paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tapco A-5 SAW Stock / Tapco A-5 SAW Stock / Tapco A-5 SAW Stock / Tapco A-5 SAW Stock

Tapco A-5 SAW Stock Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tapco

Buy Tapco A-5 SAW Stock

Paintball A-5 Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tapco A-5 SAW Stock
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 20
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $50

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Designed to fit on the Tippman A-5
Modeled after the M249 SAW (Squad Automatic Weapon)
Reduces reload time – flip-up butt plate allows easy reloading while marker still rests on your shoulder
Cutout design allows easy target acquisition even when wearing protective gear
Made in the U.S.A.
Lifetime warranty


Product Availability 
The Tapco A-5 SAW Stock is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Marine786 Saturday, September 10th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
JCS Vodoo Stock
Marker Setup: A-5 (in digital camo),modded LPK kit, E-grip, SAW stock, Remote, Lapco Milsim handle, polished internals, female palmer, r-5, Crossfire 88/4500, Flatline, 12" bigshot, BOA barrel, UMS modded Lapco offset rail. swatforce tactical red dot scope
Strengths: NO WOBBLE!, Lifetime warrenty, ergonomics
Weaknesses: A little hard to get on
Review: I was in the market for a good stock. My previous stock, a jcs voodoo, was nice, but it had the infamous stock wobble. I was looking for something that would be rock soild, and be a nice shootin platform. That is when I found the Tapco SAW stock at hotshot paintball

I posted on A5OG for any information on this stock. The people that own them LOVED them. They said it fixed stock wobble, although it was a little hard to get on. I have always loved the look of the SAW stock, so i figured I would buy it.

After ordering it, it came the next day, (Thanks hotshot). I took out the 2 back pins and removed the end cap. For some reason, it just wouldnt fit. I ended up having to lossen the 2 screws that are underneath the grip frame. I finally installed it, after a little hard work.

It was rock soild, as it should be considering it was new. After using it for a couple of months, it was still rock solid, which I was happy about.
Conclusion: I highly reccomend this stock. Its easy to sight down the barrel and its rock solid. If you ever have problems with it, just call up Tapco, seeing as how it has a lifetime warrenty. It gets a 9, because it is a little bit of a pain to install, but I am sure that helps it from not wobbling.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Nwilson Friday, February 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5 with a 14" smart parts progressive, JCS trigger/Egrip, tapco SAW stock, BSA Red dot mounted on Lapco Offset sight rail, Scepter grenade launcher, Opsgear SIG magazine, Allen paintball remote, Flurry Vest. Female Palmers Stab....

SPyder Imagine - 14" J&J Ceramic, Evo2, 20oz CO2

Spyder Agressor - Stock
Strengths: No wobble/rattle, downward angle allows use of sights while wearing a mask.
Weaknesses: VERY tight fit, can be difficult to install.
Review: The biggest reason I purshaced this stock was because the overall design was well suited to my style of play. I have a BSA red dot scope on my A-5 and other stocks would not allow me to look thogh the scope while wearing a mask without either raising the scope or offsetting it to the side of the gun. The downward angle incorperated into the SAW style of stock allows enough room to place yor head low enough to use a scope or your gun sights while wearing a mask. The construction of the stock has proven to be very durable, and is made of a light but apparantly very strong plastic. Once attached to the gun there is little to no movement, and absolutely no rattle. The only difficulty I have had with this product was with the installation. The fit with the gun is VERY tight. This is good in that it keeps the stock firmly in place, however the downside for me was that I broke the top stud while attaching it to my gun for the first time. The problem was made right, hovever, as Tapco has a lifetime guarantee on this product and shipped me a new one free of charge. On the second stock I simple drilled the holes on the attachement studs slightly larger and had no problems with installation the second time.

NOTE: You should know that a 20OZ CO2 tank will NOT fit with this stock attached. You will need aither a remote or a drop to allow it's use.
Conclusion: I have had this attached to my gun for well over a year now and it has served me well through the toughest of scenario games. Althogh installaion can slightly difficult, it has proven to be a good product from a good company.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, November 17th, 2006 at 8:27 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bmessmer Wednesday, October 12th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tasco Folding Stock
Marker Setup: A-5
JJ Ceramic Barrel 16"
Response Trigger
Iron Sights
Remote
Saw Stock
Strengths: Increditably light
sturdy
NO WOBBLE
hinged shoulder support allows for easy 1 handed reload
Weaknesses: Hard to put on!!!
Review: This is a great stock. If you like to snipe or just like the extra support this is the stock to go with. It is exceptionally hard to put on but if you loosen the back top screws (on the body) it fits perfectly. BUY this stock you will not regret it.
Conclusion: Buy it. Try it. Love it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

NYCballer Friday, May 15th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Adjustable Car Stock
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5; X-7 hopper; Response Trigger ; J&J Ceramic Barrel; Apex Barrel; Extreme Rage Remote; Pure Energy 72cc 3000PSI tank
Strengths: Looks!
Strong/Durable
Hollow Buttstock [for Storage]
Metal 'Shoulder Rest' for easy reloading in game
Weaknesses: CANNOT USE SIGHTS on Marker!!!
Increases Marker Length
VERY VERY VERY Hard to install
Review: Saw Stock is a great addition to your gear. It is strong, looks great and serves its purpose [stabilizes your marker<- compared to one w/ no stock]. I liked the look and it appeared more stronger and durable than the TM Car Stock..and in fact it is. Its made with very strong polymer [Us Glock owners don't like the term 'plastic'] and it has so far survived two woodsball games and i'm sure it will survive much more to come. One of the reviews here said that you can use your sights with this stock. Well those posts were WRONG. IT DOES NOT ALLOW YOU TO USE YOUR SIGHTS - Not with average goggles. I have both V-force armor and Pro-Vantage, which has flexible plastic shields. I made some serious changes to my goggles [Cutting and readjusting the cheek covers] and still I'm only barely able to see through sights<- which isn't helpful under most gaming conditons so prepare to forget the sights and not to mention that most fields don't like modified goggles.
And its very very difficult to install the stock...in fact...the rear lower pin is only in half-way through and sticks out through the left receiver side. Not a big problem but I'd like to be able to install it fully. I'm planning on re-drilling the hole in the stock!

Conclusion: Overall its a very good investment...if you agree to some conditions. No sights and about 2hrs of work or you befriend the hulk to help you install. It is better than the car stock- NO doubt about it. If you have the money , please buy this stock. 8-10 because I was tired and pissed off after installing the stock and oh yea i used to like my sights...now i'm just used to it.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Friday, May 15th, 2009 at 5:01 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Hiccup Friday, January 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
A-5 without stock
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 with:
CP One Piece Classic Barrel
SAW Combat Stock
Pro-Team Products Intruder Foregrip
Strengths: Sturdy, snug fit in the gun
Improved accuracy and stability
Weaknesses: Can be hard to install, no biggy though
Blocks 20 oz tank
Review: This is an awesome addition to the A-5. As a fairly new paintballer, I was in quite the rush to put some cool stuff on my gun as fast as possible. I'm glad that I got this stock and I feel like it was a great choice. My first time paintballing I had this stock and I still remember it as one of my greatest days as far as eliminating opponents, a fact which I credit greatly to this stock. I had shot plenty of real guns before I got into paintball, and I believe that since this stock makes your A-5 feel like a real gun that you can really aim, it improves my accuracy greatly. This stock allows me to stablize the gun shot after shot and with good paint and a good barrel, put ball the ball right where I need it every time. I recently spent a day paintballing without my stock just to see how I would do and noticed a drop in my game. The only downside is that you do have to use quite a bit of force to get it on. I used a rubber mallet to pound it into the gun, but it's all worth it when the stock is installed and sits solid as a rock. As far as it getting in the way of a 20 oz tank unless you have a drop forward or foregrip/expansion chamber like I do, the A-5 benefits from these mods too because they help balances the gun. It's still worth it.
Conclusion: Get it. It's worth every penny if you like to throw strings of paint at your opponent. Shot to shot consistency is amazing. I personally wasn't thrilled about spending another $30 for a drop forward or $60 for my Intruder foregrip/expansion chamber (I went for the foregrip, something I will never regret, it rocks) but it really does make a difference.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

IronCorps Friday, October 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
M4 stocks
Marker Setup: Icon E, Empire Reloader II, Dead-on X-core 8-stage expansion chamber, 16"J&J Ceramic Barrel, t-board, break beam eyes, the list goes on and on.
Strengths: It looks friggin awesome. Steadies your marker quite nicely.
Weaknesses: Not adjustable. Cant effectively use iron-sights.
Review: Since they dont have reviews for the M98 version of this stock, this'll be the closest ill be getting.

This stock is really nice. I slapped a Navy ROTC sticker on it, and it looked really bada$$. However, i resorted to taping a toothpick to my gun to use as my aiming reticule. Overall, its all about looks. It gives you a real rifle-like feel, and with the plate flipped up, it lightens the load on your arms. Its a really nice, quality made product.
Conclusion: I wouldnt necessarily reccomend this since its not a performance upgrade (kinda dead wieght), but its all about looks in this situation, and in that case, the looks cant be beat. It looks totally sick on my M98.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Renegade blue59 Wednesday, December 28th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Sniper Stock
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, E-grip, flatine w/ holed machine gun shroud, AK47 Mag, SAW Stock, ASR-1 sight rail, inturder gas foregrip, red JCS bolt and powerhouse, 88/4500 pure energy HPA, HPA power coil
Strengths: VERY stiff, excellent aiming, reliable, and i duno what else
Weaknesses: None
Review: well im a person who trys to eliminate the bads, cuz all pball products have worked for me with no prob.

well this stock is the best and only best one you will want so all your needs no questions asked. the only dissapiontment with the tapco version is its kinda of hard to get on......wanna know why? its for the stabablity!!!! lol. but an east way to put this on is......unscrew the screw thats at the top end of the gun [below the sight], then well, what i did was take off the grip which isnt hard, just take that off and put the stock in, might need some muscle but is MUCH easyer than slamming it against the wall to get it on!

this stock is sweet, no need to spend $72 on a scep ops one cuz this one is like $30 on ebay.
Conclusion: 10....no dout, its just the best. so dont get frustrated on getting it on the harder way cuz theres a shortcut, just read me lol


GET IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Hobbes Black Sunday, October 30th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
20oz
SAW stock
Remote
All American
Strengths: See Review
Weaknesses: See Review
Review: I got the stock as a birthday present, and it's great. When all the other reviews say that it's difficult to install they're not joking, it really is. I had no problem getting the top pin in but i had to tap the bottom one in with a hammer. This results in absolutely no wobble at all. The only problem with how tight it is is you may find yourself reluctant to dissassemble your marker, it's a pain to get off.
Whether or not you can see down the sights depends on what mask you have. I have a VForce Vantage. I can still use the sights, but you it takes a bit longer to acquire a target than it normally would. I would reccomend a red dot sight. I won't take this off the mark of the stock though, as with many you can't see the sights at all.
It's completely made out of plastic, but it's incredibly solid. The flip plate in my opinion isn't really too useful, but it looks cool.
Conclusion: All around great stock. If you like the looks, go for it. 9 because it's a pain to get on and off.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kid-805 Wednesday, January 16th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None other than this
Marker Setup: tippman a-5, ump shroud, saw stock, red hot power tube, j&j ceramic 14 in barrel, tac light, and some ergonomic grib thats great
Strengths: Strong
Hollow so you can put stuff in it
Helps to improve accuracy
Looks great
Weaknesses: Pain to put on
Review: When I got this stock litteraly days after buying my a-5. The stock was so hard to put on it took me and my dad to put this on the a-5. The fact that it is so hard to put on and take off, propaply contributed to the sad matinance that my a-5 recieved after i got it. After a while though the stock gets easier to put on and to take off, so in the end it ends out to be fine.
Conclusion: I would recomend getting this stock, but if your a smaller person, you need to have some buff friends to help to put the stock on.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TheKingFool Thursday, January 3rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
32 Degrees Car Stock
Marker Setup: Spyder tp+ with aa 18" barrel remote pod pack 20oz on/off and delta 68.
Tippmann Custom 98 w/ 32degrees back stock and flatline barrel system
Tippmann A5 w/ solid stock and flatline barrel system
Strengths: Comfortable, Light
Weaknesses: Non adjustable
Review: This is a really nice stock, it puts the sights right into level with your eye so that you can make ever shot count more then it did before when you had to bend your head off to the side a bit to see down the site. There is a sort of wire thing that snaps up into place which is a great help so you don't keep using your arm power to keep the stock up around your shoulder more as just balance it there.
Conclusion: If you are thinking about putting a scope or a sight onto your A-5 then i suggest this upgrade so you can take full advantage of that upgrade
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media