paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Viewloader Crusader / Viewloader Crusader / Viewloader Crusader / Viewloader Crusader

Viewloader Crusader Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Viewloader

Buy Viewloader Crusader

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Viewloader Crusader
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 9
Average Rating: 7.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Viewloader introduces the all-new VL Crusader semi-automatic paintball marker Player’s kit for 2005. The VL Crusader is a field grade semi-automatic marker with features that include: a double finger trigger for increased faring rates, machined aluminum barrel for increased accuracy, hi-rise vertical feed port for increased feed rate, field strip pin for quick and easy maintenance on and off the field, an aerospace grade aluminum alloy receiver, a "self-locking" velocity adjustment and laser engraving. The VL Crusader Player’s kit comes complete with a JT goggle system, BE 9 oz refillable cylinder, VL Proflex squeegee, VL 200ct loader and VL Plug Barrel Plug.
Product Availability 
The Viewloader Crusader is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
pbking101 Monday, May 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 years6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
syder fenix
Marker Setup: same setup straight out of the box
Recommended
Upgrades:
an electic hopper
Strengths: Power
Weaknesses: Kind of slow
Review: This is an amazing gun. I recomend this gun to all players novice and experts and all ages 1 through 100. I have had this gun for years and i love it. Has amazing power and farely good Speed. If your good and double finger than you must get this gun.
Conclusion: Great. Get it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Xboxgamer09 Thursday, April 26th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5, Tippmann 98c & 98, Lots of Spyders, SP-8, Autocockers, etc (I'm the team gun tech)
Marker Setup: - Marker-
Tippmann A-5A2, Hammerhead Battlestikxx 14" Barrel Kit, Special Ops A-5A2 Air Thru Stock Mod, Lapco Offset Rail, Pro team ASR-1 Raised Rail, Armson Pro Dot Max, Pro team Tac Caps (30rd and 50rd)
-Accessories-
32* Remote Line, Nitro Duck 68/4500 X-Treme Adjustable Tank, Special Ops Dagger Vest /w Integrated Sling System, Special Ops 140rd Pods
Recommended
Upgrades:
-A shorter drive spring
-A different gun lol
-C02 Buttstock
-Another one to duel wield :)
Strengths: -Works pretty good as a rental marker
-Fairly Light
-Fairly Accurate
Weaknesses: -Deadly FPS (See Below)
-No Forward Grip
-Did I mention the FPS lol
Review: My friend's cousin was coming in from Georgia to play with us, but he didnt have a gun at the time. So his mom said she would pay for him a gun if we would get one within reason. Since he needed a whole kit (and we needed a rental gun) we got this package at Wal-Mart. Now onto the review.

THE GOOD:
This is actually not that bad of a gun. It is fairly light with the C02 tank and a full hopper. And it is even fairly accurate with the stock barrel (and cheap paint to boot). It is great as a rental or a last resort backup marker, but.......

THE BAD:
This thing has DEADLY FPS out of the box! We call this thing the Shotgun bc of 1) The loudness of it 2) The FPS and 3) It's penetrating power. We went and Chrono'd it before our game, with the Velocity Adjuster screwed ALL THE WAY IN, its FPS was 320!!!! So out of curiousity, we took the value out, FPS was over 450!! So I cut the 1/5 off the main drive spring and reassembled it, the FPS is still over 300!! Go look at this pic:

http://img247.imageshack.us/img247/1451/ghoohanv9.png

My bud got shot from well over 60 feet away, velocity screw all the way in, drive spring cut, and still got that nasty welp. He still has a scar lol
Conclusion: As long as you can disassembly it and cut the spring (more than 2-4 links!!), it will be an ok marker. I would recommend something better ASAP, but it works if you dont have anything else. If you want something that shoots far and loud, that can penetrate and kind of brush, or if you just need to blow a tree out of the way, this is your gun lol I give her a 6, not the best, but I have seen a LOT worse.
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, June 14th, 2007 at 6:25 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

shak69 Tuesday, October 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 Custom
Marker Setup: Viewloader Crusader
Recommended
Upgrades:
New hopper
Barrel
Bigger Tank
Strengths: Price
Weight
Accuracy
Weaknesses: None
Review: I bought this gun at walt-mart for 80 dollars. The package included: a mask, the marker, a barrel plug, the hopper and the 9oz tank. I used this gun everyday I go to the field and it is a nice gun. It´s light and its good for a front player position. The only thing that is bad about it is the hopper and tank included in the package. I would buy another hopper and a tank with more capacity.
Conclusion: This is a nice gun for a begginer player. The price is not so high and not so low, it´s and average price for an average marker. Just make sure you have more money left after buying this gun cause you will definately buy a new tank and another hopper.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

glovebox20 Sunday, July 30th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders, phriana's and other open bolt blow backs
Marker Setup: Spyder E-99
14" Lapco Big Shot
Trinity feed neck
Palmer stabilizer
Recommended
Upgrades:
Some kind of regulated gas system. wheater a expasion chamber, reg, or even compress air.
Strengths: Light , reasonbly short and light tigger pull. competively price.
Weaknesses: May not come assemble with all the parts from the factory.
Review: My friend chop paint with the marker and jammed the bolt up and did not know what to do so he gave it to me to fix cause he knew I played paintball.

I'll admit that don't like VL products in general because they don't seem to work well out of the box or they don't hold up for very long. But that could because mostly new players use then and they don't what they are doing yet. I'm a spyder/phriana fan and I am pretty good at fixing them too. Anyhow, I took the marker from my friend and jumped on the Internet to find a parts list before I took it apart. It is built just like anyother open both stack tube blow back.Striker, Bolt, Spring, spring guide, rubber bumper, vale body, vale pin, detent, ect. There all the same. So I took it apart and unjam the bolt because the paint shell was stuck between the bolt and the body. Nothing to surprising. However, what was surprising is that I didn't not see a spring guide. My friend clams he never took it a part. So if that is true, This marker didn't come with one from the factory. Well, I clean it up, oiled it and put it back together and tried using without the guide and it didn't work that good because the FPS was not there. Lucky I work in a machine shop so I turned a spring guide out of alum. Wow, It actually worked!!

To my asment, It preform reasonably well for a unregulated open bolt blow back. It's light, Has a reasonably short trigger pull witch isn't to heavy, Vertical feed, and top cocking with milled back to give a little bit sexiness to it. I only tested it to make sure it worked before I gave It back to my friend, but I'll have to admit that I almost like it more than a cheap spyder (compact, victor, ect.) It has a descent trigger pull on it for a mechanical which is the biggest thing what I hate about the spyder's. The spyder mechanical frame is just too long of a pull to be able to fire quickly with it. The Crusader was reasonably accurate for non regulated marker as long as you kept shooting it. Don't expect to win a one shot check though. It was louder than I like, but that to be expected when the barrel dosen't have any ports. The nice thing is that it is easy to clean the barrel because of the lack of ports.I was using some cheap old blaze paint though so that could of been part of the problem when it came to one shot checking. It was a nice 90 deg. day when I was using it, and I had a crony it and got it shooting around 273 to 282 which was a lot better than I expected. When I got to to crono good, I did not experience any chopping or double feeding which was a big surprise to me, even though I was shooting as fast as I could. One thing I didn't like about the Crusader is that the internals seemed to wear pretty easily so I don't know how well this marker will stand up over time.

When all said and done, If you gat a Crusader with all the parts from the factory, and keep it oiled and clean, you might find out it works reasonably well for a cheap gun.
Far as up grades go's, The only one's you'll need is some kind of a regulated gas system and perhaps a barrel of your choice. My personal experience has tought me that a regulated gas system is better than a barrel by It self. Concincicy in FPS is the key to accuracy with any firearm, paintball marker, bow, Capote, sling shot,or cannon. I would love to bring this marker to a Field and put a Compress air tank on it to see the people laugh at me. But I'll be the one laughing when ther eating my paint. The Crusader is syder threaded so finding a different barrel would be pretty easy. Far as a e-grip gose, you'' be better for getting a different marker that has a e-grip on it already and keep this as a back up for a rainy day.


Conclusion: This would be a good gun for a new player if your lucky enough to get one that works. With my experice, VL has quaity control issuse and because of that, I do not want to see any new player buy one unless they know how to fix them, which is unliky. It's no fun to play with a marker that dose not work. I would strongly recomend a spyder or phriana's cause they just seem to work, right out of the box. As far as a exppericene player gose, If you want to take a chance and buy cause It's cheap, go for it. As long as your prepaird to fix from time to time.
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, August 1st, 2006 at 1:18 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SouthSideSlider Friday, May 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Pilot ACS 05, custom biult VL Crusader,spyder MR1, Smartparts ION
Marker Setup: 16" Smartparts proggessive rifled barrel 06'
Metal striker plug
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel, metal striker plug if you are only doing this everyonce in a while for woodsball or a backup onw as a main gun or Speedball gun i say take all the internals out and set them aside you need to MAKE all new internals
Strengths: Cheap, Accurate, Solid, Rarely chops a ball.
Weaknesses: The plastic striker plug that comes stock broke on me and will warp over time.
Review: ok basicly for a $80 players Kit this gun is more than worth the money you spend on it. Stock it is has a slow ROF and the barrel is total crap. it has a long triger pull but if you are willing to deal with that the thing is amazing. I have 2 of these guns one which i tore apart complettely and biult all new ultalight internals for as well as fitted a PMI E-Force grip onto it. while my other one was bought as a secondary incase i needed it which i like just as much as my new Spyder Pilot ACS. the facts are is for the price this gun is amazing and for the new player it is more that what you need.

Conclusion: Great begginer gun for woodsball but not for speedball. Reliable and accurate it is a great chose and for the experianced players who want more it is a blank slate for true customization which means making your own parts!!!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, May 14th, 2007 at 5:40 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

unknownsoldier Wednesday, August 1st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Marker Setup: Viewloader Crusader with a smart parts 14 inch spyder threaded progressive barrel, VL200 loader, 20oz CO2 tank with a backup 9oz.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel, expansion chamber, maybe a new hopper, shorter trigger. A DIFFERENT GUN.
Strengths: Powerful, Loud and easy to disassemble
Weaknesses: Chops paint loads, inaccurate, no expansion chamber, loud, leaks gas
Review: I bought this gun off ebay for $50. The package included, a crap JT mask, 9oz Co2 tank, barrel plug, squeege, and a small amount of brass eagle gun oil. Now the review:

Pros:

This gun is very loud and quite intimidating, perfect for scaring the cocky little kids you usually find at your site lol. Also it isn't very expensive so it's an alright pack for a beginner player.It's also quite powerful, I shot my friend with it after shooting the gun in his back garden, he got a bruise that lasted a week lol. Its easy to dissasemble with the field-strip-pin and to keep the internals in good condition.

Cons:

The standard 10 inch barrel is totally crap, I can find no expansion chamber to fit the thread that the hose fits into. The firing bolt has loads of friction put on it so after a few uses you would probably have to buy a new bolt. The double trigger is totally useless cos it's hard to fit your finger on the top part of the trigger as well as the bottom part and is to far forward to get up to any good amount of bps. The gun is to loud so it sounds like a shotgun (with the firing speed of one-lol). The gun leaks gas in many places so if your using co2 it will probably freeze up on you. The gun also chops paint like hell when you try to fire to any decent bps, after it's chopped the accuracy goes down a hell of a lot. I've gotten to 5bps without a chop. The feedneck on the gun is to wide so i put some selotape around my VL200 feedneck which helped a bit.
Conclusion: Don't buy this gun, crap gun for a small price, There's hardly any upgrades for it and it chops paint like hell. buy a different gun ASAP. I'm saving for a Smart Parts Ion and for some upgrades for it.
Rating:
3 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, August 1st, 2007 at 2:29 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Farion Friday, April 6th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
WGP Trilogy Sport - GREAT!!!
VL Trition II - Eh
JT Recon - Sucks
Tippman 98 Custom - LOUD
Marker Setup: VIewloader Crusader
VLocity
Co2 :P
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Loosen trigger
Nitro
Install a handle (optional)
Strengths: Light great for frontplayer
Weaknesses: Loud
Inaccurate
Review: I bought this gun in a player pack for 79 dollars at walmart. When i first took it out i thought it was great. I took it to play and it wasnt all that great. the barrel was alluminum and the sun shined in my eyes. You cannot use most hoppers with this gun. The double trigger is useless.I later sold this gun for 40$ and bought a WGP Trilogy SPort (Which is amazing.)
Conclusion: Great Begginer gun, if you can buy all the upgrades.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ptbo Sunday, December 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: ion
piranha evo
kingman sonix
vl eggy 2
72/3000 psi tank
Strengths: Worked better than i thought it would.
Weaknesses: For the category it is in nothing.
Review: Alright so a bunch of friends and me were going paintballing. We were 1 short on markers so we took a trip to walmart where i bought this gun for my friend to use and he would buy it off me later. So in the game i let my friend use my evo and i used this. I expected it to be a piece of junk but believe it or not for the price it performed amazingly. I figured it would just be a blender but i was shooting lots of people out.
Conclusion: This marker is pretty good for its category and earned my respect. If you are a beginner buy it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

stormer1092 Sunday, March 18th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98 custom and 98 custom pro
Marker Setup: extreme rage overdrive hopper, 20oz pure energy co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
expansion chamber and new electric trigger
Strengths: Very short good for getting close to bunkers and also pretty fast.
Weaknesses: Feed neck hopper some times twists on you.
Review: When I play it barely chops a ball very durable easy to clean very cheap and it doesn't freeze up with co2 in cold weather it is very balanced at the handle and it comes stock with custom grips with good grip. The hopper that comes loose is easy to fix you just put a small peace of tape around the neck of the hopper and it works perfectly.
Conclusion: I would saw buy it if you don't want an electric marker but if you do you should just spend a little extra for the viewloader high voltage the new gun by viewloader
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media