paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Orange Paintball Unicorn Ion Bolt / Orange Paintball Unicorn Ion Bolt / Orange Paintball Unicorn Ion Bolt / Orange Paintball Unicorn Ion Bolt / Orange Paintball Unicorn Ion Bolt

Orange Paintball Unicorn Ion Bolt Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Orange Paintball

Buy Orange Paintball Unicorn Ion Bolt

Paintball Ion Bolts

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Orange Paintball Unicorn Ion Bolt
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 8
Average Rating: 8.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $65

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
No Description Available
Product Availability 
The Orange Paintball Unicorn Ion Bolt is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
AMLfan Saturday, September 3rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month42 of 42 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spudnukl delrin bolt
Lucky Stage 1 bolt
Smart Parts stock bolt
Marker Setup: Smart Parts ION
Custom-made aluminum body (silver), milled away to next to nothing, open back to allow access to bolt.
Body, frame and indicated parts custom anodized in dark blue
Powerlyte Sceptre barrel kit with 12" and 14" fronts (dark blue backs with silver fronts)
Shocktech vertical regulator (silver)
Shocktech on/off bleed ASA with micro drop (dark blue)
Alumagrip aluminum 1911 .45 grips (silver)
Custom Products aluminum trigger (silver)
Spudnukl, Lucky, and Orange bolts
Strange Gear swivel donut to allow bolt removal without removing body
Air Soldier Clippard QEV kit
Orange Paintball ADB detents
Smart Parts Q-lock feedneck (dark blue with silver lever)
HALO B (clear) with Shocktech aluminum dive cone (dark blue)
Mac Dev LegionAir 68/4500 HP air system
Strengths: Lower operating pressure
Awesome air efficiency
Less recoil, very light
Faster, smoother operation
Impecable quality
Weaknesses: A bit more expensive than other aftermarket bolts.
Review: I was impressed with this bolt from the moment I first picked it up. The level of craftmanship, build quality, machining and finish on the aluminum and carbon fiber parts is absolutely incredible. I found myself constantly picking in up and admiring it, when I could pry it away from my oldest son and daughter. They thought it was the neatest looking new gadget that they have seen lately,despite the huge amount of paintball gear that comes into our house on a regular basis. After finally admiting that the bolt would serve it's purpose better in my ION than in my hand, I installed the Orange bolt and make some adjustments to the marker. I then chrono'd to 280, and went outside and practiced with my kids until I had 2 cases of paint through the ION with the new bolt. My initial observation was that I was able to lower my operating pressure some more and the feel of the marker was very similar to the other aftermarket bolts, with my ION being smoother and quicker with less recoil compared to the factory bolt. The next weekend, we went out to a local field and between myself, my kids and several other people that I loaned my ION to, we put about another 8-10 cases through it. A couple of kids that I loaned it to had stock IONS and were amazed at the difference in my modified ION. To get a better idea of what kind of difference just the bolt made, we put the Orange bolt into oneof the stock IONs and several of us used that set-up for about a half day of play. There was a noticeable difference in perceived recoil between the stock bolt and Orange bolt, and it made the marker feel a bit smoother and quicker. We were able to lower the operating pressure on the stock marker, with the factory guage it was hard to tell exactly by how much, but is was a noticeable amount. With the stock ION we were geting well over 1400 shots from a full 68/4500, and with my ION I was seeing over 1600 shots from my full 68/4500 MacDev. I was able to lower my operating pressure down form around the 136 to 138 psi range that I had with the Spudnukl and Lucky bolts down to 124psi. My ION with the factory bolt was operating at around 160psi. I took the measurements with an industrial grade digital pressure meter. I also took the bolt out, cleand it dry and handled it for a couple of hours while watching TV. I put stress on it by trying to bend it and twist on it just hard enough to make sure that it is well put together. I also tapped on a piece of wood with it for awhile to see if it would incur any damage. I did not notice any adverse effects whatsoever from this abuse. I then put it back into my ION and went out for another weekend of play with it and we put another 6 cases of paint through it with no problems whatsoever. Overall, a very impressive product.
Conclusion: I would highly recomend the Orange Unicorn bolt for all the improvements it makes over the stock bolt. The only resevations some players may have is the price,as it is a bit more expensive than the other aftermarket bolts, although its efficiency is better. Definitely worth the $65 I paid for it, so I will give it a 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, September 3rd, 2005 at 2:02 am PST
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

bewarethesniper Sunday, January 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock bolt
Marker Setup: yellow ion, cp rolling trigger, cp short reg, cp rail, cp on/off, new designs qev, orange unicorn bolt, orange spring detents, evo II w/ z-board, stock barrel!, 91/4500 dye throttle (ordering apex for fun in woodsball)
Strengths: Very light = carbon fiber = saves air
Top quality
Faster cycling
Weaknesses: None at all!
Review: Ok some people are giving the orange bolt bad ratings just because of the cost. Well first of all why should you be disappointed when you "ARE" getting the highest quality and lightest bolt for the ion? You pay for what you get and this is the best.

I actually tested it the second day I bought this bolt along with the orange detents since my stock ones were wasted pretty much. My team was actually making a video that day shooting our markers. We were shooting a 12x12 inch box at 40 yards away. Ripping and single shooting it i hit the box i would say about a good 95% of the time. I say so because out of 4 hopper fulls i missed about 3-4 them being the single first shot used to dial in to the middle of the box. Remember I am using my stock barrel. Its nasty looking but damn does it get the job done. This bolt was the best thing I ever bought performance wise for my gun.
Conclusion: Highly recommend this bolt to anyone and over lucky. After all, money is a big issue in paintball since it can be an expensive sport. I'm not sayin the lucky bolt is bad jus look at it this way. It's about 30 bucks cheaper, but the orange bolt is top quality, carbon fiber which is super strong, and lighter...you want the best then orange is the way to go.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pat332 Friday, October 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
The lightening bolt.
Marker Setup: red ion. red cp rail. red 2k5 on off. cp roller trigger. red hybrid hedlok feedneck. orange unicorn bolt. dark ion body. cp 12 inch 2 piece barrel. cp shorty reg. dye sticky 3s.
Strengths: Very sexy. Huge effiency increase,
Weaknesses: None.
Review: This is a great bolt. It is a little more expensive then other replacement bolts out there but it is worth the 75 bucks i payed for it. If you want a huge effiency increase buy this baby now. It will let you lower your dwell and rof for better effiency like I said before.
Conclusion: Buy it. Now!!!!!!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kingaaron Tuesday, November 8th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 39 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock bolt more reliable
Marker Setup: cp reg, eclipse qev, pmi 45/4500, cp trigger, cp asa, cp barrel
Strengths: It light, saves on air consumption.
Weaknesses: For a bolt this price it shouls not seperate into two pieces.
Review: Used this bolt for 3 sessions of paintballing from sc village to hollywood sports and on the third session in the middle of a game i hear a hiss. It was coming from the top breach and after leaving the game and taking it apart i found the bolt in 2 pieces. I was like what a disappointment it seperated right where the company Orange said it wouldn't that the compound they use to join it together would not seperate and it did.
Luckily i had my stock bolt with me i dropped that in and played the rest of the day. Tried to look for info to send this back to the manufacturer, but guess what they are in Germany.
Conclusion: Don't buy it waste of money. If you needed to return it; good luck because finding that information is like pulling teeth. I gave up on it.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
16 Comments - Add Comment

aimeagle21 Thursday, December 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock ion bolt
Marker Setup: SP Ion
68/4500 carleton w/ guerrilla ambush reg
Evo II
Lucky 15 kit
Check it clamping feedneck
NDZ roller trigger
AKA Sidewinder
System X on/off
T-board (in the mail)


Strengths: Efficient
Easy on paint
Durable
Weaknesses: Price
Review: Ok, I don't have my orange bolt anymore but I was one of the first 100 or so to get one. I thought this bolt was great and did everything the company promised it would do. Probably added about 250-300 shots per 4500 fill. Brought the kick down to ZERO compared to stock. Was able to run pressure at 120ish vs. 140ish with the stock bolt.

I played in a tourny with this bolt and every person on my team was breaking paint left and right but with the orange bolt I can honestly say I did not break one ball all day. Two of my teammates were also shooting ions and they looked like blenders. The whole team switched paint after our third game and I used the same brittle paint all day and never had a problem. If that doesn't tell you something about what this bolt can do then you cannot be convinced to buy this bolt. I thought the price was high but after that tourny I was convinced it was a great bolt.

I no longer have the bolt as i sold the Ion that I was shooting then but I am planning on trying out the new lucky LBM bolt and if that doesn't do well I will be dropping another $65 on an orange bolt.
Conclusion: Just go get one if you dont mind dropping $65 on a bolt. I really dont think any other bolt will be able to perform as well as this but I am waiting for the lucky LBM before I drop another $65 cause the lucky is only $40.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, December 15th, 2005 at 3:56 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

The_Bulcher Wednesday, April 5th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts stock bolt
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
CP Short Reg
CP Flame 2 Drop w/ Rail Adapter
CP ASA on/off
Virtue Board
Virtue Eyes
Virtue QEV
Crossfire 68/4500
Orange Ion Unicorn Bolt
FREAK Barrel
Strengths: Fast
Light
Extremely nice when paired with a new QEV
Weaknesses: None so far
Review: This bolt is amazing. People love the way it looks because its partly carbon fiber. I like it because it not only looks cool, it can perform way beyond looks. If you put a new QEV with it, it will make your gun a lot better, the bolt will return faster (so you can fire faster), and it will make your gun a lot more efficient.
Conclusion: Buy this bolt, but i also suggest a new QEV
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ericfreakyv Monday, April 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock bolt
Marker Setup: ION , NDZ fire body, CP barrel, QEV, CCM no-rise feedneck, Evo II hoppa', centerflag nitro tank, orange bolt, hybrid gripz.
Strengths: Size and weight.
Weaknesses: Just a tad (just a tad) bit pricey.
Review: When i first saw this bolt it looked nice. Small and as stylish as a bolt can be. The only probl;em is that all my idiot freinds who like shiny things were drawn to it, nut anywho. Its light and mad of some type of kevlar carbon fiber shabazzle which reduces weight and gives strength. this bolt reduces kick. they say it gives better gas effeicancy but i really wasnt paying attention.
Conclusion: Yeah, i like it. Gets knocked down a point for price, also it has that "idiot" attracter on it!?
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

somnambulated Monday, May 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: CCI VSC Phantom
Gauged Backbody
.45 Grip, Carbon Fiber Grip Panels
Rubber Finger Groove Insert
Right offset Stock Class 15 Round Tube
CCM Carbon Fiber Barrel Kit
3.5 oz / 12 Gram Changer
Hardline

SP Ion
Carbon Fiber Grip Panels
Rubber Finger Groove Insert
Orange Unicorn Nano Bolt
42 CU Carbon Fiber Tank
Dye Tank Cover
Stiffi Mamba Barrel Front
SP Freak Barrel Back
SS Freak Insert Kit
Q-Loader w/ CMS under-barrel mount
Special Ops Black Cell Kit
Special Ops Black Cell Rail Kit
CP Drop Forward
CP On Off
SP QEV
Strengths: Light weight, seems durable, quality bolt.
Weaknesses: None yet.
Review: I just recently purchased this bolt. I was under the impression I would be receiving the Unicorn, but the store I ordered from swapped my order for a Unicorn Nano. Apparently, the Carbon Fiber Unicorn is out of production.

The price is competitive, I'm not sure why everyone is freaking out over 60 bucks for the quality of this bolt.

This bolt does decrease recoil from stock--hardly noticeable, but as a Phantom owner I do notice it a little bit.

The bolt was also noticeably quieter than stock. It's more than quick enough to empty out my Q-Loader in a hurry, with and without the QEV on a stock Ion. I can't say for sure if it is faster than stock, but it seemed to be.

I will update this review in a few months, or sooner if anything happens.

Conclusion: Overall, I'm very satisfied with this bolt.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, May 22nd, 2006 at 11:37 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media