paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Brass Eagle Monster Balls / Brass Eagle Monster Balls / Brass Eagle Monster Balls

Brass Eagle Monster Balls Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Brass Eagle

Buy Brass Eagle Monster Balls

Paintball Paintballs

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Brass Eagle Monster Balls
[ View Photos (5) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 321
Average Rating: 5.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Monster Balls™ paintballs features an all new and improved formula featuring all the top attributes you asked for!

Increased Ball Accuracy:
Optimal combination of added weight, increased density and superior roundness

Performance In All Weather Conditions:
Engineered for temperature adaptability resulting in improved play and longer shelf life

Thicker & Brighter Fill Formulation:
Increased marking visibility and hard to wipe during play

Have the ability to murder and kill your opponents with the edge of Monster Ball!

Available as:
2,000 ct. box, blue shell / yellow fill (#0816)
2,000 ct. bucket, blue shell / yellow fill (#0817)
2,000 ct. box with handle, blue shell / yellow fill (#0867)

Product Availability 
The Brass Eagle Monster Balls are newer, so they should be commonly available.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (33):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
getadodge Saturday, August 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month41 of 55 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Have used brass eagle blue streak (do not get they are not very good accuracy and they will not break easily)
Marker Setup: spyder xtra, regulator, 14" J&J S2 ceramic barrel, 12 volt revvy, microline
Recommended
Barrels:
a small bore barrel, I have the j&j s2 ceramic but it's a little bit big for these....
Strengths: Very cheap
Cool color
Weaknesses: Not the best out there....
Stupid tote is hard to open
Review: These were only $30 for 2000 so I bought them hopping they might actually perform well although I was totally expecting them to suck.

I opened the plastic tote thingy (my gosh that's hard to open, I had to get a screw driver and even then it was a pain) and was surprised that the paintballs were perfectally round.

I finally went paintballing with my friends and was fairly happy with these, they are pretty soft so they do break and are accurate enough to hit someone. I shot 3 people and didn't get hit once and we played for about one hour or so. One time however I hit someone and the ball didn't break...

oh yeah, one more thing I shot about 500 rounds and broke none...
Conclusion: These are good for messing around with your friends but for tourny play I am 99 percent sure there is better. The nice thing about these is they are small so they might not be a perfect bore but at least they are not to big. big paintballs either spin wildly or break in your barrel. They're good enough for me if I"m just messing around, but when I want to get serious I'll get better
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, August 13th, 2005 at 2:23 pm PST
I found this review  
15 Comments - Add Comment

Psyco726 Tuesday, February 17th, 2009
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month26 of 28 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
DXS Midnight
DXS Blaze
RPS Marballizers =)
Zap Ink'd
Zap Chronic
Marker Setup: Dangerous Power G3, Crossfire 68/4500 HPA tank, Empire Reloader B
Recommended
Barrels:
Doesnt matter these paintballs arent going to break in your barrel
Strengths: They are cheap
Weaknesses: They dont break!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
They feel like getting hit with a rock!
Review: well to start off i figured i was going to go play a harmless game of paintball with my friend at a local field (before the field started the "their paint or no play" rule) and my friend and i were using our favorite paintballs RPS Marballizers because we had just gotten them from our trusted paintball supplier. So after a few games of playing we started getting complaints of a player hitting people and not getting breaks then throwing a fit about it. After hearing this, my friend and I played against this player who i am going to called Player X and Player X hit my friend with these Monster Balls and there was no break on my friend later on in the game i was hit with no break and the guy was just complaining about how he clearly shot the both of us and then as they day wore on the last game we played my friend went up to the snake and Player X was on the back right he saw my friend and popped him in the head well not only did the ball not break on my friend but it actually almost knocked him clean out. The ref stopped the game and check on my friend who wasnt too happy and i walked up to Player X with the monster balls and asked to see a bag of his paint, well i had to buy it off of him obviously(only for 5 bucks) and i took the bag of paint to the refs and showed them that this paint is like hitting someone with a rock. now am i saying that Monster Ball should be banned and never used for anything? No i am only saying that maybe it should only be used to chronograph or back-yard test a gun, this paint should NEVER be shot at anyone. This paint can hurt people and yes i know that fields have the their paint rules but even while playing with your friends if you shoot this crap at anyone else you are risking injury.
Conclusion: This Paint is Crap! Never shoot it at anyone!
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, March 7th, 2009 at 10:45 pm PST
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

mountaindewboy5 Tuesday, August 2nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month22 of 42 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
sharpel, big ball, heavy metal
Marker Setup: Spyder Aggressor XT 14" CP barrel
coming soon
esp classic trigger
Back up
Paradox Ele kingman expansion/ foregrip and bottom line
Recommended
Barrels:
well i have only used one barrel with it and it work great so CP 14" barrel
Strengths: DIRT cheap
handy case plastic with a handle
accurate
good fill color easy to see
Weaknesses: The cover of thecase it hard to get off
smelt bad, but who smells paint ?
Review: My friend told me about monster ball and he told me it was cheap accurate paint so i decided i would give it a try so i went to walmart to pick some up to my surpise it was reall cheap i wa think it would be 40 bucks but i was wrong only 30. 30 bucks for a case of 2000 thats awsome the only think that i know of that can come close to the price is shrapnel at 36 bucks but shrapnel sucks i found a square one once anyways i got home try to open the case and coudln't it was hard i had to get pliers to open it then i inspected it thinking yeah its prob got dentsand misshaped but nope wasn't prefectly round balls when it cam time to play when wewere al chronoing out guns i started shooting at the tagert (which was three broads on hinges so they swing when u hit them about about 3 inches wide which broad) now i hit my selected target about 85% percent of the time but i have shaky hands soi had my friend shoot them with my gun and he hit the target 100%o yeah we were about 20-25 feet away from target.at the end of the day i went through about 1000 round not one break in the gun or barrel
Conclusion: My conclusion is if u want a cheap accurate paint get monster ball
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
20 Comments - Add Comment

OTEdge Monday, August 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 years18 of 21 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Big Balls - BB's Are Heavier. Have a Thicker, Brighter Fill. More Expensive. Big Breaks.
Stingers - Thicker Fill, Brigher Fill, Weigh The Same, More Expensive, Big Breaks.
Cloud Breakers - Thicker Fill, Brighter Fill, Chop In Barrel, Expensive, Never Breaks On Players.
Marker Setup: 05 Prostock
Planet Eclipse E2
CP On/Off
AIM Clamping Feedneck
SS Freak Back
AA Front
Crossfire 68/4500 HPA
Ricochet AK
Recommended
Barrels:
All Barrels I Have Used Work Perfectly With These Balls. But The Barrels I Used Were.
*These Balls Fit .689 Barrels.*
Stock --> Proto, Mongoose 2, 05 Prostock, 05 Ego
Spyder Stock --> Xtra, Imagine, Pilot ACS 05, Electra, TLR,
After Market --> SP Progressive, SP SS Freak, Dye UltraLite
Strengths: Light
Yellow Fill
Very Inexpensive
Commanly Available
Works Well Most Barrels
Weaknesses: Dont Break Big
Little Brittle
Watery Fill
Tastes Like Verrry Bad Soap
Review: I Have Been Using These Balls Ever Since I Started For Their Cheap Price But Exceptional Quality. I Havent Had Many Bad Experiances With These Balls And I Would Recommend Them As They Are Great Rec Balls, But If their is one thing I Dont Want To See Done With These Balls Is Never To See Them Used In Any Tournement Or Special Event When Their Are Prizes Or Money, Or Great Reputation Involved.

+Preformance+
The Fill In These Balls Are Light Along With The Shell Being Small, This All Adds Up To The Balls Flying Straight. Alot Of Heavier Fill Balls Fall Down Quickly, Opposed To These, Zooming Through The Air Farther Than Most Others. Their arnt Many Flaws In The Shape And Size Of The Ball So The Accuarcy is Pretty Good Too.

+Chopping+
These Balls Are Sized .689, And That Is All My Barrels Size. I Have Not Had Many Instances Of Chopping With The Exception Of When My Autococker Wasnt Working So I Will Not Count That. Many Markers, However, May Have a High Velocity Or Pressure At Which The Bolt Moves At, Popping The Ball Inside The Breech. For Me This Only Happens Once Every 4 Months Give or Take, Atleast for me That Is.

+-Shell & Fill-+
Personally I Have Only 2 Color Options For These Balls And Their Not Really "Options" Either. The Shell Will Always Be Blue and The Fill Is Most Commonly Yellow But Their Has Been Cases Of It Being White. The Shell Is Thin But Not So Thin Of The Likely Hood Of Breaking In Your Marker. Next is the Fill, A Very Watery Based Substance Of Which You Can Pray That You Have Struck A Person Of Much Self-Dignity And Respect For The Sport (In Other Words Hope U Didnt Tag a Cheater Or Wiper.)

-Breaks-
When These Hit On Hard Surfaces Such As Walls Or a Concrete Ground, The Whole Ball Will Burst. Sadly However, In The Game You Are Trying To Hit Opponents Whom Have Fat and Bouncy Surfaces. When Broken On a Player The Monster Balls Will Ussally Crack and Drip Instead Of A Whole Ball Break.

-+Packaging & Availablity+-
The Monster Ball Packages Come Very Widely, I Have Seen 4 Types Of Boxes Which They are Sold In. Two Come In a Hard Plastic Carrying Case Sort With Diffrent Lids, One Is Easy To Open, And The Other Have Had Many Complaints Shown In Other Reviews. Also Now They Come In Cardboard Boxs, One Is a Sqaure Like Box With Many Colors And A Free JT Gear Bag Thingy. The Other Is a Rectangular Box Thats Main Color Is White. You Can Find These At Walmart and Other Lower End Paintball Shops and Online Paintball Stores. I Ussally Buy From Walmart and Buy About 4-5 Boxs A Trip. Walmart Treats Paintballs Like You Would Treat Your Grandmothers Piss, They Should Just Flush Em Down The Toilet, Out Of 20, 500 Packs, Only About 3 Of Them Didnt Have a Broken Ball In Them But Thanks To Its Oilyness Most The Paintballs Arnt Going To Be Ruined and Just Dump Em All In Your Hopper and Dont Worry. Plus Their Only 25-30 Bucks =).

-Taste-
Well I Have Caught a Few Of These In My Mouth On The Field and Its Not Exacly Your Dynasty Bannana Smelling Paint. I Have Done A Soap By Paintball Tastetest... Call Me What You Want But If Their Was No Other Choice I would Eat a Few MonsterBalls Over Soap, But Theirs not To Much Difference.


Conclusion: I Really Like These Balls For Playing Rec Ball But Please Please Please Dont Go Play a Tourney With Them Or Anything. Do Expect A Few Flaws But These Are Great For The Price.
If You Feel I Should Edit Or Add Anything Post a Comment. -OTEdge
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Monday, August 28th, 2006 at 4:06 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

chris2powell Wednesday, May 14th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month14 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none, paintballs i use are second-to-none.
Marker Setup: Smart parts ion
14' teardrop
sp on/off w/drop

Smart parts vibe
14' linear
Recommended
Barrels:
.684-687 works best
Strengths: Cheapest re-balls available
Shiny

Weaknesses: NEVER break
Extremely small/inconsistent bore
Brass eagle
Dimples
ETCx1000
Review: Horrible paint. Great if you just got a gun and want to break it in, but never shoot it. Thank god my field is fpo, or else I would die. they work great for reballs, never jam. They actually smell like they taste, which is very strong. They stain bunkers, as their chemical makeup destroys everything it touches or sees. It is like a medusa paintball.
Conclusion: Buy these paintballs. You will get accuracy, but your gun might jam up. Do NOT go over 2 bps!!!!!! If you do, your gun will probably jam up.
Rating:
2 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, November 1st, 2008 at 10:48 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

m101 Saturday, March 17th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Zap Spank
Brass Eagle Demon
Marker Setup: Kingman Spyder Sonix
16" Taso Stone Cold II
Viewloader VL Hopper
20 oz. CO2
Recommended
Barrels:
It doesn't matter.
Strengths: Cheap!
Did I mention they were cheap?
Weaknesses: Dimpled balls
Inaccurate
Tend not to break
Review: The word paint "ball" indicates that the object is actually round; therefore these things are not paintballs. In addition the shells are so thick that if the temperature is below 70 these things tend not to break -- anytime you can do a mad dash into enemy territory and get shot 10 times in the stomach and chest without getting killed there's a problem.

Monsters also tend to have dimples on them which makes accuracy spotty.

The good news is that these things are cheap and readily available.



Conclusion: Due to the large number of non-breaks and the accuracy problem they probably end up being more expensive per elimination than premium paints. Spend a few more dollars for an "average" paintball and save money in the long run.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Angelballer18 Thursday, March 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months12 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Draxxus, Scorch, Lots of stuff...
Marker Setup: Angel Speed-soft face bolt, volumizer, cp on/off, mastertech trigger, Freak barrel, Check it sure fit feedneck
Pure Energy 68/3000 tank
Halo B Loader (Smoke)
Recommended
Barrels:
Anything that matches this stuff...Pretty much 689 bore
Strengths: See review
Weaknesses: See review
Review: I was in Wal-Mart one day and saw this paint for 30 bucks. I was like "wow this must be some crappy paint" but i decided to try it anyway. The next weekend i went to play rec-ball wit my team in the woods. I whipped this stuff out and was amazed how great this stuff shot. It was unbelievable. I tried some draxxus paint prior to that and had 5 out of 10 barrel breaks. This paint is very durable and out of the case of this stuff i shot, i think i might have broken one ball, maybe. After my frist experience with this paint i decieded to get another case. Again the same result. This is now my go-to paint for rec-ball.
Conclusion: In the end, i really like this paint. It does have a few weaknesses such as the fill not being bright enough. I've shot many people with this paint(because its so accurate) and the hits are very diffecult to see. The balls do not break very easily(which is y there is almost no barrel breaks) so i've hit people in the past where the balls have not broken. Overall this is great paint for rec-ball and peppering the crap out of you newb friends, but i would not suggest this for a tourney paint. This is probably the best paint out for the price. Either this or Scorch. I'm giving it a 9 because of the crappy fill and the non-breaking hits, but overall this is great paint. I like it and i would recomend it to anyone.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

dreganata Tuesday, July 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months12 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
DBX practice grade balls. Have only fired about 100 rounds of the DBX thus far. Have fired 6,000 rounds of the Monster Balls("MB"). The DBX seems to have more fill and a thicker, more noticeable fill than the MB.
Marker Setup: WGP Trilogy Pro Autococker - Stock Barrel - Co2 - This is my Primary Marker it's all stock right now.
Recommended
Barrels:
I used many different markers with the Monster balls. They Are:

Tipmann Custom 98: - Flatline Barrel~2000 rounds - four breaks
WGP Trilogy Pro:Stock barrel(.689)~1000 rounds - no breaks -lil paint in ports
SMart Parts Ion: Stock barell ~1000 rounds - no breaks
Spyder Victor II: Stock barrel ~600 rounds - no breaks
VL Maxis Pro: Stock barrel~400 rounds - no breaks
Strengths: Availability.
Inexpensive.
The watery like Fill cleans up easily.
Consistency.
Reusable storage container.
Weaknesses: Fill seems watery.
Fill may not be easily noticed.
Only one color available.
Review: Wow we fired these Monster Balls through a wide variety of markers. In addition to the markers listed in the Barrel section we also used them with the following markers:

Splatmaster Rapide
Talon Pump
Tracer Pump - two separate guns both stock barrel
CCI Phantom pump stock barrel
Tippman SL-68 PUMP stock barrel
Tippman Prolite - stock barrel

And no breaks noticed. We played scenario games and light practice shooting. The Autococker and Ion were set to semi-auto mode. The Cocker did have a little paint in the ports of the barrel(not enough too clog them) but the inside of the barrel itself was mirror clean.
Conclusion: Buy them. The ION and COCKER were only set to semi-auto so everyone was on the same playing field. The stock barrels on the markers listed worked well with the Monsters.

When I held a handful of DBX practice grade balls next too a handful of Monster balls, the Monster balls were noticeably rounder. Keep in mind that the DBX practice grade balls are more expensive than the Monster Balls. Also, each DBX bag had some paint on the bottom inside of the plastic bags. None of the monster balls left any paint on the inside of the bags.

I also have a bunch of JT freedom balls. While not opened they did not leak any paint into the bottom of the plastic storage bags or clear plastic bottle containers.

I don't know how these balls would perform under the stress of Full auto. And I don't know how they would perform with other advanced barrels. But I have more markers coming and some advanced barrel systems as well. So I'll keep you posted.

I'd give them a ten with thicker fill and multiple color availability.

Keep on Ballin!

Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Sausage Friday, March 30th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Diablo Heat
Nelson Netsplat
Worrgames Worrpaint
Whitebox
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98c
Super R/T
Triumph TL 35 Loader
Lapco Forgrip
14"JJ Ceramic Full Tilt

Just Started on my new ICD Lasoya Promaster

Recommended
Barrels:
Haven't found one yet
Strengths: Cheap
Decent looking Shell
Comes in a nice package
Weaknesses: Easy to wipe
Horrible Accuracy
Doesn't break on contact
Review: When I upgraded to super R/T, my next time out was going to be full 8 hour day of paintballing. I wanted to try and watch my budget and my local super sporting goods stores was 1500 of these for 17.99. My feeling at the time was how could I go wrong, with such a cheap paint, how bad could it be. I am far from pro, and don't really care about name brand, but part of me felt dirty for buying brass eagle.

It was that bad. I cant put into better words that my paint simply didn't go where I wanted it too. I tried some from different bags and cases and I got nothing. I ended up blowing through 2000+ rounds of these that day, swearing I would never buy it again.

I also use white box from time to time, and why i don't really love it, I have noticed that I have bought a few boxes that were MUCH better then others. Every once and while I get paint out of white box that is as accurate as top end paint for half the cost. At other points its as bad as the Brass Eagle that I bought here.

Anyway back to this paint, because of the white box experience I decided that maybe it was possible we all got a bad batch from this super store and got some more from my local PB shop. We examined the paint before I bought and I dropped 30 bucks for 2000. Its a hair better then the stuff I got before, but still terrible. I really don't see how there could be worse paint but I suppose its possible.
Conclusion: There is better paint out there, and lots of it. This paint to me, is good for shooting in your backyard and that's about it. I bought it 2x to check it out based on the views on here, and was very disappointed. Both times I switched back to Diablo Heat and was just amazed at the accuracy difference. It could have been my barrel, but a few other friends with me felt the same way. Even for rec woodsballers, there is better cheap stuff out there.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

smoothhisteven Tuesday, September 30th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
visible impact
player's choice
zap chornic
marblizer
fluid hydro
Marker Setup: pmr(proto matix rail)
cp on/off asa
aci bulldog compressed air tank
empire hopper
aluminum back cap

spyder pilot acs
vl revolution with x board
clamping feedneck
an/off asa
Recommended
Barrels:
freak or $60+ barrels cuz monsters balls are bad and the size can change so a barrel with inserts would be best
Strengths: Hurt your target bad
Weaknesses: About everything else
Review: Monsterballs are not horrible but they are bad,for you and for your marker your marker wouldnt like shooting these paintballs trust me. Monsterballs will change size constantly so yea. monsterballs are made by brass eagle which means its most likely crap. Monsterballs are one of the worst paint you can buy. 1.then tend to bounce 2.if your playing in your backyark its very hard to clean 3.the shell splits not break.
Conclusion: Dont get these if the only place you can buy paintballs is wal-mart i suggest impact for $40 if u end up getting impacts make sure you use it within 3 months cuz if it sits for too long it melts
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, September 30th, 2008 at 8:30 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (33):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media