paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Sheridan XGS Jackal / Sheridan XGS Jackal / Sheridan XGS Jackal / Sheridan XGS Jackal

Sheridan XGS Jackal Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Sheridan

Buy Sheridan XGS Jackal

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Sheridan XGS Jackal
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 49
Average Rating: 5.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $60

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The XGS is a semi-automatic, 12 gram operated, entry level marker that comes standard with hopper and barrel plug.
Product Availability 
The Sheridan XGS Jackal is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
ChaosAuto Sunday, September 22nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
i have used no gun that is as horrible as this one.
Marker Setup: Right now i have a chaos with a freak barrel.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I don't think that you can upgrade anything on this god awful peice of crap.
Strengths: The only good thing about this gun is that you dont really need to clean it becasue if it breaks then WHO THE HELL CARES!
Weaknesses: BIG LIST!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
-it is to big to use as a sidearm, but that is what it is supposed to be.
-it breaks lots of balls, even though it fires slow as hell.
-it is to expensive for what your getting, even though it is cheap, i think it should be 10 dollars. i cant believe i wasted my money on it.
Conclusion: do not, i repeat, do NOT buy this gun. it is horrible and usless. I would rather throw paintballs at someone then use the jackal.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, October 22nd, 2001
 
2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: Its light--
it has good accuracy--
good shot range--
Weaknesses: It sucks--
It use's 12 gram co2 cartridges--
it has a 65rnd hopper which isnt good--
its plastic--
The balls always get stuck--i shot atleast 500 rounds and 432 balls got stuck--
Conclusion: DO NOT BUY--
IT SUCKS--
IT IS WORTHLESS--
BETTER OFF WITH A TIPPMANN MODEL 98
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kluever Monday, October 27th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing I have ever used is this bad.
Marker Setup: Nothing atm
Recommended
Upgrades:
Not worth spending money on this piece of trash, none available either
Strengths: Someties, it works and its semi
Weaknesses: It jams, its not accurate, slow ROF, rip off
Review: This was my first gun ever, and it never ever worked. It would jam non stop, and I could never even shoot any one out. The trigger is really hard to pull. If you want a cheap gun, go for the Spyder Victor, a Brass eagle stingray or a Talon. Those are GREAT cheap guns, they are better deals.
Conclusion: Overall, I think that this gun is a total waste of money, plastic, metal, time and effort alltogether.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DemonFire777 Monday, November 4th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Various Brass Eagles, Spyder Aggressor XT
Marker Setup: Spyder Aggressor XT w/ 16" Terminator Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
You can't even upgrade this piece of garbage...
Strengths: The only good thing about this marker is that it fits in a trashcan!
Weaknesses: This marker has to be the worst exscuse for a paintball gun ever... It has a tendancy to load 2 or 3 balls at a time, it constantly chops up, it's not uprgadeable in the least bit, it throws like a little girl, the whole thing is sloppy and random, and theres barely any metal in it at all....
Conclusion: The Sheridan XGS Jackal was the first paintball gun I got two years back, and it almost put me off to the sport. Luckily I had friends that loaned me their old beat up Brass Eagles untill I got a decent Spyder. I only really used the Jackal for one day, and its been sitting in the closet ever since. Do your self a favor and don't waste your money on this garbage.

I'm only giving this thing a rating of 1 because you can't use 0....
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ironpanther1204 Sunday, October 13th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Shutter, a PMI Black Maxx, and a few other Brass Eagle markers.
Marker Setup: I use the Shutter stock with a VL 200 and a 20oz tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
You cant upgrade this gun. So don't even try.
Strengths: Well I can't really name any. My friend had it and it was alright for a few games then it went to hell.
Weaknesses: Ok, I'll list all of them.

Made of cheap plastic
The barrel is short and no upgradeable.
The bolt is a strange hammer setup.
You can take it apart to clean it.
Too many small internal parts.
It's actually more expensive than a Brass Eagle.
It shot like 12 feet then dropped.
Conclusion: This is a bad marker and don't buy it. It is a lazy product with no results. Please go out and buy a Black Maxx or something of equal quality. This gunis the Antichrist of paintball. I am dissappointed at Sheridan for making this gun.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, May 27th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Haven't used any sidearms like this before, only used my Spyder Sonix and a Tippman Custom 98 once.
Marker Setup: 2002 Blue Spyder Sonix (aka Spyder Snap)
Black 14 inch J&J Ceramic
ACI 4-Stage Sub-Zero Expansion Chamber
Backwards ASA cradle (bottle under gun)\
Trigger Job (4.5 mm pull)
Polished Internals
Stock Bolt Mods--no venturi, rear cocking mod
Drilled Vertical Adapter
Stock Valve Pin Mod (high flow ground)
14 ounce CO2 with 12 ounce backup

~~In the mail~~
Black Sprint E-Frame
CMI R-2000 Inline Regulator
Recommended
Upgrades:
None, keep it bare stock and get a holster for it. Also, buy some 10 round tubes to quickly attach to the feed tube for 10 quick shots in a pinch.
Strengths: Small, cheap, reliable, accurate for its size and price, readily available at many stores, looks fairly good, doesn't break balls cuz you can't fire fast enough to do that. Barrel pivots down for fast squeegeeing in case you fux something up anyway.
Weaknesses: No upgrades available, but hey, pretend it's a PGP. Just semi auto, with capability to hold more paintballs. And with an easy to squeegee barrel. So actually there is no bad side to this marker, just don't use it was your primary marker. Use it as a backup.
Conclusion: Don't bother with the constant air adapter. Or the 45 round hopper. Get a belt that holds 10 round tubes and fill like 10 of them. Get a 12 gram in the gun and 2 more on the belt. Hang gun in holster. When you run outta paint or you get a break and you're in a firefight, whip out gun, attach 10 round hopper, and proceed to open can of whoop ass.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, December 8th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angels, B.Longs, to Pirhanas and Rebels,
Marker Setup: Angel rig - My other friends and I bought 6 Jackals and 2 Winchesters just to get the newbies started in the sport.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Came with bottle adapter, hopper and plug for $35, I used a bigger hopper and 9oz tank.
Strengths: Consider the price. For this you get a fairly reasonable starter gun. Our little guns hold up fine for beginners. While one friend took his new Pirhana apart 4 times, we played several manhunt games without him. Outplayed the new Genesis users who had constant chops and jam ups. I may keep the little jackal hidden in a holster in real games with my Angel... it is extremely light with 12g Cartridges and held up to a few wipe-outs in the woods. Lastly it is extremely easy on air... got over 40 shots on every 12g cartridge I shot before trying my bottle on the gun.
Weaknesses: Since it uses a typical air-gun hammer, the trigger pull is a little hard. Thus rapid fire is more difficult.... maybe 3 or 4 shots per second unless you hold the trigger and pull back on the hammer to shoot faster.
Broke maybe 6 balls out of 75 shots in the 40 degree weather. The barrel tilts instead of disconnecting which makes cleaning a little trickier.
Conclusion: Obviously a beginner gun, but a fairly accurate and reliable starter. everyone else got masks, cartridges/bottles, and paint for under $70, which was almost the same as a 3 hour session with rental at a local course. We have played 5 times- 4 hours each, for that money and now those newbies are more interested and are starting to buy higher quality guns. If you use the gun twice instead of renting, you didn't lose money. My rating reflects it's usefulness in relation to it's price.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, July 27th, 2001
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: A great side-arm , its small, light, the barrel is very easy to clean. I got a decent fire rate out of it to.
Weaknesses: its plastic( which i dont really care about but some people do.)
no upgrades
unless you buy the XGSH model(wich i didnt) you cant use large tanks.
Conclusion: all you people who say the trigger gets jammed or ball get stuck in the barrel( thats because you didnt pull the trigger back all the way or hard enough.


This gun is worth the price completely( $45 ) I recommend this gun to someone who needs a side-arm for rec or scenario play.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, March 21st, 2001
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: This is not a primary gun. Its a back up. Why do you think it only holds 12 gram CO2? Because is a small backup.
In my opinion this is a good backup for 50 bucks
Weaknesses: No its not the gretest choice for a backup gun, but its not too bad. I do not think the 45 round hopper is a good Idea though. Its tough to load, and it just makes the gun bigger.
Conclusion: This guns a good BACKUP for its price, but if you want a good gun, go for a PGP as a BACKUP not as your primary gun, and dont get a winchester durango or a stingray. Do yourself a favor and save 100 bucks and get a cheap spyder or save for a while and get a good gun. May I recommend the Bruizer outlaw? I saved for a few months for it and am extremely satisfied with it.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Krashen Sunday, May 13th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
RAP 4 pistal
Marker Setup: MR3 Halo B
Recommended
Upgrades:
there really is any
Strengths: Light and versitile. Flip out barrel
Weaknesses: Eats Co2
Breaks A LOT
Review: My friends dad bought this for marking his cattle so my friend brought it to the war right away i loved it how it looked and everything I put a regular 200 ball hopper and a 9oz tank on there wow is this thing light compared to my Tac-5 and MR3. It started raining so i'm like opk guess i'm stuck with it any ways there was about 6 of us all of em had tippmann and my bud had a pirahna.
Went out there 3v3 first round we play woods ball I got 2 of the 3 guys out on the other team.
That was mostly just cause I was a sneaking guy but believe me I'm not small. Next round I actually got in to some straight out fire fights shoot to fast with this gun which isn't very fast it breaks A LOT bring a squeegee. But I still got 1 guy out before I got shot.
Conclusion: It's not the Size or price of the gun it's how you use it. I want 1 lol.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media