paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Bob Long 2k5 Intimidator / Bob Long 2k5 Intimidator / Bob Long 2k5 Intimidator / Bob Long 2k5 Intimidator

Bob Long 2k5 Intimidator Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Bob Long

Buy Bob Long 2k5 Intimidator

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Bob Long 2k5 Intimidator
[ View Photos (14) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 32
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $1100

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Famous 2K2 milling, players favorite is available again with all the newest features. The redesigned grip frame features the new Frenzy board. The boards speed and innovative features are sure to revolutionize the current industry standards.

Specs:

Weight: 1.80 lbs.
Length: 19.1 in.
Height: 8.35 in.
Board: Newest Frenzy LED
Air Type: Compressed/Nitrogen
Pressure: Low Pressure
Firing Modes: Semi-Auto only
Bolt Style: Open Bolt

Features:

Capable of firing 25 BPS
Shot Counter
Game Timer
Custom Front Regulator
Anti-chop eye
Custom "Famous 2K2" Milling
300 PSI Gauge
Product Availability 
The Bob Long 2k5 Intimidator is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
hoodyombis Wednesday, October 5th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month25 of 26 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
smart parts ion
model 98
dynasty shocker
PGP
Marker Setup: cp microdrop

reloader b and a crossfire 68cu 4500psi

everything else stock...

Recommended
Upgrades:
nice barrel

Strengths: Fast

Quiet

Nice finish

Good gas efficiency

Easy to clean eyes

Accurate
Weaknesses: Nothing that isn't a problem in any other high end electric marker.
Review: I just got this bad boy a couple weeks ago. I play for the Michigan State University team and wanted something better than my uped Ion. Time to run this thing in a practice...

Strengths-
Price- the 2k5s have gone down quite a bit. You can get one cheaper than a vision shocker. I paid $695 US for mine. They are much cheaper than the upper level timmys. When you buy the top timmys, you are paying for the milling. If you don't have top dollar for the top level timmys do not fret, go with the 2k5 and you won't be disapointed.

Speed: This thing throws paint. You can get it going as fast as you want (semi only). If you want ramping, might want to invest in virtue or tadao board.

Looks: I got mine in a sweet black to green fade anodize. High quality milling and lusterous finish. You get the 2k2 body without the screw on intimidator plate (i'm not a fan), and the newer 2k5 style grip frame.

Accuracy: Darts. This marker will allow you to easily one ball sloppy players. The stock barrel isn't too bad. It is good for large/medium sized bore paint. Can't push bunks as well as I could with my 14 inch pipe kit for my ion.

Performance: It has it all. Could not be any more satisfied. I got over 1200 shots from a 3500 psi fill. I would have been able to get more shots if the guys at the local shop didn't give me a hot 4000psi.

Weakness-

( This doesn't even count.)
like any other marker, don't use crappy paint or it will break in you barrel.

be smart- take care of your new marker and it won't let you down.
Conclusion: Bob Long makes top notch products. Easy to maintain, reliable, and legendary. Intimidators live up to their name. Don't waste your money on a bunch of mech guns or upgrading your spyder. Go buy one. Now!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

rowdyw10 Wednesday, September 28th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
CCI VSC Phantom - well....it's a pump...so I don't know how to compare the two...

Model 98 - this was my first gun, always worked no matter what, good beginner gun but loud, heavy, and slow.
Marker Setup: 2005 Bob Long Intimidator (Black)
Frenzy LCD Board
Hybrid "B*tch" Grips (Red)
Check-It On/Off Unimount (Black)
Empire ReLoader B w/ Rip Drive (Red)
68ci 4500psi PMI Nitrogen Tank
Dye '05 Rhino Cover (Red)
Recommended
Upgrades:
REQUIRED
-Halo B or Empire ReLoader - you'll need the speed
-Run Nitrogen only CO2 equals BAD!
-Obviously you'll need an ASA, go for the Check-It Unimount, works flawlessly

NITPICKING
-Harder detents (To solve double feeding issues as a result of loader). I recommend Paintball Kingdom's hard blue detents
-New trigger, tho I use stock and works perfectly, but some may want easier walkability
-Possibly new board...Tadao...but the Frenzy works excellent
-Maybe a new barrel, Stock barrel is a Bob Long Assassin 12" and works great for a stock barrel, but I'm currently saving for a Stiffi Switch Kit (quite it down, lighten it, and maybe tighten my spread a little)
-Bolt w/ slots for detents (don't want to tear up those hard detents) currently saving for either an Orange or VP bolt
-Mayber new feedneck, many have claimed the stock sucks, but I haven't seemed to have trouble fitting and holding my ReLoader unsanded, so I don't know.
Strengths: -Speed
-Weight
-Reliability/Quality
-Looks
Weaknesses: -None
Review: I bought this marker after many months of research. I wanted a fast reliable marker that would compete with the current guns out there. Also, it had to look sexy : )

So, my result: 2k5 Timmy

The gun is amazing, and so dang good looking. First thing I did when I received my gun was completely dissassemble it and lube the thing up. So many people complain about their guns not working and they cry bad quality and bash the marker in reviews (*cough*like some who've reviewed this gun as crap *cough*). Why don't they stop complaining and take care of their marker. Probably 90 percent of problems with this gun and all others is poor decisions or mistakes on the operater. conclusion: lube your friggin gun...haha.....and replace worn parts.

This marker works flawlessly when I play, as long as I mantain it at home, it WILL NOT breakdown....that's all there is to it...it just works. Bob has truly constructed a wonderful and also affordable gun that competes with any.

I thought about getting one of the upper tier timmies, like an alias, or the ripper 2...but after researching and finding that the differences are miniscule or merely cosmetic, I chose the 2k5, and I am happy with my decision. Only a few ounces heavier than the hundreds of dollars more expensive upper model timmies, but barely noticeable. It's still soooo light. And it performs dang near the exact same as all those other timmy models, so for $700 it's a steal!

This gun works. PERIOD. It's light, fast, and so sexy. Plus its a Bob Long Timmy, so you're in good company...

I love it!
Conclusion: Buy this gun. It performs the same as all the upper priced timmies and is so sexy and fast. It's reliable (when correctly mantained and not operated by an idiot 10 year old) and competes with any marker on the current market.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, September 28th, 2005 at 6:25 pm PST
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

rmak Wednesday, March 28th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Automag ule upgraded (mechanical)
.
Marker Setup: Silver 2k5, cp on /off, new design sabre trigger, 116 frenzy board (semi-only), aluminum ram, empire reloader w/rip, black delrin bolt, micro line, 14" ultralite dye barrel,
68/4500 crossfire.
Recommended
Upgrades:
board, triggger, barrel, aluminum ram, and adjustable ram cap.
Strengths: Light and accurate.
Air efficient.
Fast with the upgrades.
Sleek looking.
Light recoil.
No chopping.
Weaknesses: Feed neck pressed on,
Defient board is ok.
Front block works itself loose.
Review: I bought my 2k5 (in almost mint condition) for $330 at E-bay (1-07).
This 2k5 is considered to be on the low end of the high priced Bob Long intimidator markers, it does not hold it's value like the other intimidators, but with the suggested upgrades, this marker rips with the best, for anyone who likes the 2k2 but want the 2k5 clamshell upgrade, this marker has it all.
Front block works itself loose because of the way it is design.
My paintball buddy recommended Bob Long markers, because he owned at least 5 timmy's from the past 6 years, and there is a whole lot of after market parts available.
When I took my 2k5 out to the field, after all the upgrades, I was shooting ropes,
and shooting accurately, this marker is shooting 16bps on semi only, never chop any balls so far, this marker rocks!, with the aluminum ram, after shooting all my 5 pods in 2 games, I had 1000 psi left, very air efficient.
I like this marker so much, I bought another silver 2k5 for $275 at E-bay (3-07).
Conclusion: For the price (used) can't get any better, you will be happy with this marker.
It is light, good looking, and very accurate,
I would definitely recommend this marker.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, March 30th, 2007 at 1:21 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

2k5timmyballer Monday, September 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Evil pimp,Dm4 an DMC
Marker Setup: 2k5 timmy check it uni mount,halo b, 68 4500 pmi n2 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Clampin feed neck for sure
Strengths: Fast quiet and and accuracy is amazing
Weaknesses: Barrel and Clamping feed neck maybe
Review: When i bought the gun i was so excited. I pulled it out of the box and i was amazed how light it was. When i put on the check it and aired it up it worked like perfect. I played that night at Outlaw Paintball and it riped. I went threw like 4 pods in no time but iam a front man so u no. The thing works great shot 2 cases threw and so far so good. I reallly like this gun and if you got one u would to.
Conclusion: The thing shoots fine but get a new clamping feed neck it sucks
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

billybob13 Thursday, August 18th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
ion,autocockers
Marker Setup: ion,pmi 72ci. 3000 p.s.i. evo 2 freak barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
none
Strengths: Accurate,fast,silent,reliable
Weaknesses: None
Review: I was very impressed by this marker it was fast accurate and reliable not a gas hog it needs no upgrades or replacements it has sweet body milling quality barrel it is a very nice marker the trigger pull is light & easy,speed and quality it's a timmy so you know it's got to be good
Conclusion: If you have the money and your a intermediate or pro player get you won't be let down
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

The Paintr Monday, March 19th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Shocker
Dm6
Angel
PM7
Marker Setup: Gold Vision Shocker
Halo w/ rip
Alot of Ups
68/45 PMI
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Feed Neck
Barrel (Maybe)
Strengths: Accuracy
Looks
Speed
VERY Comfortable
Consistant
Light Weight
Weaknesses: Feed neck
Review: My buddy just got this gun and we went to the field to use it yesterday. I used it for a couple games and here's the review:

Body: 9/10 I love the look of it. Very sexy. Nice mill but some what of a high profile but not too much. The weight of the marker if awesome. It felt very light in my arms, just a little more than my shocker. The feed neck was the main down fall. It sticks up very high. Only other weakness is the Gauge on the body. To me its too big. When I played I didn't even notice. Its not a major thing but may be annoying to others.

Accuracy: 9/10 This gun was absolutely amazing to snap with. It was so accurate and just awesome to use on the field.

Speed: 10/10 The stock board only has semi on it, but with my fast fingers it ripped. It shot ropes across the field.
Conclusion: All around, this gun is amazing. The feedneck is the only thing one might want to change. Other than that this gun is a beast. Has all the things you need and more. I would DEFINATELY recommend this gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

shutter_elite Monday, October 3rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
2k5 A-bomb, 2k2
Marker Setup: 2k5 Green -2- Black timmy
cp reg
Check it on/off

DM3
Tadao 5/5
Orange bolt
Nd Breech & ccm no rise
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, reg
Strengths: Fast & light
Weaknesses: None
Review: I got this marker after shooting a few other timmies. Decided to go w. the 2k5 since it was lighter, and more eff. than my dm3. It is insanely fast out of the box. I noticed an immediate increase in how much paint i could shoot. The entire setup feels so much lighter than the guns i usually own (e-bladed cocker, trix's) so very noticable difference.
Conclusion: This gun is sweet. It (at least imo) has helped me w/ snap shooting since i seem to be able to get out faster & more accurate than before. Only thing was it was supposed to come w/ frenzy 127.4 and instead came w/ 116. But still not bad at all
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

99 ANGEL RULZ Monday, September 5th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
shocker
nerve
karnivor
Marker Setup: 2k5 intimidator , dye dropfoward, egg, 68 ci 3000 psi nitroduck tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel, but psh... that is a must on all new markers
Strengths: Its fast, looks good.
Weaknesses: Uh,see review.
Review: This badboy worked fantastic out of the box, except for a few minor adjustments for velocity. Not very much flunctuation in velocity. 10 fps +/- . after shooting about 3 or 4 cases through it i started to have a problem with bolt stick, and then when i gased her up and turned her on for my first tourney we couldnt get it to shoot faster than around 8-10 bps. dont tell me about slow hoppers or anything i had an egg on there , but we tried a friends halo and it was still shooting the same slow AS$ 8-10 bps. this was really frustrating. After that i couldnt get the thing to turn off after a game. Then i started to get really angry and it turned off by itself. ......? Then we couldnt get it to turn back on. so obviously there was somtin wrong with the board and or switch. SO we sent it back into national and thats where it is right now so i wasnt too pleased. OH and the manual sucks. I am sure i just got a bad board or somtin and its got alot of potential. i got up to around 14-15 bps out of the box with no trigger adjustment. so it kicked butt back then.... but that was a loooong time ago.
Conclusion: Uh, i really dont know, if u can get a good price then go for it.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
13 Comments - Add Comment

xandrewxheathx Wednesday, September 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM5 - Shot just fine I just like the feel of my timmy better. Not as efficient as my
intimidator
DMC - I absolutely loved this marker. Id like to pick up another one someday. When I
had the lucky top hat mod orings in it, I saw a rise in efficiency but nothing like
what I had with the timmy when I received it.
PM5 - I love these markers almost as much as my timmy. They are almost as easy to
maintain as well. Not as efficient as the Intimidator
PM6 - Another Quality Marker I just like the milling on the PM5 more than the 6. Again
easy to maintain like the timmy. Not as Efficient as the intimidator
Shocker - They all have too little trigger guard space. Never was really impressed with
there performance either. I've heard good things about the new ones though
Impulse - Shoe Box but I still love the Imps.

System X NME - Very nice all around marker. Its a timmy clone but its MUCH heavier than the my 2k5 intimidator

Electronic Spyder - Not much to say but lack of vision system of some sort hinders performance greatly.
Marker Setup: 2k5 Blue Intimidator
- Fire Ball Mountain Scythe Trigger. Absolutely amazing trigger. The best without bearings
Diamond Clear Empire Reloader B
68 4500 Nitrogen/Compressed air.
LPR at ~75psi, HPR at whatever I need to achieve a steady ~290fps
Dip Settings - Down, Up, Down, Down, Down, Up.
I never chop.
Recommended
Upgrades:
The Number 1 upgrade for any intimidator.... Paintballs. Shoot someone.

For the nit-picky -
Lucky barrel kit absolutely amazing( shoots ball on ball with ANY paint)
Adjustable Ram Cap - CP adjustable ram cap is suggested.
Trigger - recommend either the CP Sling or the Fireball mountain for those on a budget.
Flash to latest Frenzy if you want the new modes (PSP, NXL Capped and Uncapped)
Rubber Band ( will explain later)
Strengths: 1. Efficient
2. Simple to maintain.
3. It never chops.
4. Quick.
Weaknesses: 1. Rubber Band (explained later)
2. LCD would have been appreciated. oh well.
Review: First off, I would like to state that I do play every weekend or someone plays with this every weekend if Im reffing, it has never let me down even with a leaking cupseal. While annoying, it didn't let me down. I shoot a case a day at least when I play open play, three during practices. 4 or more per tournament day. It gets a good cleaning after every day of play, including regs and inspection of Poppit orings and cup seal.

The intimidator has only one shortcoming. The Ram Cap. Get an Adjustable ram cap and you'll be set for a marker that will never let you down. Take care of it and it will take care of you. Its a fantastic marker that I look forward to shooting this weekend if im not reffing.
Conclusion: Adjustable ram cap isn't really a must at first but eventually it will be required or just replace the bumpers every 10-15 cases. I give it a 9 because of the non LCD board, and the need of the adjustable ram cap. Other than that it performs flawlessly.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BobLong 2k5 Friday, December 16th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
05' dragon
03' vision shocker
05' Ego
ion
Marker Setup: Halo B w/Rip
68/4500 LP Air America Tank
Shocktech on/off drop
Recommended
Upgrades:
trigger(but stock it good)
barrel?
Strengths: FAST-Quiet-Consistent-Accurate-Durable
Weaknesses: Nothing
Review: Ok, this gun is sweet. When i got it i was so excited, i got my setup on it, and let it rip. this gun is very fast, it is loud on dry fire, but all guns are, once you get some paint going through it...its silent...

Speed-speechless, i hit 18bps on stock settings...really quick, you are going to need a good hopper..i suggest a HALO B

Accuracy-Umm the assassin barrel is good, but u need paint that fits the barrel perfectly or your going to have some innaccurate shots. if upgrading the barrel, i think you should go all out and get the dye ultralight, it is awesome.

consistency- well when i set my gun to where it was shooting under 285fps...i got it shooting 280-281-281-280-279-280....perfect..

the gun comes with a dragon style trigger, mine didn't come with a alias trigger. it is still nice but i think i am going to upgrade it to the CP SlingBlade, i have heard good things....the best trigger to upgrade to is that Techna Trigger ..AKA Syth Trigger.
Conclusion: Overall, this is a great gun, better than the defiant, and for 650..i dont think you could get a better deal. this gun is fast, accurate, and has everything you will need to shoot ropes stock.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media