paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / J&J Performance S2 Ceramic Barrel / J&J Performance S2 Ceramic Barrel / J&J Performance S2 Ceramic Barrel

J&J Performance S2 Ceramic Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount J&J Performance

Buy J&J Performance S2 Ceramic Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


J&J Performance S2 Ceramic Barrel
[ View Photos (8) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 39
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $48

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
J&J's new version of their Ceramic Barrel.
Product Availability 
The J&J Performance S2 Ceramic Barrel is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
tbaylor828 Saturday, December 31st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month30 of 30 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Other J&J performance Ceramic barrels of models 5 years older
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 with LPK, 2 finger E-grip, Flatline,
Nitro duck 68/3000
Recommended
Paintballs:
Proball (good paint to bore match)
Have not tested any other paint yet
Strengths: Looks
Self Cleaning
Quiet
Weaknesses: None at all!!!
Review: Ok, here is the deal. I have always played with a flatline since I bought my A-5. But, I wanted to go with something a little more accurate. Compressed air, low pressure, and a stable shooting profile has made the marker extremely accurate. But I just wanted to get my groupings a little tighter, and since my game has elevated, a longer shot isn't as necessary. First time I looked at it I was impressed with how sexy it looked on the A-5. (personal preferance!) It came packaged in a little plastic bag, and no damage was done during the shipping process. I screwed it in, and accidentally scratced the finish with my ring, but I wiped it down with a damp rag and it was gone. No harm done.

I applied rain-x to the inside barrel, (was told it could help, doesn't hurt) and ran a microfiber towel through it to clean any excess out of the bore. When I finally got around to firing the gun, I could actually hear the agitator inside the hopper churning the paintballs everytime I fired my a-5. It is a lot quieter than my flatline. I have not measured distances yet, but I know that It shoots straight enough for what you will ever need. I am so used to shooting a flatline, at first it thought the distance and barrel was dissapointing to say the least. But, I had to remind myself that all barrels shoot with an arcing pattern. And distance would be sacraficed. But as soon as I put three right on top of each other, I was impressed by the fact that this barrel after shooting it five times, had managed to do something my flatline never did. I will test more at a later date, and ad more info to this review. I hope you will find this helpful, and keep looking for an update on this product.


*(Edit)* 1/07/06
This was my first day to use this barrel in action. And I have not seen this great of accuracy, in a long time, flat out wonderful play from this barrel. I was making great shots and did not have one break all day long. Also the myth about the finish not being very durable is not true, what looks like a scratch wipes right out. (like scratching dry skin and then puting lotion on it) I did notice a sacrafice in range, but the added accuracy was well worth the loss in distance. At ranges of 100 feet, I was easily placing my paint is on eight" by eight" block, and no wide variations at all. A solid asset to any marker, and any player.

*(Edit)* 1/21/06
I played at the Black Hawk Down scenario event in Harwood Texas, and let me say one thing. Awesome!!!! I haven't had the chance to play in a scenario event, and never have I had the opportunity to play with such a large crowd. During the night game, we used spot lights to find enemies. But since I had made the switch earlier that day from my flatline to my J&J, aiming by way of watching my paintballs fly downfield was not necessary. At night, when I saw a shadow poke out, I simply pointed and shot with confidence of knowing where, and how far my paint was flying. I had several of my eleminations during this time of the game, and everything I shot at was either marked or bunkered down. Once again proving to be a great barrel on the field.
Conclusion: Great Barrel, Awesome price ($30.25 Shipped) Good looking finish, Accurate, Quiet, Self Cleaning, what more do you want? A solid asset to your Game, Get one Now!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, January 22nd, 2006 at 1:45 pm PST
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

CuLane Saturday, March 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye X-cel barrel and stock. SP Freak and Progressive on my Impulse, and the stock barrel on the Phantom (which is incredibly awesome, not just for a stock barrel, but 'period' as in "it's awesome.")
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine w/J&J S2 14", Evo II z-board, T-Board with eyes and 18-gram switch.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything medium to large bore, X-Ball/D-X-S works well, PMI Premium works very well out of this barrel.
Strengths: See Review
Weaknesses: See Review
Review: So yeah. I bought this bad boy after some pretty extensive review browsing and I have not been disappointed. It's reasonably priced, absolutely gorgeous, and effectively self-cleaning. And that's why I bought it. Since I've had it I won't say my game has gone to a new level, but I have noticed some improvement in my accuracy. The big deal here though is that I can go out with old, old old old, dimpled balls that'll break in the barrel and not worry because the next one effectively cleans it. It's pretty amazing. And then I tried some x-ball silver in it and it's pretty friggin' cool. The accuracy for a low-end marker like mine is exciting. Anyway, if you were thinking about getting one, or any barrel for that matter, I whole-heartedly recommend this barrel.
Conclusion: This might be the only 10 I ever give out because it does everything it advertises and the only limitation here is that it isn't a kit but I live in Los Angeles and it's never so cold or humid that I have to switch barrel because my paintballs have swelled so much.

Edit- Gave it a nine because I get better accuracy out of my X-Cel, but for clearing ball breaks the J&J still reigns supreme.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, November 17th, 2006 at 1:43 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

InFeStEd Wednesday, August 10th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
dye boomstick
stock barrel
werks tippmann 14"
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98c
20oz CO2
14" J&J S2 Ceramic
Recommended
Paintballs:
actually anything
Strengths: Below
Weaknesses: Below
Review: So i finally got my 14" J&J S2 Ceramic Barrel for my 98c after 3 weeks of waiting. (Freekin' UPS) And as promised, I will post a quick breakdown of the barrel for other tippy users.

So I opened the case that it came in, a little plastic wrapper and would have expected chips and scratches from the way it was packaged. To my surprise, however, it was perfect. The S2 comes now with an O-ring, SO NO MORE SLIPPAGE. I took this thing out to a construction yard and i shot about 500 shots through it. (Brass Eagle and Ink'z, Yuk, I know) It was about 8:00PM with a light wind from the East. At about 150 feet I was shooting a boulder about 2 feet by 2 feet and hit about 80-90%. We then shot at another rock about 11 inches by 11 inches at 60 feet and hit it about 80-90% again! Lastly at about 20 feet we shot at a pop can and I nailed it 2/3 times. The barrel seems quite durable, The teflon inside did not marr or get gunked up after we were done, and I did not have any large errant shots. The shape of this barrel also looks like a 2 peice but it really is a 1 piece. Kinda cool and will get the sexy looks!

Strengths:
Light
More durable than it looks
ACCURATE!
slightly quieter
comes with O-Ring
looks
Price, 40$ CAN

Weakness:
Feels week
O-Ring was a bit small


This barrel, for the price, is amazing. It outshoots some of the higher priced barrels i have shot, It is extremely light, and is dead sexy. This barrel in my opinion is easily a 9.5. No barrel gets a 10 as none are perfect, but this is top of the line! ups to a 10
Conclusion: Get this barrel

9.5/10

Better than the old ceramics, its an upgrade to the old ones
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

pblover101 Thursday, June 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
J & J Ceramic (Regular Version)
Pmi Razzor
Smart Parts Teardrop
Marker Setup: 2004 BkO
Palmer's Stabilizer
Crossfire 68/4500
Lp Valve
Clamping Feed
Recommended
Paintballs:
Smaller Bore (anything .688 and under)
Strengths: -Looks (style)
-Accuracy (with Correct Paint)
-Ceramic Strength
Weaknesses: -Smaller Bore Than the Average Paintballs
-Off Black Ceramic Color (preference)
Review: THis barrel is overall very nice. It has the strength of Ceramic and quality expected from J & J Preformance. It Looks like a 2-piece with that aggressive touch. It also has accuracy matched to other higher end barrels for a lower cost. The only real downside is that is is .688 bore, .689 which is more common bore for paintballs. .689 balls fit, but barrel breaks and less accuracy will happen.
Conclusion: Get this barrel if you want a cheap and accurate barrel. It will shoot with the best of them, just make sure to shoot smaller paint. If you play at a lot of fields that you can't bring your own paint then you might want a bigger bore barrel.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

caligula2nd Thursday, May 31st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Red's Pepper Sticks - better (.689 back)
Lapco Big Shot - similar
Sites Stiffi - better
Dye Boomstick/Ultralite - much better
Marker Setup: Warped Sportz Dark Cocker with E2

AGD custom black Mini Mag

ICD Laysoya Promaster

ICD Bushmaster with PDS and 1 Bushmaster blind

CCI Phantom

Tippmann A-5

Arikon Overlord

BT-4

Autococker SF Tactical

And a few other older guns from Tippmann & Spyder

Recommended
Paintballs:
Any medium/standard bore which is about 85% of most paintballs
Strengths: Very,very,easily cleaned, it does it itself :)
Weaknesses: Um... nothing I would call a real weakness
Review: I'll make this short since this barrel has been fairly well reviewed
i'll just put my 2 cents in.

This a nice barrel,I was quite impressed with the self cleaning. I
believed it did a better job of that than my Stiffi though a bit louder and
doesn't have quite the same range.

It has good accuracy at 60 feet and i've tried different paints with this but
it really doesn't compare to the above mentioned barrels except
the Big Shot with longer range and accuracy.

It's also much louder than the above mentioned barrels (if you care about that) except once again the the Big Shot.. Not even close to the
Dye Boomstick/Ultralite barrels with their muffled sound. It's not incredibly loud, nothing to complain about.
And it comes in a nice dust black finish,I believe that the only one that it comes in.


Conclusion: It's a very good barrel and can be found on many sites at a inexpensive price,I got mine on E-Bay for $20 I couldn't go wrong with that.
The bore size I believe this is .688 or .689 standard so you shouldn't have too much of a problem with a paint match.

Not much need for squeegee (I have no idea if I spelled that right)
it self cleans better than any barrel i've used even with very thick paint.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nbishop66 Thursday, June 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
J&J Ceramice (shoots just as good, doesn't look as good)
Smart Parts Teardrop (Can't even compare)
Stock Spyder and ION Barrel
Marker Setup: ION - 360 QEV, J&J S2, Psycho Balistics Drop Forward w/ on/off
Spyder Pilot ACS - J&J Ceramic (Polished), other up's (Backup Gun)
Viewloader Evo II, Y Board
Pure Energy 68/3000 Fiber Wrap
JT Tank Cover
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any medium Bore.
RPS El Tirge too small. You'll have better luck throwing them.
Strengths: Supper Quiet.
Very nice looking
Great Accuracy
Weaknesses: No o-ring, but you can always add one
Review: I have the J&J Ceramic on my Spyder Pilot ACS and my son had the Smartparts Teardrop on his. I was sooooo impressed with the quality, quietness and accuracy of the J&J Ceramic that it was a no brainer what I was getting for my new ION. I love everything but the looks of the J&J Ceramic, so I thought I give the S2 a try. This barrel not only looks great, but it performs just as well. When you get a good paint to barrel match all I can hear is the solenoid clicking on my ion.

Straight consistent shots are expected and this barrel delivers them. I did make the mistake of buying the RPS El Tigre paintballs from D*ck's, but they were way too small. They corkscrewed, hooked and sliced. You need to get a good medium bore paint. You won't be disappointed.

To be honest my first choice was a Freak Jr. kit, but I didn't feel like spending $80. I got this barrel for $32 and as long as you get a good paint to barrel match you won't be disappointed with this barrel. It was so cheap I bought 2, one for me and one for my son.

People say this about all J&J Ceramics "this thing is made of ceramic", "it seems delicate". This is an aluminum barrel, just like 95% of the barrels on the market. The inside of the barrel is coated with a ceramic material. It will take all the abuse that any other barrel will.
Conclusion: This barrel will not shoot all paint well. It is a fixed bore, no inserts so that's kind of an obvious statement. For a fixed bore barrel it is great. It's no Freak Kit, but for the recreational and occasional tournament player you will be impressed as long as you use medium bore paint.

J&J Does it again with another great barrel. This thing is damn quiet and accurate. For all Fixed bore barrels I'm giving it a 9.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, July 9th, 2006 at 6:13 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MetalHead pb Monday, December 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 16"
Tippmann stock 8 1/2"
Marker Setup: 98 Custom
Expansion camber
Double trigger
Revvy
14" J&J S2
20oz CO2
Recommended
Paintballs:
Diablo Formula 13, Worr Paint
Strengths: Very good looking, Quite, Sturdy
Weaknesses: Nothing i know of.
Review: I got this thing a few weeks ago and i got to say, This is one nice barrel!

I had a tippmann 16" on my tippmann before and it was accurate but also a little too

long for me. so i decided to get the J&J Performance S2 Ceramic Barrel, and this thing

is just as accurate as my 16" if not better and i have the 14" J&J S2.

I broke a ball once out of the 4 games i played in one day, and that was my fault

because i think i was out shooting my hopper (which is a crappy grav feed) and that's

my fault it broke. (Idk how i out shoot the hopper with a tippmann but i did, but know i have a Revvy so i should be good).

But if you already didn't know this about the barrel, it cleans its self when you shoot another ball through it,

and this is true i just shoot again and didn't even make the ball shoot slower and the barrel was

clean enough for the rest of that game!
Conclusion: Get this barrel! it is the best one i have ever shoot, i got for about $35 off ebay.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, December 19th, 2005 at 4:25 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

oMJAo Monday, October 31st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
system x 12 inch
Marker Setup: JT tac 5 camo, 14 inch J&J ceramic S2 barrel, daisy max view red dot, 20 ounce tank w/ butt plate
Recommended
Paintballs:
DRAXXUS DUSK
Strengths: -Very very accurate
-Great ball flight
-Self cleans
Weaknesses: none that I can think of...
Review: I bought this barrel hoping for a cheap barrel that would work good on my tac-5. I am definitely satisfied with my purchase and am very please with the performance. I tested this barrel on a 1by1 board from 100 feet away and it would just not miss. The barrel can shoot through a break quite nicely.
Conclusion: Buy it if your looking for a cheap good barrel...
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

engtmarines8 Friday, June 8th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
i have not really used anything but a tippman 98 stock and a spyder sonix stock
Marker Setup: 2005 Spyder sonix, J&J S2 14",12oz Co2
2005 pilot acs J&J S2 14",12oz Co2 dye stickys warrior rolling trigger and warrior clamping feedneck
Recommended
Paintballs:
Great barrel i dont reccomend any certain paint but some are better than others
Strengths: Light and Pretty affordable for such great quality
Weaknesses: Made of ceramic so could chip, NOT SELF CLEANING
Review: I haven't use it all that much and i have been having problems with my gun but this barrel does a fine job. i was able to easily hit a 3 foot by 3 foot board at about 75 yards. I really like the barrel but it is not self cleaning lik some say but wht can you expect. Nothing is self cleaning.

EDIT>>>
it has now been just under 3 years since i got this barrel. still in almost perfect condition. but i have continued using it even though i got a new gun. it works even better on this gun because of the speed the gun has. it puts speed and accuracy together making every shot i take a deadly one. being able to put 13 bps down the field with great accuracy has helped me dramaticly. i actually hit a guy from about 60 yards away in the woods in the center of his mask which was a great accomplishment for me seeing as how poor my stock barrel was
Conclusion: Great barrel for the price i love it. I wish it wasnt ceramic it limts your roughness on it
i say buy it if you have the chance because i don't have a great gun and mine is very accurate with the barrel so you should try it on you higher end marker.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, August 10th, 2008 at 12:21 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

dasrot Friday, November 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock barrel
Marker Setup: Kingman Spyder TL+
14" J&J Ceramic S2
JT Flex 7 Mask
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any
Strengths: +Quiet
+Extremely accurate
+Cheap
+Looks great
Weaknesses: -Doesn't fire through breaks
-Finish scratches easily (no big deal)
-No O-ring
Review: All in all this is a great barrel. I am very glad that I purchased it. It is a very accurate barrel, and is also very quiet. I was disappointed when I broke my first ball, tried to fire more balls through it, and they all proceeded to break. Never once did the barrel "self-clean" itself. This is just false advertisement from resellers and customers that ticks me off. Here is a quote from an email sent to me from J&J.

"An oring comes with the barrel if it's ment to have one. We don't advertise the barrel as self cleaning, that came about from customers."

So I guess I have you guys to blame for the reason I bought the barrel. Because I liked the fact that the barrel would "self clean."

Also, the flat black paint on the barrel scratches easily, which is not that big of a deal. Just a cosmetic issue. Another thing to add is that the barrel itself isn't ceramic, just the coating on the inside of the barrel. So you don't have to worry about shattering your barrel if you hit something with it.
Conclusion: If you are looking for a barrel that is accurate, cheap, and looks great, this is the barrel for you. Just don't expect the barrel to do magical things like clean itself out, that is just a load of crap.

7/10
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Friday, November 3rd, 2006 at 8:30 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media