paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Strange Ion Body Kit / Strange Ion Body Kit / Strange Ion Body Kit / Strange Ion Body Kit / Strange Ion Body Kit

Strange Ion Body Kit Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Strange

Buy Strange Ion Body Kit

Paintball Ion Bodies

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Strange Ion Body Kit
[ View Photos (9) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 10
Average Rating: 7.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $150

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Strange ION Features
- Removable end cap for easy bolt access.
- Custom milled 3D aluminum body.
- High gloss anodized finish.
- Strange Jewel Sticker
- Plastic is for TOYS!
- Strange Internals
Product Availability 
The Strange Ion Body Kit is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
VooDooAddict Wednesday, June 29th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
The only body kits I've used in the past were Automag/MicroMag.
Marker Setup: Ion (Smart Parts) - Two Markers
- QEV (both)
- Strange Body (Stock on 2nd)
- CP Roller Trigger (Stock on 2nd)
- 70/4500 Centerflag Pre-Set High-Presure Tank (45/4500 on 2nd)
- Apache (12V Rev with JT Speed Pods on 2nd)
- 14" Evil Driver (12" SP Progressive on 2nd)

Shocker 2k2 (Shoebox) Vert Feed Turbo / SF (Blue Fade)
- 88/4500 MaxFlo (Blue and Blue Cover)
- Richochet Apache (Blue)
- 14" Smart Parts AA (Matching Blue Fade)

Shocker 4x4
- 114 /4500 CenterFlag Pre-Set High-Presure Tank (Camo Cover) On Big Kapp Drop
- Richochet Apache (Camo Cover)
- 16" CP One Piece (Camo Cover)
Strengths: Removable Rear Bolt
Weaknesses: Weight
Installation (read more)
Some QEVs may not fit.
Review: NOTE: This is my brief review from my limited testing. I have acquired, installed, and tested the marker with the body on. I have NOT yet played with it in competition. So long term durability is unknown at this point. I will update after a few weekends of play.


Regardless of your opinion on the Ion. The fact is that it became a very popular marker in a very short time. One of the biggest drawbacks of the Ion is the regular maintenance. While it is simply cleaning and re-lubing the bolt and bolt Orings ... it's a process with many steps.


The Strange Body reduces removing the bolt to a much simpler task. And you only have to completely remove one screw from the marker.

1. Loosen the Front and Center Frame screws 1/2 turn. (1/8" Allen Key)
2. Remove the Rear Strange Cap. (Done by hand)
3. Remove the Rear Frame screw. (1/8" Allen Key)
4. Remove the Firing chamber using the same wrench that was provided with the ion to adjust velocity.
5. You now have access to the bolt.

Reversing the process just takes one additional step.
- Insert and Lineup the Strange Donut with the rear frame screw.


On a Stock Ion to get to the bolt you will have to completely remove 9 screws (counting the banjo fittings):

1. Remove 3 of the 4 grip screws. (Philips head)
2. Remove battery.
3. Remove Three Trigger frame screws. (1/8" Allen Key)
4. Carefully pull the body away from the frame about 1/2"
5. Remove frame banjo fitting. (1/8" Allen Key)
6. Remove board/solenoid from frame
7. Remove Eye Cable
8. Remove Front body Banjo (or QEV) (1/8" Allen Key)
9. Remove Rear body Banjo (1/8" Allen Key)
10. Slide Main body out of the "plastic" cover
11. Remove the Eye board.
12. Separate the breach from the firing chamber.
13. You now have access to the bolt.


Installation
The initial main body installation just takes a little longer then the Ion's standard maintenance. I only had one problem with the installation. My ANS QEV needed ALOT of teflon to seal properly. I suspect that some QEVs will NOT fit.


Weight / Size
The biggest drawback is that the Strange body adds almost half a pound more weight then the stock shell. Personally this isn't a problem for me. But I know this will bother some.
Conclusion: If you want simpler maintenance and don't mind a little extra weight. Then the Strange Body kit is a must have.

Giving it a 7 out of 10 due to the weight, QEV problem, and the word "ION" carved into the side.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
13 Comments - Add Comment

Jesse the body Sunday, July 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pretty much you say it ive used it.
Marker Setup: angel 4 fly with a dye ultralite (thats all you need for the damn thing!) and a strange ion with qev,detents,fbm trigger, q-lock, and thats all i remember?
Strengths: Removable back, shiny, head turner.
Weaknesses: A lil heavy but suck it up sweetheart.
Review: Well i bought this off badlands and i pulled it out of the oversized box full of foam and almost blew my load in my pants. this body is so sexy! i brought it home and put it on. YES this is a pain in the ass to put on. but what life would be homo if everything was easy. My qev (new designs) fit on with no problem. but once you get this all assembled it is just as easy to take apart as if you had your plastic body on. although when i play with it and get shot on the side where the milling is i wanna cry because cleaning that is a pain. oh yeah did i mention this body is EXPENSIVE!!?!?!??!
Conclusion: this is a amazing body to get for your ion. BUT this body is very very very expensive oh my god! but i reccomend you save your money and get this because you wont regret it. youve prolly herd this before but i give it a 9 because nothing is perfect.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

StrangeIon Wednesday, January 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Body
Marker Setup: ~!-**Red/Black Custom Ion**-!~
Red Strange Body
Black 85* Element Frame
ScenarioDreams Tboard
Lucky Stages 1,2,3
Dye Membrane Pad
14'' Red/Black All American
Clippard Qev!
Red/Black Custom Products Reg
Red/Black Trinity T-Lock Feedneck
Red Custom Products Pro Rail
Black Custom Products 2k5 On/Off
Red Ndz Roller Wave Trigger
Ndz Delrin Detents
Arsenal Custom 90* Grips
Smoke Halo B with Rip and Victory Board
45/45 MacDev LegionAir with Grey 45ci C5 Dye Tank Cover
Strengths: Looks, Durability
Weaknesses: Weight
Review: This body looks way better than the stock one. When I first got it, the first thing that stuck out was the anno, its great, no flaws and its really shiny lol. When I hold it I notice the weight difference, but it more than makes up for it in looks. Everyone that sees it really likes it! Installation is easy enough as long as u know what u doing, and i didnt have a qev problem
Conclusion: Great product, it is heavier than the stock body, but everything else is top Class
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, January 25th, 2006 at 8:56 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cmandh Monday, September 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Body
Marker Setup: 2005 Ion. Black Strange Body kit. Evil red to black fade driver barrel. adjustable drop <--. Halo B. Clamping Feedneck. Took out Trigger magnet. Coming (45/4500 tank, Hybrid grips)
Strengths: Looks Cool?
Something Different
SHINY!
Easier Bolt Access
Weaknesses: Looks Bad?
Somewhat Heavier
Installation
QEV Troubles?
Review: Just got one of these babies from Punishers. I didn't install it myself, but the proshop said it was a royal pain in the @$$ and it took them an an extra day or so. However, to some people it looks waay cool and it makes you different from any other dude with an ION. Overall, I'm happy i bought it and I wouldn't go back and change the decision.
Conclusion: "If the ride is fly, you got to buy." Go ahead and get it if you have a $100 bucks toward an upgrade lying around and you want to stand out in a crowd. However, don't expect it to make it as cool or good looking as a milled and faded etc., high end marker.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

JESTERfor666 Friday, June 6th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
New Designs Aluminum Body
Marker Setup: SP Ion
Firebolt
360 QEV
Blackheart
Max-Flow 47/3000
Freak
Strengths: Rear Bolt Removal
Field Stripability
Weaknesses: Non-standard rear hose fitting
Review: Ok, I bought my Ion from a friend of mine 6-months ago as he needed the money. It came with this Strange Ion body. He said that its a great body since the bolt can be serviced without tearing the gun completely apart.

I let the gun sit for a couple of months (it was snowing outside) and finally when I go to play around with the gun and see what it can do... it doesn't work. I go online and find the troubleshooting guide and look up why the bolt is stuck forward. It says that I need to clean the gun and probably replace a number of o-rings. So, I do what it says, first cleaning and then taking the gun to a paintball shop for the o-rings and their diagnosis. They tell me to come back that night and pick the gun up. I get a call about 2 PM and they tell me that the rear fitting is broken, internally broken and that they don't have that part.

I had to buy a new standard body, fitting, firing can, and o-rings as they were bad as well which all cost me around $150. Now, I do think that a normal fitting would work, if they designed their body correctly in the first place.
Conclusion: The moral of the story is to stick with standard parts as much as often, because when little pieces break it can cost a fortune in the end.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

burns130 Wednesday, March 5th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Shocktech SSC body (much better)
Marker Setup: Wow...here goes
2 X A-5's (set up the same way except for barrels)
R/T (1/8 inch tubing)
Cippard MEV-2 (QEV)
JCS Jet Click
X-7 paddles
X-7 hopper
Palmers Stabilizer
Cabela's brand 30mm red dot scope
Allen brand aluminum front grip covered with black diamondback grip (fits perfect, feels awesome, looks downright mean)
remote with quick disconnect
Crossfire 70/4500 HPA with black empire stubby cover
Flatline with thumb screw kit (gun #1)
J&J Edge Elite Kit with 10/12/14 fronts (gun #2)

2 X ions (set up same way except for color/different bolt out back bodies/one polished red and one polished blue)
NDZ skeleton bolt
Clippard MEV-2 (QEV)
clamping feedneck
NDZ small rail
Empire Reloader B
CP on/off ASA
stock reg (for now)
stock board (for now)
Shocktech SSC bolt out back body (red)
Strange Ion bolt out back body (blue)
Crossfire 70/4500 HPA with black empire stubby cover
J&J Edge Elite kit (10/12/14 fronts)

Autococker trilogy sport

Chrony A1 chronograph



Strengths: Bolt out back design
Pretty good looking
Weaknesses: Heavy
Heavy
Heavy
O'rings with kit leak
Review: I purchased two different BOB bodies for two new Ions. One Shocktech SSC and one Strange Ion kit.

Shocktech SSC:
The kit took a while to install (you can read my full review under that kit) and the body kit required larger firing chamber O'rings to prevent leaking. However, the kit is absolutely fantastic looking and weighs just a few ounces more than the stock polymer Ion body. When I took the marker to my local shop, the tech was amazed that the marker felt the same weight as the stock Ion behind the counter even though I had a CP on/off ASA and small drop on it (the skeleton bolt at 10 oz helped). The marker now weighs 2.4 lbs vice 2.2 stock. The Shocktech is a fantastic body with weaknesses being installation (which was the same for the Strange Ion below) and high cost. The kit gets a 9.

Strange Ion:
As with the SSC, the Strange kit takes a while to install due to the need to remove/replace the dunut clip (takes a special tool...can be done with two sets of needlenose pliers and 4 hands). Also, as with the SSC, the firing chamber o'rings were a bit too small and leaked until replace by slightly larger rings. This seems to be a trend with aftermarket BOB body kits. However, unlike the SSC, the Strange Ion kit is a beast. It weighs a bit over 9 oz and you can feel it. After I place the kit on the marker, it was difficult to get past the extra half a pound of weight on the marker. Some will say, suck it up. However, any even somewhat serious player knows that carrying around an extra half pound of dead weight is silly. As a result, I took the body off of the gun. I will sell it on ebay to recoup some of the cost. I also ordered another SSC (this one in blue vice red). Bottom line...you can get this kit for $50-$75 dollars versus the $90 an SSC currently runs but you will regret it if you ever see or hold a marker with the SSC body. I know first hand...buy the SSC. The Strange Ion kit gets a 5.
Conclusion: Shocktech SSC is a far better body. No extra weight since the rear plug also doubles as the donut ring. Body is light and very good looking. Weakness is high price.
Strange Ion is pretty good looking but does not hold a candle to the SSC in that area. It is also a beast. It's primary strength is that you can purchase it for a little over half of an SSC body. However, it's much heavier weight (about double that of the Shocktech)makes the SSC a much better kit.
BUY THE SSC.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bmw95ti@aol.com Friday, May 25th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Lucky 5.1
shocktech (BOB)
Stock
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
Fire Bolt
Evil Detonator
Trinity Trigger
Smart Parts Q-Lock clamp
Evloution II view loader
DYE Gun Grip
Virtue easy-on button
CP Flame drop forward
Smart Parts Progressive Barrel 14"
Smart Parts QEV
Killa Ball Detents
1st Series Strange Body Kit (BOB)
Strengths: Back of bolt system
Sexy as hell
Awesome deep red color
Weaknesses: A bit heavier
Install needs to be precise to prevent air leaks
Review: First off Oh My God!! This thing is about as sexy as body kits come. I found this 1st series strange kit on ebay for 60.00 buy it now. I could not resist, I was in the middle of debating over the deadly winds negative ion kit or to get a shock tech like my brothers. I am glad I ran across this crazy deal. It was brand new never used so I had to jump on it. This body kit made the lucky kit look like a third grader had made it. (see my review on the lucky 5.1). This thing is very exact with lines and paint, I am almost affraid to play with it because it is so beautiful I do not want to scratch it. The install took a little longer than I wanted but it was easy if you have ever taken your ion apart. I should have read all the directions before starting (i would have saved a lot of time). Directions were exact and easy to follow. I really have to give it up to strange I can honestly say that this is the nicest milled body ont he market for your ion, sorry deadly wind I love the negative ion but for 60.00 I had to go with the strange.
Conclusion: If you want a sexy looking gun buy this kit. I would not have spent 150.00 on it, but if you can find one around the same price as mine on ebay buy it. Its a bit heavier but worth every extra ounce.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ace2087 Friday, February 23rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Ion Body
Marker Setup: Strange Ion
SP Freak back with All-american tip
SP Firebolt
SP 360 QEV
SP Qlock
CP Reg
CP Blade trigger
CP Rail
Core on/off
Hyrbrid CK Grips
NDZ Detents
Bob long mini gauge
Strengths: Bolt On Back!!!
LOOKS!!!!!!
Durable
Did I say looks?
Weaknesses: Installation....
Wish it eye access
nothing else thus far
Review: I a Strange version 1 Ion body and a Smart Parts Qlock for a steal on Ionowners. The body was brand new (owner won stage 5 at tourny), I kinda hated having to strip the Ion all the way apart just to lube the bolt so I decided I wanted to get a BOB body and came across this baby. I got it in the mail and installed it right away, It was a little hard but not as bad as I thought it would be from what I read. The hardest part for me really was geting the C-clip off the stock firing can (dident have the tool for it). I aired it up and had a very small leak from my QEV so I took it apart and moved a wire that was getting pinched up and it fixed the problem. *note* - you might have to trim either your front or rear hoses on the board to fit up right ** I aired it up and dry fired about 20 shots. Still not leaks...YES!!!!!. I couldent be more happy with this body, I got it in dust black (to match everything else on my marker) and it looks SICK!!!!. I will post a pic tomorrow if I have time. It just makes the Ion look SO MUCH BETTER, I never really cared for the stock plastic body very much. The body is a little bit heavier but nothing major. quite frankly I think I like it, makes the marker feel so much more solid. As this being my first body I have ever bought I will have to wait a few months to give a complete test on how well it holds up and performs, but so far I FREKIN LOVE THIS BODY!!!!! Go get one , you will love it.
Conclusion: Overall I think this is one of the sickest Ion bodies I have ever seen. No pictures I seen did this body just, but once I put on my marker and had everything together (OMG!!!). I am giving this body a 10/10. I just cant get over how much better my Ion looks and how much easier it is to get to the bolt. AWSOME JOB BY THE GUYS AT STRANGE GEAR!!!!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

A72S36W Tuesday, July 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
plastic body kits
Marker Setup: smartparts ion
blackheart
ND flat trigger
ST feedneck
freak barrel
HALO B
SP dovetail drop
SP on/off
Strengths: Looks cool
Easy bolt acess
Weaknesses: Heavy
Makes cleaning harder
Somtimes the word "ion" is not on the body kit
leaks
Review: The strange ion bodykit is very stylish and the back bolt acess is a niffty feature.
Since the bodykit has back bolt acess, it can somtimes leak air making the air efficency poor. It also makes cleaning the eyes harder because the bodykit is hard to get off and the risk of damaging your internals.
Conclusion: It depends on what you want it for. If you want it for looks, go ahead and buy it. If you want for
looks and good performance.....skip it
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

dclapham Friday, November 11th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock body
Marker Setup: Clippard QEV, CCM No Pro, VP Scythe, Blackheart board
Strengths: Bolt out the back, Looks
Weaknesses: Weight, need to clean the eyes?
Review: Got this a few months ago from Punishers. Sat down to install and remained there for a good hour. The Clippard QEV went in without a problem, the doughnut retaining clip was another story. I ended up modifying a pair of needle nose pliers to get that sucker off.
After installation was complete (no leaks, yeah!) I removed the bolt using the new system. I found it somewhat of a hassle. After removing the bolt I realized that broken paint from chopping would require complete dis-assembly of the marker to access the eyes. :(
Conclusion: Overall the Ion is heavier, but (IMO) much better looking. If you are looking for a aesthetic upgrade and easier access to the bolt then this body is a good option. The Ion will still need to come apart from time to time
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media