paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Evil Omen 2.0 / Evil Omen 2.0 / Evil Omen 2.0 / Evil Omen 2.0

Evil Omen 2.0 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Evil

Buy Evil Omen 2.0

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Evil Omen 2.0
[ View Photos (26) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 74
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $400

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Gentlemen, we can rebuild it.
We have the technology.
We have the capability to make the worlds first bionic marker.
The Omen 2.0 will be that marker.
Better then it was before.
Better, Stronger, Faster.
-Expanded LPC
-New larger Trigger Frame
-Dual LED's
-Aluminum/Delrin Bolt
-Expanded Valve
-More Precise and Durable Re-cock Adjustment
-Driver Barrel
-ASA with Gauge
-No Rise Feed Tube
-1.5 Cam Arms - force feed compatible
-1.5 Board - capable of 25 BPS
Available now (for less then 6 million dollars)
Product Availability 
The Evil Omen 2.0 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
cyberpyr8 Monday, August 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month169 of 172 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
SP Ion
Spyders
Marker Setup: Evil Omen 2.0 with a Lapco clamping feedneck, Crossfire 47/3000 tank and Egg II Hoppers and a Revvy w/X board.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Clamping Feedneck. That's it!
Strengths: See Below
Weaknesses: See Below
Review: My two sons and I ordered 3 Evil Omen 2.0’s to replace the Ions we had. We received the first marker from Boss Paintball Products and were immediately impressed with the professional looking box. Upon opening it we found the marker lying in the box surrounded by foam pieces. It wasn’t a custom lined box, but it was adequate to protect the marker and other parts.

The 1.5 Omens only came in black. The new Omen 2.0 markers come in black, red and blue. The red and blue are very nice looking. The anodizing was good but it didn’t seem to have the deep quality that other, more expensive markers seem to have. Still, they are very clean looking markers with the design and color.

We took the Omen out and saw that it came with plenty of documentation and a huge tube of Evil Pus. There was an AC adapter for the rechargeable battery. Evil included a bag of tools, a replacement hammer cushion and o-rings. A black Evil barrel sock finished off the list of included accessories.

The Omen weighs only 2.7 lbs. stock. A stock Ion is 2.2 lbs. so the fact that the Omen has an all aluminum frame doesn’t make it too heavy. My 10 year old son was easily able to handle his throughout the day.

The documentation that comes with the Omen 2.0 was impressive compared to the other markers that we have owned. It had a real manual with color pictures and accurate step by step instructions. The manual covers such areas as safety instructions, operating instructions and adjustments. It also covers CO2 and nitro usage with your Evil marker. Nitro usage is recommended for performance and speed. However, a CO2 can be used as long as it has an anti-siphon kit.

The lifetime warranty is covered partly in the manual along with a certificate. It has a form to fill out with 18 statements that have to be initialed! With one of the best warranties on any marker, you feel secure in knowing you have coverage for the life of your Omen. A definate plus for heavy users.

The on/off bottom line that comes standard with the Omen is a nice touch. However, I found the knob to turn it off was difficult to turn since the knob tapers down and there isn’t any real grip to hold on to. Once I put some Pus on it it turned much easier (thanks for the advice Boss). The on/off power switch is nice, especially compared to the membrane button on the Ions. The Evil on/off button allows you to easily turn it on or off even with gloves on. There is a bright red light in the Evil logo that illuminates on both sides of the marker when it is on. I did replace the rechargeable batteries with regular 9V batteries. The reason was because just testing the triggers and playing with the markers after a full charge it didn’t seem to last very long. The 9V battery lasted all of us all day long and is still going strong.

I found the trigger frame to be a little small. If you have large fingers you may find it very tight. The regulator also seems like it is located too close to the trigger frame. Both of these problems are not major issues but something to be aware of. The stock trigger looks like it will be difficult to walk. It is quite the contrary. I found it much easier to walk than the Ion triggers. It was even easier than our NDZ upgraded triggers. Everyone that tried it out was able to walk the trigger very quickly. I had considered upgrading the triggers but decided to keep it after trying them.

I opted to replace the non-clamping feedneck with an Impulse threaded Lapco clamping feedneck. They are a nice upgrade to have. Otherwise I plan on leaving my Omens stock. With such great stock parts included there isn’t a reason not to.

The Omen only fires in Semi mode. There is a one page sheet that explains programming. My 13 year old son read it and programmed the guns for 25 bps and a debounce of 5. It was very easy and quick to do. The stock Omen board is capable of 25 bps but does not come with a standard ramping board. There may be boards coming out for it eventually that will allow ramping.

We finally had all three of our markers and got the opportunity to take them out to our favorite indoor field. The first thing to do with them was to set the velocity and recock settings. To do that, you first set the recock all the way down with a small hex screw in the side of the marker and back it out a quarter of a turn. Then adjusting the Detonator regulator it comes with stock, you set the velocity 10 fps above the limit you are trying to achieve by shooting one ball at a time. Once that is set, you then adjust the recock so that it will hold the recock every time it is fired. When this happens the velocity goes down by 10 points.

At recock testing step is where we first attracted attention. As I dry fired the marker at a high rate of speed, I shot a full tank of air out. When I turned around to walk back to the setup area I realized that the speed of the marker had attracted a small crowd! We were asked about the Omens at least 10-20 times throughout the day. Everything from “what is it?” to “when did they start making Omens in red?”. People were generally impressed.

Once we had the markers setup it was off to play. The Omen performs well on the airball field. It is plenty fast for most players needs. Equipped with our z-boarded egg II, the Omen is nicely weighted and balanced. The fact that the feedneck is off to the side makes it nice to look down the barrel to shoot. I was able to sight over the barrel for very accurate shooting. The autococker threaded 12” driver barrel that comes standard with the Omen 2.0 is a decent stock barrel. The accuracy is great. The driver goes from a .689 bore size and opens to a .700 at the end. Our Draxxus Midnight paint shot well through it.

Towards the middle of the day, the velocity on the Detonators had changed due to it not being fully broken in. We had a few balls break in the cam area. However, after choronographing the markers again they shot even better then they did in the morning. The Detonator is an incredible regulator. It would shoot at a +/-3 after only shooting about 3000-4000 shots through it. The Omen never felt underpowered or inferior to any other markers we were shooting against.

The speed was great for the faster paced airball games we played. There were games where the opponents literally overwhelmed by the fast paced firing. Just the sound of the marker firing and the amount of paint being thrown gave us advantages during some games with less experienced players.

I believe the Omen would also be a great woodsball and rec player marker just because of its balance of speed and accuracy. Plus at around $319 retail it is a great bargain. It gives you high end performance at a mid level price.

At the end of the day we cleaned up the markers. It was surprisingly easy, even though paint had broken in the cam area of two of our markers. The field strip pin pulls out and allows you to pull the bolt and hammer out. It is very similar to a Kingman Spyder design. There are few parts that you need to lube. Following the manual you will find that a simple cleaning of the bolt and hammer and re-lubing the o-ring of the hammer was sufficient. I also cleaned the cam area and the feedneck. The feedneck flips up but there was paint visible underneath the hinged area so it had to be removed to get the paint out. This is done by removing a long screw. It was very simple and quick to do. It allowed me to wipe the paint out and be sure the whole marker was clean of paint.

Overall, I was very impressed with the Omen 2.0 marker. It is a very powerful, simple marker to own and operate. It is a great value for the money. If you are looking for a marker that doesn’t require major upgrades to be competitive you will be pleasantly surprised by the Omen.

Marker: Evil Omen 2.0
Price: $319-$329

Pros:
2nd best regulator (Detonator)
Driver Barrel standard
On/Off Standard
A unique marker that stands out in a crowd
Great trigger
Hopper is off to the side for sighting
Light, Accurate and affordable


Cons:
Small trigger frame, Regulator is too close to the trigger frame
Annodizing quality is questionable
A clamping feedneck is almost required for most hoppers
No ramping option (yet)

**Updated 1-12-06**
I have been PM'd about how I feel about them after having them for a few months. Here are my thoughts.

The Omens have held up well. My kids and I use them about every other weekend and my oldest son is hard on them! We have beat them up pretty well and they still are running great. I really don't have any complaints about them. The few minor issues we have had have all been handled by PMI tech support in a quick and timely manner. The issues we have had all have been caused by user error. I have forgotten to tighten the adjustment collar on the detonators a few times which has caused tears in the reg seals. In trying to repair those I screwed up the inner parts of the detonator. Evil sent me a new reg in one case and repaired the reg seat in the other. No hassles or problems. They never questioned us on warranty or gave us any problems. At first I had a few bad cup seals but Evil sent me new ones and they have been running fine ever since. We had one Omen hit the floor in a gun stand onto concrete and it still worked but I had them check it out anyway. And a paintball shop broke my hammer assembly. Evil sent me a replacement one, again with no hassles.

The Omens shoot great. Once the regulators were really broken in they have been very consistent and stable. We get +/-1 to +/-3 on all three regs. They are fast markers that are great as a back mid or front player gun. They aren't too heavy and are well balanced. I never feel under powered in a gun battle with Shockers, DM's or the like. I would suggest using a larger capacity tank like a 68/45 just to be sure you have plenty of air and don't run into recock issues towards the end of a game. They are to say the least an impressive gun for $320.

After several months of use (and abuse) I still think that they are the same gun that I reviewed. If I had to do it all over again, I would still buy the Omen and recommend it to everyone.
Conclusion: Evil has delivered a marker that is almost the perfect gun for most players. It shoots fast and accurately. If you are looking to buy a marker that doesn’t break the bank needing upgrades consider the Evil Omen 2.0.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, January 12th, 2006 at 12:23 pm PST
I found this review  
60 Comments - Add Comment

Alphahunter742 Tuesday, August 30th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested31 of 31 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tipmann 98c- my old marker... not nearly as good as the 2.0.
Tipmann A-5- cousin's marker... not bad but nothing like this.
Various Spyders- not bad at all but the 2.0 outclasses it.
Ions- About it's equal, however... Stock 2.0 blows away the stock Ion
Various Angels, Timmys, Imps- Though they can be 3x the price of the 2.0, the new Omen shoots just as well as them.
Marker Setup: -Evil Omen 2.0
-Evo 2 hopper
-CO2 (anti-syphoned)
-Everything else stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Honestly all you really need, judging by what I can tell, is a fast hopper. The reg is one of the best in the world. The feedneck is fine, but you can buy a clamping one if you feel like it. The Evil Driver is an excellent stock barrel. Though it CAN run fine on CO2, I highly suggest getting nitro, when you can afford it, as any gun can be made better when you run it.
Strengths: -Fast
-GREAT Reg
-You can aim down the barrel
-Pretty durable
-Accurate
-Lifetime Warrenty
-Consistant
Weaknesses: -Setting the recock
-External Parts
-Small amount of kick
-Can be a gashog
Review: Okay, let me start out by saying... Yes, I only "tested" this marker. However, my best friend has it, and I believe I have enough experience with it to write a review. I even assembled it, set the recock, etc. I loved it so much that I sold my 98c and I am saving up to purchase this excellent marker myself.

I was at my friend's house when he first opened the box, and I can say I was impressed. It came packaged with foam pieces protecting the marker and it's parts. It comes with an excellent manual that you can download from the Evil website in case you lose it. It came also with a tool set, Evil Pus, spare parts, rechargeable battery with charger, and a barrel sock. Overall I was impressed with all the things the marker came with; Evil doesn't skimp you.

After setting the recock (my friend is a little slow: he asked for my help) with some help from the manual, we were good to go. We went to our local field, went to chrono, and to our surprise, the regulator performed excellently. +-2 at the smallest, +-3 at the most. If you want a gun that is consistant for a reasonable price, this won't let you down, trust me.

Anyhow, we began a game of speedball. I had my 98c and my friend was using the 2.0. We played on the same team, so I can't say how it feels to be fired upon with the marker. However, it appeared very intimidating to the other team. They seemed to be pinned down behind the bunkers; the sound and speed of the marker was probably the cause.

After winning that game, my friend agreed to let me swap markers with him. Let me tell you, it was this experience which led me to sell my 98c and start saving for my own Omen 2.0. It gave me the speed that my 98c never had. It gave me a powerful feeling pinning people down behind bunkers. Accuracy wise... Let me put it this way. Some guy was peeking out from one of the bunkers. I saw him, quickly aimed, and got a mask hit, dead in the forehead. Impressed? That is an understatement.

The styling on this thing is excellent too. MANY color combos to appeal to anyone's styles. The anodizing was superb too. The one my friend has is red and black. On one day when we went paintballing, several people started asking us what it was, how much it cost, and how sick it looked.

The strengths of this marker own the weaknesses. The strengths of the marker are pretty self explanitory, but I will talk a bit about the weaknesses. First of all, the major "problem" is supposed to be the recocking system. I don't even own the marker, yet by reading the manual I was able to set the recocking perfectly. The moving external parts of the system can be problematic, but if you are careful, don't constantly drop the marker while firing it, you will be fine. If you have any muscle tone at all, the kick should not hurt your accuracy at all. The gashog issue is a problem, however many markers these days have the same problem. It is barely a problem, however. Chances are you won't even notice it.

I feel like I have covered most of the important stuff. Thus, I shall end this long and drawn out review.
Conclusion: My conclusion? If you want an excellent marker that is fast, accurate, consistant, backed by an excellent company for life, and can keep up with the most expensive markers at a very reasonable price, this is the marker for you. It hardly needs any upgrades to be dominant on the field. The first time I used it... It convinced me to sell my only marker. That is how incredible this marker is. Get the Evil Omen 2.0. I can swear that it won't let you down. 10/10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
12 Comments - Add Comment

teamfarside Monday, August 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months18 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Omen 1.0
Evo
Spyders
Ion
Marker Setup: Alias Intimidator
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe a clamping feed tube, but the o-ring one works pretty well.

Strengths: Simplest closed bolt gun in the world. No one else can even come close.
Weaknesses: You can't be an idiot. You might even have to be able to read.
Review: Much faster than the original Omen.
Much easier to tune to the recock.
Works great with a Halo, especially one with a Victory Board.
The new LPC allows it to work at lower pressure.
The gauge allows you to monitor that pressure.
Feed tube is super low and works as well as a clamping feed tube.
Now says Evil on the side so everyone doesn't ask what it is.

Check out the new Omen triggers too.
Conclusion: Buy it. You'll have a great closed bolt gun at a super cheap price.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

WILDCHILDC1 Wednesday, October 12th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month16 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Angel LCD, Smart Parts Impulse, Smart Parts Ion
Marker Setup: Stock 2k5 Black Omen 2.0 with CP Dust Black Lightning drop, Trinity Dust black feedneck, Red Evil Aftermarket Trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
Very few available besides barrel, feedneck and trigger
Strengths: This marker is well built, great feeling and is fun to play with.
Weaknesses: Recock adjustment kinda a hassle, kick, lack of accesories available
Review: I recently recieved my Omen 2.0, I opened the box and was quite impressed with the quality of the marker and the instructions. It took a little while to adjust the recock, and velocity but after I got it the marker shot excellent, but has more kick than im used to.. Ive owned Angels and Impulses and this thing seems to be just as good or better. The stock barrel is actually quite good, besides a drop, feedneck and trigger I havent found anything else I want as far as performance!! The on/off is a little harder to operate than some of the others but its not bad. Honestly, the only beef I have is that I cant get many upgrades or accesories for this marker, and the trigger/BPS adjustment is a little hard to get right. My first impressions are very good and I really like the feel and shot pattern of this marker so far!! I had a Impulse vision for quite a while and I purchased a Angel LCD.. The Angel was nice, but I didnt feel it was any better than my Impulse, I tried a Ion, But I didnt like the cheap feel of it... I tried a freind of a freinds Wrath, and wasnt impressed with it at all... It felt cheap and somewhat generic, So I guess what Im saying is im pretty hard to impress,... So when the Omen 2.0 made me smile.... It wasnt because I hadnt ever owned a $1K marker, or I wasnt comparing it to real nice markers. As far as Im concerned so far....You litterally cant beat the Omen 2.0 ... And For the price youll not find a better feeling, shooting marker.. Much less one that comes with a lifetime warranty!!! I cant give it a 9.5, And thats the best that Ive ever given a marker!!
Conclusion: Excellent Marker for the price!! Shoots just as well, and feels as good as a Angel IR3. Unless you are a sereous tournament player... This is all the marker youll ever need.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, October 19th, 2005 at 12:06 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Tippmann CQD Saturday, September 17th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Omen- Slower, Less Accurate, but still great marker
Outkast-Slower,More Accurate
98 Custom- no comparison
A-5- no comparison
Spyder Pilot ACS- similar but slower, less accurate
Marker Setup: Omen 2.0
Halo B w/ Victory Board & Rip Drive
68/4500 PMI Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Clamping Feedneck- Not Really Neccissary
Strengths: Speed
Accuracy
Quiet
Regulator
No Chops
Light
Consistency
Barrel
Reliable
Weaknesses: Gas Hog- Not Much
Review: The marker came in a nice box and included a manual, a large tube of pus, a tool kit, some extra parts, and a barrel bag. The box was foam-cell padding- very protective.

Positives-
25+ Bps Board- Pretty Fast in my opinion
Detonator Regulator- +or- 1 Fps & Now has a Gauge
Driver Barrel- 12'', Smooth, Straight, Good Bore Size, Enough Porting, Micro Honed
1.5 Cam Feed System- Better than 1.0 Cam Arms, Less Chopping
On/Off ASA- Very Nice to be Able to Turn Off the Air Supply
Larger LPC- Low Pressure is Good
CLOSED BOLT- Better Accuracy & Less Chops
Milling & Annodizing- Paintjob is superb & gun is fairly light at 2.7 Pounds

Negatives-
Gas Hog- Not too Bad- About 1100 shots on a hot 68/4500 Fill.

This gun has a lifetime warranty and needs almost no upgrades. You can't beat the price either- only about $319.99.
Conclusion: This is the best gun I have ever shot. It is very fast, accurate, quiet, light, and reliable. If you have $319.99, go pick one up. They're awesome.
Any Questions- PM me or leave Q's in comments.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, November 20th, 2006 at 1:11 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

omenross Sunday, August 14th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
ion-slower, uglier, more offbalance. 2.0 is better
Marker Setup: omen
1.5 ups
pipe kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothing much at all
evil pipe kit if anything
Strengths: Speed.
Consistancy at the chrono
Accuracy
Balance
Weaknesses: Kick
External moving parts
Review: This gun is really outstanding, it outperforms any gun in its range, and challenges the high end guns. Besides having a little bit of kick, it's really amazing. Anybody looking for a great gun that you dont need to spend a lot of money on, this is for you. The only thing I could reccomend is a pipe kit.
Conclusion: This gun is awesome and i reccomend it to anybody. Too the person who says he has used the omen 2.0 for 6 months, delete your review, the 2.0 hasnt been out for 2 months.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Shiv913 Wednesday, April 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Impulse, Ion, Autococker
Marker Setup: Evil Omen 2.0 - Stock
Halo B Hopper
PMI Pure Energy 68/4500
Hybrid Hedloc Feedneck (must have)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Gotta get the feedneck, I've only tried it with a Halo B and it wobbled and fell out on occasion. Get a clamping feedneck for sure.
Also haven't tried with Co2 but works perfect with n2
Strengths: Accurate
Consistant
Light
Awesome look
Easily Programmable
Weaknesses: On/Off Drop problem(see below)
Stock feedneck doesnt support most hoppers
Review: Alright, this isn't going to be the most thorough review, mainly cause its my first and I just got my gun, but I will make a follow-up.

Took my gun out yesterday, completely stock as it came with 68/4500 and a Halo B.

First thing, when you connect the air, make sure your cocking bolt is cocked, or else you may lose quite a bit of air.

Some of the first things I liked is the regulator. Super easy to set, just spin the grip its got on it, and when you're at the mark, tighten the hex.

The gun looks awesome and it comes in a very nice box. May not matter to some but first impressions do count for me. I immediately ran through the manual and the extra pages that comes with it, and I recommend you do to. Tells you very simply how to set your sensitivity(from 1 to 50) and your BPS(5-25) with the click of a trigger.

One of the biggest problem(and probably the only one that may matter) is that the trigger frame does not fit the Sticky 3's(Dye). This disappointed me quite a bit but with some modifications, you can make it work.

The On/Off Drop does not come with a bleed. May be a problem to some, I'm considering buying another one but it is not needed. Its tiny, dont let it stop you.

As I said above, the stock feedneck does not hold a Halo B. Cost me an extra 25 bucks but don't in anyway let that stop you from considering this gun.

When I got my gun, right out of the package, it was full auto. Very fun for some but it through me off. We found out how to change it but before that, we had some fun. Just hold the trigger and lay waste to anything, it was fun, but is easily programmable out of with the sensitivity.

My friend rolls a autococker and an impulse, and his brother an Ion. So he's expirienced a range of guns, and he had bad thoughts about mine, but when he first shot it, he was very suprised. Its accuracy is amazing, if you can hold the gun in one hand for 10 seconds, you won't have a problem with the kick(unlike what these other people say). The consistancy of the reg is awesome, never did I see a ball fall short until the air was completely out.

ADDED :: 5/7/06

OK, just took my gun to the field for the first time today. Was kinda excited to see what I've had it chrono'd at, thought it was a little high. First time, I clocked in at 310, no biggy, turned it down, did 3 consecutive shots. 387,388, 388. Awesome. The ref checked my gun out after that consistency. And while on the topic, I got so many "Hey, whats that gun?" and "Wow"'s. With my first field inexpirience still in play, I forgot to set the recock after turning it down. Right now, if you buy this gun, I recommend you learn how to set the recock(its all in the manual). So after that round, I turned the recock all the way down(CW until its tight), made sure it was choro'd at 385-390, and set the recock, real simple.

If your lazy, I'll explain. Turn your recock screw(left side of gun on the body-middle.) clockwise until its tight. Then adjust your reg. to whatever you like your gun chrono'd at. Then do consistent 1/4 turns on recock counter-clockwise, and test after each 1/4 turn. When your gun recocks itself consistently, turn the recock screw another 1/8(half of what you've been turning it) just to make sure you got a nice recock. And bam, no chops(unless you got bad paint, which isnt chopping). After that, I didnt have a chop all day.

OK, back to the field play. The barrel it comes with is amazing. And the feedneck being off to the side makes your scoping so much easier. Its speed is unriveled. I only saw one guy out there who probably had a faster gun, and it was a tricked out autococker, guy said he spent around $800 after he bought it to get it that way. Ion's were smashed by my gun. Ya, you can get an Ion and spend the extra $100 on upgrades but everyone has them and from what I saw, they're still not as good. I shot autocockers, DM5's and 6's, Ion's alot today, and I wouldn't trade my gun for any.
Conclusion: Overall, its a great gun, I got more than I expected. Some of the problems I had were from my in-expirience and neglegence. Read as much as you can about it, forums, reviews, everywhere. They dont have precise rating on here so my rating is acutally a 9.5. This definately surpasses all the guns in its price range, and fairly competes with the ones double its price.

ADDED :: 5/7/06

To finish off, buy this gun. I shot it in my backyard for the first review of it. It blew me away on the field though. I wouldn't use my money on a timmy or shocker before buying another one of these. I boosted my rating to 10, and I'd make it 20 if I could.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, May 9th, 2006 at 5:43 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

tmackidd1202 Saturday, September 10th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested7 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
defiant 2, same but this is alot cheaper
Ion- alot worse than the omen
b2k5- about equal but omen is cheaper and with the extra 100 bucks of ups u can put on it, it will b better
Marker Setup: promaster, ultralight, checkit unimount, nitro, halo b
Recommended
Upgrades:
none
Strengths: Fast accurate light durable 2nd best regulater, driver barrel
Weaknesses: Not enuff room from grip frame to trigger fram but its not that bad
Review: As i said
fast accurate light durable 2nd best regulater, driver barrel

The bads
not enuff room from grip frame to trigger fram but its not that bad

Very good gun all i can say. I tested it, it was smooth. Littttttttle kick but nothing to throw u off really. Get this gun or wear its paint!
Conclusion: Get this gun or wear its paint!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Spazt1k Tuesday, July 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98c
Marker Setup: Evil Omen
Veiwloader Vlocity
Pure Energy 45/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel
Clamping Feedneck
Strengths: Has Detonator reg ( one of the best )
Evil tech support is great
Lifetime warrenty
Weaknesses: Only Semi Auto ( dosent bother me tho )
Review: Yeah, the Omen is a great gun nothin wrong unless u dont like semi-auto, It has the braded air line which i like better than macroline, its pretty light, has a great reg +/- 2fps, but i need a new barrel, the driver barrel on it is ok but it isnt 2 accurate.... all in all i think the omen is the best gun for your money under 300, get it

EDIT: my detonator broke. And the evil tech support was so helpful. I sent it in and they got me a new one, thanks evil.
Conclusion: Its A great gun, Evil made a high quality product in a cheap price range.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, August 16th, 2006 at 5:50 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bballryand316 Monday, April 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Fully upped Spyders
Upped SmartParts Ions
I've also shot many high ends, such as DM4's.
Marker Setup: Black Evil Omen 2.0
Z-boarded Egg 2
114/3000 Nitro Tank
SmartParts Q-Lock feedneck
Evil Pipe Kit
Variety of Paint.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Clamping feedneck - basically all guns need this.
Also, I would have to say a new trigger, however there aren't a lot made.
Strengths: Lightweight, fast, accurate
Greak stock parts
Down-the-barrel sighting
Best Customer Service
Weaknesses: Bad stock trigger
Adjusting Velocity and Recock
Cock before airing up - sometimes hard to remember
Review: Entering into the Mid-End gun world.
There were many choices: B2k4 PDS, ION, Impulse, Omen, Prostock, Wrath, ect.
I really had to look at them and all the benefits.
Being somewhat new to these, i knew i would want one that isn't too hard to maintain.
Autocockers need to be timed, eyes can have problems.
I looked up them all, i found the Omen had "cam arms" that didn't break paint. I also found it to be a simple design similar to my previous guns.
After that, I started reading more on the Omen. A lot of people told me "They suck." And "Don't get them," even my local shop. After examining this, i found out that there have been 3 types of omens. 1.0 1.5 and 2.0. The 1.0 is the version that had those problems. The 1.5 had new cam arms and a new board. The 2.0 had those and better stock parts.
I saw a few Omen videos, and they shot really good.
Then i got one. I had really debated: Omen VS Ion. However, I believe the Omen was the better choice for me.
Upon receiving my gun, i immediately read the manual. (I had already read it many times before online) I learned all about the gun and how it worked. However, i did forget to cock it back when I aired it up, and i broke my cupseal. Evil sent me a free one in 3 days, without me sending them anything.
I was learning how to adjust it. I didn't set the recock right, and I'd have to recock after every shot. I also had put the BPS 1 too high, causing it to reset to 5 bps MAXIMUM. I honestly did not like my new gun at that point. I believe many people might feel this way at first. However, i set my bps to around 20, and its fine. No, i cannot shoot 20bps, but i can hit around 14. I also adjusted the air pressure and recock, which it turned out were VERY easy to do. I started shooting perfectly straight, consistent, and very fast.
It turned out that it wasn't a bad gun, I was just a bad gun owner.
Now, my Omen shoots better than any other Mid-End gun that I have shot.
I highly recommend it.
Conclusion: The Omen is by far the best Mid-End gun for the money in my opinion.
It is not difficult to maintain, and its very durable/reliable. Just remember to read the manual. (It's also on Evil's Website if you don't have one)
It can shoot as fast as i can pull the trigger, and shoots very consistent and accurate. The stock barrel is great. So are the other stock parts, such as the Detonator and the On/Off.
Overall, this is a great gun that you should definitely try out.
I highly recommend it.
9.8/10
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, August 9th, 2006 at 9:47 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media