paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Indian Creek Designs ProMaster / Indian Creek Designs ProMaster / Indian Creek Designs ProMaster / Indian Creek Designs ProMaster

Indian Creek Designs ProMaster Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Indian Creek Designs

Buy Indian Creek Designs ProMaster

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Indian Creek Designs ProMaster
[ View Photos (107) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 200
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $390

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The PROMASTER� is a high quality marker specially designed to meet the needs of the professional style tournament player. The PROMASTER� is an electronic solenoid actuated computer controlled marker. The major components of the PROMASTER� are machined from solid, aircraft-grade aluminum, and then hard anodized. No castings are used in the construction of the PROMASTER� , thereby providing the end user with a high-quality, precision-engineered marker.

Paintball markers get a lot of abuse. Indian Creek Design, Inc., has designed the PROMASTER� with this in mind. All internal parts, wear and contact surfaces have been heat treated or hard anodized. The toughest and most resilient materials and components have been used in the design of this product.

The PROMASTER� uses a single standard 9-volt battery for operation. The circuitry is a microprocessor based digital controller.

The PROMASTER� operates on low-pressure. The main operating pressure is 250-300 PSI nominally adjusted to visually via the gauge on the primary (input) regulator. The secondary pressure is factory pre-set and regulated to 85-95 PSI. Gas usage is controlled through these 2 internal regulators. A unique feature of this marker is the regulator adjustment. This allows precise adjustment for the velocity control of the marker and for optimal gas efficiency.

The PROMASTER� comes with a removable barrel system. This feature allows the user to select a barrel that is most suitable for the playing conditions. All barrels are honed with straight tip porting and stock length is 12".


PROMASTER� Specifications:

* Low Pressure operation
* Threaded low-rise vertical feed tube
* Quick Pull pin for easy field-stripping
* On/Off Indicating LED
* Adjustable Balls Per Second
* 4-Way Adjustable Trigger
* Battery and board in grip for easy access
* Wrap-around Rubber grip panels
* Accepts standard 45 grip panels
* 12" ported barrel with Timmy threads
* Paintball Detection System
* Easy Cleaning ball detent
* Delrin Bolt
* Accepts standard duckbills and drop forwards
* Extremely low profile
Product Availability 
The Indian Creek Designs ProMaster is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (20):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
icecreampimp Sunday, November 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month184 of 192 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
04 cocker, ion not even close to promaster.
Marker Setup: NEW!!! Promaster,boomstick, realoader b, sticky 3's, invision, throttle air, C5 jersey, MAC tool gloves (try em they work great)
Recommended
Upgrades:
You might as well buy a good ASA when you first get the gun so you dont have to upgrade later.
Strengths: Size,
weight
price
speed
looks
EDIT! Customer Service
Weaknesses: Does not come with ASA.
Review: Okay so I was looking around for a new marker after my 04 'cocker had served me well so naturally I hopped on pbreview to see what I should check out. Taking $ into mind I decided to try out the promaster. After reading the reviews I assumed it would be slightly better than the ion, and since a guy on my teams runs with an ion I though I knew what I was getting into. Wow, I was wrong, this marker can rip with Timmy's, I really can't even put them in the same class other than for price. Out of the box this thing was ready to waste some bad guys, after a quick trip to the chrono and setting the gun modes (which is incredibly easy to do, no stupid blinking lights) I put on unlimited SEMI and tore up the field. I have used some low end Timmys and one DM4 so I had experienced this rate of fire in the past, but from a gun with a 399$ MSRP is beyond my comprehension.

Okay onto looks...honestly that was the main reason I wanted to test this gun at my local shop, to see if Indian Creek can join the rest of the major companies and produce a good looking gun, well if you've seen any of the pics of this gun, you know they can but the pictures really dont do the marker justice.

Another awesome feature on this gun would be the bolt. This 399$ marker comes with an all delrin bolt that requires no lubrication.

Next is the size of this marker (or the lack of it rather) the size makes if perfect for the aggressive front player. This marker is about 9'' tall and 9'' wide, including drop forward and feed neck. Just so you can't picture the difference my 04 cocker was11'' tall and 10'' wide with no drop forward. In the end those inches add up and if you do get tagged in the marker with this thing you must have been bonus balled to hell because theres no way there gonna reach this before n e thing else.

Now weight, flat out the lightest marker I've ever held or heard of, when my dealer gave me the box I though it was empty, enough said.

EDIT! during a local tournament it started leaking air out of the front grip, I called ICD and they went through how to fix my problem and it turned out its was the install of my ASA but they were very polite and would not let me hand up untill he heard me shoot some ropes over the phone. Talk about service I wish the ratings went higher GO ICD!
Conclusion: In the end this gun pwns. Make sure you check this thing out before you buy a new marker, especially and ion. Watch the video @ www.icdpaintball.com to see this thing rip STOCK in 3 different modes.


Please leave ranking!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, December 9th, 2005 at 4:09 am PST
I found this review  
31 Comments - Add Comment

ImpyKillah Thursday, July 28th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month87 of 99 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Impulse Vision-- The ProMaster destroys it stock
Marker Setup: Impulse Vision w/ Maxflo
3000/48 nitro tank
Blade trigger
Dye grips
Tapeworm
Recommended
Upgrades:
You have to buy a duckbill or drop for it and a macroline (doesn't come with them)

Otherwise, I love this gun stock
Strengths: FAST!!! (tested to 40 bps)
High Quality
Delrin bolt
...alot of other things
Weaknesses: Only tested and couldn't find one, I'll update once I get mine
Review: I tested this baby at a scenario game and I knew it was a must-have. The guy said it's the B2K5, but I don't know if it's replacing the B2K, BKO or both. I own an Impulse but I'm not biased against ICD at all because this baby is going to replace my Imp (which I do love). OK, time to review. The ProMaster is nice and light and with the small drop the guy had, it was very well balanced. I've read up about this gun, and you can have it governed at 15 bps, but it's easily set to unlimited bps by the flick of switch in the grip. It also has stock ramping which is great for those with slow fingers. The ProMaster I shot was set on semi with unlimited bps, and all i can say is that it is exactly like an Impulse with WAS, but the gun is smaller and lighter! The stock barrel is not shabby at all, but you may want to get a barrel kit somewhere down the line. The feel of the gun is great, and the blade trigger, which can be adjusted at 4 points is more than acceptable. The delrin bolt that comes with it is pretty good, but not great, and it is nice not to have to lube it and it allows great gas efficiancy. I like the milling on this gun, and it is even sexier than the milling on the B2K4 (which I liked a lot). It is a bit smaller than the old BKO and B2K4 too, and it is extremely comfy to hold. The grips are very nice, and the trigger frame is very comfortable. The trigger frame is comparable to that on the Ton-Ton Shocker. To me, in that price to performance ratio that we have had in paintball over the last year or so with the Ion, Wrath, Defiant, BKO and some other guns coming out, this gun takes the cake by far. This gun shoots better than some Timmys I've shot, but don't expect it to be a DM5 or Ego because it's not, but now you can easily take on the guys with those guns. This is the best buy in paintball today.
Conclusion: You Ion owners should have definately waited for this baby to come out before you bought your gun, which is completely outclassed by this. Not only does it perform better, easier to clean and maintain, and look better than an Ion, Wrath etc., it's only about $100 more which shouldn't be that hard to get. I'm not totally bashing those guns, I'm just saying that they should be worth about $150 compared to this marker. So you should probably sell your Ion now before its resale is about to go way down. At $390, and you're thinking about buying a new gun, look no further, because now even newbs can own a completely tournament grade marker. I tip my hat to ICD which has done a great thing for our sport.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, August 2nd, 2005 at 9:30 am PST
I found this review  
60 Comments - Add Comment

pb4fun Monday, August 8th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months61 of 67 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
BKO, DM4, Shocker, Various Cockers ( no e-blades), Angel Speed, Ego, Older Bushies.... you name it I have probably shot it
Marker Setup: - Black Promaster
- Murder Inc grip
-CP reg ( A new reg is a must)
- Shocktech drop w/ on/off
- PMI 68 4500 tank w/ Red's blue tank cover
- Halo B
- everything else stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
This marker requires a VLocity, Empire Reloader B, or Halo B. Also, the stock reg is horrible. I recommend replacing it immediately. Buy a barrel or barrel kit.
Strengths: Speed
Accuracy
Efficiency
Umm... speed
great stock setup
Trigger
looks
Easy to clean/fix
Price
Weaknesses: FSD ( could just be the tank)
Horrible Stock reg
Review: I pre-ordered this marker from Murderinc. When it came I opened the box and saw this sweet looking marker. I was amazed at how light it was. It came with some spare parts and a few hex keys. no macroline or bottom line so you need to pick them up at a store. I went to strap on my halo to see how high it sat and how the weight was, but the feed neck was too small. After three hours of sanding it with sandpaper and then the more desperate metal sanding blade, it finally sat on there well enough to play. Allright now for the performance. I took it to hte field ,bought a case of paint, in addition to the paint I already had, aired up my tank, and screwed my tank onto the gun. Everything worked flawlessly. The gun was set perfectly out of the case. Allright I went to the range with 4 pods and my halo full. I just started unloding paint. The gun absolutely rips. People there were using shockers, matrixes, and even an e-bladed cocker. They were all amazed at how fast and accurately it was shooting. They all wanted to give it a try. One of them asked me how much work I had put into the trigger to get it set that short and easy. He couldnt believe that it had come that way stock. All of them were amazed at the 389 price tag. people were comparing it to high end timmy's.

Game performance
Allright The first game went without a hitch. The marker performed flawlessly. It shot straight and fast and its size and lightness made snapshooting a breeze. I shot someone out who was making a break for the fifty, and I am giving credit to the marker because it kept up with my fingers and didnt chop or shoot inaccurately. I was actually able to hold down the entire right side of the field with this beast.

This is where the trouble began. I noticed it was leaking out of the soleinoid. To make a long story short, after adjusting the Reg and the low pressure adjustment screw for about three hours, my friend noticed that the cylinder end cap was not on all the way causing the bolt to go to far back, which led to the leaking. After tightening the cap the leaking stopped. An easy fix but not something you would expect.

After fixing the leak it performed perfectly.

Weakness

the only real weakness with the gun is that it has FSD (first shot dropoff). It could just be the tank that I was using. The first game I played I did not have FSD. after tinkering with the marker I did/. Probably just need to mess with the air.

UPDATE: After playing with this marker for about six monthes, I have decided that it was and still is by far the best investment for what you pay. My only regret is not removing the stock reg sooner. To everyone who owns a promaster, please save your marker by replacing the stock reg. I am now getting about +/- 3, and about 1500 per 68 / 4500 fill.
Conclusion: This is a must have it costs only 389 and can compete with the best markers in the world. I was expecting ICD to make a good product but not a great one. The only reason it is getting a 10 is because I did not think that the marker deserved a 9.3 for its average rating. I would give it a 9.75 if that was an option.
Here is a simple rating scale ( 1 is the lowest 5 is the highest)

looks: 5
Accuracy:4.5
Speed: 5
efficiency: 5
price: 5+

This marker is a must have..... since there are no stores to date I would recommend going to Murder inc. The people are friendly and they have alot of them.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, January 22nd, 2006 at 4:02 pm PST
I found this review  
54 Comments - Add Comment

thechodeman Monday, September 5th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month38 of 45 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Ion / CP reg / CD roller trigger / J&J Edge barrel / Halo B
Tippmann A-5 / Nitro / Expansion chamber / J&J Edge barrel
Marker Setup: ICD Promaster / Evil Detonator Reg / J&J Edge barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
None really needed, the marker is exceptional out of the box. However, it's a bit of an air hog.
Recomend barrel and reg.
Strengths: Best out of the box marker I've ever seen!
Great Trigger!
Good Barrel / reg.
Weaknesses: Battery install could be easier.
A bit of an air hog.
Review: When I ordered this marker practically everyone involved had a similar reaction. "A what?"

The reaction when it arrived was met with a great deal more enthusiasm.

First paint out of the marker was running around 310fps. Minor adjustment to the reg quickly brought the marker down to 285 and we started shooting in unlimited ramp mode.
At speeds in the neighborhood of 30bps you can empty a hopper through this thing nearly as fast as just opening it up and turning it up side down.

After half a case of that kind of fun, we set it down to 15BPS and waited for open play to start that evening. No breaks, no failures, no problems at all.

There is something satisfying about showing up at the field with a flame thrower marker of this quality that no one has ever seen before and few had even heard of to that point.

After the first game their curiosity was getting the best of them. Particularly those that fell to the hail of paint from the promasters first outing. There were three of them by the way.

Seeing the interest that was being generated by this new marker, the shop owner provided air and paint for those that wanted a test drive that evening. I was delighted to let anyone that was interested shoot this thing.

By the end of the day the promaster had been switched into and out of every firing mode it has and had devoured no less than 3 cases of paint without so much as a sneeze. No broken paint, no broken parts, and alot of new ICD fans.

As for me, I shot out 10 people in three games and for a good while was holding down the left side of the field all by myself.

If your in the market for a new marker. Find one of these new Promasters from Indian Creek and check it out for yourself. Better yet, just take our word for it and order one. I guarantee you will not be disappointed!

Great job ICD!
Conclusion: If I had $1,500.00 bucks burning a hole in my pocket and was looking for a new marker I'd have several choices. I could choose from some of biggest and most prestigious names in the paintball industry. If I spent all that money on a one marker and hopper I would have no better setup than I have in the Promaster and Halo B. So what to do...

Buy two Promasters, (Under $400.00 ea.) and spend the rest on paint!

Seriously, the Promaster is a class act! It will shoot with any $1000.00 plus maker ever made at a cost that will let you still have money to use it.

I don't give out 10's, nothing is perfect! I'd say 9.8 -

Buy one!

UPDATE....

After discussing a minor issue with ICD, they determined that I had a defective board. At the time they apparently did not have Promaster boards in stock and sent an FS/7 predator board in its place. On the surface this seems like a great thing. However, after installing the FS/7 board the marker bounced uncontrollably and velocity was all over the place. No amount of adjusting would correct this issue. After a couple more calls, ICD sent my original board back to me and this solved the bounce problem.

If you have a board issue with a Promaster and are sent the FS/7 board as a replacement you may have similar issues.

Overall, ICD did an excellent job of support and as new Promaster boards become available this will cease to be an issue.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, October 19th, 2005 at 7:31 am PST
I found this review  
13 Comments - Add Comment

SamRG Wednesday, July 5th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month35 of 35 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: ICD ProMaster
J&J Edge Elite barrel kit
Halo B
Redz ASA (torpedo style)
soon to come-custom bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing really

It is already a very accurate marker stock, but a barrel kit will allow you to use odd size paint. Also you need a electric hopper. No need for a new reg unless the sock reg breaks or you feel that the stock reg is not working properly----otherwise, save your money for a new barrel kit or other needed accessory/ upgrade.
Strengths: *Extremely accurate stock marker
*Lightweight
*Fast
*Well constructed
*Great stock board
*Very Reliable
Weaknesses: *The battery install is a little time consuming
*Doesn't come with ASA

Very minor
Review: This gun is great stock. With this marker, you are getting a very fast, lightweight, well constructed, and accurate marker STOCK!!!!

Barrel--------
If you want to make this marker even more accurate---a barrel kit is the perfect choice. The Freak Kit is nice, but the inserts are easily damaged. The Evil Pipe kit is also a nice kit, but only one tip---no. WGP Kaner barrel kit is awesome, but will set you back $180. The J&J Edge Elite barrel kit is very accurate and well constructed. It has no rivets between the front and back like some other barrels. The three fronts are great to, I have the 10'', 12'', and 14''. The kit is also not to hard on the pocket as other barrel kits ($80).

Trigger--------
The stock board on this gun is great^^^it has Semi-Automatic - 15BPS Limit, Ramp Automatic -15BPS Limit, Ramp -15BPS Limit, Ramp Burst -15BPS Limit, Semi Automatic - Unlimited BPS, Ramp Automatic - Unlimited BPS, Ramp - Unlimited BPS, and Ramp Burst - Unlimited BPS. Not all boards have these options stock---but the ICD ProMaster does. Also the grip on this gun is great, but if you don't like the bulge out on the grip for your palm, i recommend Dye grips or the cheaper Evil Grips.

Reg--------
As I said in the recommended upgrades---No need for a new reg unless the stock reg breaks or you feel that the stock reg is not working properly----otherwise, save your money for a new barrel kit or other needed accessory/ upgrade.

Bolt--------
The stock bolt is also very nice. Many high end and low end markers need a new bolt to perform at their best: quiet, smooth, and fast. The stock bolt seems to achieve these 3 qualities, but if you want to see how quiet you can get this gun---it is worth having a custom bolt made or buying a good-brand bolt.

Maintenance--------
This gun is very easy to clean. Its sleek design and polished finish makes it easy to clean and shine up. Regularly clean the outside of your gun, it makes it look better and with all the build up gone, perform a little better. Oil the gun at least 2 times a month and keep the chamber, bolt, and barrel(s) clean to enhance the guns performance. To oil the gun and make sure the oil is throughout the gun, take the hose off your macro-line/micro-line/steel-hose and place a few drops inside the fitting. Replace the hose and put a tank on the gun and allow the air and oil to circulate in the gun. Also place a few drops on the bolt and where the bolt to ovoid scratching and erosion.To keep the barrel from ''sticking'' on the gun, clean the threads and place a drop of oil on the threads of the barrel. This will allow the barrel to be removed easily. --- I know, oil here oil there 'whats with all the oiling'------well it will keep the gun from scratching, clogging, jamming, and keep everything running smooth (believe me).

Hopper--------
This gun is not front heavy nor back heavy without the tank. Some markers are not well balanced. With a 68 ci tank, this gun is still balanced well during play. The Halo B is a great hopper to use with this gun, but has a weak shell. The egg is a mistaken buy. The egg has some speed but the feedneck is weak and it looks ugly, also causes a balanced gun to be back heavy. A Q-loader will provide that weight for the front to make it very well balanced, but if you carry 5 Q-pods and 2 off them mess up, well your in trouble. My recommendation for a hopper for this gun has to be the Halo B for amazing speed, looks, reliability, and construction.

****This gun is able to use both high and low output tanks, so there is really no need to buy a new high pressure reg unless the stock one blows out (very unlikely--and if it does, tell ICD and they will send you a new one). It is recommended in the manual to use a low output tank, but it will work with high output tanks with no consequence to .internals. Customer service is awesome. If you don't believe me, call them, (that is where i found out that the ProMaster works with high output tanks).****
Conclusion: This is a great gun stock: fast, accurate, lightweight, reliable, well constructed, and sleek. It is even better with a barrel kit---especially the J&J Edge Elite barrel kit

If you are wanting a great gun for a low price, this is it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, July 16th, 2006 at 4:24 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

theBroodwich Monday, October 10th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month27 of 29 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Timmys, B2K4, Freestyle, Defiant...
Marker Setup: ICD Promaster (Black)
AKA 2-liter HPR
Scepter Barrel Kit
Crossfire 68/4500 HP tank
Halo with Victory Board
Recommended
Upgrades:
You will need to buy an ASA and macroline kit because there isn't one included. Optional upgrades are the HPR, barrel, feedneck, LPR (when STD releases a JDS LPR), the usual. I say optional because they aren't really necessary.
Strengths: Lightweight
Efficient
Consistent
Speed
Looks
Price
Easy to maintain
Weaknesses: HPR needs to be significantly broken in
No ASA included
Battery install
Review: I've had the opportunity to fire a lot of markers, but unfortunately I've never owned any really good highend markers. This is my first and I am not disappointed. ICD did an excellent job with the Promaster. They took the B2K4 and got rid of the tray, changed the milling, and improved on the all around design of the marker. On to the review.

When I opened the box, I found one excellent looking marker. I picked it up right away to see just how light it really was, it's truly surprising at first. Before I started messing with it, I took a look at the manual that ICD provided. It goes over everything you need to know about the marker, very useful. I also took a look at the small poster size schematics included, shows the entire marker with breakdown of all of the parts with their part numbers, also very useful. After reading through the manual carefully I started working with my brand new Promaster.

Before airing up the marker, it is recommended to take the stock HPR apart and lube it. This is not done from factory so if not done, there is a good chance you will have problems right away. After doing this, I installed my Check-It Unimount and a macroline kit. It was then that I realized that there was another hole for a standard fitting on the opposite side of the reg, but ICD had not included and plugs to cover it. Luckily I had a few in my parts kit so I threw one on and was ready to go. I aired it up and set my regs properly (great instructions in the manual on how to do so, for those who don't know how). I popped on my Halo, loaded some paint, and went outside to do some test firing. With my HPR set to 250psi, my handheld chrono read just over 300fps. After turning down the reg to about 200psi, it was firing just under 280fps. Shot off a few strings of paint with no drop off, no breaks. The trigger is very responsive, very easy to walk. There is almost no kick, and if held properly it is not even noticeable.

I decided to really test out the marker. I opened the grip and set the the board to unlimited ramping, and my halo to full speed. I fired off an entire hopper far quicker than I ever thought possible with very consistent ball on ball speeds and accuracy. I was truly shocked at how fast this thing can shoot out paint. After the fun I cleaned and lubed the internals, fairly easy to do in comparison to some other guns I've taken apart.

After installing the AKA reg, here are my current stats.

HPR: 150psi
Speed: 280fps
Consistency: +-4 fps
Shots per fill (68/4500 tank): Full hopper and 9 pods, almost 1500 shots
Conclusion: Problems first:
No ASA included
No reg plugs
HPR needs to be lubed and significantly broken in
Battery install is a little tedious

Being that these are all small problems, the positives far outweigh them. The Promaster is an excellent marker for the price, and can easily compete with the various highend markers on the market. Fast, Consistent, Accurate, Light, Excellent Milling, the list just goes on and on. I would recommend this marker to anyone looking to upgrade to a nice highend gun for a low price, or even for anyone that wants a nice backup.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

miotch Saturday, October 29th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month20 of 59 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
2k2 GZ intimidator
2k2 Angel LCD
custom e1'd cocker
custom e2'd cocker
Marker Setup: 2k2 GZ timmy
clamshell frame
empire barrel kit
frenzy 113

Recommended
Upgrades:
well if i could get one that works.. i would give you an idea of upgrades..
Strengths: It shoots fast.. err.. Without paint..With eyes turned off.
Weaknesses: Read review
Review: ok so after reading ALL the "omg this marker is great" reviews here on PB review i decided to get a promaster from my local store.
After taking it off the shelf and letting me hold it i was indeed surprised at how light and comfortable the promaster was. Felt alot like a timmy in my hands, the trigger felt really good too. The counter guy aired it up, and shopped me how to turn the gun on and keep the eyes off.. It HISSSSS'D out the gripframe and he immediately cocked it.. It stopped hissing.
I shot it in ramp/unlimited mode and i was impressed.. Wow this thing is fast.
OK. Next day i head out to the local field. Buy a case of paint and head over to the crono station. Turn on the eggII and shoot a few over the crony.. Anywhere from 260-285.. ok so the springs are worn in yet. i shot a string.. or attempted to. i fired about 20 balls. the max bps i could get out of the gun was around 7bps.. hmmm.
The bolt kept sticking in the forward position and again the HISSSSS noise from the grip frame.
I put fresh batteries in the eggy. and tried again... same results, but this time when i let off the trigger the gun shot 3 or 4 more times..WTF..
ok so i attempt to play a couple of games..
Frustraited i take the marker back to the paintball store.

After screwing with the marker for about 90 minutes the owner pulls another promaster off the shelf and hands it to me. "i guess the other one needs to go back" he told me.
After firing 2 68/3k fills thru this marker and no hisses.( just air, no paint)..i figured i'd be ok.

So today (1 week later) i take my new promaster out to my local field. i buy a case of marblizers and walk over to the chrony.
i shoot 3 balls and i get a break. hmm about 50 degrees outside.. not too cold.
i clean the gun and reload. about 5 balls this time and another break.
hmmmm
i give it a quick squeege and try to thro a string. bang bang blop blop blop
lots of choppage. WTF did i get this time.. a salad shooter???
Ok so i whip out the back up gun i had packed (my old erex wheee!) and atleast got in a few games.
Then i took my 2nd promaster back to the paintball store..
after 2 hours of screwing with it the gun tech concluded the ball detents were "ripping" the balls and not giving way to them. About 1 in 3 balls would have to be pushed (i mean about 5 lbs of pressure PUSHED) thru the detents.
He pulled another promaster off the shelf and it had exactly the same problem.
I currently have a BKO on loan from the store so i can get play time in until the promaster situation is rectified.
I'll update as the situation develops.
Conclusion: i would not reccomend this marker to anyone at this time.
seeing 3 of them with defects straight out of the box and being nothing but a 400 dollar waste of money makes it hard to give it a good rating either. It does feel good in the hand, the trigger feels really good and the wheight is awesome. These redeeming qualities pull it out of the 1 product rating, but the loss of quality control and plagues of problems i had with the 2 i have tried out pull its rating in my book very far down.
Rating:
3 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, October 29th, 2005 at 5:11 pm PST
I found this review  
35 Comments - Add Comment

Steel19 Monday, September 12th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
First Electro Used
Marker Setup: ICD Promaster, CP barrel, Dye throttle 68/4500, Halo B w/ripdrive, Cp shorty reg, Dye Stickies
Recommended
Upgrades:
None really, maybe a new barrel, but the stock one is alright. Feedneck doesn't fit a Halo B, so get a clamping feedneck if that is what you're using.
Strengths: Extremely light, fast, nice adjustable trigger
Weaknesses: Too many screws to get to battery. Grips aren't that great.
Review: I've used this marker three times so far and each time, it has performed flawlessly. No problems at all, which is something I value highly.
The marker is very light and easily maneuverable. I didn't like the feel of the grips too much, and switched to dye stickies, but that's all preference. The stock grips weren't horrible though, but they have a slight "bulge" in the middle portions that would work for most hands except mine are on the smallish side.
Out of the box, the trigger was a bit sloppy, it had too much slack for my tastes and was a bit too long. The trigger is very very easy to adjust, externally adjustable in pretty much any way the user prefers.
The regulator was alright, I've used it for one game session, but I prefer the feel of the CP regs so switched the stock reg out.
The feedneck of my Promaster was really easy to unscrew, which is a plus since I put on a clamping feedneck instead, but for those who might want to keep the stock feed might consider being careful with it while playing.
My Promaster came with a few scratch marks or missed annodizing, but there were blemishes on the top of the body where the bolt pin area is and at the edges of the LPR cap. They were very minor, but I was still mildly disappointed.
Now for the firing of the marker. This marker fires like a dream. There is very very little kick. Out of the box, it is good to go. I didn't have to do any adjustments other than adjust the HPR to get the right velocity. It is able to achieve very high rates of fire, not sure on the actual BPS, but it was fast and I received many comments to that effect. I was able to empty out my hopper in a matter of a few seconds and I have to admit, my trigger finger isn't exactly that fast. Finally, the marker was just fun to shoot, it's a very no fuss, no muss kind of marker and for someone who's shot mainly mechanical markers before this, I felt very happy with my purchase.
Conclusion: I highly recommend this marker. For the price, it provides a very nice total package. The marker is light, fast, consistent, and not much maintenance at all. Anyone looking to buy a fast, light electro should definitely look into the Promaster.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

paint what? Tuesday, December 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom
Used once or twice all different kinds of high end markers...DM6, PM6, ego, cyborg, timmys
Tippmann A-5
Marker Setup: ICD Black Promaster
Red Empire Reloader B
CCM no pro feedneck
Crossy 68/45
Recommended
Upgrades:
fast hopper
n2...if you use co2 youll get shot
pretty much great stock
Strengths: Fast
Easy maintence
Accurate
Great gun
Weaknesses: Gas hog for the first 2 cases
nothing else really comes to mind
Review: Here is my in depth review of this marker

Appearence:

overall, i love how this gun looks, its sleek, light, and got a cool point at the end :) i was playing at a field a month ago and a bunch of ppl came over to pay homage to my gun...i just thought they were just noobs...turns out, it was a whole bunch of players with all the higher end guns who chunked out the change to get quality...when they heard the price, they were astonished

Accuracy:

with the stock barrel, if you keep the gun straight, the paint will fly straight

Speed:

Testing this out on semi (cause i felt like it) i easily achieved 13-14 bps EASILY...now for me, thats pretty good to get that kind of speed so easily...the stock trigger is incredible out of the box...turned the gun to ramping unlimited and was blown away by the constant line of paint i saw coming out of the gun

Consistancy:

I never really chrono'd my gun with many shots...only a few here and there to check velocity...id say the average was +-10 fps

Air consumption:

this thing is a beast when you take it out of the box...it sucked up my 4500 psi tank in a matter of a couple hoppers and some tubes...it was WAY better after a couple of cases of paint...just buy an all day air pass at your field and youll get MORE than your money's worth

Game Performance:

i def could have not wished for a better marker than this one at its price...the first couple of games i played with it, i got ppl out left and right...i was left alone in one game against 3 other ppl and i easily took all of em out...

Strengths:

everything you want out of a gun is right here

Weaknesses:

there is only 1 major weakness...bring a lot of paint cause ppl will be wanting to shoot it left and right...the promaster will go down the line of ppl and be shot continuesly

Conclusion: One of the best markers i have used and owned in a long time...

i would def buy this gun again (which i may)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

lostazncause Tuesday, August 2nd, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested11 of 21 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
ion, trilogy
other guns used that may or may not be similar:Timmys, shocker, defiant, tippmanns, spyders, dm4/5, ego, e2 cocker
Marker Setup: black ion
cp razor drop/asa
AA barrel
cp reg
egg2 zboard (revvy backup)
nitro duck 68/300 carbon fiber
dye sticky3
Recommended
Upgrades:
Not much really, a drop and a barrel kit if you want it.
Strengths: Crazy smooth trigger, lighter/smaller than previous ICD designs, Decently fast. cocker threads. cheap.
Weaknesses: No macroline/asa (dont quote me on this one) Speed?
Review: Keep in mind this is a very basic review as I have not gotten to put it throught all the tests I do with most of my markers.

On first appearance and holding the gun, the first impression is that the marker is lighter and smaller than the bko's and b2k's before it. Better looking in my opinion as well. The ano looks well done and there are no visible defects or scratches on the marker itself. Grips are comfy. Took it out to test fire. The trigger I must say is buttery smooth. from the stock setting, the pull is a bit long, but nothing the 4 point adjustment won't fix. Speed: apparently the marker only goes just under 20 bps at the max. Not really a drawback but for speed freaks it may well be. Barrel seems decent enough. Clamping feedneck standard although I havent seen how well it fits on various hoppers. All in all, a great tournament level marker without the price the higher end guns usually incur. This thing goes for around 400 to slightly less that 400.

This vs. Ion
I really see them as two very different markers. The ion is the cream of the low end markers. It's good enough to be upgraded to shoot with the best, yet cheap enough to buy for recball and shooting around in the back yard. The promaster is more around the lower end of the tourney level guns. Few upgrades are needed for this marker to compete at the cutting edge. the price difference is about $120 but the ion will need a few more upgrades out of the box. The truth: preference
Conclusion: Go with what you feel is best. ICD has come out with quality products over the years and I'm sure this will be one of them.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, August 2nd, 2005 at 12:35 am PST
I found this review  
48 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (20):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media