paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder Pilot ACS '05 / Kingman Spyder Pilot ACS '05 / Kingman Spyder Pilot ACS '05 / Kingman Spyder Pilot ACS '05

Kingman Spyder Pilot ACS '05 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder Pilot ACS '05

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder Pilot ACS '05
[ View Photos (131) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 474
Average Rating: 8.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $250

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The revolutionary Anti-Chop System (ACS) is the world's first true anti-chop bolt. Simple and affordable, the ACS bolt delivers the same results as expensive markers with eyes. This last statement is complete bullshit i have one and its chopped at least 20 times in only 3 wars. So dont believe this crap that there telling you!! The ACS precision spring tension recognizes obstructions before crushing balls and jamming the marker, so the action never stops. Yea thats also false.

Features:
Second-generation CAMD (Color Access Display Mode)
Sensi-tough straight trigger with multi-adjustment points for enhanced rapid firing
ACS venturi bolt
Reactive response trigger, capable of up to 20 shots per second
Sleek, custom designed receiver
Special ACS edition body engraving
Tournament lock switch
12" aluminum stock barrel
Anti-double feed
Expansion chamber with foregrip
Tournament velocity adjuster
Vertical ball feed
New style drop forward
New two-finger trigger with regulation trigger guard
Adjustable trigger pull
Low pressure chamber
Bottomline with stainless steel hose
Top-cocking bolt
External recharge port
Quick disconnect pin
Adjustable rate of fire
Battery power indicator
Operates on CO2 or compressed air
Includes JAVA 9.6-volt rechargeable battery, indoor battery charger and spare parts
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder Pilot ACS '05 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (48):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
nbishop66 Wednesday, July 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year128 of 142 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tipman 98 custom (Rental)
Line SI Bushmaster Deluxe 14" (old school Pump)
Ion - up'd - My gun of Choice
Pilot ACS - My Backup - Sold
Marker Setup: Spyder Pilot ACS
J&J Ceramic Polished by me 14"
Viewloader Evo II (Egg)
CheckIt Assault Block - Modified
Shocktech Trigger
32* Magnaport Valve
32* Spring Kit
WGP Ergo Regulator
Dark Horizons Titanium Striker
Psycho Balistics Drop Forward w/ on/off
Pure Energy 68/3000 Fiber Wrap
JT Tank Cover
Dye Sticky Grip
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Grips
Electronic Hopper
HPA if you have the coin
Strengths: Price $154 online, $138 Walmart
No chopping - ever
Trigger adjustments
Fast ROF
Weaknesses: Grip
Stuff comes loose, stuff breaks off and the cocking knob tends to fly out
Review: This is my first Semi auto gun. After a brief hiatus of approx. 11 years from paintball, my son is finally old enough to play, so we both went out and bought this gun. I previously played for about 8 years, but strictly pump guns. I was amazed how much technology is in this gun for this price. Most of it you will never use, but it is nice to have.

Overall the mechanics and fit/finish of this gun is excellent. It's very easy to strip down and clean at the end of the day, which is a bonus since I'm cleaning 2. The trigger response is great, I can pop off about 12-14 rps and I'm an old fart. The ACS works great, I haven't had one ball break, except for a couple of Brass Eagles, but they break just looking at them, they don't count. The stock barrel is O.K., but I would recommend replacing it with a J&J Ceramic or Smart Parts Teardrop for around $40. I have the Teardrop, my son has the Ceramic. The Ceramic shoots better, but the teardrop looks better.

The display in the grip and it's features are very easy to use, and a big improvement over past/cheaper Spyders that had just a couple of LEDs. THE GRIP.... Not the best on planet, cheap plastic and ill fitting. Like others my electronics have been gooped up by a well placed shot. I added a Dye Sticky.

The screws do come loose, but I replace the star washers with lock washer and it pretty much solved the problem. The top part of the back plate that covers the striker and the bolt breaks off. I've seen quite a few people on Kingman's forum complaining about this as well. After I sold the gun to one of my son's friends he lost the cocking knob one day in the field. And yes surprisingly enough quite a few people have had theirs fly off as well.

10/5/05
I have also made quite a few mods to the gun since I wrote this and thought they would be worth listing. I have converted this thing to a relatively low pressure marker. I'm running at about 350 psi with the mods I've made. The biggest improvements have been shot consistency, Rate of Fire, lack of recoil and lack of noise. My mods are listed in marker setup, but for a more detailed look check out my web site, which still needs some more content, but the MY PILOT section has some good info.
http://spyderpaintball.hopto.org

6/5/06
Well as much as I have praised this gun in my review, I just went out and bought 2 ions. With all the mods I had made, I kept having problems. I'm probably going to keep mine as a backup, and sell the up'd parts, but my son is selling his. After Playing with both, I can't deny that the ion is a superior gun. I paid $199, and believe me it's worth the extra money. Don't get me wrong the Pilot is still a great gun, but don't waste money trying to make it run at low pressure. Just buy a LP gun like an ION. I've spent at least $150 trying to mod the internals in the Pilot. I wish I had all that money back and just left it alone.

Conclusion: This is a great gun for any recreational player. Fast shooting, very reliable and inexpensive. Never chops, I haven't had to swab my barrel once. I play both woods and speed ball and enjoy using the gun for both. Did I mention you can buy it at Walmart for $138!!!!!, but I paid $199 from a local BP shop in the spring of 2005. Don't spend a lot of money modding this gun. Just get a barrel, grips and a hopper.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, February 1st, 2007 at 6:21 am PST
I found this review  
80 Comments - Add Comment

cg515 Saturday, October 22nd, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months92 of 100 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Esprit
Marker Setup: 2004 Spyder Xtra
Empire Reloader hopper
2005 Spyder Piolet ACS
Empire Reloader hopper
16" CMI True Flight Quiet Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
You definatley need a faster hopper, but a better barrel is entirely up to you.
Strengths: See Review, too many to list!
Never Chops.
Fast.
Affordable
Easy to operate
Weaknesses: Full auto runs through CO2 a little faster.
Review: KEY STRENGTHS
Does Not Chop Balls.
Fast - 13bps in full auto or 20 bps in semi auto
Affordable.
Intimidating looks.
Easy to strip down and put back together.
Great Trigger.
Comfortable, feels good in your hands.
Easy to operate.
Several different firing modes to fit any style of player, novice through expert.

I've been playing with this gun long enough that I think I have a pretty good feel for it and I know it inside out, so in the interest of keeping this from being lengthy and tedious to read, but still being able to get all of the info down, I will break it up into sections.

ANTI CHOP SYSTEM
I have never, and I repeat NEVER, chopped a ball in this gun. I have played every weekend for the last three months and have literally gone through tens of thousands of paintballs, and I have not chopped one ball.
When at high rates of fire with a stock gravity fed hopper, sometimes it will pop with no ball in the chamber because you aren't feeding it fast enough. This is why you need an electric hopper. People sit and complain that this gun will dry fire every third or fourth round, and it's true, if you don't feed it.
If by chance you do catch a ball half way out of the feed neck, (where balls usually chop) the ACS bolt will collapse and when it re-cocks, the ball will fall back down and be fired the next shot.

ADJUSTABLE STRAIGHT TRIGGER
On this gun, you can adjust how long the pull of the trigger is, and how sensitive you want the gun to be. This trigger is much like the one on the Imagine. I have mine set down so sensitive I don't really pull the trigger as much as I twitch. I can just twitch so slightly and so quickly, I can fire a little bit faster than 13bps. I wouldn't say I can do 20bps, but maybe I just need more practice.
One of the reasons I bought this gun over the '05 Electra ACS was the trigger. I have never fired a rocking trigger before and I would imagine it feels weird, so I decided to stick to what I'm good at and go with a straight trigger.

BARREL
For the most part this barrel was fairly accurate, but no better than any other barrel Spyder has out. It's very good for close-quarters and woods-balling. I personally decided to step it up a notch with a 16" CMI Tru-flight, but I recommend reading my review on that before making your own decision.
This barrel is as good as any other Spyder 12". Don't believe these people who tell you that you are better off throwing the paintballs by hand. But it's not super accurate like the ads from kingman would make you believe.

VARIOUS RATES OF FIRE AND SETTINGS
In the handle you can choose to fire Semi-Auto, 3-Shot Burst, 6-Shot Burst, and Full-Auto. You can also tune the rate of fire from 6bps, 7bps, 8bps, 9bps, 10bps, 11bps, 12bps, and 13bps. This is a nice feature because it gives you more control than the older e-markers that only let you choose between high rate of fire and low rate of fire. This is also helpful because you can adjust your gun to match your hopper. If you have a cheap hopper that only fees 8-9bps, you set the gun at 8 or 9bps. If you have a little better hopper, say 10-12bps, you can set the gun to 10, 11, or 12bps.
It's easy to operate with only one button to push, and the C.A.M.D. ( Color Access Mode Display) lights up actual words and numbers so it's easy to quickly tell which your mode and Rate of fire, without needing to decipher random combinations of blinking lights.

PERSONAL FEELINGS TOWARD THIS GUN
I can go out and compete with any auto cocker out on the field. (respectively) I was talking to a friend of mine who owns an Indian Creek Bushmaster and he was talking about how the adjustable trigger was so great and was surprised to hear my Spyder had one just as good. In my opinion this gun is competition grade. I no longer walk onto the field nervous about who has a better gun than me, and I don't feel embarrassed when some one asks me what I'm shooting the way I did when I first started out with a Brass Eagle Avenger.
This is a nice gun and I highly recommend it. I know skeptics who dislike the Kingman company, and I let them shoot my gun for a round and they agreed, This is a nice gun.
Conclusion: I highly recommend this gun. Whether you are just staring out or you are looking to step up your game, You can't go wrong with the Spyder Piolet ACS.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
31 Comments - Add Comment

nfamouswun Tuesday, December 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months64 of 66 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98
Smart Parts Ion
Marker Setup: Spyder Pilot ACS 05
Smarts Parts Progressive barrel
Dye Sticky Grips
VL Revy Hopper with Xboard
Hybrid clamp feed neck.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel (If you dont mind spending)
Grips (Almost a must need)
Feedneck (Stock one makes your hopper stick up very high and breaks see below)
Strengths: ACS is ALMOST as good as eyes.
Cheap
See Review
Weaknesses: See review
Review: Alot of people tend to compare the Pilot to the Ion for some reason, so i'll try to do some side by side comparisons.

Strengths:
-- the bolt:
i know some people arent down with derelin, but i like it. easy to maintain. the ACS is also great. i've put alot of rounds through it (4000+) at decent speeds (10-18bps) and it didnt chop once. i've read on some forums that you need to break in the spring on the bolt, but i didnt, and had no problems with it at all. to me, it performs like eyes, and for the price of the gun, its definately a plus. Ion has eyes and i havent chopped on an Ion yet either.

-- the trigger:
personally i love the trigger on this gun. i love blade triggers. i also love how you can adjust the trigger. you can adjust how much farther its pressed in after firing and you can also adjust how much pull there is before firing. on semi auto i can walk the trigger faster than i can on my brothers ion. it just feels better. but that can be corrected on the ion with aftermarket triggers.

Weaknesses:
-- Ok. Maybe its just my gun... but at times, the solenoid/coil will just not want to fire. It happens once in a blue moon and some poking/tapping on the handle corrects it for another couple weeks. I think as i was trying to shove the battery in there with the crappy stock grips i might of loosened a wire. I havent seen anyone else mention this so its probably my fault.

-- The Grips:
ok.. the stock grips are horrible. after i installed the battery, it would pop out (it wouldnt be flush against the frame). Tightening the screws would lift the corner of the grip up and expose the internals. the grips are just a nightmare. very flimsy. after holding my brothers ion and renting ions, i was a bit dissapointed at first, but after throwing some dye stickies on there it felt like a new gun. it feels very nice with the stickies and i cant imagine the gun without them anymore. Its also is flush against the frame so the internals are protected. Dye Stickies or similar product is a must in my opinion. Grips on the Ion are nice out of the box.

-- The hose/fittings:
might be another "just my gun" but, i'll mention it anyway. out of the box i knew i'd be leaking. it just didnt feel right. i went to the field to chrono and test for leaks, low and behold it was leaking. i wasnt surprised. tightening one end loosened the other. it was pretty much a pain at first. after traveling with it to canada it leaked when i filled up. i came prepared with wrenches and tightened it up. its been ok since then. but as soon as i get the chance im switching the hose/bottom line/ expansion chamber out. i just dont feel comfortable with it anymore. plus i like how the ion has the connection to its regulator on the bottom so its not in the way on the grip. but thats personal preference i guess.

---------------------------------
Other Notes
---------------------------------
I notice i wrote more weaknesses than strengths, and not that many of either. But that doesnt mean the gun isnt good. The gun is about $159, how great can it possibly be? its not gonna perform like an angel or timmy. (but it can with some mods. dont know ruling about links but if u want to use a spyder and have some funds look up spy-madator or sypder timmy conversion on google)

If your thinking about an Ion, keep this in mind.

Spyder: $159 Ion: $289
Dye Stickies: $25
Decent Barrel: $30
------------------------------------------------------------
---
$214 $289

im definately not saying that stickies and a barrel turn the pilot into an ion, but with some upgrades, its still cheaper, and it performs really good.

i've used Ions as rentals, and used my brothers Ion. If i wasnt on a low budget at the time, then hell, i'd probably writing an Ion review right now. But the pilot is not that expensive, and is a good gun, and i dont regret buying it.

here is a list of just some preference things and things worth mentioning:

-- the looks:
i dig the looks. i have the black/blue pilot. when we took my cousin to play paintball, he thought my gun was more expensive that my brothers (ion). but as we all know thats not the case =P. but honestly, i'd rather have an ion with a strange body kit (drools) but i think that kit is almost the same price as an Ion itself. =(

-- drop forward:
im not to big a fan of the drop forward. im probably going to change it out when i get a chance and change to a regulator and get rid of the current hose setup. i like to have the tank up against my shoulder. with the current drop forward, when its propped up against my shoulder the gun sits a little too high. i like the ion setup where its right under the handle. when its like that, the gun sits perfectly in front of me. again, might be due to my build/height and is also just a preference thing.

-- firing modes:
the gun has 4 firing modes. semi auto, 3 shot burst, 6 short bust, and adjustable full auto. in full auto you can have it set to 6-13 bps. it also has a tournament lock (jumper on the pins on the board). i pulled the jumper and have it set on tournament setting. most fields i go to enforce a 1 pull 1 shot ruling (no ramping) so i could really care less about the other modes.

-- maintenance
easy to maintain. just remove the quick strip pin and u have access to the bolt and other goodies. easier than the ion where you have to remove the outer body. on another note, the ion body helps prevent getting guck into internals.

-- air system
you can use Co2 or HPA/N2 with the Pilot. The Ion only takes HPA/N2. If your field doesnt supply HPA/N2 then your knee deep in you know what. also, Co2 is cheaper than HPA/N2. So if your on that tight budget, being able to use Co2 is a plus. I remember my face when the guy at the store told me the price of the HPA tank. i ended up with a $75ish 3000psi Crossfire hpa tank. the field i go to most only supplies HPA fills. You can get 18-20oz Co2 tanks for $20-$30ish.

-- barrel
for a stock barrel its pretty good. better than other stock barrels out there. but its not as good as i was hoping, so i got a smart parts progressive barrel

-- stock feed neck
when tightening the feedneck, the plastic that holds the nut in place start stripping. i hated it anyway because it made the hopper sit so high, so i bought a universal Hybrid clamp feed neck. i love it.

ok.. im tired... i felt like this is a long review but i feel that it doesnt have that much stuff in it. sorry about that.

again, overall, i do not regret purchasing this gun. for its price, acs, and comparison to other low-end gun, im going to give it a 9.6 rounded up to 10

Conclusion: The price is a huge plus. If your on a tight budget then this is probably one of your best bets.
The ACS (anti chop system) Bolt is also another huge plus. I remember renting tippmans and chopping balls like crazy. This was a deciding factor for me when i purchased this gun.

So if your worrying about chopping, and are on a tight budget, this is probably the gun for you.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, December 27th, 2005 at 9:41 pm PST
I found this review  
11 Comments - Add Comment

guinnessboy77 Tuesday, July 26th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month58 of 65 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Victor II (no comparison)
Tippman 98
Marker Setup: All stock for now, with a Ricochet Rhino Hopper . . . . running on CO2, haven't had a chance with the HP yet.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Grips
Barrel
Super Fast Hopper
Remote (if you don't like to carry a heavy gun)
Strengths: Doesn't chop. . . no matter what, it won't chop
Very Fast
Good price
CAMD
Weaknesses: Heavy
A bit loud
Grips are horrible
Loose fittings (see below)
Review: This gun is great. My last gun was a highly upgraded Victor II, and with all of the upgrades, it doesn't even come close to this gun. I paid about $160 for it and I've seen it on some websites well over $200. This gun is definitely worth $160 and I'd even consider paying $250 for this.

I used it for the first time in a large woodsball game. I ran it off a 20oz CO2 and played for 5 hours. I didn't have to refill my CO2 once. I used over a case of paint, so I'm assuming that the gun is quite efficient in that realm.

I did not chop one ball. Not one flippin' ball. I was using Menace paint. I know I wasn't hitting the 20bps mark that is advertised (I just can't get my fingers moving that quick. . . never really had to with that Victor II, though), but I was at the very least over 14bps because I was out shooting my hopper; a Rhino Ricochet Hopper, goes about 8bps. At times, I'd even forget to turn the hopper on, so the gun was being feed via gravity, and not one chop. It's amazing technology and it comes with the Derlin Bolt, so no O-ring oiling, and no scratching!!! I'm not sure how someone can chop a ball with ACS. I highly recommend the ACS to anyone that has problems with chopping or wants the piece of mind knowing they will not chop. T

he trigger has a nice feel to it and it's adjustable in two different places, which is a good feature too. Not much to say about that . . .

The accuracy of the gun was par for the course. I notice some trailing off but I believe that had a lot to do with the CO2 spiking the velocity, as it was extremely hot out that day and where I was playing, they were not filling Nitro. I've read some reviews where they said the stock barrel was garbage . . . . .. I'd say that's a bit extreme. It's decent, but I think there's way too much porting which makes it loud and takes away from it's overall velocity, which then reduces the distance the ball can travel. And, when your playing with a bunch of guys with Tippmans, flatlines and response triggers, who are pelting your tree/bunker with about 500 paintballs from 100ft away, and they're just as accurate as if they were standing 50ft away, velocity and overall distance is a huge issue with me. I'm not sure how else to fix this other then getting a new barrell that could add a few feet. I knew I was entering that game at a huge disadvantage, but if your tactful enough, you'll be fine.

I like the CAMD . .. I had no problems seeing in the sunlight or in the shadows, so I'm not sure why people are saying that's an issue. My favorite feature is the extra safety setting on the CAMD. Not only do you need to turn on the gun via the on/off switch, you also need to turn the electric safety off as well. I like that. I'm not sure if that's been around for a bit, but it wasn't on my IPI 3.0 I bought for my Victor II. I really didn't mess around with the 3-6-Auto modes because I can get a better BPS using the semi and going finger crazy on that trigger.

The grips on the gun are garbage. I will agree with everyone on that. Not only are they extremely uncomfortable, when you screw them in, they don't shut the internal electronics off completely to dirt, water, paint, or whatever else decides to get in there. And I think that has a lot to do with the Java Battery. It just doesn't fit right in there. So, if you get hit with a nicely placed gun shot or slide into some mud, you're going to get those electronics all gooped up. Definitely a mandatory upgrade. A lot of my friends are saying Dye Stickies are the only way to go.

I did have a large problem with the gun the first day I bought and went out to my friends farm to mess around with it . . . .. I slipped on some mud and I fell, and the arm I was holding my gun with hit the ground pretty hard and the gun started to leak, rather quickly from the elbow in the expansion chamber. I was out in the middle of nowhere and did not have a wrench with me, so I advise everyone to tighten those hoses before you go out to play.

Other then that, it appears the expansion chamber works fine, the drop forward is nice and gives the gun a nice compacted look. It's a bit heavy with a 20oz tank on it, but that can be fixed with a remote.
Conclusion: All in all, with a few minor upgrades, this gun kicks. Great price for a good boost in BPS and technology. The ACS is fantastic. I highly recommend this gun to anyone . . . newbie or the seasoned veteran. I'll upgrade this review once I play speedball.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

glooey Saturday, June 25th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month46 of 61 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
spyder fenix, tippmann a5, tippmann 98 custom
Marker Setup: spyder pilot acs, VL evo2
Recommended
Upgrades:
fast hopper, nitro, new barrel, new feedneck, and dye stickies
Strengths: Fast, dosent chop, good trigger, just an all around good gun.
Weaknesses: Feed neck leaves hopper up very high, stock barrel, the grips are flimsy, front block
Review: This gun is awesome very fast, it has a very solid feeling andi have always liked blade triggers and this is a nice stock trigger and a pretty good stock barrel. the feed neck sucks, with the stock feedneck your hopper sits so high. The price for this gun amazing for its level of performance this gun shoots much faster than the non acs guns and you dont have to worry about chopping any paint even when I used crappy paint it never chopped in the bolt. and the front block only fits special spider chambers and regs so you need a new one for new stuff

Conclusion: This gun is sweet if you want a fast cheap good gun that wont chop go buy this now!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 25th, 2005 at 6:19 pm PST
I found this review  
59 Comments - Add Comment

OTEdge Sunday, July 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year30 of 31 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder-
Xtra,Imagine,Pilot,Fenix,Electra (About The Same)
Autocockers (Better)
Matrix's (Way Better)
Marker Setup: 05 Prostock
Planet Eclipse E2
CP On/Off
AIM Clamping Feedneck
SS Freak Back
AA Front
Crossfire HP
Ricochet AK

Spyder Pilot ACS 05
Trinity Clamping Feedneck
Smart Parts Progressive Barrel
View Loader 200 Gravity Feed
C02
Recommended
Upgrades:
Electro Hopper
New Barrel
HPA
Feedneck
Strengths: Speed
Accuracy
ACS
Reliability
Cleaning
Weaknesses: Grips
Weight
Barrel
Feedneck
Kick
Review: +Accuracy+
This is a Spyder...Now you cant expect the performance of a $1000 dollar gun but this marker shows to have significantly good accuracy when taken single shots, but when rapidly firing the gun the accuracy will die down a bit as any gun would at high rates of fire. Great performance shown in accuracy.

+Speed+
The Spyders speed can be changed very easily with a little tweaking with an allen wrench, first time shooting at stock trigger pull i found it to be quite slow but if you take 10 minutes out of your life to bring it closer to the contact point then it can be a whole different speed in my opinion. This gun is capable of achieving high rates of fire for a Spyder and can be increased with new after market boards that i have yet to try.

+Anti Chop System+
Wow! Well what can I say about this. When first buying this marker I was very skeptical about it, but it has been 1 year so far and not even 1 chop! This bolt system is amazing and Kingman is a brilliant company for discovering this mechanism. Many People Will probably disagree with me but I find this bolt system to be more effective then eyes. This is the main feature about the gun that I love.

+Reliability+
This gun will take a big time bashing and still work at peak of performance. It is made with a thick,sturdy material that is ment for hard use, but just because it can hold its own doesn't mean u can throw it in a lake or let cars run over it. So take care of this marker but don't worry about it breaking in the heat of combat. Unless the battery runs out....yea..that sucks.

+Cleaning+
The Spyder design has to be the easiest marker I have ever needed to clean. At the end of each time of use just simply release pull pin, wipe and lube bolt and hammer, put back in and your done. It takes me about 30 seconds to do all that. I advise that each year you fully tear down your gun and lube most the o-rings and learn about it.

-Grips and Feedneck-
Well...All Spyders come with crappy grips and a feedneck. The grips are very ugly looking in my opinion but others may disagree and are very flimsy and 100% not water resistance in any way nor do they have a comfortable feel to them, but once again this is all personal preference. Also another problem i have is the feedneck, all Spyders come with a tall plain old feedneck that you need a attachment to, luckily they come with a plastic feedneck which may or may not last very long, I recommend buying a new clamping feedneck for your spyder. The grips are totally optional, I rather not as it is a waste of money when I will just deal with the feel of the stock grips.

-Barrel-
The 05 Pilot ACS comes with a very sleek looking barrel and much to desire, it has a twist design and looks much like the one on the 05 Electra's. It has mildly good porting and is a 12 inch, Id much rather prefer a 14 inch but that's just me. If you are not satisfied with this barrel when purchased then I would recommend you buy a new barrel. If you are cheap on money and want a low price but good performance i would recommend a Smart Parts Progressive or All American, CP Barrels or many others. If you are looking for a high quality barrel that will cost a lot, try the Smart Parts Freak Barrel or the Dye Ultralight or Boomstick. All personal preference.

-Weight-
I don't like it. The overall weight of this gun is not satisfying to me but is not unbearable. It maybe heavy to some and may not to others, after holding higher end guns such as PM's and DM's this gun is a tank but not much you can do their huh. Maybe im just really weak and a baby so I am putting this as my opinion and how I feel it is.

-Kick-
Im not to happy about the kick of this marker, but for the price what can you expect, a design like this is bound to have a flaw or two and i found it to be kind of hard to keep straight when unloading the marker as it bounces and pushes hard. Although this could be the same as weight, I could just be a baby about it and not able to hold the gun study enough as others so this should not be a big hassle to most expect the picky high end gun users.

+++Used On HPA+++
Ok After Using This Marker On C02 For a While I Decided To Use It On My Crossfire N2 Tank. Well.....What can I say? How about...IT IS SO MUCH BETTER, I would recommend Using This On HPA 100% If You Can Afford It.
Using This Air System Helps With Alot Of Things. As Said Before The Kick Was Awful, Well Now Using My HPA It Has Been Cut In Half. Dont Get Me Wrong Their Still Is Kick But A High Decrese Of It. Next Is The Sound, When Used On C02 I was Hearing a Cha-Ching! Sound, Such as a Opening Cash Register, Now It is More of a Patt!, But a Very Quiet Smooth Sounding One. Last Is The Best Part, Preformance. When Using This The Accuracy and Consistancy Increased Greatly Being That Every Paintball Landed In The Radius Of Maybe The Opening Of a Average Red Plastic Cup (Hopefully You Know What Im Talking About, If Not Tell Me and Ill Take Exact Measurements). Along With All These, HPA Systems Are Very Clean and Cannot Be Taken In As a Liquid And Freeze Orings, So Fire Away Quickly Without Fear Or Freezing!
Conclusion: Excellent buy and I highly recommend it, not a very good choice for a full on tournament but for recreational play you will love it. Clean this and take care of it and it will take care of you on the field.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, August 28th, 2006 at 2:51 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

UmmYeahItsMe147 Thursday, June 30th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month23 of 32 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
spyder victor, well, its a whole different story
Marker Setup: spyder pilot acs w/ halo tsa led backman. all stock so far.
Recommended
Upgrades:
none really, unless of course you got the money and are really into the sport.
Strengths: Accurate, no ball breaks, easy to use, good looking, easy maintainence
Weaknesses: Screws come loose, loud, must shorten trigger pull as soon as you get it
Review: this marker is great to me. the only problems ive had so far are screws coming loose and the stock trigger pull was too far away from the button. being loud is not really a concern to me but can be to others. also, the feed neck screw stripped out when i was tightening it so i got a new one. now for the good. this marker LOOKS GREAT. very accurate and havent had one ball break yet in about 2000 rounds. very easy to use, read, and understandable elctronic display. the maintainence is very easy, just clean up, swab your barrel, and air spray the inside of your trigger frame where all the electronics are after every time you use it. i love this gun.
Conclusion: Get it, its worth it. great gun. 8.5, but rounded to 9 because of small flaws.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

paintballa720 Saturday, July 2nd, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month19 of 24 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder fenix-stock barrel chops alot (comparison in review)
Spyder imagine- this is much better (crappy readout on board)
Erect, don't know wat model- too shiny 20 bps on full auto
Marker Setup: Spyder Pilot ACS '05, Dye stickys 3, Empire reloader 2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Grips
barrel
new feedneck
fast hopper- reloader 2, or 12 volt Revy
Strengths: trigger
ACS- Delrin bolt
Looks
Weaknesses: grips-very flimsy
barrel
feedneck is way too high (like all spyders except Fenix)
Review: I had been playing with my Xtra for almost two years and wanted a little more. after researching for a while and either wanted a Fenix or a Pilot. Well, I had tried out my friends Fenix and the stock barrel chopped like every time, I didn't think that the ACS would help that because the times that it popped were in the barrel, he had a halo B on there so I think the bolt could chop with a slower loader. Also when he either shot the gun fast or put it on auto alot of liquid CO2 was coming out and im afraid that this could have got into the electronics. So I chose the pilot.

Now for the Pilot

STRENGTHS

It looks awesome. the red/ back matte finish is awesome, finally Kingman its not shiny .

ACS- what more do I have to say, the Delrin bolt is really nice because it doesn't scratch the interior of the gun and you don't have to go out and get a new bolt before you shoot it, the other pilot ACS came with an aluminum bolt. The acs does get rid of chops, but I don't Know about all. I put my gravity feed hopper on and put it on full auto, I heard some odd squeaking which was the bolt stopping the chops so we know it works.

The two point adjustable flat trigger is great, I got mine to about a 1 millimeter total pull

WEAKNESSES

the grips are very flismy and they don't even seal up near the grip at all water or dirt could get into the electronics, I recomend dye stickys.

The feed neck puts your loader about 2 inches above the marker this makes for a much bigger target.

The barrel isn't very bad, my only problem with the stock barrel is that there is way too much porting which makes you lose a lot of velocity on the way out .


I haven't field tested it yet but look for my update later.

(Get a fast hopper reloader 2 or 12 volt revvy you don't need a halo or anything like that)
Conclusion: Buy this gun if you want a nice reliable marker that can keep up with the big boys and still has a nice price tag. I give it a nine because nothing is perfect but the Weaknesses are all small factors.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
14 Comments - Add Comment

akadrew2 Friday, July 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months18 of 22 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Triton, spyder e-99 "04"
Marker Setup: Nothing
Recommended
Upgrades:
Fast hopper
Strengths: Shoots are accurate
Weaknesses: Mode bar cant be seem in bright light
Review: This paintball gun is powerful enough to make holes into your shirt from about 45ft away and is real accurate( when you use super swirl paintballs). the only time this gun chops on me is when i use cheap paintballs other than that is has never chop on me when i played in a game .the only thing that i dislike about this gun is that the color are the gun gets scratch real easily when playing.
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun to anyone because its one of the best all around paintball gun for its price.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

talon118 Wednesday, July 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months15 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 custom
Marker Setup: Compressed Air
halo B W/ripdrive
Acs Delrin Bolt
12" Twister Barrel Came With Gun
Black To Blue Fade
Other than that pretty much stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel,
Fast hopper
Strengths: Speed, Accuracy Easy to disassemble, very easy to clean, two ball detents.
Weaknesses: One leak but can be fixed with teflon tape.
Review: great gun way worth the money , i got this gun off of eBay, great looks but the only concern i have is that i might loose some distance because of all the porting but i didn't really notice it, the delrin bolt is sweet. NO CHOPS, NO LUBE!!!! great gun.
Conclusion: If you want a fast reliable gun get this.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (48):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media