paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT Alpha 2000 Mask / JT Alpha 2000 Mask / JT Alpha 2000 Mask

JT Alpha 2000 Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT Alpha 2000 Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT Alpha 2000 Mask
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 266
Average Rating: 7.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $30

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Entry level mask with visor (NOTE: JT has made it so this mask is only available at Wal*Mart)
Product Availability 
The JT Alpha 2000 Mask is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (27):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Woods Sniper Tuesday, January 21st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year7 of 25 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Only mask I've used... lol
Marker Setup: Black M3 Patriot Sniper
14 inch Smart parts Teardrop Barrel
Richochet Loader
Strengths: Hmm... good things...
-It hasen't fogged on me
-It looks semi-cool
-It's made by JT USA
Weaknesses: Bad stuff.... hehe...
-Vets make fun of you( I don't care)
-It doesn't manufacture cheese
-Elfs don't jump out from behind the visor and deflect paintballs
Conclusion: Well, a magical Chipmunk may have crapped out a rainbow in my brain, but, I think this is a pretty decent begineer mask. Especially for $20. I think that I'll just stick with my new Flex 7 Ize though....
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

cybrax Monday, February 16th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Brass eagel mask .... if u can even compare that to this, I also have a JT Protus 2 (more expensive but better on size and fogging)
Marker Setup: tippmann a-5 .... wait does that even matter were talking about masks here
Strengths: Cheap, tough, safe
Weaknesses: uncomfortable, BUY NO FOG SPRAY
Review: This mask is a pretty good mask if your looking for something cheap and durable. Heres what i found in mine.

Cheap:- I got my mask for 20$ good deal

Tough and Safe:- I took a shot point blank to the visor from a tippmann 98 with a flatline barrel, the visor dented a little but my vision remains and thats what really counts. I have also taken at least 7 other hits in this mask and it has held up fine. Trust me for those less experianced players out there EYE SAFETY IS IMPORTANT.

Uncomfortable:- for those of u who are picky about comfort this mask tends to be a little anoying. I have found it slipping and in order to tighten it, i have to squish my head. Ok so im exagerating a bit, but it could be comfeyer.

FOG:- Well when your dealing with cheap masks understand you will need no fog spray. This mask didnt seem to need it for short games, but when i was dealing with an ongoing game it fogged. After applying some no fog the problem dissapeared.

Looks:- Dont worry newbs the more expirianced players wont make fun of you for wearing this mask, its JT USA. Also it doesnt look to shaby.

*Edit*
Since writing this review i have found the mask to be a relativly large target -1 point
I also have found the mask to be nearly impossible to remove the lense -1 point
I found the mask is able to absorbe quite a beating +1 point

Also as a side note this mask is easy and fun to customize by adding camo netting to it.

Conclusion: An affordable mask that makes up for its weaknesses with its many strengths. SAFE SAFE SAFE and thats what counts.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, March 9th, 2004 at 2:04 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

El chupacabra Friday, June 6th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: piranha ext pro g3
Strengths: looks nice
has a visor
suppose to have anti fog lens
cheap
Weaknesses: mask can fog up
padding is itchy
hard to adjust the size
Review: from the outside this mask sure does have the looks it comes with a anti fog len and comes with a visor. and is very cheap (you can get this for $20 at wal-mart.)

on the bad side the padding around the lens is very uncomfortable and is really itchy. lens does have a tendency to fog up (mine did)and is very hard to adjust it to the exact size you want it.
Conclusion: overall i give this mask a six even though it meets the fashion standards it can be very uncomfortable for the player. this is definitely a mask for those first time players since it can be easily bought.
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Friday, June 6th, 2003 at 9:13 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nrv4me Saturday, April 12th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: pro-carbine with a reduce trigger pull, double trigger, rva, expansion chamber, drop forward
Strengths: none
Weaknesses: FFFFFOOOOOOGGGGGGGGG.
Review: this is quite possibly the worst mask in the history of paintball. its not just moneeither. my friend has the same one ans his is just as bad as mine. it fogs like none other, it is really hard to wipe the fog off and when you finally do it just fogs up again worse than the first time. the padding on the goggles is like sandpaper ans hurts. it is really tight and really loose around the nose. now i know why only wal-mart sells them. dont buy. EVER.
Conclusion: dont buy it unless you want a horrible mask. the olny good thing was the price and maybe the madk coverage. it also looks kinda cool.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

Nikitas Saturday, May 26th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98C
Somewhat polished internals
Tippmann Response Trigger (R/T)
12oz Co2
12" Tippmann Sniper Barrel
VL Quantum Hopper
Strengths: Simply does not fog
Easy to camoflauge
Very Safe
Weaknesses: Heavy breathing makes inside moist (but no fog)
Medium Profile
Review: This mask was purchased at Walmart for the low price of $20. I only play woodsball with my neighbors who have similar masks. While they all cost the same (some came with thier guns) I have to say that mine is the only one that hasn't had a fogging problem. The six of us live in New England where the weather is hot, damp, rainy, sunny, arid, and everything else in between. This mask has consistantly performed perfectly and done exactly what it needs to do.
Conclusion: This mask offers great protection, no fog, and makes enjoying paintball easy to do. I rate this mask a :
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Kingfisher_X4 Sunday, June 29th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Entry Mask
Brass Eagle Deluxe Mask (Deluxe compared to what? A steamroller? Yeah, it protects your face better than that would...)
Marker Setup: Lotsa Stuff
Strengths: -Cheap
-Reasonably Comfortable
Weaknesses: -Fogged on me some
-Has issues (See Review)
Review: -Cheap - $25 At Wal-mart

-Grabbable - I snagged it while I was out of town without my stuff because some guys wanted to play.

-Comfiness - Decent. Fits me pretty well, if a little tight on the bridge of your nose. Wearably tight on my head at it's loosest. I have a reasonably big head though.

-Fog - Played a few days back with it and it fogged on me a little bit when it shouldn't have. Wasn't bad conditions. Still, it wasn't so bad that I couldn't see. Basically it just fogged around the edges.

-Had some kind of issues... - As soon as I got home that night and started cleaning it, this plastic film started detaching itself from the surface of the lense. It looks like a peeling sunburn on the lense of your mask, you really can't see through it too well, and above all... I'm not sure what the stuff IS. It could be some kind of anti-fog thing, in which case this mask will probably fog worse than it did today if I use it again, or it might be an anti-shatter thing. Either way, I figure it's probably not good to not have it on there, and there was no way I could see to not just screw it up.
Conclusion: I'm thinking it's going for the best Disposable-One-Use-Wal-Mart-Grab-When-You're-In-A-Pinch Mask of the season. Mine probably won't be used a second time, but it was cheap, and I was in a bind, so I dunno. Nobody else has complained of this problem, so it might have been just mine. Not sure. I say save up a few more bucks and get a better mask. Unless you like the peeling-sunburn look...
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

addictiontolax Saturday, June 12th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
nothing else
Marker Setup: Dragun TES, freak kit, nitro duck 68 3000 tank,
Strengths: it works, no fogging
Weaknesses: a little figity on me, read review
Review: well first off, it works so I cant complain. The only thing is that it has done is get a bit itchy on me and hot, thats it. I love it to death, I even took an hour to custom camo mine with camo tape from walmart. I will be adding a pic of it later, so you can check out my pimpin awesomeness
Conclusion: Get it if your new, if youra pro, you would prob spend 80+ and get a nice mask. But all things said, I do some small tourneys and this mask suits me well. It gets a seven because its not perfect, but its damn well suitable for me. With camo tape its a 10 tho lol.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

thetruth217 Saturday, October 20th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
One other JT mask, I forget the name
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom; 14" Boomstick barrel, cyclone feed system, response trigger and coil remote
Strengths: It prevents paintballs from smashing into your face
Weaknesses: "No Fog" lens fogs...
Review: This is the first mask I ever bought. I didn't have a lot of money, I was walking through walmart and figured for $20 bucks, why not try it out?

The first few games with it were nice and quick, so I didn't have any fog issues. I did have a problem with the padding around the nose, it was kind of tight and pinched my nostrils closed. I just picked at the foam until it didn't do that anymore. The next weekend we ran longer games, and it got to the point where I couldn't see a thing. I was ready to throw it away when my friend gave me a thermal lens he had from one of his other masks. I switched the lens, which did take me a few minutes longer then I was anticipating, but I got way more use out of it then I ever expected.

It's quite possible that it would be more cost efficient to spend a little more for a higher end mask, but I gotta say, replacing the lens made all the difference. The mask sits nice and secure, it can take a beating, I've had the same one for almost 8 years, I like the way this mask fits me because I can look back behind me without bumping it against my shoulder and I like the simplicity in the style.

Conclusion: It's not perfect, but this mask has proven itself to me. I'd even go back to Walmart just to buy another if something were to happen to mine. It's inexpensive and will last many years. That alone makes it a good product in my opinion.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mrpaintball111 Thursday, May 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Elite headshield mask
Marker Setup: Spyder Victor 2
12 oz tank
200 Rnd hopper
Terminator barrel
Strengths: doesn't fog often
cheap
Weaknesses: uncomfortable
itchy
Review: This mask is good and bad. It is good because it is cheap. I bought this mask for only $18. It doesn't fog often on me, but if it fogs a lot on you, get the anti-fog spray. It works really well. Some bad things about it is that it is very uncomfortable. It is very itchy. One time I was in the middle of the game and I had to take off my mask because it itched so bad. But I didn't because your not allowed nd it would be very stupid. Instead I walked off the field into the staging area to take off my mask. After that I asked them if I could rent a mask and they let me. That one didn't itch at all.
Conclusion: If you just started paintball I wouldn't recommend this mask for you.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SignalMan Sunday, January 30th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle POS
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
14" Dye Xcel Barrel
16 oz. Stubby Fuel CO2 tank
Empire Reloader Hopper
Strengths: Cheap
Not too ugly
Tough enough
Weaknesses: FOG
Scratchy mask padding
FOG
Hard Adjustment
Review: This mask is a good deal for the money I suppose. Anti-fog spray will be a requirement, and that isn't fool-proof. I can't count the number of times I have been shot simply because I could not see where the enemies were. I am shopping for a new mask even as I write this.
Conclusion: If you want a cheap mask that isn't too ugly, it's not a bad deal.
If you don't like fog, don't waste your time/money.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (27):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media