.00. The marker that I had (2004 Bushmaster B2K4) was actually faster that the hopper. But I had a problem. I was destroying paint. I figured that it was because the gun was faster than the hopper but it had eyes so it shouldn’t out shoot the hopper. Right? So I went and spent $40.00 on the victory board hoping that it would be able to feed fast enough for my gun, but once again I was still slaying paint. By now I had already spent $175.00 on the hopper alone so there couldn’t be anything wrong with it. Batteries were always fresh and motor and eyes in the halo were working fine. So it had to be the gun.

Then I bought the 2004 Freestyle and had the board code flashed to a Predator 5.0 by TAG Sports (The same company that makes the Cheetah board). This gun was and still is sick fast! I mean jaw dropping fast! Once again...... like a wagner power painter.......sprayed paint like my nickname was Krylon. I was chopping at least 1500 rounds out of a 2000 round case. Something was definitely wrong here.

Once again I was in total denial that it might actually be the Halo and I went out and bought an FS-7 Freestyle (Very smart move by the way). The very first night that I played with it I destroyed about three pods of paint in a row. Finally, I dedided to look into other loaders or boards for the Halo that I already had. Thank God that I came across the Cheetah board. I dropped the cash for the board and got it in a few days later and played with it the night that I got it in. Since then I’ve gone through at least 20 cases fo paint and I haven’t chopped a single ball yet (knock on wood)! Nothing else was changed in all of these markers except the stock Halo board to Victory board and finally the Cheetah board. Now all three of the markers are flawless.

Here’s some food for thought....... I spent about $175.00 on the first Halo set up and it worked like garbage. If I had gone without the rip drive (which you don’t need since you have an electronic rip drive with the Cheetah board), I could have gotten a Halo for $105.00 and a Cheetah board fo r$80.00 at a total of $185.00. That means that for just $10.00 more I would have never bought over $2000.00 worth of markers trying to make just one of them work correctly. Hmmmmmmm!

Also I used to break paint in the hopper every once in a while. Reason: When the stock or Victory Halo board sense a jam, it goes into a jam sequence which tries three times to actually force the balls into the gun by increasing the motors torque by 150%. That means essentially that the motor is trying one and a half times harder to jam the balls through the hopper to fee the jam. Ultimately crushing the balls in the tube of the loader. The Cheetah however, (within one second) totally reverses the drive cone and removes the balls that are in the tube and then reloads the tube with fresh balls. This means that there is no added pressure causing balls to break and that the jam is sucked up and out of the Halo tube and replaced by fresh paint.

Another ingenious feature of the cheetah is that it actually reads how fast the balls are moving by the eyes, which is how fast you are firing. Therefore, it is only feeding the paint at the necessary force and torque that is needed to replace the paint in the tube of the loader as it is being fired. Not continuously jamming the paint into the loader at a speed and torque of 35 BPS when you are actually only firing at 13. With the Cheetah, whether you’re firing at 2 or 38 BPS, that’s what the loader will feed at and you don’t need to mess with (or mess up) any settings or modes other than the initial one time calibration when you first install the board. If someone told me that I could never use a Cheetah board again and all I could use was the two other Halo boards that I had, I would probably never play again. Period!!!


LED States:
• Red pulsing LED = Replace battery
• Yellow LED = Low battery
• Green LED = Seeing movement
• Blue LED = Loaded (auto-unjam mode)
• Purple LED = Loaded (manual unjam mode)
• Orange LED = Feed tube empty

Button functions:
• On = Press and hold for 2 secs
• Eye Calibration = Press and hold for 4 secs
• Manual Unjam (electronic rip) = Press
• Change Modes = Press and hold for < 4 secs
• Off = Press and hold for < 6 secs

Flash upgradable with lifetime software upgrades.


Do yourself a favor.......Get one!!!!
If you don’t. Don’t say I didn’t tell you so!


Check out the picture I posted!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Conclusion: Suck it up and drop the extra $20 or $30 dollars on the board instead of a Victory board. For the price of half of a case of paint, you could have the best board for the Halo that money can buy. If you’re still not convinced, just thing of this. If you try to cut corners or price with your gear, you’ll get a product that will only perform to what you paid for it. TAG sports is a company that sells a quality product, not a brand name. Pay for the performance, not the name.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, March 9th, 2006 at 4:37 pm PST
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

Accident Wednesday, June 6th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock, and v35 board. they are crap compared to this.
Marker Setup: Ripper 3 shocktech no.2 drop and asa
04 Viking
Minimag with RT body/rail and cp asa
Ion (too much to list)
04 prostock
Revolver barrel kit
bob long assasin barrel
Pulse
Halo B w/ cheetah and xmod
crossfire peanut LP
Strengths: Automatic de-jam
speed
customer support
user friendly
THE POWER!!!!
Weaknesses: See review.
Review: This is by far the best thing you can do for your Halo. It fixes all of the problems that we halo users have had to cope with. no more batteries dying while the hopper sits in your closet, easy on/off, great eye logic, its VERY fast, and best of all; when your paint jams the hopper will clear the jam and keep going! i love the way this board makes my halo rip people's faces off. buy one.

a word about the de-jam:

this is by far the best feature, it works great. You can cover a lane and your rope won't be interupted at all even if the hopper jams. It clears it that fast. but it gave me a headache for a while. when i first started using this board, i had an Xmod motor in the halo. and even with the V35 board it was fast. so when i put the cheetah in there it was a godly kind of speed. and when it came to the de-jam, it was a slight curse. with the more powerful motor the drive cone would whip back at high speed and popcorn paint all over the hopper, smashing it to pieces. I just needed to turn the board down a tad and i was back in business.
Conclusion: Its the only upgrade a Halo really needs. Buy one, you will not regret it!
even though i am extremely happy with this board, no product is perfect and considering the blender problems i had early on i give this product a solid 9.

I must also take my hat off to Tag's AWESOME customer support! Simply go to the website and they will be happy to help you with anything you need!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

420psykotic Thursday, June 23rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Z-board, Angry Board, Victory V35 board
Marker Setup: -Nasty shocker with crazy ups
-Halo B
-88/4500 HP Crossfire
-Ultralite
Strengths: -Very fast
-Clears all jams
-Reads all paintballs
-Battery Saver
Weaknesses: -Very VERY Expensive
-None other
Review: Speed- 10/10
This board is VERY very fast. We didn't have a precise timing test, but it sure was faster than my halo with the V35 board on the highest setting! 38 BPS is insane-o! Makes the Q-loader almost obsolete!

Price- 7/10
Very expensive, but pretty worth it

Software- 10/10
Reads every color paintball shell, even black and clear! It's just as good as the breakbeam eyes in the eVlution II. Crushes the competition and is WAY better than any Empire software for their reloaders. And as the TAG description says, "Precice digital speed control on the motor, from a crawl to 38bps and all speeds in between, the Cheetah watchs your gun, and feeds it as fast as it can fire, but no faster." I couldn't have put it in better words myself.

Features- 10/10
Anti-jam technology is absolutely amazing! If it senses a jam, it'll spin backwards as fast as possible clearing the catch cup. You will never have a jam again! It also WATCHES the paintballs. It will fed the gun as fast as it fires, no faster or slower. Amazing. The new "Chameleon" LCD totally helps in reading the diff. states that the Halo is in. This is a definate big plus!

Conclusion: Totally reccomend it if cash isn't that big of a problem!!!

Best. Board. Ever.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

deadbrowncow Monday, January 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
p-code, z-code,v35
Marker Setup: PMI 68/45 DM5 red/black dust, blue/black dust, cheetah/v35/zcode boost HALO, tadao M3
Strengths: Excellent anti jam sequence, speedy yet gentile, constant feedback -(display)
Weaknesses: Battery consumption, price
Review: I bought this cheetah board because i play a great deal of reball, and had endless problems with the reballs jamming in the halo when i needed it most. Some days they fed awesome, sometimes not. Anyways i purchased this board after burning up a v35 and a z code as a forced upgrade. the board logic is simply the best on the market to date, and is constantly being updated - a feature of all TAG products.

The flat out performance - speed of the cheetah far exceeds the v35 or stock z code board -coupled with the anti jam sequence you have an unbelievable combination - the only problem is that when the board is going full forward - senses a jam and goes full reverse you tend to eat up batteries very quickly which somewhat negates the performance advantage of the cheetah. So i coupled it with a boost battery and have nothing but great results from there on out.

The constant status of the halo is also nice even though it is a bit bright at times and sometimes distracting.

just looking at the components of this board compared with its competition show the dedication to quality that went into its production.
Conclusion: well worth the considerable sum of money..... the last halo board you will ever need, but keep a spare set of good batteries at all times. Why do you think that you can get away with a 70 dollar hopper on a 1000+ $ marker? Most all guns with capable software can shoot 20bps. Its usually your hopper holding up your continuous lane not your gun.

luke
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SAAwes@aol.com Saturday, December 17th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Empire B board... ??
Marker Setup: ICD Freestyle 7 Gloss Black, Preaditor Board Halo B, Empire Mini Rail, Empire Adjustable N2 68/4.5k, 3 Full Length Stiffis, NOX Board, Redz Feed Neck, AKA 2 Liter Reg, STD Industries LPR, CP Roller Trigger

Phsyco Ballistics Lightning Autococker, Empire Reloader, WGP Stock Reg, WGP Stock On/Off Combo 20oz anti siphon CO2
Strengths: Everything
Weaknesses: None.. Price?
Review: Let me tell you first i've used the shocktech speed wheel, and it does not help with this board, due to the preassure sensing technology... (gear ratio makes calibration hard)
Anyway's.. this board basically improves everything about the old board, you can shoot any colord paint now !! i love that part, and it's fast.. when i mean fast it is fast.. over a drop test it fed 28bps drop the empire B on level 3 did 24, and my halo did 22-21.. this is a nice improvement, but the main reason to get this over a victory, or Angry, is because it is preassure sensitvie, and has anti jam, that's right, basically it opperates like the VLocity's anti jam... (no ball in breech, but paddle senses resistance) it does feed variable speed which is nice, no 38 bps feeding while single shooting anywhere from 2-38 bps..
I highly Recomend getting this because it is the pimpest board to date, it out feeds any current loader, and is very easy to follow the programing (because of multi colord LED's)

Conclusion: Fast Easy on paint, worth the money!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

icycold68 Wednesday, June 29th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Q-loader
Halo B w victory V.35
Reloader B
Eggy w z-board
Marker Setup: '04 cocker w e-2,
slik bolt and lightened back block,
twisted cocking rod,
CP vert reg,
MacDev sonic red valve,
Halo B w cheetah board
and pure energy 4800
Strengths: Very Very fast
Very consistant
Nice anti-jam, happen very vast
Very Fast
Weaknesses: NONE (price if you hafta beg your parents for money)
Review: Well, this board is simply (Very fast) amazing, you wouldnt think that just updating electronics would make such a HUGE improvement over factory. But it DOES, the best thing about this board is (Very fast) how reliable it is to not break paint. I have only shoot 12,000 rounds through it so far, but i (Very fast) have yet to have a jam or a break.
Have i mentioned that its very fast??? (very fast) :-D Best ROF i was able to achieve was 28 BPS, quite abit under the 38 claimed by factory, but this could just me my gun limiting my ROF. But this still is not as fast as my old q-loader..... i was able to hit 33 with that monster ( my gun was a paint blender) but i still got it. And anythign above 15 is just bragging rights anyway.
Conclusion: Great upgrade, fast as hell, wont break paint, but will break your bank. but if your a tourny player and you cant afford to go down in a game due to a hopper break, this will save you the game.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, June 29th, 2005 at 7:47 pm PST
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

zipzapzippo Tuesday, August 29th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
A piece of cardboard
Marker Setup: DM4 UL grip
Strengths: Ooo pretty lights... thats what i paid $80 for right?
Weaknesses: Stock boards do the same thing only with out the lights
Review: I found that this board was slow and would stop working in the middle of game play. I could have just been sold a bad board or somthing but i was not impressed in any way shap or form. Not taking anything away from the guys from cheetah, but i found that other after market boards fit my needs a little better
Conclusion: Your paying more for less
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

Cammaw17 Tuesday, August 29th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 23 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Halo Stock Boards - Better
Marker Setup: DM6
Strengths: This board has a good shade of red LED.
Weaknesses: Lots of jams, Bad battery Life, lots of faulty boards...
Review: LED States:
Red - Your hopper isnt working.
Yellow - Your halo doesnt feel like feeding today.
Green - The Hopper will work for the first Fifteen minutes of the game.
Blue - Go back and buy more batteries.
Purple - You might as well hand feed your paint.
Orange - The better hope you have a rip drive light.
Conclusion: I would recommend one of the other aftermarket boards, you will definatly have less problems, more reliability, and you woulnt be relying on your rip drive during every game.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media