paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Zap Cryptic Paintballs / Zap Cryptic Paintballs / Zap Cryptic Paintballs

Zap Cryptic Paintballs Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Zap

Buy Zap Cryptic Paintballs

Paintball Paintballs

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Zap Cryptic Paintballs
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 30
Average Rating: 7.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
No Description Available
Product Availability 
The Zap Cryptic Paintballs are older, so they are not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
pbNation=pwnage Sunday, July 30th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
hellfire-better but cost alot more
Heat- crap compared to this
ramp- crap compared to this
Marker Setup: Angel One
Vlocity
45
Recommended
Barrels:
I used a stiffi and it was perfect
my bro used it with his stock ion barrel and it was shooting darts
Strengths: Not deformed at all
Accurate
Cheap
Always breaks
Weaknesses: None perfect paint
Review: I bought this paint from my local shop a couple times now. I used it for team practice at the local field.
This is just overal great paint because there is nothing worng with it. I have never seen it bounce off anybody. This and hellfire paint is the only paint i buy now. just perfect paint.
Conclusion: Buy it. you wont regret it. i have used this paint for about 3 months now and i havent had 1 complaint
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kentdavid Saturday, July 18th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
tournament grade down to monster balls
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
Cyclone hopper
Expansion Chamber
Double trigger
Remote hose
Barrels: All American, Stone Cold, Progressive, VL Carbon Fiber

#2
Worr Machine (stock)
Recommended
Barrels:
stone cold was awsome
Strengths: Fill
Shell
Consistency
Accuracy
Weaknesses: Very few if any
Review: Tried these balls because they were on sale at Dunhams for $30. One of the best things i ever did. These balls are amazing. For woodsball i will not use any other ball as long as these are available. Fill is excellent, not tournament grade but you are not going to wipe it either. Shell is very good. No dimples or out of shape ones. The dark green/ light green shell is great. i can track it but hard to see coming at you. Ran it through my stone cold barrel and was hitting people that gave very little target. Awsome accuracy. If there are any weaknesses I have pinpointed them yet.
Conclusion: These are great rec/woods balls. For $40 a case regular price i haven't found any better. Hopefully i can keep finding them cause they work. These are not tournament grade paint so i can not give them a perfect score, but close.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Fiend1385 Friday, June 24th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
stinger, rampage...other crappy paint
Marker Setup: Black Ion with Pure Energy 68/45, Eggy (like Jake hehehe), Cp barrel, Contract Killer Grips
Recommended
Barrels:
.689 cause thats all i used it with
Strengths: CHEAP, no breaks in gun, ITS WHITE!!!
Weaknesses: One of mine was egg shaped and jammed my gun nice and good.
Review: Ok this paint is like 40$ a case which is a very good price for this paint. Its better than stinger. it only jammed my gun once and that only took a few minutes to fix. Also the fill is super thick. its is awful hard to get this crap off. also i think it kinda smells lemony.
Conclusion: very good paint for the price. go and buy it...NOW!!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

notinthenutts! Sunday, June 25th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Crush. Ramp, premiums.. etc
Marker Setup: Wrath LTD
all american barrel
halo b
68/4500
Recommended
Barrels:
a trash can.
Strengths: None, its garbage
Weaknesses: Oh god.. just read..
Review: Well i had my first experience with this junk today at a tournament.. i wanted to buy some chronic but insted.. decided to "try" this stuff for the first few matches..

ok.. for starters.. in the boxes the paint was literally stuck in BRICKS.. all the paint was stuck together..

my case was this was as was about 7 others i looked at in the setup area..

i filled my hopper and 4 pods with this sludge and set out..

it flies pretty bad.. probably monster balls is the only thing worse..

from around 50 feet it was a about a half and half ration of bounce vs break when shooting.. a solid piece of wood..

then on the 2nd game i grab my first pod and half the paint pours out.. the rest.. is stuck.. so i rap the pod a bit and it comes out in a big chunk.. like how it was in the case..

it didnt chop or barrel break any but it flew horrible and stuck together VERY bad.. maybe it was the humidity (NIGHT TOURNEY).. i dunno also i .. after being out of the sealed bags.. it could sit for about 4 hours before getting spongy soft.. have no idea why, never seen any paint do that before..

3/10.. only getting that much because it didnt chop any... im being generous..
Conclusion: Run in the other direction!
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

ALLGROWNUP Friday, February 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Zap Spank, Draxxus Blaze, PMI Premiums, Diablo Heat, Diablo Nightmare, X-ball Bronze
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98C, Palmer Reg, Anti-Siphoned Co2, 14" .689 CP one piece
Recommended
Barrels:
Very large bore
Strengths: Price, fill is acceptable
Weaknesses: Too large even for a friends .693 Tear Drop
Review: I have used Spank and like it ok. The Cryptic is supposed to be better and we found some locally for $35 a case so we tried it. They were mostly round, more so than Spank but not as round as Blaze. We busted one and the fill was better than Spank and not as Good as Blaze.

The problem was we kept busting them in the barrels. Everyone who tried them had problems with them. The only one that could do the blow through test was a friend with a .693 Teardrop and he even had 1 out of every 10 or so bust on him. We were all chronoed at 280 fps, and it was 55 degrees out.
Conclusion: I'm not sure if we just got a bad batch but they were Way to large and too brittle. Maybe they will be better for someone else. I have used Brass Eagle that preformed better. I hate to do this, but I'm goint go give them a 3. Remember a 5 is supposed to be average, and they performed below average.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Ratpaker Friday, June 24th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
almost all other brands of paintballs
Marker Setup: Karnivor with evolution and 68/3000 apoc tank
Recommended
Barrels:
any quality barrel
Strengths: Accurate, bright, dont break in the gun.
Weaknesses: Not as accurate as chronic (all time favorite!)
Review: Tried this at our local paintball club...was impressed for the price, not the best paint Ive ever used but pretty damm good all the same!
It is nice and bright so its easy to see and single sided eyes easily see it, fill is bright too and not easy to wipe off.
Used a kaner barrel with .689 back, was a good fit and got reasonable efficiency...so I guess they were well matched.
Much better than some other brands at the same price!
Conclusion: Good training/rec paint, would use in a tournament if I had to...deffinately would buy again!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

brianzbl Friday, April 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Diablo Heat
Draxxus
Wild Streaks :(
Marker Setup: Black Smart Parts ION
Q Lock Feedneck
Smart Parts QEV Kit
Crossfire 68/45
Halo B w/rip
Recommended
Barrels:
any
Strengths: No mis shapen balls
White fill
Never Broke in my barrel
Weaknesses: None Yet
Review: I got this paint for $35 because I had no money at the time and all I can say is I wasnt let down. This paint never broke in in my gun or barrel and there was no mis-shapen ones in the box. The fil was hard to wipe off too.
Conclusion: Overall this paint is really cheap and strong for the price. I would recommend these to any rec baller who wants good cheap paint. It wont let you down.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbagent Tuesday, April 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Draxxus Blaze, PMI premium, whatever field paint is around etc
Marker Setup: Diablo Wrath, Diablo Delrin bolt & pin, Evil Driver, Endo Cradle, Smart Parts on/off, dyed blue grips
Recommended
Barrels:
Smaller bore
Strengths: Cheap
Weaknesses: Not really round, small
Review: I play mostly woodsball, and a nearby field that I am going to check out is BYOP for woodsball, but only white fill is allowed. I picked up a case of Cryptic white/white for about $33, so the price was right... but I had never used any Zap paint before.

Before I went out to play, I decided to test out the Cryptic in my back yard. I tried it with my Evil Driver barrel first, and then, just for kicks, the stock Wrath barrel too. (FYI, the stock Wrath barrel is not that bad... I just hadn't used it in a while.) With all of the other paint I've used, the Evil Driver has been more accurate than the stock barrel... but not with the Cryptic!

I checked a little closer and discovered that the Cryptic runs a little small. I set the Cryptic side-by-side w/some other paint and it was very noticible. Since the Evil Driver has a slightly bigger bore than the stock Wrath barrel, that explained why my stock barrel was more accurate.

As soon as I started playing with the Cryptic, I noticed that the pb's were not as accurate as I would have hoped at long distances. I was getting some funny curves and hooks, even though I didn't have any breaks in my barrel or gun.

After further inspection, I discovered that <all> of the Cryptic pb's had the same flaw - along the entire seam where the 2 halves of the case are sealed, the pb's were actually flat. So these paintballs were not round, they were shaped like cylinders. You can roll them along the seam edge as if they were a tire. They'll just keep rolling along that flat seam.

To make matters worse, on many of the pb's, the seam was actually pinched in. It looked like the pb's had tight little belts on. (So maybe they look more like yo-yo's than a cylinder!)

None of the pb's were dimpled... but the pb's were all pretty much identical, so whatever production process caused them to turn into cylinders was at least consistent.

I had zero barrel breaks or chops in about 800 shots.

This last part isn't really specific to the Cryptic pb's, but might be a good tip anyway. I'd never played with a white shell before. Its highly visible in the woodsball environment, and I really did like that. If you get a chance to play at a BYOP field, try shooting some paint with a white shell. It makes it easy to track them and walk it in if you need to.
Conclusion: I doubt I'll buy these again, unless I can open the case at the store and see lots of round ones. I've always had great luck with Draxxus, so I'll probably just buy that next time.

The price is not bad, and like I said, the manufacturing was pretty consistent... just not round!

Quality = 4/10 (at least they were not all different shapes and sizes)
Price = 8/10
And since it didn't break inside my gun or barrel, I'll give it a 6/10 (slightly above average) and recommend it as a buy on the condition that you open the case first =)
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

pmfman Wednesday, March 22nd, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
rocks
Marker Setup: Tippman A-5 (main gun)
Response Trigger
DOP Rear Velocity Adjuster
DOP bolt
Double Blade trigger
Maddman spring
Strengths: Cheap
Weaknesses: 25+% Of the balls are not useable
Review: I got a case of these last summer and they were without a doubt the worse balls i have ever used. in the case of 2000 i must have found atleast 300 that were unusable, and im not talking breakage from impropper shipping, they were egg shaped and pitted. and not only that, if you do so little as sneeze on a ball it will crack
Conclusion: Dont ever buy this paint, ever!
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, March 22nd, 2006 at 9:34 am PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

ultima8806 Saturday, January 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Super Swirl
JT Woodland
Scorch
Wild Streak :(
Marker Setup: Stock Tippmann 98 Custom
Recommended
Barrels:
Stock barrels only!
Strengths: Shoots ok in larger bored barrels.
Weaknesses: Broke way to easy!
Review: Okay, so my friend and I decide that we will shoot this for awhile. As you can see above, I shoot everything stock. So when the first shot chopped out of my barrel, I simply thought, "Argh, stupid stock barrel!" (I want a better barrel) Well I cleaned my barrel until it was shining and tried again. Unfortunately, it chopped a second time. When my friend shot it through his Tippmann A-5 with his Dye barrel, the balls stopped halfway through and burst. We gave the paint to his girlfriend and it chopped through her Tippmann Custom Pro with a Dye Boomstick. We then bought Super Swirl from a local Walmart, and it shot almost perfect.
Conclusion: All I've ever heard of this paint is that it is good. My conclusion is that MAYBE we got a bad batch. From my experience, I have to give it a 5.
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 7th, 2006 at 6:41 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media