paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder EM1 / Kingman Spyder EM1 / Kingman Spyder EM1 / Kingman Spyder EM1

Kingman Spyder EM1 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder EM1

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder EM1
[ View Photos (5) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 109
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $600

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features: 2-Way Single Solenoid Valve, Semi-Auto, 3-round Burst, 6-round Burst, Turbo (2X Rate of Fire), Full Auto, R.O.F. up to 20 shots per second, Field Strippable, Removable Vertical Feed, External Adjustable Trigger, Stainless Steel Hammer, Energy-efficient Circuit Board. Available colors: Standard Metallic Blue, JAVA edition Forrest Green and Jet Black.
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder EM1 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (11):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Comando86 Wednesday, June 26th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Shutter
Nova 700
Marker Setup: EM1, Home Made Dropforward (Hard to find a good one for it), Smart parts teardrop barrel, 9V Revolution Hopper, Crossfire 47cu 3000psi Tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new Barrel, and a dropforward.
Strengths: First of all the price. Lets face it folks yes a Shocker or Automag are better but are they twice or three times better? They should be because that is how much more they cost.! Its a good all around setup, easy to set the trigger to you personal taste. Sturdy, attractive and smooth. Again, a great quality FOR THE PRICE. If you demand more then pay $500 or more for a gun, if cost is a factor then get this gun and still be a contender.
Weaknesses: The barrel as all Kingman Barrels it not so hot. The power switch is not well protected and tends to get paint in it. Its hard to find a good dropforward for it. and it needs one. Right when you get the gun put blue locktight on the trigger set skrew (after you have set it too what you want), do the same to the skrew in the back of the bolt because the both like to work there way out.
Conclusion: A great product by Kingman and hopefully it sets the trend for other low cost electros.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

wobbles82 Sunday, November 10th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Impulse, Shocker, BKO
Marker Setup: Automag Classic with a lot of stuff- backup, EM-1 Black and silver with em-1 upgrade board, and swan creek bandits and bolts, J and J Ceramic in a day
Recommended
Upgrades:
New reg maybe, a drop if its too heavy and of course the amazing Swan Creek Bolt
Strengths: I got this thing practically new from my pal Ev, and it cost me 170 shipped, and all I can say is holy crap. The marker is insanely fast, and at close range I would take it over my mag mainly because this thing can spew paint without chops with the swan bolt. Also it is very efficient on air, and figuring out the marker itself is quite simple.
Weaknesses: The only bad thing I noticed was the trap door for the battery, it kinda shakes around but if you got some removable foam or something just put it in there and it will stay put. It also needs a very fast hopper.
Conclusion: I would recommend this marker to anyone, someone who wants to get started, or even someone on bigger levels of playing. For the pretty good accuracy, well at longer ranges per say my mag beats it out in consistancy on targets, but still in closer areas this marker will provide you with more than enough firepower. Final conclusion is I said I would never buy a Spyder, I take that back mainly because Kingman actually made something with a bit of quality for there good price, very good overall marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, May 2nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 8 custom w/ Flatline barrel system and auto response trigger
Spyder Flash LCD
Marker Setup: Spyder Em1 w/ Swan Creek N-bolt, 14in Dye boomstick,custom double trigger job, gen x regulator, 68 ci Crossfire Nitro
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel, recommend a boomstick which works well for me, definetly Nitro or Compressed air noting that Co2 will short the selenoid if moisture gets into it, 12v Revolution and Swan Creek N-Bolt if you dont want to break balls often, and a new regulator if you can afford it.
Strengths: After the minimal upgrades the gun breaks very few balls. The adjustable trigger enables you to set the trigger pull to your liking. After a new barrel and bolt the gun is very accurate and not nearly as loud as previously. The gun is very easy to clean with the bolt and i personally like the placement of the foregrip. The gun is very affordable as of now, but will no longer be sold after the Em1 Modified as released. Pick it up why you can.
Weaknesses: The regulator isn't very consistent. Without the LCD screen it is difficult to change your gun settings, seeing is that you have to get inside the grip to adjust the dip switches. The stock barrel isn't all that great, it wasn't very accurate for me and i tended to encounter ball breaks consistently at first. The gun is very loud, which makes it difficult to hold your position in woods games.
Conclusion: For the money this is definetly one of the better buys on the market. After using my Em1 for about 6 months and getting a Revolution I can usually shoot around 2000 balls without breaking. The gun is easy to clean with the disconnect pin through the bolt. The looks are a little plain, but a serious player doesn't pay any attention. The regulator is a little inconsistent, but I find that I can usually go onto the field and light up the competition pretty quickly. With a few upgrades this gun can compete with any gun under $1000.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

KING-MAN Wednesday, October 16th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Flash LCD, spyder compact,tippman98,shocker,tribal,angel...
Marker Setup: Black Em1 stock- 12v revy/ 88ci 3000psi crossfire nitro
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel,new bolt,- both of mine work fine though
Strengths: First off the pirce of this gin is incredible...I got mine for 220 off ebay and it can compare to any other electro under $1000. The rof of this gun is insane. It can go from 5 to 13 bps on auto. It has semi,3 and 6 rnd burst, and full auto. i generally use the semi or 3 rnd burst set at 10bps. My two other friends both have tribals and i can keep up with them and/or even own them. i can hold the gun close to my body. I use up a hopper in a few minutes with the crazy rof. I get over 1000 shots outta my 88ci 3000psi nitro which is good. I got the gun running at 290 fps which is barely legal at tournaments but to bad b/c i mostly play woods games. The stock barrel is very accurate, and will shoot straight up to around 150ft. I barely break any paint and if i do it is because i have it on the fastest rof and my revy can't feed that fast.
Weaknesses: There are not many bad things about this gun. The gun is a little off balance but just get a drop forward or deal with it , its not that bad.
Conclusion: I would highly recommend this gun for all players. It is cheap and effective. I can light up angels,cockers,mags,shockers,and impulses. This gun will wreck any one on the field if u have some general skill, trust me. Some players say the gun is big and gets in the way. But they dont think that when they see a paintball hit right between their eyes.!!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ke0ki Tuesday, July 9th, 2002
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98c, amg
Marker Setup: old marker:
em1, dye titanium boomstick, swan creek nbolt, 68cu 3000 psi fiber tank, 12v revvy

current marker:
akalmp excalibur, 14" freak, 88cu 4500psi adj maxflow, inline reg, 12v revvy
Recommended
Upgrades:
swan creek n-bolt, freak or boomstick
Strengths: first of all you people overrate the hell out of these guns... an impulse having the same rating as an amg?? the impulse is FAR superior to the amg

and for the guy who said he constantly whoops on angels with his em1 crew is lying, or the people who own the angels are handicapped or blind.

the em1 is a decent marker. its pretty fast, esp on full auto.

its fairly gas efficient. i used to get around 1000 shots out of a 68 3000 psi.

with a new bolt it will rarely break balls.

for the price you pay for it (i paid $280) it is a STEAL. an electro marker for that price is amazing.
Weaknesses: its heavy, and VERY loud. if you are playing woods ball EVERYONE will know exactly where you are because this thing sounds like a firecracker going off.

if you use full auto you WILL chop balls, theres no way around that.

on semi the gun cant keep up with your trigger pull so you wont shoot nearly as fast. maybe 6-7 bps.

good luck finding a drop forward for this gun, its near impossible.

the dip switches on the trigger require you to unscrew the grip, which means no in-game mode switching.

yes there are 20 something different shooting modes but most of them are useless.

better use a thick shell paint like blaze cuz of the guns high pressure, otherwise u will break at the bolt like crazy
Conclusion: the em1 has its downsides. i mean come on, its a spyder. but like i said before the performance / price ratio is amazing. u get near high end marker performance for very cheap, which is why it was my first electro.

i bought an akalmp excalibur and sold my em1 cuz whenever id go out to the fields people could always shoot loads faster than i could, cept when i had my gun on full auto, but then i was guaranteed to chop balls.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

uzer_errors Saturday, February 2nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Shocker, Impulse
Marker Setup: Java Green EM-1, Crossfire 53ci Stinger, 12v Revvy w/ X-Board
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nitro system, Barrel, Revvy
Strengths: The fire modes allow up to 19bps, 6-burst, 3-burst, Full Auto, Semi-Auto
Dirt cheap price of under $300
Accurate, even more so with a new barrel
Lightweight
Compatible with any drop foward, although some sanding may be necessary
Adjustable trigger works great
Delron Venturi bolt works great with this gun
A true electric
Weaknesses: Delron bolt swells if you oil it. Simple solution: Don't oil it, remove it when oiling the gun.
Grip can cause blisters after extended period of play. Simple solution: Dye Stickies or gloves
Conclusion: A truely great marker for it's price. It may not be an Impy, Timmy, or Shocker, but it's definately close to being just as good. And for around $250, you can't go wrong.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

GRNvrt2K2 Thursday, April 24th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Impulse, Shocker, Cocker, AMG LCD
Marker Setup: Green Vert 2k2 Cocker
14" Full Freak Kit
Shocktech front pnuematics kit
WGP Black Magig Venturi Bolt
Evil Beaver Tail
68/45 Maxflo
32* Gas through Fore grip
WGP STO Hinge Frame
DYE stickies

Silver 2k3 Impulse w/ vision
12" Full Freak Kit
Tape worm
SP Brass Hammer & Bolt
Twister Feed Lo-rise
68/45 MaxFlo
CP Flame Drop Forward
New Designz FAT Blade Trigger
DYE Stickies
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel- Boom Stick
Reg- Palmer Stab.
Bolt if u can find it
Strengths: Its pretty fast and cool looking.
Weaknesses: Paint blender and not reliable.
Review: The gun can shoot fast and it is a cool looking gun.


It is a PAINT BLENDER. They chop sooo much if u do not baby the hell out of them. Also they r not as reliable as other guns on the market. The upgrade are very few except for the basics. And there is only one type of bolt and u cant find them any where.
Conclusion: I say save ur money and buy an IMPY i love mine and they r great .
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, April 24th, 2003 at 3:29 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, May 13th, 2001
 
1 out of 10 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: I bought mine on The first day of January in 2001. Its a Java Edition. I put my dye 14 in boomstick on it, 68ci 3000 psi crossfire nitrogen tank, and a evolution loader. The first time I ever played with mine was in a 24 hr Scenario game and it was awsome. I had it set on fully auto on the reccomended ROF of 9 bals per second. It was very accurate. I only broke two balls all that day and that was only because I had my evolution loader set to low to keep up with the ROF. Very easy to field strip and clean.
Weaknesses: This is going to be long.
During the end of the day at the scnario game I had to get my gun cronowed below 250 for the night games. I could not get it below 280. Then during the tenth time of trying to get the velocity lowered I pulled the trigger and it would not fire. I filled my 68ci nitrgen tan, put a new 9 volt battery in the gun, turned it on seeing the green indicator light coming on, pulled the trigger and it didn't fire. Since my fiend was using my backup gun (a Spyder TL Plus) I had to go home and coundn't play the rest of the scenario game. I was pissed off. I couldn't get the pressure left in the gun out because it wouldnt fire so it sat pressurized for two days. Then I picked up pulled the trigger and it fired 2 times then froze up again. It sat for another day. then finally I picked it up, shot it,and got all the pressure out of it. Then I took it to a walk on game. I did the same thing it did at the scenario game and I had to wait a while to shoot out the air in it just like last time. Both times the pressure had gone up to 1200 psi in the gun even though the regulator was turned down. Because of this I thought it might have been the regulator so I took it to my paintball dealer and they ordered a new regulator from kingman. The only good thing is that it was under warranty. They installed it in my gun and the next weekend I went paintballing. It did the same thing as it did the other two times. It froze up. Mabe my first regulator had a defect in it but with a brand new regulator in it that was working fine the gun still froze up. Then 3 days later I shot all the air out of it. I think its the electronics but I dont know. If it worked right then Iwish Kingman would make a double trigger for it and make the trigger lighter. This gun is a POS. I am not the only one with this problem. A team in the last 3 man tounament I played in had two EM1s and both of them broke on that day.
Conclusion: I think I might of been so bad because I bought it early. I would reccomend not getting this gun but if you do wait a while. Its to expensive at $600 but you can easily buy them brand new for $430. I now hav a Free flow Autocoker and it is great. I'm also going to need a good electronic gun for the tounaments. I'm gettinfg an Angel and never buying anything like the EM1. Another thing is that I can't believe that Kingman could make somthing so unreliable. My TL Plus is rock solid. So don't buy a EM1. Save up more and get somthing better.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintintexan Sunday, September 4th, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
-SP rat impulse, -Proto pm6, -Sp ion, -Angel ir3, -CCi phantom w/ frantom barrel, -Kingman mr1
Marker Setup: Proto Pm6 with CP barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel kit, doesnt have to be an expensive one.
Strengths: Selective fire modes
Fun
Cheap now
Weaknesses: Lack of upgrades, and the fire modes are annoying to get to.
Review: I was able to pick this up for $75 refurbished, so ill be reviewing this gun at that price. If i payed msrp (600) then i wouldnt ever recomend this gun to anyone whose looking at that price range. I went to my field yesterday to try out this now ancient and vintage paintball gun. Right off the bat i jammed it, bad. Needless to say i was dissappointed that five minutes into the day that gun is disabled. I ended up using an old impulse bolt to push the bolt back. I couldnt believe that a $600 gun jammed, and i was about to switch to my proto for the rest of the day. Fortunately, me being the complete retard, ive set it for max speed (19/sec) and put my crappiest hopper (12/sec) on it, thus causing the gun to jam with i did a 6 round burst. I lowered the speed of the gun to 7/sec and i had absolutely to problems with the marker all day. i was using some really old paintballs so i wont go into how accurate the gun was or the barrel. when the it did shoot straight it shot wonderfully, but that was rare and again it was 2-3 month old paint and i was using an empire barrel kit. All in all once i fix the problem that i caused on the Em1 it was a great gun to have fun with in the woods. Is it a tournament gun, maybe 11years from now but certainly todays gun far out class it.
Conclusion: The Em1 is a great gun if you can find it under $100, if you check ebay you find the place that i got mine from, be aware they dont come with the vertical hopper adapter so either get lucky in finding one or duck tape. And dont listen to the others when they say you cant put a drop on it. Mine had two straight holes on the grip, allowing me to use standard drops, with a different asa. Also i noticed nobody else mention this, the barrel is lined in brass, which should give you better shots. Im giving this gun an 8 bc its supposed to be a tournament gun but really it belongs in the woods, and i only payed 75 for it.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mekranic Wednesday, August 5th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder compact,tl,extra,vector,proto,angel,autocockers and tippmans
Marker Setup: autococker. race frame asa delrin halo w/rip.
Recommended
Upgrades:
venturi bolt works well with this gun. also kapp kradle or (drop forward) is the best way to run this gun. also a halo alows you to run full auto without choping. if you set the trigger right you can fire just as fast with semi.
Strengths: Reliable, easy to work on, accurate, well balanced when set up correctly
Weaknesses: Cup seal and valve will snap
Review: I have a green em1 with OTP 13in barrel, ans genx 2 regulator, ans feed tube,delrin venturi bolt, kingman upgrade board, steel braided lines, 88ci stuby 3000 fiber wraped tank and a halo v35 w/rip. i have played with this gun in tournements and woods ball and speed ball. The gun is louder then some but about the same as other spyders. Excellent at closer ranges like speed ball. If you have good skill this gun can be used against any other gun out there. I turn a lot of heads when I use my em1. Get a halo for it or a rotor loader to prevent choping I upgraded the ball detent to use a force feed hopper.
Conclusion: I would say this is the best spyder they ever made
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (11):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media